Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

westlife
post Jan 12 2020, 05:02 PM

14,241 posts

Just called the U mobile customer service line to double confirm the promotion on the procedure of how to get the rm25 GX30 for 6 months.

1) Buy a starter pack at anywhere such as 7-11, giant etc.
Make sure the line is activated under your name.

2) Then fill up the MNP form (switch to U) online at u mobile website with the new u mobile number info and your current prepaid number to be ported over info.

3) Wait for 3 days for the MNP process. This depending your current telco. Maybe faster like 1 to 2 days also.

4) Once the number is ported over to the new u mobile SIM card, then only buy the GX30 plan. (This step is important, cannot buy GX30 plan before the port over else there will be rm5 rebate for 6 months.

5) Once purchase the GX30 plan at rm30, wait until 5th or 6th of the month then will see the rm5 rebate. Can use the u mobile to check.
westlife
post Jan 13 2020, 07:59 PM

14,241 posts

Finally got it. 7-11 has special promo price TOP up combo with starter pack.

westlife
post Jan 13 2020, 08:55 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Jan 13 2020, 08:50 PM)
Only for 1st time?
yes. starter pack combo promo only.
westlife
post Jan 13 2020, 09:12 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Jan 13 2020, 09:09 PM)
Any offer after  1 month  like for gx 30 but offer rm25.00?
Need to MNP online only can get rm25.
westlife
post Jan 13 2020, 09:30 PM

14,241 posts

Tested the speed using the free data (uncapped)

4G speed is totally disappointed. Even no capped speed is slower than capped speed of 3Mbps.

Surf web no issue.
YouTube streaming Default auto to 360p. If manually select 720p. Will buffer for a while but surprisingly after that can play though.

Worse cast is 3G speed is even faster than 4G.

Yes 4G has much consistent and stable speed for sure. Can hit 4Mbps on both upload and download all the time with no issue for konfem 4G.

Tmr will try outdoor and at shopping centre again.
If still the same, will give up my idea on switching to GX30.

On 3G

On 4G

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 13 2020, 09:39 PM
westlife
post Jan 14 2020, 02:25 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Jan 13 2020, 11:51 PM)
upload higher than download speed sign of congested tower
try again during early morning like 6 am
slow speed probally due tower using microwave link
Retested now.

Seems like u are rite.

YouTube still auto at 360p with no capped speed data, but manual 720p no buffer.

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 13 2020, 11:54 PM)
Have been a while did not see this apps.
Never update apps?
Sharp eye. Yeah. Purposely never upgrade despite upgrading all the rest of apps.

Like the old user interface. Hahaha.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 14 2020, 02:27 AM
westlife
post Jan 14 2020, 10:48 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 14 2020, 10:28 AM)
try fast.com , it's powered by Netflix, so you'll probably get to see the speed that they allocate you for youtube
New UI got ads
like this old app. so i never update it.
westlife
post Jan 14 2020, 10:49 AM

14,241 posts

submitted the MNP request online at u mobile website close to 9pm yesterday night. today 10:13am is already ported over.
westlife
post Jan 14 2020, 03:32 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(azri00 @ Jan 14 2020, 02:24 PM)
i try to request MNP last week, just got the sim card today, try to request to port out but still didnt receive confirmation message, how long do i need to wait, i try to MNP from tunetalk to umobile
should be very fast. i bought the u mobile sim card yesterday and activated at 7pm++. submitted MNP request close to 9pm online at u mobile website. 9pm++ received email from yoodo that they had received my MNP request to port out, and ask me to click a link to confirm or to click another link to cancel the port request in the email. I clicked confirm. this morning 10am++ already ported over to u mobile.
westlife
post Jan 16 2020, 05:12 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jan 16 2020, 05:10 PM)
I know 4G speed is more higher and faster than 3G.
But how come it's opposite one? confused.gif

Perhaps you try switch to 2G, maybe more faster than 3G.. Hahaha.. laugh.gif
this proves that how congested is u mobile network. they simply do not have capacity for high number of concurrent users. this is why the speed is always below what promised.
westlife
post Jan 16 2020, 06:48 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jan 16 2020, 05:29 PM)
I believe each network tower has the max of capacity.
It is just like a router... If let say router can support 99 devices, then the 100th devices or above straight away dc or speed cap.
Not really. Other telcos will upgrade their backend or have more base stations to cater for the capacity.

