Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

axxer
post Oct 24 2019, 04:21 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Umobile at my house seems pretty good nowadays, constantly getting the max 3mbps on gx30 day and night without any slowdown. Not sure if they've improved or because the new project at a hillside in front of my house clearing trees making signal better but i love it. Can't go wrong for unlimited 3mbps for only rm30. Funny thing is all the top dog, celcom digi maxis got horrendous signal and turtle <1mbps speed here while the two underdog umobile and yes4g can hit stable 3-4mbps without problem.
axxer
post Oct 28 2019, 11:27 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Gone to the hospital today and the speed there are horrendous, maxed at only 700kbps on both 4g and 3g. I guess its somewhat true when people said umobile are terrible, it is terrible compared to the big telcos, can't properly serve heavy crowded area without slowdown. Lucky me my house are outside city skirt can enjoy the max 3mbps on gx30 24/7.
axxer
post Nov 2 2019, 12:57 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Nov 1 2019, 10:46 PM)
U paying peanuts u expect good service like Maxis?

Hello u are paying rm30/month only la. Pls make do with what u have.
Don't put your words in my mouth please. I merely stating my experience and honestly I'm okay with it, no need to assume what i didn't say.
axxer
post Nov 11 2019, 07:49 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Anyone tried the new ewallet from um, the gopayz how was it, any good?
axxer
post Feb 3 2020, 01:30 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Suddenly today no signal at all at my house. Thank god I'm not relying on um data at home since already got wifi.
axxer
post May 16 2020, 12:09 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Finally after using gx30 for 6 months I'm porting out to yes4g. Um speed are okay at my house which 99% of the time where I'm at, almost always can get max 3mbps but its the problem of stability. Usually will disconnect out of nowhere for less than a sec then reconnect back, plus the horrible high ping. For normal web browsing, YouTube or Netflix its useable but it caused me problem for online games.
axxer
post May 16 2020, 12:28 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(Azims @ May 16 2020, 12:23 AM)
yes4g good for gaming? What game are you playing?
Not sure but its cheap and comparable to um gx30 so I'm trying it for a month or two. Currently playing honkai impact 3, its fine with gx30 since not really realtime pvp. But trying realtime pvp like pubg or codm or any moba with um made ping jumping from green to red like rabbits.
axxer
post May 16 2020, 02:57 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(Wymm @ May 16 2020, 02:10 AM)
Is the number is main number? Gg wor...
Nope its a second number, only for data. My main for calls is on unifi mobile, currently enjoying free unlimited bebas weekly until mco ends, thus need to find more stable network than um when that unifi mobile free data promo ends later because unifi unlimited data are on the pricier side, 20 per week.
axxer
post Jun 22 2020, 09:44 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Dunno if they whitelisted cloudflare speedtest server or something, but this surprised me. Should be max at 6mbps only for gx30 but damn this is like premium maxis level already. Might be cloudflare got better route since its a cdn provider too. Ping abit higher since I'm on vpn. Tested without vpn and it's around the same speed too so its not the vpn doing magical stuff. Wanna test with fast.com but then I've already knew they're throttling netflix server which include fast.com too.

axxer
post Jul 13 2020, 12:02 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Turns out gx30 online port in rm5 rebate per month can be "refresh" by porting out then porting in again. I’ve got my monthly rebates for 6months and it ended, ported out for a month to try other telco but decided to port in again, got the rm5 again lol
axxer
post Feb 14 2021, 04:02 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

I've reported um to mcmc since their coverage here at my house is so spotty its unuseable. Happened since moved here in 2011. Non-existent 4g and 3g only 0-1 bar with data maxed at only 1mbps, and always disconnect too. They replied that I'm connected to base tower thats too far away, plus the hills around making it even worse. The cs replied that they've "optimized" the basetower. Not sure what it is but now 3g speed are more faster, reached up to 8mbps on less congest time and useable 3-4mbps when congested at night. Still no 4g signal but the 3g is definitely improved.

This post has been edited by axxer: Feb 14 2021, 04:26 AM
axxer
post Feb 14 2021, 03:49 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 14 2021, 05:50 AM)
Enjoy it while it lasts...

What will happen when 3G is abolished ?

#5G_is_fake
Doubt it'll ever happen in the near future. Definitely no total 3g shutdown this year. It would take another 1-2 year before 4g is useable for most people in rural areas. They'll probably shut 3g down in city and urban area first, still maintain it for rural areas.
axxer
post May 8 2021, 12:21 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Did a speedtest at a rural village near me, at peak time 11pm and got this result

Not too shabby for um. Too bad this isn't at my house, only got <4mbps most of the time sad.gif
axxer
post May 15 2021, 03:32 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 14 2021, 11:45 PM)
Bro

Wanna check did you eventually upgraded to GX50? Did the speed capped at 5mbps? Would expressvpn or Nordvpn bypass this limitation in speed?

Reason asking is dotter running out of data since she started working and she's on P28 plan
Nope those vpn won't bypass the speed limit of 5mbps but it'll bypass speed limit on streaming and torrent from whatever um capped to be 5mbps. I've tried and tested.
axxer
post May 15 2021, 08:38 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 15 2021, 04:07 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong, with GX50 + VPN u wont be able get 30 sec readahead with 1080p 60fps youtube videos, ya?
Yup
Yes with vpn will have higher ping and latency. Won't be a problem most of the time unless doing competitive gaming.
axxer
post May 17 2021, 12:04 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ May 16 2021, 05:46 PM)
Sorry just to clarify...

So you mean by using VPN, there is no speed cap even for gx 50 or gx68 for torrent??
Yes. If the plan have a generic speed cap like gx30 then it'll be 3mbps, if gx50 then it'll be 5mbps, if gx68 then it'll be at max speed depends on weather, tower etc. What um does is mitm sniffed our connection to differentiate protocol like https, torrent, streaming etc and applying caps based on the protocol. Vpn masked all protocol as https so theres no way to sniff anymore.
axxer
post Jun 10 2021, 02:58 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Jun 9 2021, 11:23 PM)
If i subscribe gx50 and hotspot to laptop to work, and connect to office vpn, will it consume my 5gb hotspot limit? will vpn able to mask this tethering info away as well?
It'll count as hotspot quota. Vpn will only mask all connection as regular https connection, not whether its hotspot sharing or not.
axxer
post Jul 27 2021, 11:47 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Yeah i can confirm that um already changed to celcom 2g since 2-3 weeks ago. At first i though the netmonster app got bug but everytime it always showed connected to the same 2g tower as my 1st sim which is tunetalk, they must've changed their ran sharing.
axxer
post Jan 13 2023, 02:18 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(coffee_life @ Jan 12 2023, 08:21 PM)
Wish to enquire between U Postpaid 38 and Prepaid U35. Does postpaid plan have stronger and faster network speed compare to prepaid plan ?

Any one compare before.
Thats a thing of the past. Few years back they might prioritize Business oriented pospaid compared to cheapskate student bought prepaid but nowadays it should be the same. Assuming 2 same phone set side by side, 1 using postpaid 1 using prepaid connecting to the same tower and both doesn't have hard speedcap, both should be fairly equal.
axxer
post Feb 28 2023, 07:21 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(hanif444 @ Feb 28 2023, 05:43 PM)
shall i move from maxis p98 to Umobile U38 ?

maxis VS U , network coverage very different?
Buy umobile prepaid and test before commit to postpaid. Its shouldn't differ much in cities and if u only move around cities. But if move around alot, outstation meeting clients or live in kampung area then umobile coverage can be more spotty compared to maxis.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0293sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:06 PM