69 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

cheefai7
post Nov 30 2018, 10:12 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Nov 30 2018, 08:59 AM)
bank negara capital control, so nothing to do with risk or whatever investment or loan. bank negara doesnt want normal peep like us to borrow loan locally, sell RM and get USD or other foreign currencies.
This is the valid economist pov. But i dont think BNM is able to enforce that efficiently by letting normal peep like us to answer honestly on the questionnaire.

honsiong
post Nov 30 2018, 10:16 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Nov 30 2018, 10:12 AM)
This is the valid economist pov. But i dont think BNM is able to enforce that efficiently by letting normal peep like us to answer honestly on the questionnaire.
It’s just StashAway covering their own ass. If people wanna be dishonest, it’s not SA’s fault at least.
Krv23490
post Nov 30 2018, 10:17 AM

2,175 posts

Same case.for FSM SG if you want to trade Specified Investment Product ( SIP) such as ETFs . FSM put big big saying they won't ask for prove for the questionnaire to allow you to trade SIP but it is regulation
klthor
post Nov 30 2018, 05:17 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Nov 30 2018, 10:12 AM)
stash away is still small, if the fund size become ubber huge. BNM might want them to perform CTOS or CRISS check smile.gif not like some lame questionnaire haha.... just like cypto, at first BNM dont even bother. until it get hot, BNM steps in and require all crypto site to comply if KYC.
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 1 2018, 08:14 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

for SAMY, is MYR weakening reduces our gain?
Krv23490
post Dec 1 2018, 10:03 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 1 2018, 08:14 AM)
for SAMY, is MYR weakening reduces our gain?
No. If MYR weakening once you have invested, you will gain more . But if you want to invest after USD strengthen, then you will need more RM to get 1 USD
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 1 2018, 03:51 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Dec 1 2018, 10:03 AM)
No. If MYR weakening once you have invested, you will gain more . But if you want to invest after USD strengthen, then you will need more RM to get 1 USD
but your holding also affects by the fx rate isn't it.

because I see in the currency impact doest fluctuate daily.

Krv23490
post Dec 1 2018, 04:17 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 1 2018, 03:51 PM)
but your holding also affects by the fx rate isn't it.

because I see in the currency impact doest fluctuate daily.
Your holding already in USD, unless you dive into each etf and see what it comprises, but I think should be mostly USD . You can go through the etf factsheet and see how much is non USD and share with us !
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 1 2018, 05:53 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Dec 1 2018, 04:17 PM)
Your holding already in USD, unless you dive into each etf and see what it comprises, but I think should be mostly USD . You can go through the etf factsheet and see how much is non USD and share with us !
for 6.5, every assets is in USD.
fjoru103
post Dec 3 2018, 02:04 PM

645 posts

so the customer service will "whatsapp" you to ask for my IC copy?
Krv23490
post Dec 3 2018, 02:06 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 3 2018, 02:04 PM)
Submitted mine through website. Haven't dealt with them using WhatsApp before
honsiong
post Dec 3 2018, 02:36 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 3 2018, 02:04 PM)
Didn’t use WhatsApp, there is a chance they automate it with WhatsApp for Business API.
fjoru103
post Dec 3 2018, 03:46 PM

645 posts

I a bit tak faham the concept.
So the index let say 10% and i invest 10,000 MYR, my understanding
is that there is 1% chance I might lose 10% of the 10000 MYR.

So how much is the growth we talking about?
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 3 2018, 05:59 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 3 2018, 03:46 PM)

yea... that's why dont go so big. start small.

haven't count in currency impact. and those fees.

honsiong
post Dec 3 2018, 06:43 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 3 2018, 03:46 PM)

There is 1% chance you will lose more than USD after after converting RM1000 within a year of putting money in.

Krv23490
post Dec 3 2018, 06:56 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 3 2018, 06:43 PM)
There is 1% chance you will lose more than USD after after converting RM1000 within a year of putting money in.
Of course there will currency risk, i would say USD more stable than MYR . Give and take. For example, i bought US shares many years ago when 1 USD = 3.8 MYR . Now if i change back , will make quite abit just on forex gains. It could be the other way round as well. Thats why must hedge properly according to your portfolio and risk appetite.
fjoru103
post Dec 3 2018, 07:41 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 3 2018, 06:43 PM)
You talk about currency isn't it?
What about profit or growth on the investment?
SUSMNet
post Dec 3 2018, 09:16 PM

11,954 posts

Does the pool of fund is same with SG?
Meaning to say that MY ppl invest in the same pool of fund with SG ppl?
honsiong
post Dec 3 2018, 10:14 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 3 2018, 09:16 PM)
Does the pool of fund is same with SG?
Meaning to say that MY ppl invest in the same pool of fund with SG ppl?
Same asset allocations, but probably not the same pool, from the weird quirks I notice from my Malaysia account transactions.
thenightcrusader
post Dec 3 2018, 10:15 PM

233 posts

Following. I got a recommendation to check this product out but wasn't sure what this is yet. Keep the discussion coming guys and gals

69 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:01 PM