QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 4 2019, 06:46 PM)
Nice clockin' bro, if possible try to improve the BW efficiency cos now seems slower than your 3600 CL16 run previously.AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...
AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...
Aug 4 2019, 07:25 PM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
Aug 4 2019, 11:51 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 4 2019, 09:39 PM) forgot to change d fclk bro (was using 1866 just now instead of 2100), but i think very high frequency + rather tight timing is needed to beat 1:1 result... this is already the fast profile usin dram calculator @ 4200, doubt i dare to go extreme profile w/o killin d loaned ram... Make sense, looks like 3800 CL14 is a thing now for Ryzen. Anything above will just kill efficiency. Btw, a 3600/3600X @ 4.2GHz with 60ish ns latency should be able to match 8700K @ 5.0GHz (~1650cb) in CB R15. Not sure if your cooling is still able to handle it. |
Aug 13 2019, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Aug 13 2019, 10:00 AM) bdie is heading back to d owner so this is pretty much d last attempt on basic stability test (minus d efficiency as usual... DDR4-4500+ is seriously not bad for a kit that's rated at 3466. In plan to try Micron E-die? I heard it might be as good as or even better than B-die in terms of thermal tolerance. For record, B-die will fly higher if you are able to keep the temp below 42C. This post has been edited by owikh84: Aug 13 2019, 09:08 PM |
Aug 14 2019, 06:49 AM
Teamgroup @ DDR4-5000 CL18 with ASRock X570 AQUA
Aug 15 2019, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Aug 15 2019, 09:38 PM) Hi guys. I tried tightening my RAM timing using the DRAM calculator and it seems to work. 3200 from CL16 to CL14 and all those other timings. Tried testing the RAM and no error. But if i try to on the PC (cold boot) it won't start and after a few resets, it will just revert the RAM to 2400. Any idea why? RAM issue with cold booting, doubt that your RAM OC is stable. With what software did you test the stability of your RAM OC? Mind to share any screenshot of the run? Perhaps you need to play more with memory settings such as disabling GearDown, adjusting procODT etc. QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Aug 15 2019, 10:16 PM) ASRock X570 AQUA - RM 4150 This post has been edited by owikh84: Aug 15 2019, 11:21 PM |
Aug 20 2019, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 19 2019, 11:44 PM) I have just built a rig with Ryzen 5 3600 with B450 Strix-F. On latest bios 2605 (Aegesa 1003 ab). All core boost clock (PBO + auto overclocking) is only 3950Mhz during CPU-Z stress test and Aida64 stability test. single core boost also never goes beyond 4100Mhz. However i can manual overclock to all core boost clock of 4200MHz with voltage of 1.4V, Aida64 stable for 30min. From reddit it seems PBO is still broken on ASUS B450. I am using 360mm AIO and my CPU temp is good. Max load while on PBO + auto overclocking was only 72C. Hence the PBO is definitely not limited by the temp. Any sifu here can confirm whether PBO is broken for B450 chipset with latest microcode? Not sure if other vendors managed to fix it or not though. https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/chfl3...ing_ryzen_3000/ Btw, curious how come some users managed to get PBO worked?! QUOTE The PBO + Auto OC definitely works well with my 3600. I'm now hitting an all core boost between 4.25GHz and 4.3GHz during gaming and a single core boost of 4.4GHz. Before enabling PBO + Auto OC i was capped at 4.1GHz. https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cdabj...wk_pbo_testing/This post has been edited by owikh84: Aug 20 2019, 07:54 PM |
Sep 1 2019, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 1 2019, 02:44 AM) one stable light overclock on my small ryzen system then Karhu 10000% passed at 3800 16-19-16-38-56? 3600 @4.125Ghz, 1.344V (no lcc so its @1.31 after vdroop) B450 Tomahawk 2x16GB E-Die 1:1 FCLK, 3800, 16-19-16-38 solid cpu but far from outstanding. maxes out at 4.225 @1.39 with llc. I like my system silent and more efficient however. E-dies as expected, tRCDRD and tRFC (a bit) higher than what one would see using B-dies. other than that it's on par with 'regular' binned B-dies. Mind sharing your ss? |
Sep 9 2019, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 9 2019, 07:34 PM) Samsung started selling a-dies ddr4 32gb today. 10nm, 16GBit/chip, rated 2933 cl21. Doubt they will be any good for OC but we shall see. B-die is 2666 CL19, pretty much the same true latency but less bandwidth.2666 CL19: 2000/2666*19 = 14.25ns 2933 CL21: 2000/2933*21 = 14.32ns Ya, curious about A-die's OCbility vs B-die. We gonna wait and see later... |
Sep 9 2019, 11:51 PM
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Holiday benching with 3600X + C8H that I recently purchased from shopee at a good deal
![]() Starting off with CPU OC, so far I've tested 3 types of coolers at 4.2GHz OC @ 1.375v on all cores. Thermal results based on Prime95 v29.8 b6 custom blend 1344K min/max for 30mins as follows:
Max OC under 1.40v should be 4.25GHz, thermal results under custom WC as below:
Some benchmarks at 4.25GHz OC: Cinebench R15: ![]() Cinebench R20: ![]() Hexacore CPU comparisons:
4.3GHz is bootable but sometimes CB R20 crashed at 1.425v so I think more juices is required to get it stable. Will revisit this later and update in this thread... |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sep 10 2019, 12:43 AM
Continuing with RAM OC, so far hasn't been so impressive mainly due to high latency issue.
