IKEA Behandla Beeswax problem?, Too much yellow!

ar188
post Sep 12 2018, 08:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(czhog @ Sep 6 2018, 11:05 AM)
So basically this is my first time trying to polish bare wood. And after consulting uncle Google I decided to try IKEA Behandla beeswax polish.

I followed the instructions, sand my wood, even apply some moisture on the sanded wood because the instructions says it's better like that. Then apply the beeswax and wait for it to dry.

The beeswax itself is white liquid colour, however after leaving the wood to dry, the colour turned so yellow I don't even recognize it anymore. Was it my problem, or it's the nature of beeswax to turn the wood colour yellowish?? I understand that polishing will make the wood color turn darker but this is not "darker", it's yellower...
Linseed oil, Wood oil, Lead free drying agent, Emulsifier

cannot leh.. it has linseed oil. it will turn yellow.

you need white pigments for white washing style. ikea should have it also. but still its oil based.

anyway, if no pigments, you need polycrylic (waterbased poly) wont turn yellow.

ar188
post Sep 12 2018, 08:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(czhog @ Sep 12 2018, 10:21 AM)
In the end I bought teak oil I found from Ace hardware, haven't tried, but hope not another weird color that I cannot accept.. sweat.gif
will be yellow also leh. teak oil makes it more brown infact lol

ar188
post Sep 12 2018, 08:59 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 6 2018, 11:35 AM)
Is it same ? This is what I use.

this is white pigmented stain leh. of course will turn white. laugh.gif
ar188
post Sep 15 2018, 12:24 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(czhog @ Sep 14 2018, 10:01 AM)
Please do share, just in case my teak oil turn out bad, I can get a new solution haha
so I need to find something with no linseed oil to prevent that weird yellow colour?
I am not sure, but brown sounds better to me than yellow. yellow does not look like natural wood at all sweat.gif
well yeah, yellow looks old fashion. light brown or medium brown is way better.
ar188
post Jan 6 2019, 12:22 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 5 2019, 11:19 PM)
This wan will turn yellowish after some yrs. And not matt white like satin.
i have one can, still new, cos its gloss (not matt) so i didnt really use it, cos not a fan of gloss.
open inside is the color of yellow cooking oil fluid. biggrin.gif so i dont think you need years to make it yellow. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 6 2019, 12:24 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 5 2019, 11:14 PM)

PU will more water resistance but the surface will feel like acrylic compares to lemon oil.
lemon oil has zero protection. PU has very good protection against scratches

0.0187sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:10 PM