Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

westlife
post Jan 21 2020, 05:35 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 21 2020, 02:50 PM)
BTW, have you tried unifi mobile unlimited 4g lte?

Kinda worse than umobile to me
haven’t tried the unlimited rm59 unifi mobile yet. So not sure. But likely will not subscribe it anymore since I dun calls or sms so yes 4G is good for me for pure data usage.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 21 2020, 02:59 PM)
Not very sure..
What I know they got base station on school ground..
Utilities are paid by the school too.. basically it's FOC for YES.. one sided deal...

Anyway..
UM don't improve at all..
Many are disappointed with their services..
Cheap yes. No doubt about that... But speed & coverage is the issues...
Yeah. Indeed. This is the second chance I have given. Indeed below expectation. I am more impressed with yes 4G even I use it for first time. And I am surprised with what they offer.

westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 08:43 AM

14,241 posts

vomit blood seriously. At place was stuck with 4G 1 bar, cannot surf at all. Since it is stuck at 1 bar, it also does not switch to 3G or so automatically. End up need to manually set to 3G just to surf. wtf.
westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 08:57 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Jan 22 2020, 08:47 AM)
Thought they have invested into the improvement plan a few months ago? The network quality is still bad?
At least for me.

Just now switched to 3G at the place with bad coverage of 4G can surf. Then come out to more open air place, 3G got strong coverage then cannot surf at all. Need to switch back to 4G in order to surf.

Really bad experience for such inconsistent internet connection even at day 2 of usage only.

Lucky it is prepaid and not postpaid, can terminate or MNP anytime easily. I think for postpaid, unless one is signing for maxis or Celcom which are known to be reliable, others better stick to prepaid for trial and error first. This is why I am hesitate to try the unifi mobile rm59 unlimited plan too since it has 12-month contract.

I think for anyone who is coming from maxis or Celcom and to switch to use u mobile will be hard to swallow the inconsistent connections.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 22 2020, 09:04 AM
westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 07:08 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 22 2020, 10:22 AM)
For mobile or on-the-go use, UMobile 4G coverage nationwide is not as good as Maxis, Digi and Celcom but better than TM Unifi Mobile. This is common knowledge. Unifi Mobile does not even has its own 3G network = rides on Celcom's.

In my case, I have no problem web-surfing on 4G with UMobile postpaid GX50 because I use it as my home Internet, replacing the more expensive and slower TM Streamyx fixed home Internet. I get full 5 bars 4G signal reception most of the time at my house which is close to a highway in Klang Valley.

In densely populated areas and along main roads and highways in the Klang Valley and other city areas, mobile use on UMobile should be OK, ie not OK if in the suburbs, small towns, kampungs or rural areas. Where do u mobile at.? .......
https://www.nperf.com/en/map/MY/1735161.Kua...-Mobile/signal/ - U Mobile 3G / 4G / 5G in Kuala Lumpur coverage map, Malaysia
Worse than maxis or Celcom, this one of course needless to say as this is a known fact. That’s why I said for anyone who is currently on maxis or Celcom should not jump ship to u mobile as it is a big downgrade. This is my point based on my own user experience.

Given the fact that u mobile cannot even compete with yes 4G. It may not be true that it is anything better than unifi mobile too. I have yet to use the unifi mobile unlimited rm59 plan but I did use their prepaid bebas plan before, the coverage is not too bad, somehow close to or similar to yes 4G in terms of coverage. I highly doubt that it will be worse than u mobile.

I understand that ur personal user experience and u use it for fixed line broadband replacement and it is good for u then. however do note that majority of people are having unifi or other fibre broadband at home too and what we need is on the go access. if a mobile broadband is only available or good at fixed points, it has no different as fixed line broadband only.

at least my experience is bad on u mobile for sure, whether is it good for others, it is up to them to experience and what I did is to share my personal experience, u do not need to defend or get affected too.

For those who are good on u mobile, just continue. For those like me who have experienced the bad, can just move on. At least I already have a certainly better option which I have tested.

westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 07:10 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jan 22 2020, 09:21 AM)
What is the penalty for using gx30 on moded modem?

Blacklisted ?
Dun think it is easy to get blacklisted unless u really have good speed at ur ‘fixed’ locations. At least for most I believe it is not easy to exceed such much in order to get blacklisted. Even it is, it is a good thing since u really are the lucky one to get such ‘good’ speed.
westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 07:38 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 22 2020, 07:12 PM)
Bro... is this your first time with UM?  biggrin.gif
More than 10 years or 15 years ago I used it before and that time I signed up a 20GB data plan which I could not even use more than 5GB monthly becos the coverage and speed were simply too fxxk up. Then I switched to maxis and Celcom since then.

Then now I saw that they have cheap rm30 unlimited like yes 4G so decided to give it a try. However, the speed and coverage again disappointed me which I am now streaming the YouTube video at 140p inside one of the oldest and popular shopping mall. Even web surfing is struggling very jialat. To me, it is totally not acceptable which I had zero with yes 4G with 720p and 1080p video streaming within the same places I am using u mobile now for the past one month (I also first time used yes 4G). I know they limit video streaming to 480p, problem is I am now having 140p and even just light web surfing for Lowyat forum is also so difficult.