It is something can be solved.
westlife
post Jan 16 2020, 06:49 PM

14,241 posts

My credit is expired in 2 days. If I dun top up the line will be inactive rite? Then after I top up few days later after expiry. Will be the credit be usable again but it will be gone?
westlife
post Jan 17 2020, 06:45 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jan 16 2020, 11:16 PM)
your credit will still be there, don't worry

grace period at U Mobile is 60 days
Icic. Ok. Good to hear that.

Going to test the GX30 on 20 Jan.
westlife
post Jan 18 2020, 08:39 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jan 17 2020, 07:09 PM)
Is gx30 still available?

This phone shop staff tell me don't have already, not sure if he's lying to push other plans to me. I check umobile website seems to still have
Of course it is there still. Which shop staff is so not honest?
westlife
post Jan 18 2020, 07:13 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ Jan 18 2020, 06:10 PM)
I don't think that other will do so unless they receive many complaints from their users and MCMC.
To be fair, others have much lesser capacity issues than u mobile.

Anyway, my last use of u mobile is many many years back. I am going to give it second try on the GX30 on 20 jan. will see how it goes. Anyway have rm25 promo price for 6 months.

Since it is prepaid and I am using it purely for data and not main line, can just MNP anytime if it is really not good.
westlife
post Jan 20 2020, 06:44 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 20 2020, 04:39 PM)
Umobile so called maintenance

Looks like u mobile is having a lot inconsistency on user experience comparing to other telcos.
westlife
post Jan 21 2020, 09:10 AM

14,241 posts

First day using the GX30 today, initial verdict: Disappointed.

1) coverage: indoor coverage cmi, at popular places such ktm station (indoor), signal is 1 to 2 bar, connection is intermittent. Not acceptable at all as same pricing yes konfem 4G has much better coverage in indoors than this.

2) Speed: as mention in tnc, video streaming is capped to 480p, so it is expected. However, a lot of time due to the poor coverage the speed is below 1Mbps thus the resolution even can watch video streaming, it is capped at 360p it below. Same signal strength of 1 to 2 bars, yes konfem 4G can get consistent 4Mbps as long as it has 1 to 2 bars even. Due to the speed, mini resolution I can get is consistent above 720p, even manually set to 1080p it can run smoothly with minimum initial buffering.

3) Lantency: it is certainly higher than yes konfem 4G. The loading of pages is slower.

Overall my own user experience for one month yes konfem 4G is 80/100 (speed is perfectly satisfied, except minor indoor blind spot such as inside shops of shopping mall or inside shop lots.

My own personal user experience for u mobile is 40/100. Poor coverage especially for indoors, inconsistent speed are the killers.

I had used u mobile previously I had the same bad experience with it. My conclusion is that it has not improved much since then.

Even with the 6 months rm5 rebate for port-in, it is not worthy.

After I used yes konfem 4G, I really enjoyed because it is the first time I can do video streaming without worrying about data. I came from Celcom pospaid plan with limited quota monthly. Previously, I need to conserve data since there is a limit. Even then, I can only use it for pure web surfing and not anything else such as video streaming.

Will switch back to yes konfem 4G after finish the remaining 29 days of GX30.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 21 2020, 09:57 AM
westlife
post Jan 21 2020, 11:59 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 21 2020, 11:57 AM)
yes konfem 4G?.

Ytl YES 4G ahh??
The one have issue with schools?
ya la. Yes 4G, konfem 4G is the plan name.

what issues with schools? i dun study now so it is not an issue to me.
westlife
post Jan 21 2020, 12:22 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 21 2020, 12:04 PM)
Got but I don’t think it’s an issue anymore... basically some GOV school got yes4G base station and their contract ended last year.... I think the yes4G base station is for wimax signal
i see. no concern to me. yes 4G has better coverage than u mobile for sure.
westlife
post Jan 21 2020, 01:00 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 21 2020, 12:23 PM)
Maybe better than 4 years ago when I left them.....
certainly better, can't wait to activate back the plan. tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0303sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:16 PM