Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group
Anespian
May 27 2010, 06:41 PM
Hi all,
I'm contemplating in having braces. Hmm...as the saying goes, 'Ignorance is Bliss'. Only after consulting a ortho, then learned i've got a problem. To keep story short, was advised to do by 1st doctor, but needed to have extraction of two lower teeth. Then was referred to another doc to extract but commented the tooth lower teeth's root is long. So i got scared. Then seek second opinion, Dr How. He said no need extraction wor. Put the braces first, and then see how progress. Confused. 1st doc is conventional metal braces costing RM4K++, Dr How's self ligitating ones are RM6k++. Gosh....I'm a working, so my pockets gonna be a larg hole. Well, still in consideration. My friends all laughing and commented preferably don't do braces. Sigh...still scratching my head
Anespian
Jun 3 2010, 05:45 PM
Hi all. After some convincing from Dr How, I've now been 'braced'. Now sulking cause not looking forward to my credit card bil. heheehe.
Lots of saliva and can't eat hard food. i'm so gonna miss red meat. Anyone care to share initial experiences what its like. I need to get used to quickly. BTW, procedure was fast yesterday evening.
Anespian
Jun 4 2010, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 3 2010, 07:57 PM) i'm new to braces too...! It's been like 2 weeks already since I was "braced", now no feeling already... first week got la, the teeth were a bit lose... my upper and lower teeth cant be shut like it was before braces... first week, couldnt eat anything... apart from congee, can only eat soft food... but now can eat fried chicken but still have to be careful... if not like me, one of my bracket came off just 2 days ago... Added on June 3, 2010, 7:59 pmoh yeah, i get mouth ulcer easily even before I had braces... but since I consume vitamin B complex with zinc, the ulcer doesnt grow big... it will stay small and dissappear in few days... oh yeah Anespian, do you get cuts from the braces? Aduhai! One of my brackets got loosed this morning after rinsing. Dr only be back on following Monday.  Have to 'patient'ly wait now. Only two days got braced, but now ulcers or cuts from braces so far. Just a little discomfort on skin near right side of wisdom tooth. I was being naughty yesterday trying to eat little 'char siews' from fried rice. What a pain! Now I get the pic! The auntie of porridge stall near my house will be very please seeing me for the next 1 week.  Thank you all for the advise
Anespian
Jun 21 2010, 04:38 PM
Gosh...i don't even know Damon got Damon 3 & 3mx. Am i the oldest here who got braces at 30?! Aikss...I got the transparent 1 instead of metal so extra $$. So its from my paycheck....sob sob...Just saw my credit card bill...nearly fall off my chair..I should have pester my parents when small....then no need to fok out on my own now...hehehe
Anespian
Jun 21 2010, 10:25 PM
Know someone, arranged with orthodontist to have her breaces off just before wedding photography date. In time and excellent results. You invinsible as in the ceramic ones. Its not so visible, bling bling as the metal ones  So far, no stains from curries & other sinful food..kekekeke. If you're quite certain on getting braces, get consultation and seek advise. Don't be afraid to ask Dr on Anything!
Anespian
Jun 23 2010, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(hlee09 @ Jun 23 2010, 09:10 AM)  cool! i like it alot coz it's not attracting attention. my job requires me to deal wit lots of ppl and meet new ppl vry frequently. it would be so disturbing if they keep staring at my teeth or pay more attention to my braces than wat i'm saying to them! btw, nikidateddy & anespian.. did u had problem of bracket loose/break? how often tat happen? Added on June 23, 2010, 9:13 ambtw, anyone quit coffee after put on braces? i need a cup every morning to perk myself up, 'wise i'll become a zombie for the rest of the day. i'm so worried i might have to drink cold coffee with straw later since coffee stains isnt it? I've got one of my bracket loose after 3 days. Er...prob due to glue not yet harden fully & it loosen during teeth brushing. BTW, i've just put on braces end of last month. No stains visible on my ceramic Damon...yet.  No powerbands & rubberhands, so not so worry. My job equires me to meet people all the time. My clients are cool...just that some of my friends just teases me occasionally....at my age.
Anespian
Jun 26 2010, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(hlee09 @ Jun 26 2010, 12:58 AM) Nikki is right. I did ask d nurse about wearing upper braces 1st. She explained tat dr wan me to get used to wearing braces 1st. Somemore my lower not as serious as upper so plenty of time to catch up. I guess different dentist has different style. Nikki, I think I'll try my hardest to avoid any hard food for fear of loosening my brackets I oso hav tis phobia of getting food stuck in my braces. But let's see how long I can maintain my soft diet.. I'm usually not vry disciplined when it comes to food haha Food stuck on baces is a norm. After each meal i tend to excuse myself to washroom or gargle (as silently as i could) while covering with napkin/ tissue if got. Hate it when ppl keep staring & when they notice something. My colleagues will tell me 'Don't Speak' and I get the hint
Anespian
Jun 30 2010, 02:54 PM
I just got my lower teeth braced. Due to my condition, bite stopper is needed to prevent me from biting the braces. Aikss..i can't chew nor bite. I have to swallow foods now onwards. My speech is slurred cause can't close my teeths fully. Sigh! Do any of you share similar experience?