Think I will just forgo the rm40 spent on this u mobile Sim pack and GX30 add-on and switch back to yes 4G immediately tmr.

Rather not to vomit blood than continue to use it.

Lucky that it is prepaid and not postpaid.

Even 140p it is spinning non-stop and not even loading... faint.

Now I really learn the meaning of “ if it ain't broke, don't fix it”.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 22 2020, 07:59 PM
westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 10:36 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 22 2020, 10:26 PM)
Totally agree with you. UMobile is just "shitty". No real reason to switch over now especially you have cheaper alternatives with longer validity for prepaid. For postpaid, even if they give you unlimited data, you won't be able to use much because of the irregular and unreliable download speeds. Once I get rid of the balance few hundred ringgit of credits on my prepaid card then I'm porting out.
I see. Glad to know that I am not the only one.

yeah. Indeed. I give up on u mobile totally no matter how cheap it is.
westlife
post Jan 22 2020, 10:52 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 22 2020, 10:37 PM)
It's not cheap bro... If you can't compare to XOX or some other providers.
To be fair. Rm30 for unlimited data, only yes 4G can fight. The rest without unlimited data is not able to fight even the price is low.

rm30 for unlimited data is indeed the best value for money price plan. just too bad, it is not up to standard.

Imagine if maxis or Celcom have such plan even with capped speed like u mobile or yes 4G now it will immediately KO them. 😜
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 11:18 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 23 2020, 10:03 AM)
In general, mobile broadband 4G/3G coverage is concentrated in city areas, town areas and along main roads and highways, ie often no coverage in the suburbs, small towns and kampungs or rural areas. This is just market economy, ie there is no ROI to put up a costly 4G cell tower which has a range of only 3 miles/5km for Internet data, in sparsely populated kampungs or rural areas.

In general, most people use mobile broadband 4G/3G at home, at work, during commute to/from work, at makan place and at shopping place. If your cheap "unlimited" 4G/3G phone plan covers these places which you often go to, then you are good to go. If not, try or go get a better phone plan with better coverage.
Like I said, I am using it in city and in a oldest and popular shopping mall and that’s the result. so it is not even an excuse for not having the coverage and speed. As I said, all the blind spots for u mobile I encountered are not at rural areas, as I have no issues with any other telcos and even a not major telco yes 4G has better coverage than u mobile and I strongly believe unifi mobile will be better at all these places too. So it is simply no excuses for u mobile to have such poor coverage and speed as it is the only telco that cmi at these places.

If u go to u mobile Facebook on those posts they advertise their plans, 9 out of 10 posts are complaining about the bad coverage and speed. So it is not an isolated case.

And be sensible too, your personal experience cannot represent the rest of people too.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 23 2020, 11:20 AM
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 11:25 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jan 23 2020, 11:21 AM)
my conclusion on gx30 umobile, around a week or so

its the worst telco i ever use

the coverage was bad, most place got 3g only, and contrast to what the other experienced,the 3g was too slow while the 4g is decent enough

this is on town area, i never thought town area also half half on 3g n 4g

my advice to whom that want to mnp, buy a sim from 7evelen, try the gx12(don't like me spend rm30 on gx30) , try a week and see if can bear the speed.

for me, I don't recommend because of the inconsistent speed and network.
for those who curious,yes, it can play 720p utube video without buffer,but depends on network sometimes.
Yeah bro, I felt u becos I did the exactly the same thing as u, I bought a new starter pack and I did the MNP. The number is not my main number though, just a quite nice number I got from yoodo. And I also spent rm30 extra on the GX30. Totally wasted of money. Day 1 I already vomited blood.

It has good network indeed at certain places like opened air etc. but it is totally inconsistent experience which most of the time cmi.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 23 2020, 11:25 AM
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 11:38 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jan 23 2020, 11:34 AM)
i carry 2 phone, OnePlus 7 pro is main phone with 2 sim, 1 for celcom for work, 1 unifi is my personal number, 2nd phone is v30 with whatever telco i want to test, want to try yes but yes is not unlimited anymore

I'm survey this thread before, as mentioned by many, seems like ok, i also do a scan on networks before buy umobile, ok got 4g

but like u bro, the network is inconsistent, sometimes 4g , most of the time 3g, both speed is not consistent also, sometime extremely fast, sometimes not, how can one expect me to use when it's not congested? what's the point for unlimited then?

i never had these problem with celcom and unifi before, my gf infinite 100 digi also can do 5 to 10mbps even at night when its congested.

my advice for umobile,just fix this issue and we'll consider again.

my advice for other,test the gx12 first, when u buy it the sim,its preloaded with rm6,top up another rm6 to try first

luckily I didn't mnp like u bro,but no contract,i think its ok
yeah. exactly.

