Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)
fruitie
Sep 27 2018, 09:21 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(borneoman1 @ Sep 27 2018, 09:15 AM) Hello, I went to maybank and asked for upgrade to platinum. Luckily I got it. But it seems my gold cards are active too. Does this mean I can still get cashback for the gold, in addition to the plat amex cards? I was thinking I should keep both and just offset the sst fees for both sets using points & cashback. No, you shouldn't keep the Gold cards anymore. Cash back is only one RM 50 per month even if you have Gold and Plat, yet SST will be charged to 4 cards.
fruitie
Sep 28 2018, 10:32 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 28 2018, 10:30 AM) eeeeee. i purposely went to garden on weekend, the recep said they only do application, gift redemp and card cancel. they direct me to branch to get it done there instead.  i kena troll ? Did you read the post correctly?
fruitie
Sep 28 2018, 05:25 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2018, 05:23 PM) Yes, the transaction on 30th Sept, posted on Oct utilise Oct cashback quota. That’s only possible for overseas transaction. Local transaction most probably will still be posted the same day. No lo. Most of my local transactions are posted on the next day or 2 days later. Only bill payments and Grab, I can see on the same day.
fruitie
Sep 29 2018, 08:18 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(akafoz @ Sep 29 2018, 08:15 PM) Just done a call to MBB call center. Surprisingly, they allow me to terminate the useless Visa card that come with the maybank 2 card platinium. Now i got to keep the Amex only. Saved RM 25 SST. You are the first one to report because this card needs to be coupled with AmEx or will be totally terminated. Check again with different CS for the status few days later. That's a good news though.
fruitie
Sep 29 2018, 09:33 PM
Rise and Shine
Great news. I still have BTs in that card, luckily my card will expire around March/April, I will ask them to transfer those BTs to my AmEx later.
fruitie
Sep 29 2018, 10:13 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(mamamia @ Sep 29 2018, 10:08 PM) I need to transfers my BT from VISA to Amex too.. I Usenet visa to monitor my BT repayment.. if they allow to cancel visa, I will just transfer to AMEX Same here. If they allow, just let us know ya. I'm not fit to talk these few days, losing voice.. QUOTE(koala225 @ Sep 29 2018, 10:09 PM) BT can transfer 2nd time to other card? Not doing another BT, just transferring the installment to this card and continue paying there.
fruitie
Sep 29 2018, 11:12 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Sep 29 2018, 10:33 PM) not sure about BT, but i transferred my instalments from amex to barcelona previously when i cancelled the amex. Then BT should be doable as well.
fruitie
Sep 29 2018, 11:16 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MikeLeo @ Sep 29 2018, 11:12 PM) Do we get cashback for insurance payment if autodebit? How about manual payment? I assumed you meant AmEx. If your insurance auto-debit is on weekends, yes you will get but you can't control auto-debit date right? Well, yes if it accepts AmEx and transacted on weekends.
fruitie
Sep 30 2018, 11:55 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 30 2018, 09:22 AM) just called Maybank to transfer my BT (still have 1 last installment) in M2C Visa --> M2C Amex. will be reflected in next statement, which is normal and expected. will call in again later at night after my eSI kicks-in to pay M2C Visa outstanding, then terminate the M2C Visa straightaway. Thanks for the update. On second thought, I better get them transferred a.s.a.p. before they change their mind.
fruitie
Sep 30 2018, 12:39 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 30 2018, 12:13 PM) yes, transfer first is better. termination can be later  I am just afraid they won't allow termination later.
fruitie
Sep 30 2018, 07:48 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 30 2018, 07:45 PM) Not to worry. They've been forced to do this as too many customers complain about the SST for the 'useless' card, so management decided not worth the hassle. Very unlikely to reverse (no promises that benefit stay la). Yeah, good to know this. Really hope it won't affect AmEx's benefits, will it? I don't think so.
fruitie
Sep 30 2018, 08:58 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(dannyw @ Sep 30 2018, 08:54 PM) Is that possible to reactivate the supp card that just cancelled few weeks ago? Or need to reapply? Any t&c that i have to wait for? Sorry for this questions, as i didn't aspect this Visa can be cancel alone... You can try, should be OK. They will resend you a new card if you have destroyed yours.
fruitie
Oct 1 2018, 07:22 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Oct 1 2018, 07:20 PM) Hi all. I read that we can now cancel one of the MBB 2 cards (which is either master or visa), and just keep the AMEX card. Is that correct? Yes.
fruitie
Oct 1 2018, 07:27 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Oct 1 2018, 07:24 PM) Will my AMEX card remain as the 5% CB card? Scared they convert it to normal AMEX card. Ya la. Nothing else changes except your Visa/MC is cancelled.
fruitie
Oct 2 2018, 06:40 PM
Rise and Shine
Just called CS as well and cancelled my MC which was effective immediately.  Transferred my BT and all outstanding BT amounts there. This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 2 2018, 06:40 PM
fruitie
Oct 3 2018, 09:11 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 3 2018, 09:07 AM) Even outstanding amount that posted in ur card now also can transfer? Coz my case is outstanding balance posted need to settle on day of cancellation, anyway, I’ve paid off The CS told me yes because my due date in another two weeks time and I don't wish to pay off so early.
fruitie
Oct 3 2018, 07:11 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Oct 3 2018, 07:05 PM) Called to cancel the Visa Plat but the card is still there in M2U. Any idea why? Give them some time, it may disappear after few days.. But it is common to be there even after weeks, months or years it is cancelled. Then, you will need to call CS again to remove from M2U.
fruitie
Oct 3 2018, 07:14 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Oct 3 2018, 07:12 PM) Hi. What number did you call. I call their credit card department. Never get through. I called the general line for VS/Plat - 1800-88-1801.
fruitie
Oct 4 2018, 11:57 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ws1988 @ Oct 4 2018, 11:34 PM) Just wanna ask. Can I cancel Visa card n remain the amex o v hv to cancel both? Can cancel Visa and maintain AmEx. Most of us in this thread have called CS to cancel our Visa/MC.
fruitie
Oct 5 2018, 10:16 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ps007 @ Oct 5 2018, 10:08 AM) No wo, the CS also ask me for the debit card number in order to remove visa2card in m2u. I asked her arent they suppose have it in the system, she said not for debit card (ATM card) number. Maybe part of verification?