Anespian
Jun 30 2010, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jun 30 2010, 03:08 PM) yes, talk and eat slowly. I always bite on my tongue accidently. Its painful and u get ulcer on that spot where u bit....awful experience Thanks Nikki & Karyn for the advise. If not mistaken, I got braced on 1st June. Its Innovation C btw. Keep thinking i may neet to go on liquid diet. Argghh..  I'll persevere and find my way. gosh I'm gonna miss a lot of food types.
Anespian
Dec 8 2010, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(Xp3rT @ Dec 7 2010, 02:08 AM) X-ray and molding rm330(x2 before and after as u said).confirm rm750,after brace rm750.left rm4500/14 = rm320 per month.extraction normal teeth rm40each(x4). add other extra stuffs n transport fee total almost rm7k.  Just curious, are you getting the regular metal braces, hence the need to extract 4 teeth? I was informed to extract 2 teeth by another ortho. Then was informed no need to do so when decided to go for self litigating types.
Anespian
Dec 25 2010, 10:53 PM
Sigh..just want to vent my frustation...having to fix loose bracket nearly every month...must.....resist.....tempting.....meat dishes. Well merry X'mas fellow bracesians!
Anespian
Dec 27 2010, 12:40 AM
Whoa...ceramic package cost RM9,900?! Hmm...Suggest you seek 2nd opinion / cost-packages from other ortho. There may be other incidental cost, e.g extraction, dental supplies, etc...and it will add up.
Anespian
Jan 23 2011, 02:40 AM
Rest assured with Raymond's capabilites. Had scaling done by him couple of days ago. Quick & clean, not to mention courteous explanation on condition of my teeth & braces. Well, just got 2 huge ulcers, caused by grinding of braces. Arrghh!
Anespian
Apr 26 2011, 01:49 AM
Just had a wisdom tooth extracted somewhat two weeks ago. With Anaesthetic, it just felt a slight twitch. Is only when the Anae wears off that you start feelin uncomfortable.
Anespian
Apr 26 2011, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(Jenny87 @ Apr 26 2011, 05:21 AM) I have 4 to be extracted. All fully grown, 2 fully grown out and another 2 embedded in my gum. Sigh. I heard the operation will cause our face to be swollen, need to remove stitch after 1 week of extraction.. so scary  Added on April 26, 2011, 5:22 amif compared to braces, is the pain more bearable or worse? I only had 1 extracted. Others may need to be extracted in future. Extraction is not painful. Once Anaes wear off, had tingling feeling drinking liquid...probably due to sensitive gum area where the wisdom tooth use to be. Tightening of wire is somewhat more painful, when eating. Consultation aint come free. After seeking 2nd opinion, I decided to go with 2nd ortho. Yup, cost more but time will tell. Still under 'treatment'. So far so good
Anespian
Apr 27 2011, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(deadangel @ Apr 27 2011, 02:51 PM) Yup, did it at Dr How Ortho. But done by the younger doc. That 1 particular extracted tooth was larger than average and crooked according to the doc. So a bit of a 'tussle' but otherwise a smooth procedure. So kept it as a memento  You need not worry as its a quite straightforward procedure for most cases if there is no surgery required
Anespian
May 20 2011, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(deadangel @ May 19 2011, 11:23 AM) dear all..just to update my status...today is 4th day...stil dun really feel the pain..just feel the tightness so far:)still can bear with it..just a little bit headache....but on of my bracket loosen..need to find dr to glue it back:(...hard to find parking man.. Park at below Jolly Green (foodcourt). Needs 7 tooth extraction..Ouch. Hang tough gal
Anespian
Jul 3 2011, 12:39 AM
Livon - Patience is virtue. Like you i too had 2 tooth extracted recently. Frustratingly, I got fever after the numbness wear off, but no pain though. I too hope not have extractions again.
Anespian
Dec 21 2011, 01:46 AM
I'm 31 and still wearing them....innovation C (ceramic) Some suffering you will endure...but u'll get used to it. Its the results that you want. So go for it
Anespian
Feb 9 2012, 03:06 AM
I too was surprised on their new premise at Ground floor. Premium looking place now. New trainees i think.
If the bracket is loose, set for an appointment asap. Keep the loose bracket if detached. Sigh my treatment taking longer than expected.