7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

> Astro IPTV any upgrade?

tehoice
post Oct 9 2018, 02:43 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 9 2018, 12:51 PM)
I think it's time we create a petition of sorts and bring it to Maxis. The last time Time upgraded the speed for everyone on the standalone package, Astro took 1 year to follow suit.....that's bullshit given that there's nothing much to do to be on par with what TIME or Maxis is offering today.
how do we do it?

i'm really considering cancelling the astro IPTV + maxis broadband package and then reinstall astro only + unifi.

better deal and faster speed.
tehoice
post Oct 9 2018, 03:04 PM

5,529 posts

Astro PVR is only able to work with IPTV? normal astro cannot work?
SUSsam60
post Oct 9 2018, 03:41 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 9 2018, 02:43 PM)
how do we do it?

i'm really considering cancelling the astro IPTV + maxis broadband package and then reinstall astro only + unifi.

better deal and faster speed.
I was thinking the same thing..but need to wait this nov my contract end.
SUSsam60
post Oct 9 2018, 03:42 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 9 2018, 03:04 PM)
Astro PVR is only able to work with IPTV? normal astro cannot work?
PVR work for both..as long you have new decoder
tehoice
post Oct 9 2018, 05:25 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Oct 9 2018, 03:41 PM)
I was thinking the same thing..but need to wait this nov my contract end.
QUOTE(sam60 @ Oct 9 2018, 03:42 PM)
PVR work for both..as long you have new decoder
ok noted on this.

how long more on your contract?
as for the speed, 10 mbps, paying 148 for it is really bangwall.gif

SUSsam60
post Oct 9 2018, 06:49 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 9 2018, 05:25 PM)
ok noted on this.

how long more on your contract?
as for the speed, 10 mbps, paying 148 for it is really  bangwall.gif
November 2018 will be last...

im using 30Mbps with full package astro..but then i look at other package..paiseh..upgrade la..if they didnt upgrade, i will terminate and jump to time broadband..dont care la normal astro still can watch what...
tehoice
post Oct 10 2018, 08:59 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Oct 9 2018, 06:49 PM)
November 2018 will be last...

im using 30Mbps with full package astro..but then i look at other package..paiseh..upgrade la..if they didnt upgrade, i will terminate and jump to time broadband..dont care la normal astro still can watch what...
yeah, agree.
but it's the pvr, must work with maxis broadband right.
SUSsam60
post Oct 10 2018, 09:07 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 10 2018, 08:59 AM)
yeah, agree.
but it's the pvr, must work with maxis broadband right.
not necessary..pvr only work with new set top box..it doesnt matter maxis or time or unifi...its the set top box it self got pvr function
tehoice
post Oct 10 2018, 09:42 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Oct 10 2018, 09:07 AM)
not necessary..pvr only work with new set top box..it doesnt matter maxis or time or unifi...its the set top box it self got pvr function
ah okay, in that case, let me talk to astro/maxis, if they don't upgrade and lower down the price to the market rate, then gonna cut the broadband and choose some other service provider.
tehoice
post Oct 10 2018, 05:09 PM

5,529 posts

contacted astro. they are studying and expecting to revise their package by the end of November 2018. so let's wait, 1 more month to go.
SUSsam60
post Oct 10 2018, 11:15 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 10 2018, 05:09 PM)
contacted astro. they are studying and expecting to revise their package by the end of November 2018. so let's wait, 1 more month to go.
thanks bro for the update..will wait then.
tehoice
post Oct 11 2018, 08:15 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Oct 10 2018, 11:15 PM)
thanks bro for the update..will wait then.
And another point to add, apparently you can use other Internet from other provider to pair with IPTV, but only for the "on demand", the live programme will be affected. For example if you view football, you may get disruption.

But I think this is kinda nonsense. Can anyone verify? I got this from the customer service while speaking with them yesterday.
junsheng
post Oct 11 2018, 08:16 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

sry astro stupid better cancel
edwy138
post Oct 13 2018, 11:03 PM

I'm using the 10mbps package with Astro iptv time and I got bumped up to 100mbps starting of this year when I renewed the contract with them.

