Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Home workout with dumbbell and bike, advice needed for beginner

views

TSblitzbullet
post Sep 19 2018, 05:19 PM, updated 4y ago

Getting Started
293 posts

Hello all sifu,

I am a pure beginner in working out, and I havent work out I guess over 10 years. I have the following physique.

H: 183 cm
W: 106 kg

I am recently diagnosed with high blood pressure and been advised by doctor to start working out before they going to decide if I need to start medication. So, the goal is to get healthy and reduce weight. Anyway, I have below equipments to work out at home every morning before going to work. Due to work and commute and family commitments, I dont think an evening work out will work.

1) 3 units of dumbbells - 5kg and 2x15 kg (both adjustable, and same model meaning I can interchange weight between these 2 without problem)
2) 1 unit stationary gym bike
3) Bench

I am currently planning to do the following work out routine.

Workout time: 6.00 am after wake up (no pre workout meal), followed by breakfast (after 30 min) and go to work
Routine: 2 days workout, 1 day rest. At end of month, plan to have 4 days rest instead before reset back to original routine.

Workout plan

I've been reading this ebook as a guide and feeling of following and doing short rep with heavy weights exercises.
Bigger Leaner Stronger by Michael Matthews

1st - Old plan
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «

2nd Plan

Current Plan- I found out after a while that some muscles are being worked too much, while others are lagging. So made few adjustments there.

So, here's the problems or questions I have in mind

1) By doing this, am I covering all the muscles that I need to work out?
2) Is the workout order is good? I mean, if I follow the above sequence, may I overwork the muscles? I will start with light weights for the beginning and slowly will increase the weight in future.