Using Honey browser addon to Chrome, able to get 1Tb Samsung 860 Evo SSD for around RM800+ with shipment/taxes.
This post has been edited by defaultname365: Oct 9 2018, 06:07 PM
SSD price dropped, oversupply?, buy buy buy
Oct 9 2018, 06:02 PM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Using Honey browser addon to Chrome, able to get 1Tb Samsung 860 Evo SSD for around RM800+ with shipment/taxes.
This post has been edited by defaultname365: Oct 9 2018, 06:07 PM |
Oct 10 2018, 07:45 AM
8,634 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Jelutong Penang |
Oct 10 2018, 07:48 AM
11 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
low yat sell around rm280 for kingston 480gb
Oct 10 2018, 07:50 AM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Oct 10 2018, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 9 2018, 01:07 PM) If you already surf around and cannot find any lower priced one, thats the best deal you can get la. I saw most are starting to hit the most bottom price they can offer. Because like for RM1 or even 90 cents difference only. consider good lahbut it is kingston so no still using my intel 535 |
Oct 10 2018, 08:07 AM
88 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Just bought myself a Crucial MX500 250GB for RM265.00. This brand is good or not compare to Kingston?
Oct 10 2018, 09:19 AM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Oct 10 2018, 10:18 AM
8,634 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Jelutong Penang |
Oct 10 2018, 10:35 AM
Oct 10 2018, 10:47 AM
3,388 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(chephren @ Oct 10 2018, 08:07 AM) Just bought myself a Crucial MX500 250GB for RM265.00. This brand is good or not compare to Kingston? Consider good. Kingston do not manufacture their own NAND chips and DRAM. Crucial is actually Micron and they manufacture both NAND and DRAM themselves. Kingston bought chips from 3rd party and assemble it. You can imagine. If i manufacture my own chips , i would definitely keep the best chips from binning process for myself rather than sell to my competitor. |
Oct 10 2018, 10:48 AM
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
QUOTE(k!nex @ Oct 10 2018, 10:47 AM) Consider good. Kingston do not manufacture their own NAND chips and DRAM. Crucial is actually Micron and they manufacture both NAND and DRAM themselves. Kingston bought chips from 3rd party and assemble it. You can imagine. If i manufacture my own chips , i would definitely keep the best chips from binning process for myself rather than sell to my competitor. Yes from paper you able to write down the difference.But in real world usage amacam? Like no different wor... Unless there is proven reliability performance between the two. |
Oct 10 2018, 11:19 AM
3,388 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 10 2018, 10:48 AM) Yes from paper you able to write down the difference. Somewhere back in 2014. Kingston was short of NAND chips for V300 model. Performance was very different if you get different batches because they use different NAND chips in tht model. So in order to fulfil market demand they simply buy their materials even subpar ones. Consumers fell cheated back then and tht case was widely known. HereBut in real world usage amacam? Like no different wor... Unless there is proven reliability performance between the two. NAND manufacturers themselves that sell retail SSD will not hv such issue as stocks are always reserved for ownself as priority , got excess only sell to others. So i would say, buy only Samsung , Crucial/Micron ,Sandisk/WD, Toshiba/OCZ , and Hynix. Dont buy from those dont manufacture their own NAND chips. You dont know what is " under the hood" as bill of materials can be different as they can buy from different supplier. |
Oct 10 2018, 11:42 AM
88 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 10 2018, 10:35 AM) just for the peace of mind lorrQUOTE(k!nex @ Oct 10 2018, 10:47 AM) Consider good. Kingston do not manufacture their own NAND chips and DRAM. Crucial is actually Micron and they manufacture both NAND and DRAM themselves. Kingston bought chips from 3rd party and assemble it. You can imagine. If i manufacture my own chips , i would definitely keep the best chips from binning process for myself rather than sell to my competitor. thanks. i think the best is Samsung. Many people recommend but very expensive liao.. |
Oct 10 2018, 11:51 AM
236 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(chephren @ Oct 10 2018, 11:42 AM) just for the peace of mind lorr just bought samsung 970 evo m2 250gb last saturday rm500, current crucial mx500 sata ssd switch it to secondary storage for storing game folder. thanks. i think the best is Samsung. Many people recommend but very expensive liao.. also bought another kingston A400 480gb sata ssd for rm289, use it for secondary storage as well for download movies etc all data.. My old Western digital 7200rpm hard disk i took out, the drive is still working no problem, served me for 7 years++ already |
Oct 10 2018, 12:30 PM
1,186 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Sep 29 2018, 04:54 PM) I have a 6 years old Acer laptop with i2760 processor and 640m graphic card. Is it worth to repair and add ssd? almost same situation as u, I have an Acer laptop laying around. The fan stop working so it will shut down by itself when it's too hot.Condition of the laptop pretty bad >battery totally dead >very fast overheat then shutdown >can't connect to Wi-Fi anymore. If by lan cable after overhead also dead >loading damn slow. This one probably can be overcome by replacing the old 1tb hdd with maybe 480gb ssd For quick solution, u may try vacuum type laptop cooler, it cools my laptop quite efficiently. U can change the internal fan also. I refer to to this video on how to open up the laptop, change the fan and reapply thermal compound. The fan can be bought cheaply in lelong.my Quite some work there, lost a few screws, in the end the fan is working now but the laptop still gets quite hot without the vacuum laptop cooler. could be due to the thermal compound that i use, cheapest one by cooler master. |
Oct 10 2018, 01:45 PM
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0150sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:06 AM |