Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

ratloverice
post Sep 3 2019, 09:39 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Sep 3 2019, 09:23 AM)
Still suggest go hardcore at the merchant site. Talk to their manager, show proof of your items bought and t&c of their company that you can get a refund.

Case like this If u dispute to bank, the chances of your success is dim. When dispute case rise, bank site will not only listen on ur story only, it will verify with the merchant, if merchant responded the transaction is legit, bank will close the case regardless of the satisfaction/quality of the good delivered. As bank site not only protect your, they protect the merchant site too.

Other method is to rise to the parties handing the transaction e.g if you buy via lazada/shopee, etc.

Additionally, if you have already purchase the item more than their coverage period, eg. 7days return policy / 30 days warranty. You probably not gonna get back the refund.
I bought it on a chinese website that sells gift cards/chinese e-wallet topup. Had sent several emails + started several conversations with the CS of the website via live chat. I am yet to receive any replies to my emails, while the CS simply asked for my alipay’s login credentials every time I talked to them.

I am aware that the bank will need to carry out an in-depth investigation before making a decision, that’s why i gathered all necessary evidences and sent them to the relevant department when I initiated the dispute. By right the bank won’t just close the case simply because the merchant says that it is legit. I will just wait and see how mbb handles my dispute.
ratloverice
post Sep 3 2019, 10:53 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 3 2019, 10:07 AM)
dont worry. standard chargeback will apply to them, whether they want to respond or not.

if they dont answer to you, they need to answer to their bank.

if they still dont answer or provde adequate info to validate the chargeback claim, then the official chargeback arbitration will take effect.

during the process, the chargeback amount will be debited to you first.
The CS of the bank acted like there is no such thing called dispute and chargeback when I told her about my situation. I xleh tahan and mentioned it to her then baru she said things like yeahhhhhh you can dispute don’t worry lol

QUOTE(avinlim @ Sep 3 2019, 10:30 AM)
I went tru this before, I bought antivirus license using mbb card and seller send me used codes via email. Talked to seller, not willing to refund. Disputed to mbb, cannot escalate as the transaction was agreed by me. Case close, I paid the money.

Btw, where and what have your bought? cards? and seller not sending u any of the order? If buy via aliexpress, you got the full protection. If via taobao...i think got protection also.
You should have insisted on disputing and have pushed the bank. You agreed to carry out the transaction for an unused license code but not an used code. Many years ago when I was studying in the US, a merchant sent me a counterfeit product when I paid for an authentic ones. Initiated a chargeback with my card issuing bank and managed to get the money back. I used to initiate several disputes when there was non-delivery of products/services or delivery of products/services not as described. As long as I was able to submit solid evidences, I got my money back.

It’s a website created by some chinese guys. Bought 20k rmb but he paid me 1.01 lol. When I asked the CS of the website via live chat, the first thing he asked for was my alipay login id and password. When I told him to send me the transaction history with my account only, he terus went missing.
ratloverice
post Sep 3 2019, 11:15 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 3 2019, 10:56 AM)
banks cant run away from chargeback process, as long as they are with visa/mastercard/amex doh.gif

best part is chargeback is mainly to protect consumers, most of the times merchants will lose the dispute.

since you're already compiling the evidence/documents, then you're on a good direction.
Unfortunately many people think that we can dispute a transaction only when it is unauthorized. Banks don’t seem to be keen on educating us about this.

I am also quite positive that the outcome will be in my favor. Hopefully la 😂

This post has been edited by ratloverice: Sep 3 2019, 11:15 AM
ratloverice
post Sep 3 2019, 11:51 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 3 2019, 11:25 AM)
if not wrong, the bank only do charge-back to merchant if it is genuine fraudulent transaction or wrong transaction such as double charge etc.

if it is an dispute between customer and merchant such as dissatisfaction of products etc. , i dun think the bank will intervene. this one requires the customer to deal with merchant directly.

and if ur transaction is gone through with 2FA which you require to enter the SMS TAC to authorise the transaction, normally the transaction cannot be disputed.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/clairetsosie/2...e/#77bdb1ce2e39

You can.

2FA makes it harder for people to do friendly fraud. It doesn't mean that you can't dispute the transaction even though it went through 2FA.

0.0291sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:32 PM