I have also contacted Astro to check if there will be any revisions of their packages and like many oyhers have said, Astro r in talks with Time n will update soon.
th3game
post Oct 13 2018, 11:17 PM

235 posts

PETALING JAYA: The telcos may have announced lower prices and faster Internet speeds, but many existing fixed broadband users are complaining that they have yet to enjoy these benefits.

On Sunday, the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) announced that Telekom Malaysia ™, Maxis, Celcom and Time have introduced new entry-level plans below RM100 that are more than 30% cheaper.

But the price reduction and speed increase brought about by the Mandatory Standard on Access Pricing (MSAP), which was implemented on June 8, have yet to trickle down to consumers.

Communications and Multimedia Minister Gobind Singh Deo said in a statement he was aware that not all existing fixed broadband users are enjoying higher speeds and lower prices.

“I will meet with the telco representatives to discuss this matter in the near future. At the same time, I would also like to emphasise that telcos that have offered the new packages should ensure the services are actually implemented.”

Gobind said MCMC is required to monitor the implementation of the new plans and manage all complaints received and to take firm action where necessary to ensure that the services provided are in line with what was promised.

MaxisOne Home Fibre subscriber Leela Krishnan is disappointed that she has yet to receive any update from Maxis.

“No SMS, e-mail or call from the company to tell how MSAP would affect my monthly bill, or what new plans are available for me,” said the graphics designer, 44.

Maxis said the upgrade was not automatic for existing customers as they have to first pick one of two plans – 30Mbps at RM89 or 100Mbps at RM129 per month.

They can do so at the Maxis page, bit.ly/2gacJxB, but will be recontracted for 24 months. Also, customers who break the new contract will incur a RM500 penalty.

Maxis said recontracting is necessary as it is providing a new router which is capable of maximising the higher speed for WiFi, and at no cost to the consumer.

Astro IPTV customers have also been left hanging on the status of their packages as the company has yet to announce anything.

Idzla Hafiz, 34, who is using the Astro IPTV 10 package, said he is paying RM148 for a mere 10Mbps broadband speed, and he has not received any updates.

“I hope I won’t be paying the same amount next month because that means I will be spending RM59 more than Maxis users and still get a lower speed,” he said.

An Astro spokesman told The Star that the company is still in discussion with its broadband partners – Time and Maxis.

“Discussions are progressing well and we hope our broadband partners will extend the same benefits to our Astro IPTV customers,” the spokesman said, adding that it hopes to make an announcement soon.

Meanwhile, TM’s free upgrade for existing users, which started in August, is expected to go on until the first quarter of next year, as it says it has over 800,000 subscribers to upgrade.

Unifi Home 20Mbps or lower subscribers will be upgraded to 100Mbps, 30Mbps to 300Mbps, 50Mbps to 500Mbps and 100Mbps to 800Mbps.

Public relations consultant Daniel Yao, a Unifi customer of seven years, said it is “ridiculous” that Unifi introduced a cheaper plan for new users but long-time users are still stuck in the same plans.

He said Unifi informed him that the only way to opt for the cheaper and faster plan is to terminate his current package and sign up for a new one.

“That means I need to sign a new contract and redo the whole thing at a TM office,” he added.

TM’s Streamyx customers, especially in the outskirts, have also been complaining to MCMC on Twitter that they are still not being upgraded to Unifi and are being forced to pay more for lower speeds due to lack of infrastructure.

“I found out that there are no suggestions provided to address the issues faced by existing Streamyx users, therefore this is something I need to tackle immediately,” said Gobind.

As at press time, TM has yet to respond to queries from The Star.

Celcom, which offers its Home Fibre plans only in Sabah, said it has upgraded all existing customers to the higher speeds and lower prices since September without recontracting.

All its Home Fibre users, starting from 10Mbps, were upgraded to 100Mbps, and their bill reduced to RM120 per month.

The telco said those who have yet to receive their upgrades can contact its customer service line at 1-300-11-3282.

Time also claims that it has upgraded all its existing users and notified them via e-mail.

The 100Mbps plan (RM149) was upgraded to 500Mbps (RM139) while the 300Mbps (RM189) and 500Mbps (RM299) plans were both upgraded to 1Gbps (RM189).

