Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

ZM Fong
post Nov 28 2018, 05:07 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Nov 28 2018, 03:35 PM)
Guys, looking to replace my 7-year old desktop with a laptop since my desktop is dying on me.

Budget - around 3k
Usage - office work, with a lot of gaming (dota, PUBG, Skyrim, etc)

With my desktop, I’m running dual 24’ monitor with 1x 27’ monitor, planning to maybe sell off the dual 24’ and use the 27’ for my main screen, or just sell all 3 and get a bigger screen, so preferably maybe a 14’ laptop.

HDD + SSD is a must, got data to store in my HDD, or if no HDD would need at least 240gb SSD as I can recycle storage from my desktop.

Battery life not that important as don’t think will use the battery much, but durability should be good, and preferably laptop with easy back panel access in case I want to upgrade the ram/HDD.
Budget too low for a good gaming laptop
exdtan
post Nov 28 2018, 10:43 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Nov 28 2018, 03:35 PM)
Guys, looking to replace my 7-year old desktop with a laptop since my desktop is dying on me.

Budget - around 3k
Usage - office work, with a lot of gaming (dota, PUBG, Skyrim, etc)

With my desktop, I’m running dual 24’ monitor with 1x 27’ monitor, planning to maybe sell off the dual 24’ and use the 27’ for my main screen, or just sell all 3 and get a bigger screen, so preferably maybe a 14’ laptop.

HDD + SSD is a must, got data to store in my HDD, or if no HDD would need at least 240gb SSD as I can recycle storage from my desktop.

Battery life not that important as don’t think will use the battery much, but durability should be good, and preferably laptop with easy back panel access in case I want to upgrade the ram/HDD.
Try Acer Nitro 5 for 2.8K. Then get a Kingston A400 480GB for 270 or Sandisk 3D Nand 500GB for 350. Bam. Perfect Entry level Gaming laptop that can play all the games you mentioned.

This post has been edited by exdtan: Nov 28 2018, 10:44 PM
mycroftlee
post Nov 28 2018, 11:27 PM

38 posts

1. Budget : 2.5 K, can stretch up to 2.7-2.8
2. Usage : general office, occasional photoshop, spss. no gaming
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
display: 14 inch and above
battery life: no preference, most of time plug in
processor: i5 or amd ryzen 5
ram: 4GB upgradable to 8GB or 8GB on board
storage: least 256 SSD or 128SSD + SATA HDD

quick browsing online, hav a few possible choices:
Acer swift 315-51 (Ryzen)
Acer swift 314-54 + RAM upgrade
lenovo IP 330s + RAM upgrade
ASUS vivobook A507U + RAM upgrade

unsure bout lenovo built, my last lenovo built was not good with poor broken hinge. cant find any review on asus vivobook.
would appreciate opinion of all the sifus here on choices i found or any other possible choices. Thanks lots

myway1985
post Nov 28 2018, 11:35 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(mycroftlee @ Nov 28 2018, 11:27 PM)
2. Usage  : general office, occasional photoshop, spss. no gaming

unsure bout lenovo built, my last lenovo built was not good with poor broken hinge. cant find any review on asus vivobook.
would appreciate opinion of all the sifus here on choices i found or any other possible choices. Thanks lots
*tambah sikit* DELL 5575-R715SG-W10-DFO RM3100
R7-2700U
16GB D4
512GB
ATI
15.6"FHD W10 BLU ,WHT & BLK / 1 YR PREM
ZM Fong
post Nov 28 2018, 11:38 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mycroftlee @ Nov 28 2018, 11:27 PM)
2. Usage  : general office, occasional photoshop, spss. no gaming

Acer Swift 3 SF314-54 +RAM
Lenovo Ideapad 320s/330s 14 with 52Wh battery +RAM+SSD
Acer Aspire 5 A515-52G +RAM+SSD

For this kind of budget you won't get top notch build quality, just bear in mind
Queryz
post Nov 29 2018, 11:30 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(Nymphetamine666 @ Nov 27 2018, 05:23 PM)
Hi Sifu, planedn to buy laptop for my sister TONITE!!. She's not a gamer nor heavy user. Just a normal girl using Ms words, Excel, Powerpoint, FBing, surfing and Utube. Her budget is RM2k. So I guess, a decent and average kind/model will do.

I checked with my IT friend he recommended me a list as follows:
1. Dell 15 (i3/4GB/500GB) = RM 1850
2. Dell 3480 (i3/4GB/500GB) = RM 2140
3. Dell 14 (i3/4GB/500GB) = RM 1800
4. Lenovo Ideapad (N4000/4GB/500GB) = RM 1300
5. Asus (R3/$GB/1TB) = RM 1950

i copy exactly what he type to me. Not sure the model number or the processor are right. also, please recommend me which one is the best and robust and suitable. will be going Digital Mall PJ after work.

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
go for dell.. good service support..
Savor_Savvy
post Nov 30 2018, 01:58 PM

2,776 posts

Looking for a business laptop within the RM4k+- range. Thinkpads? Vostro?
Any recommendations? At least an i5 with 8gb of ram and min 256gb of ssd. FHD display.

