HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia V2, New upgrade is out

AVFAN
post Apr 12 2020, 07:55 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Apr 12 2020, 07:37 PM)
How do u clean?
the box firmware has an app to clean cache.

just press the icon, it's cleaned.

i know u hv problem with astrogo getting thrown out after 6, 16 or 36 hours non stop.

but i do not know what boxes u have tried.

frankly, very few people watch same app for so long.

i use astrogo on 4 boxes, incl q10pro... typically 2-3 hours each time.

all of them work... sometimes it stops, sometimes it doesn't.

i dun think it is about the box or even the firmware but more about internet connection and/or astro server, traffic bottlenecks.

something to be expected, nothing abnormal.

i doubt u will find the "golden box" that will keep going for 100 hours non stop for any app.

gudluck.
AVFAN
post Apr 15 2020, 01:28 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 15 2020, 10:33 AM)
Currently looking for an Android box cum media player that has a gigabit LAN.  Just wonder do you know whether Ugoos has those preloaded TV channels  (CN, HK and MY specifically) just like those tvbox in our market eg. ubox, evpad , etc.?

I'm using Ubox pro2, but the 100M LAN port is just unable to stream 1080p from my Nas box... been trying to search around and stumble upon this thread, hope to get some info from you.

Tks.
a box is typically empty when leaving the factory.
it is the seller to opt to put in their favored apps.
some put in a couple with free trials to entice u to continue/pay later.
so, it varies from seller to seller.

Ugoos is no diff - some sellers may preload a few apps.
this, u can chat-check before u buy online.

gigabit ports are usually found in higher priced boxes, say rm600 onwards.
rarely u it find in cheap boxes rm100-300.

frankly, at this time, i can't think of a "great" box to buy (for my use).
been looking but nothing fits my needs.
ugoos am6plus was a candidate until the seller confirmed it cannot work with astrogo.
minix u22-xj was another candidate but i just read it can't do autoframe switching or AFR (yet).
himedia has nothing good that is new; 6 yr old Q10pro is still the best one, but no more firmware updates.

AVFAN
post Apr 15 2020, 02:02 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 15 2020, 01:43 PM)
Tks for the info.  I don't have astrogo, so maybe am6+ is the choice if it is available now in MY.  I chat with ogoos CS, was told that no reseller here in MY yet.. sad.gif
Oh?

Perhaps i was chatting with seller about am6 or am6pro then.... cant remember.
AVFAN
post Apr 17 2020, 06:03 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(Giant @ Apr 17 2020, 03:10 PM)
hi bro, im using Q16 Quad, but when i try to install the astro go 2.201.2/AC20.1.2/1b92ce1  from https://apkpure.com/astro-go/com.astro.astro , its unable to install, do you have any others link to downlaod the astro go app ? pm me also can
q16 cannot do astrogo, not old apk's, not current ones, never did.

becos the firmware cannot handle the app's fussy checks.

forget it, get another box.
AVFAN
post May 7 2020, 10:56 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 7 2020, 09:08 AM)
did you manage to shortlist any media player currently ?

im in need of one too

one of my zidoo player failed me during NAS playback, has some issues

needing a replacement
no.

ugoos am6/am6plus cannot do astrogo.
minix u22xj still having teething issues, can't auto framerate switching... last i read.
himedia has nothing new and great.

given cov19+mco, etc... think few people working on anything.
best to hold, use whatever box(es) u have!

AVFAN
post May 7 2020, 04:48 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 7 2020, 03:40 PM)
the zidoo z10 worth it?

so far my hi media Q dunno wat is good, although seldom use

but the ease of the zidoo media app , nothing come close to it

if not for the pausing while streaming from NAS, I would not need to change it, stupid zidoo, I have 2, one is fine, the other isn't, both same model

my shifu ask me to try using USB, but somehow, can't find any usb hahahha, then again my importance is to play from NAS
never used zidoo.... no idea.

Q10pro is still the best i have, serves all my purposes - playback + online streams.
AVFAN
post May 7 2020, 04:57 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 7 2020, 04:50 PM)
how to make it easy access for the NAS

cos used by my dad, he isn't tat tech savvy

any setup ? I remember when I was trying the Q10pro for him, need to access the folder of NAS, then scroll thru all title, unlike zidoo which will show posters n show sypnosis and everything

any app to recommend?
can't help u... as i dun use nas.

i typically use portable HDD for playback.
sometimes, direct pc->Q10pro via wifi samba, works ok for me.
AVFAN
post May 8 2020, 10:35 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ May 8 2020, 10:18 AM)
In Kodi main menu there is a menu called 'Movies' , Kodi automatically build up this 'wall' when i let it scan my movie libraries.  So, yes, only one click and it will start the movie.