I MNP just to get the rm25 promo price for 6 months (if MNP online, get rm5 rebate for 6 months).

but anyway, it is prepaid, i can MNP out again.
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 11:41 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 23 2020, 11:39 AM)
Yes. The speed really sucks...
Wonder how they got the award mentioned that UM have the most increase in coverage for 1 year period vs other Telco..
Maybe because they coverage is the lowest among all this playing catch up now 🤣

Anyhow...
for any Telco I want to use..
Normally I buy  sim pack to test out first...
So not to disappoint later on...
To get such "improvement" award, you just need to start low.

It is like they have 1% coverage now. Increased to 2%. Then it is already 100% increase in coverage. sweat.gif
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 11:45 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 23 2020, 11:44 AM)
Possibilities is there...
That's why getting so much improvement awards 😋
And best part.. some fall for it..
Saying "hey it's good news" 😅
yeah. they do have faithful and loyal customers here including some of our fellow bros here. tongue.gif
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 01:08 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(EroS @ Jan 23 2020, 12:15 PM)
Hmm.. Seems like gx plan speed is capped for Twitch. Can't reach 1Mbps at all even on 4g. Max speed I can get is around 700+KB.

hmm.gif
other than youtube, other video streaming platform is all capped.

i used to watch the live streaming on gameplays by hosts on those china streaming platform. all cannot watch at all.
westlife
post Jan 23 2020, 05:48 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jan 23 2020, 05:34 PM)
Afaik;

Live-streaming 480p videos requires double the bandwidth = not supported by UMobile's cheap "unlimited" 4G phone plans. Streaming recorded videos at 480p, eg at Youtube, is supported.

Eg video-stream a recorded Youtube video at 480p requires minimum about 0.8Mbps; and live-stream a video at 480p requires minimum about 1.6Mbps. If live-stream at 360p or 240p = supported by UMobile's cheap "unlimited" 4G phone plan.
....... On top of that, live-streaming a live online-game from a China-server is quite impossible with any 4G mobile broadband phone plan due to very high latency/ping of more than 50 milliseconds.

Online-gaming requires the distance between the player/s and game-server to be less than 1,000 miles = less than 50 ms in latency/ping/input-lag. So, if the online game-server is in China, only players in China, HK, Taiwan, Japan, SKorea, Vietnam and other nearby countries could play or live-stream the live online game, not those in Malaysia, Singapore or Indonesia.
All the restrictions u said I do not experience with yes 4G and it is running at 1080p. Conclusion: I quit u mobile forever. Enough said. I just want to stop this suffering.
westlife
post Feb 13 2020, 08:54 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 13 2020, 12:18 AM)
The new GX68 promo at RM58 per month still limits video-streaming to SD/480p(since Dec 2019 can HD/720p for GX30/50).

So for most GX50 subscribers, GX68 is not worth it, unless they often download and store a lot of large files.
https://www.soyacincau.com/2020/02/12/umobi...s-faster-speed/

nice to see but not good to use plans. 😜
westlife
post Feb 13 2020, 03:06 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Feb 13 2020, 02:24 PM)
YouTube streaming is still limited to SD though.
THe uncapped is a crap. Before I port out from the GX30, I did use the remaining credit to buy the speed booster add-on which it supposes to make it uncapped speed. But my experience is totally no different becos the network is bad by itself.

Seriously I dun think the new plans are going to make a single difference in user experience. Totally gimmicks.
westlife
post Feb 13 2020, 10:27 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Feb 13 2020, 08:58 PM)
I think they released these 2 new plans to eradicate the modded modem users, pdanet, etc.. someone on fb already tested on their modded modems and the new sim refused to work.
Oh got such thing? but change plan no need to change SIM card rite?
westlife
post Feb 13 2020, 11:40 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 13 2020, 11:36 PM)
In simple words, as long it's a "GX" plan, then video streaming usage will be capped speed, make it able to stream in SD quality.
Also, any P2P torrent usage will be capped at 64kbps (according to T&C).

And, what you mean Konfem 48 plan? That plan no longer available as per checking on Yes website. Yes 4G no longer offer unlimited data postpaid plans, probably bcuz they scared already; too many users abuse the network/bypass hotspot block and perform excessive usage.

No need to change SIM card.
oh? this is really strange approach. so as i said, it is a gimmick. haha.
westlife
post Feb 14 2020, 12:13 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 14 2020, 12:08 AM)
General consumers don't purposely read T&C. They want the information to be easy to digest and understand.
So when it says "unlimited everything", they'll take it for real, and then take action (subscribe it).
Many won't go and think so much, such as is there any speed caps/throttle? any exceptions?

You say it's gimmick, but then, it's a pretty successful marketing.
When the salesman approach you with a smile face, tells you this plan has unlimited data, no speed cap, then you feel happy for a while.
When you ask the salesman "is there a speed cap/throttle/hidden T&C?", then you'll see the salesman's smile fades away, suddenly the salesman don't feel that happy anymore to you.  smile.gif
marketing gimmick only works for not knowledgeable consumers.

obviously, anyone that comes to the forum are unlikely to become one of them.

becos i never listen to what salesperson said no matter what i buy, becos i know more than them. hahaha.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2153sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:14 PM