It could be that the latest DRAM Calculator v1.6.2 by 1usmus has decided to set the subtimings too loose that eventually hitting the RAM performance. Maybe need further tweaking to optimize the bandwidths and latency. RAM OC with SK-Hynix AFR: 3466 16-19-19-40-1T @ 1.41v: ![]() 3533 16-19-19-40-1T @ 1.45v (not stable): ![]() RAM OC with Samsung B-die: ![]() 3600 14-15-15-30-1T @ 1.45v: ![]() 3800 16-17-16-32-1T @ 1.41v: ![]() 4000 16-17-16-32-1T @ 1.45v: ![]() 4133 16-17-16-32-1T @ 1.45v: ![]() Again, still need to figure out how to reduce improve the efficiency. Aim for 3800 CL14 stable but I don't think possible with the current ADATA D80 sticks. Later I swap to my TridentZ RGB 4266 kit and see how much I can push. |
Sep 10 2019, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 10 2019, 10:44 AM) I need to recheck this later as the GDM and PDM are mixes of enabled and disabled as per recommendation by DRAM Calculator.Edit: Okay I just rechecked and found that my Power Down Mode has been disabled right from 3466 all the way up to 4133. So, the source of high latency could be from other settings. This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 10 2019, 09:59 PM |
Sep 14 2019, 12:13 AM
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
3600X 4.3GHz @ 1.45v, I think I'm pretty much hitting the ceiling already. Yes, note the voltage is exponentially increased. Thermal results based around P95 28.9 b6 custom blend 1344K min/max FFT for 30mins:
* Can still be reduced a bit ![]() Cinebench benchmark scores also improved a bit:
CB R15: ![]() CB R20: ![]() |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sep 14 2019, 12:57 AM
Sep 14 2019, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 14 2019, 08:09 PM) What you haven't pointed out from your results is that (unfortunately in hwinfo64 the polling period is not visible) voltages under load and hence temperatures dropped for stock settings. Voltage is set by ASUS BIOS so nothing to do with AGESA, temperature is stock cooler vs custom loop LOL. |
Sep 15 2019, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 14 2019, 10:58 PM) then the testing method is quite off and ofc the smu in your new agesa controls voltage why you think its called system management unit? with its sensory sampling its controlling circuits on the chip. that includes voltage level, voltage supply to psms, thermal management, c-s boost. Good point, but I was referring to the load voltage behavior being controlled by BIOS LLC settings. BTW, I'm still having high memory latency (70ns+) and low bandwidth (50k+ MB/s) seen in AIDA64 benchmark. Tried everything such as reducing tRFC down to 160ns, PDM/GHM on/off, tRC 42-44, tFAW 16-20, new ABBA BIOS etc none of them seems to solve the issue. |
Sep 21 2019, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 20 2019, 09:50 PM) Well done on the 2000% HCl. How's your AIDA64 benchmark score look like? Good to see MemTweakIt is working on a none-ASUS board as well. BTW, did you notice that HWMonitor is giving you vCore up to 2v max? I'd suggest try to avoid using this software, or it could be that the GIGA boards are still using iTE Super I/O chip, which reads voltages not as accurate as the Nuvoton chip. This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 22 2019, 09:22 AM |
Sep 22 2019, 11:43 AM
Sep 28 2019, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 23 2019, 04:55 PM) Bingo, not being able to do FCLK 1900 at DDR4-3800 with my 3600X chip has seriously killed my latency and bandwidths. There's a 10ns penalty for 3800/FCLK 1866. At 3733/1866 (1:1) I could get sub 70ns and better bw. I also came across an article from an ex-ROG staff doing comparisons of memory performance on 3600X/1xCCD vs 3900X/2xCCD: https://elmorlabs.com/index.php/2019-07-10/...0-investigated/ We can see significant differences in terms of mem bandwidths with 3900X over 3600X. It is also suspected that dual-rank and 4x8GB DIMMs are capable of delivering higher bw. |
Sep 28 2019, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 28 2019, 11:04 AM) you can't boot or can't get stable with 1900 if? tried adjusting vddg/soc? Cant post at all, stuck at debug code 07 displayed on mobo.u'd kind of expect a better i/o die in an 3600x I've tried playing around with VDDG up to 1.1v, SOC up to 1.15v but none of them seems to be helpful. I also tried BCLK 102 with FCLK 1866, getting the same error code. My BIOS settings as follow: ![]() This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 28 2019, 11:40 AM |
Sep 28 2019, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 28 2019, 11:52 AM) Ok 1.1 vddg pretty high already, no luck with your IF then. Is your bw really going up when you run 3733 synced? I used to think theres just a latency penalty. ya I think 1.1v is quite high already, I even tried 1.2v SOC just now. Not really want to go higher otherwise I will kill the IMC, I think I'm just one of those unlucky ones with FCLK capped at 1866. 3733 14-16-14-28, FCLK 1866: ![]() 3800 14-16-14-28, FCLK 1866: ![]() This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 28 2019, 12:24 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0461sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:56 PM |