I use SAMBA to link Kodi to my NAS.
you may check this out : How to add movies to your library
kodi can do samba, no problem.
u may want to tell which box u r using.
becos rx330 is playing large files with home theater.
kodi 18.6 on most boxes cannot process HD audio.

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 8 2020, 09:09 AM)
when u use HDD or via samba

how you access the file? folder then pick the titles? or got artwork like Plex
for samba, Q10pro native media center app is the easiest.
u just need to key into the right link, pw into the "SMB" option.

u can also use kodi as said but kodi does not do HD audio on this box.
so, u get DD,DD+ max for whatever big videos u have.
also, it may get unstable of u play BDMV's, 4KHDR ones.
the native media center is much better for that, alto it will not give u all the pictures like kodi.
AVFAN
post May 8 2020, 10:48 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 8 2020, 10:41 AM)
but from wat I remember, the media center app, it doesn't have any poster or what not right?

just file browsing

ok , so there is sound limitation n video files limitation on kodi
so if I pair the q10 to my soundbar , shud be ok , I dont think soundbar can differentiate much on the HD n legacy audio right?
right, no poster for native app.

if u now use soundbar, diff will be smaller.

best u try both and see for yrself.

if i remember correctly what u described previously, yr problem may be a connectivity speed issue - limits of router or other component in the network.

AVFAN
post May 8 2020, 11:07 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 8 2020, 10:59 AM)
ya, tat was what I thought initially, I tested and found out not the connectivity issue it seems

another player, the other zidoo played flawlessly at the other network, seems like player problem
not all boxes, players and apps are made the same.
one weak link, it won't work well.
if zidoo works for u, then keep using it!

unlikely we see any great new box coming out anytime soon... the world stopped for 4 months.... maybe another 4 or 8...?

AVFAN
post May 8 2020, 01:03 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 8 2020, 11:31 AM)
tats the thing, I have 2 zidoo, one working fine, the other not  doh.gif  doh.gif
both exact same model
that is strange.
is wud think either firmware or some setting within box or router is diff .

QUOTE(numbertwo @ May 8 2020, 12:48 PM)
Hi AVFAN,
sure, let me share more info :

I'm using X96 MAX+ , so overall connectivity is like this : 

NAS<- Maxis router -> AP -> X96 (LAN Gb Port) -> Yamaha SR-301 -> TV

The files that i have tried after getting the X96 are :

Jurassic.World.Fallen.Kingdom.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.DTS-HD.MA7.1 mkv  - 14.5GB
The.Meg.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.TrueHD.7.1.3Audios mkv - 14+GB
Fast.and.Furious.Presents.Hobbs.and.Shaw.2019.1080p.BluRay.x264-WiKi.mkv  - 14+GB
Project.Gutenberg.2018.Blu-ray.1080p.x265.10bit.DTS.5.1 mkv - 10GB
Sorry i don't know much about those HD, DTS or xxx sounds bros.. i am a happy man when there is a sound coming out from my Yamaha receiver.. smile.gif

Hope this helps.
right, that is what i was expecting.
kodi is a pretty good player all round, except for hd audio passthru or handling BDMV's.
it is not actually kodi's problem but the box/chipset maker (e.g. amlogic, allwinner, rockchip) that hasn't done enuf to work with kodi to the full.
then again, very few box makers do enuf for local playback of huge files; exceptions are himedia, minix, zidoo, egreat, afaik.
the rest focus on online streaming.

your x96max+ uses amlogic s905x3 chipset.
i have a box that uses same chipset - kodi will only pass thru DD, DD+, DTS.
while the files u listed have dtshdma or ddtruehd, i am quite sure only the core is passed thru, i.e. lossy dd, dd+ or dts.
u should be able to see that on yamaha AVR display unless it is an old one that itself does not pass thru HD audio.
one day, can try a bdmv file of 60-90gb using kodi, u will see the difficulties i was referring to.
but if u stick to 10-15gb files, and do not mind not getting lossless hd audio, all is good for u.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 8 2020, 01:07 PM
AVFAN
post May 17 2020, 01:39 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(serenet @ May 16 2020, 10:54 PM)
Noob question, I hv a q5 ii emmc version, may I know if that is possible to upgrade the android version or the firmware so the android version can be upgraded? My device hv been super outdated, most of the apps are unable to install already... Any help /advise is super super appreciated...
No.