However, the new subscription fees will only be reflected in bills that are issued from Oct 15 onwards.

If users are still facing slow speeds, it recommends that they restart their router and perform another speed test.

It is best done via a desktop or laptop connected to the router via an Ethernet cable, as users may not be able to get the full speed via WiFi.

If nothing works, users can get in touch with Time via 1800-18-1818 or cs@time.com.my.
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018...g-lower-prices/

still ongoing discussion till long neck already
edca
post Oct 21 2018, 10:24 AM

email from astro after making complaint to mcmc:

Refer to our tele-conversation earlier today, we wish to inform that we are committed to offer competitive Astro IPTV broadband services to all customers and would like update that discussions are ongoing with our broadband partners. Discussions are progressing well and we hope to update our customers on revised Astro IPTV broadband pricing very soon.

In the meantime, we wish to inform you that we have proceeded with the rebate amounting to RM37.00 based on monthly basis until Astro announces new pricing of its bundled broadband and content services. You may notice the rebate adjustment in your forthcoming statement

=============
10Mps Maxis $148 , rebate 37 = 111 , still expensive and slow.
and my contract end at 8/2019 , pay more to enjoy less for 11 months.

in the mean time , you can see astro show message when you switch channel : Times 100Mps for RM 99.

some said early bird eat more
I think I am early worm been eaten vmad.gif
g3nmax1mus
post Oct 26 2018, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(edca @ Oct 21 2018, 10:24 AM)
email from astro after making complaint to mcmc:

Refer to our tele-conversation earlier today, we wish to inform that we are committed to offer competitive Astro IPTV broadband services to all customers and would like update that discussions are ongoing with our broadband partners. Discussions are progressing well and we hope to update our customers on revised Astro IPTV broadband pricing very soon. 

In the meantime, we wish to inform you that we have proceeded with the rebate amounting to RM37.00 based on monthly basis until Astro announces new pricing of its bundled broadband and content services. You may notice the rebate adjustment in your forthcoming statement

=============
10Mps Maxis  $148 , rebate 37 = 111 , still expensive and slow.
and my contract end at 8/2019 ,  pay more to enjoy less for 11 months.

in the mean time , you can see astro show message when you switch channel :  Times 100Mps for RM 99.

some said early bird eat more
I think I am early worm been eaten  vmad.gif
Just received my Astro IPTV Maxis 10MBps bill for October. Did u get the RM37 rebate they mentioned? How did you request for this? Via email or call? Care to share?

S Super Pack 4: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM146.00 + Service Tax RM 8.76 = RM 154.76
S Super Pack 4: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM-25.00 + ST RM -1.50 = RM -26.50 (normal rebate for ASTRO IPTV since registered)
S 10MbpsMaxis + HD + PVR: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM148.00+ ST RM 8.88 = RM 156.88

With new service tax..become extra RM17!
Lets all complain to MCMC or Gobind

nick0
post Oct 26 2018, 05:59 PM

66 posts

any update?
sewerside
post Oct 26 2018, 08:24 PM

127 posts

can I continue to use the Astro PVR if I cancel the Astro-Maxis and switch to TM? Still can record movie and use iptv feature?
SUSsam60
post Oct 27 2018, 05:55 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(g3nmax1mus @ Oct 26 2018, 04:35 PM)
Just received my Astro IPTV Maxis 10MBps bill for October. Did u get the RM37 rebate they mentioned? How did you request for this? Via email or call? Care to share?

S Super Pack 4: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM146.00 + Service Tax RM 8.76 = RM 154.76
S Super Pack 4: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM-25.00 + ST RM -1.50 = RM -26.50 (normal rebate for ASTRO IPTV since registered)
S 10MbpsMaxis + HD + PVR: 04/10/18 - 03/11/18: RM148.00+ ST RM 8.88 = RM 156.88

With new service tax..become extra RM17!
Lets all complain to MCMC or Gobind
they still hasnt come back to me with anything...yes i also got the rebate...but still, its not about the rebate...but compare with other ISP, iptv still not worth it.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 

0.0309sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:56 PM