TQ

This post has been edited by Savor_Savvy: Nov 30 2018, 02:42 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 30 2018, 02:25 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Nov 30 2018, 01:58 PM)
Any recommendations? At least an i5 with 8gb of ram and min 256gb of ssd.

TQ
If you want a premium business laptop, can take a look at Thinkpad T series, though they are above your budget

Vostro and Thinkpad E series are just consumer rebrand
chakalakababy
post Nov 30 2018, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 21 2018, 07:20 PM)
Give a range on weight. Any preference on display quality?
changed my budget sad.gif

1. Budget : 3000-ish

2. Usage : MS Office work and entertainment/light gaming like netflix, youtube, pubg mobile emulator if possible

3. Requirements:
Display: 13inch IPS, FHD
Battery: at least 8hrs with normal use
Weight: ultrabook weight? less than 2kg
Brand: I'm open to all brands but something that doesn't look gamey. Currently looking at ultrabooks. Anything within my price range?
ZM Fong
post Nov 30 2018, 08:09 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(chakalakababy @ Nov 30 2018, 06:21 PM)
1. Budget : 3000-ish

2. Usage  : MS Office work and entertainment/light gaming like netflix, youtube, pubg mobile emulator if possible

3. Requirements:
Display: 13inch IPS, FHD
Battery: at least 8hrs with normal use
Weight: ultrabook weight? less than 2kg
Brand: I'm open to all brands but something that doesn't look gamey. Currently looking at ultrabooks. Anything within my price range?
There aren't many good options under 3k:
Acer Spin 5 13 - soldered RAM
Lenovo Ideapad 720s 13 Ryzen 81BR0054/55MJ - CPU performance and battery life issues, soldered RAM
Hola
post Dec 1 2018, 11:21 AM

22 posts

Hi sifus, looking for a thin and light laptop for normal usage (microsoft office, youtube) and gaming (Dota, Black dessert online, mobile emulator and etc) since I often moving around due to work arrangement. Dont have to operate in ultra end graphic, a decent graphic setting will do. Also, must have a decent cooling system since sometimes the accommodation provided don't have air-cond.

Currently dont know the budget yet (obviously not looking for RM10k+ laptop). Just looking at what the normal price range and best brand of laptop i can get. Thank you.

This post has been edited by Hola: Dec 1 2018, 11:46 AM
CKKwan
post Dec 1 2018, 11:28 AM

886 posts

Looking for note book with Num Pad which has all the *normal* keys needed for programming. NOT missing or required to press ALT or FN to access

List of Keys are:

Home/End
Pg Up/Dn
Num Lock
Print Screen

Optional: Scroll Lock

The latest keyboard design are extremely weird!!!

ZM Fong
post Dec 1 2018, 01:49 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Hola @ Dec 1 2018, 11:21 AM)
Hi sifus, looking for a thin and light laptop for normal usage (microsoft office, youtube) and gaming (Dota, Black dessert online, mobile emulator and etc) since I often moving around due to work arrangement. Dont have to operate in ultra end graphic, a decent graphic setting will do. Also, must have a decent cooling system since sometimes the accommodation provided don't have air-cond.

Currently dont know the budget yet (obviously not looking for RM10k+ laptop). Just looking at what the normal price range and best brand of laptop i can get. Thank you.
Fine with lower end GPU like MX150? Preferred max weight in kg and min battery life in hours? Any preference on display size and display quality (sRGB)?

Every brand has good and bad models
ZM Fong
post Dec 1 2018, 01:51 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Dec 1 2018, 11:28 AM)
Looking for note book with Num Pad which has all the *normal* keys needed for programming. NOT missing or required to press ALT or FN to access

List of Keys are:

Home/End
Pg Up/Dn
Num Lock
Print Screen

Optional: Scroll Lock

The latest keyboard design are extremely weird!!!
Budget? Any preference on weight, display quality and battery life? Usage only for programming?
ZM Fong
post Dec 1 2018, 03:41 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

Legion Y730 15 and 17 are available in Malaysia...but damn expensive
myway1985
post Dec 1 2018, 04:12 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Nov 30 2018, 01:58 PM)
Any recommendations? At least an i5 with 8gb of ram and min 256gb of ssd. FHD display.

TQ
factory outlet stock with onsite warranty u ok? if ya plenty of option
FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 04:57 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

Hi, my father needs a new laptop.

1. Budget : Below RM 1500
2. Usage : Everyday use.
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : With Keypad.

Is there any laptop with keypad under RM 1500?

ZM Fong
post Dec 1 2018, 05:10 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 1 2018, 04:57 PM)
Hi, my father needs a new laptop.

1. Budget : Below RM 1500
2. Usage  : Everyday use.
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : With Keypad.

Is there any laptop with keypad under RM 1500?
Might want a used business laptop with 1 yr warranty
FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 05:17 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 1 2018, 05:10 PM)
Might want a used business laptop with 1 yr warranty
My father prefer new things.

Not second hand model. What about HP CS-DA0006/0007TX? My father said can top up.

CKKwan
post Dec 1 2018, 05:19 PM

886 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 1 2018, 01:51 PM)
Budget? Any preference on weight, display quality and battery life? Usage only for programming?
I am ok around 4~5K. Do not want slim design.

Display >= FHD. 15" will do.

Used only for programming. GPU is good to have.

155 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0365sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:26 PM