Yr box is 9 years old, long overdue for retirement.

Q10pro wud hv been a great upgarde for you 4 or 5 years ago but that is also old now alto still working with almost everything.

There is no good and new himedia model at this time.
AVFAN
post May 17 2020, 05:44 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ May 17 2020, 05:04 PM)
Q10pro can support iptv like MYPADTV and MYIPTV4K?
if u mean the paid ones of those boxes which are illegit and illegal, i doubt it.

other legit iptv like astrogo, unifiplaytv, bbc iplayer, iflix work fine, as they do on other boxes.

best not to discuss illegit/illegal apps, TQ.
AVFAN
post May 23 2020, 09:51 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(puppylove888 @ May 23 2020, 09:35 PM)
recently himedia q10 pro startup time quite long

boot up to main screen normal

but the clock stuck at 08:00:00 for 3-4 min , machaim doing program startup
if i ignore n start any app it will not work as no internet connection

any idea reason as no new app was installed recently?
other than that set was working properly once clock back to real time
this is typically due to something not right with the internet connection, incl incoming stability.

check router, cables, ip, dns; if wifi, all the wifi settings.
AVFAN
post Jun 6 2020, 09:14 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nagasakti70 @ Jun 4 2020, 04:46 PM)
anyone tried an external DAC to this Q10 pro ?
im not sure how good/bad of Q10pro built-in DAC

all this while i connect Q10pro using RCA output to my old stereo amp
mostly listening to spotify and music youtube

if i purchase a decent external DAC (approx rm300-500 used unit) and connect thru digital input, would be increase sound quality drastically ?
the hardware of this box is good.

the rca audio output should be as best as it can be.

so, i doubt DAC will improve the quality.
AVFAN
post Jan 23 2021, 10:34 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jan 22 2021, 09:02 PM)
I have a Hi Media A5. I would like to use it to listen to MQA and hi res files someday. All I have to do is to buy a DAC that supports these files, is it?
dunno what is MQA.

but your A5 should be able to play flac, wma, bdmv, m2ts, mkv and other hires video and audio files.

no need DAC, just hdmi->AVR->TV.
AVFAN
post Mar 28 2021, 08:29 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(skyfcmy @ Mar 26 2021, 05:54 PM)
Dear Q10 Pro user,

may I know what app to use for tv show and HD video streaming?
Q10 pro has been around for >6 years.

it is still excellent mainly for playback as its video and audio capabilities are very good.

online streaming, unifiplaytv works fine; however aztrogo does not anymore.

chinese/asian vod, RSS player with icdrama is working good as usual.

p2p also work very well if u have an HDD inside.

other illegit apps, paid or free... can't tell u as i have given up on them.

it's a pity himedia appears not much in the biz anymore, w/o good successors after q10pro.

there is Q30 and Q100 but are not better than q10pro.

meanwhile, most other android boxes continue to focus on netflix hd, netflix 4k which is of no use to those who already have TVs with that app.
AVFAN
post Mar 29 2021, 05:05 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(skyfcmy @ Mar 29 2021, 10:44 AM)
Thanks for the feedback. Yes, I am still using it for MKV playback and also RSS streaming.

But couldn't find any other streaming TV/movies channel.

there is one preloaded mediabox app but not all content are viewable.. need to be VIP to streaming latest movies
paid ones, u can get.

free ones - all unreliable la... u get frustrated in the end, no use... i've been there. biggrin.gif

ahem paid ones - gudluk, i will not get into them.

after a decade, i come to use boxes only for astrogo, unifiplaytv, youtube, certain asian websites - more than enuf for online streaming.

vod - playback, p2p - great video, great audio.

no need anything else. devil.gif

q10pro is a fabulous box all around - my all time fav. laugh.gif

just a pity there is no successor...
AVFAN
post Jun 10 2021, 03:49 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(howie @ Jun 10 2021, 02:45 PM)
Hi,whats the latest firmware for the Q10 pro now?
2.1.4 from 2019.... no more since.
https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?P...dan&topic=711.0

there unofficial updates... incl customized, ATV, etc... i never use them.
AVFAN
post Jun 12 2021, 05:55 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(howie @ Jun 10 2021, 07:54 PM)
I still on 2.0.8.Can i straight update to 2.1.4?
yes.

https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?P...an&topic=4341.0

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0429sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:27 AM