15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

> SSD price dropped, oversupply?, buy buy buy

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 9 2018, 12:49 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Sep 29 2018, 04:59 PM)
Only the highlighted one is a concern. Probably have very clogged up heatsink vent. If you can't do it, sent it to someone to do it. SSD is cheap enough that is is an awesome upgrade. I saw Kingston A400 240GB is going for RM 161 at shoppee. I think i saw Lazada RM179. If dun want to commit more than RM100 can find 120GB for less than RM100. Really ridiculous prices.
my primary laptop (my sig) still running smooth. all thanks to SSD.

only problem is battry running down alreadt. Called dell, but they say my XPS is EOL.... sad....
netmatrix
post Oct 9 2018, 12:50 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 12:41 PM)
netmatrix the ssd in lazada particulary kingston 480gb that can fetch below rm300 is good deal or should wait for 11.11 event  hmm.gif
I have no idea how low the price will go or maintained. But i have bought from both shopee & lazada before. Can you imagine just early this year i bought an A400 240 GB for RM208? Now is as low up to RM158. I'm not even complaining to upgrade old computers and laptops. laugh.gif
netmatrix
post Oct 9 2018, 12:52 PM

6,726 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 9 2018, 12:49 PM)

only problem is battry running down alreadt. Called dell, but they say my XPS is EOL.... sad....
Can try bring IMBI and see if there are compatible replacement batteries for that. If your lappie is old and DELL wants RM500 for new batteries, just F them and buy outside.
ikr99
post Oct 9 2018, 12:53 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 9 2018, 12:52 PM)
Can try bring IMBI and see if there are compatible replacement batteries for that. If your lappie is old and DELL wants RM500 for new batteries, just F them and buy outside.
these day got something called...
AliExpress...
buy from there...
diy la...
salimbest83
post Oct 9 2018, 12:54 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 9 2018, 12:49 PM)

as for battery, if the charging circuit still work, u can open and swap from good Li-Ion cell around
salimbest83
post Oct 9 2018, 12:55 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(ikr99 @ Oct 9 2018, 12:53 PM)
AliExpress...
buy from there...
diy la...
my nicest idea is, buy mi 10000 powerbank and take samsung / panasonic cell from there
party
post Oct 9 2018, 12:57 PM

811 posts

The lower the better. Just hope other also follow same..( yes i talking about graphic card)
Boldnut
post Oct 9 2018, 01:00 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 12:57 PM)
so you recommend kingston brand is it? what store you bought from?

Kingston is like at least 30% cheaper than other brand.

if you scared the A400 not reliable, which is already 3yrs warranty. You can pay RM20-50 buy the UV500 SSD that come with 5yrs warranty. Both of these still last longer than a HDD.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 9 2018, 01:03 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 9 2018, 12:52 PM)
They actually told me the price is around 300 for a new batt including installation and all with warranty 1 year. But they asked parts department, end up no stock...
veli sad. But they give me the part model and ask me go out find myself.

QUOTE(ikr99 @ Oct 9 2018, 12:53 PM)
AliExpress...
buy from there...
diy la...
QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Oct 9 2018, 12:55 PM)
my nicest idea is, buy mi 10000 powerbank and take samsung / panasonic cell from there
Will kaboom or not?
netmatrix
post Oct 9 2018, 01:07 PM

6,726 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 01:01 PM)
If you already surf around and cannot find any lower priced one, thats the best deal you can get la. I saw most are starting to hit the most bottom price they can offer. Because like for RM1 or even 90 cents difference only. laugh.gif laugh.gif
rubrubrub
post Oct 9 2018, 01:12 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Sep 29 2018, 08:49 PM)
How much to clean/change thermal paste?  I have neither the knowledge nor the equipment to do myself
thermal paste can get it from garage sales and then youtube to how do it
Fzeo
post Oct 9 2018, 01:18 PM

455 posts

it just like how 256mb usb price down after 16gb usb drive is release.
jerm57
post Oct 9 2018, 03:02 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 01:01 PM)
Yup. I bought a 240GB SSD from them too. Good service.
jerm57
post Oct 9 2018, 04:09 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 04:06 PM)
How about 480gb model?
OK or not
Should be fine lah. Anyways, Kingston is pretty steady brand and the product is covered by warranty.
Skidd Chung
post Oct 9 2018, 04:15 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 9 2018, 04:09 PM)
Should be fine lah. Anyways, Kingston is pretty steady brand and the product is covered by warranty.
Kingston SSD got a bad name last time because they switched the components of their SSD while retaining the same name.

Basically their SSD had good speed and price, most reviewers also agree and recommended it. Later a lot of users complain cannot get speeds reviewers are getting. So reviewers buy retail to test and found that Kingston switched their components to slower one. So most reviewers retracted their recommendation and hentam Kingston for ' bait & switch' marketing.
Reckoning
post Oct 9 2018, 04:16 PM

62 posts

Fark i saw this thread after i bot ssd. Damn it
yhsiau
post Oct 9 2018, 04:19 PM

790 posts

QLC sure cheaper than SLC/MLC type of SSD.
New tech bring cheaper & larger capacity but shorter durability.
SUSkolokua
post Oct 9 2018, 04:40 PM

56 posts

any reviews on Samsung 860 EVO?

is it worth the price?

I'm using laptop with single SATA slot, how will I clone windows?
yhsiau
post Oct 9 2018, 05:35 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(kolokua @ Oct 9 2018, 04:40 PM)
any reviews on Samsung 860 EVO?

is it worth the price?

I'm using laptop with single SATA slot, how will I clone windows?
Use a USB to sata converter cable, download samseng magician software to do ssd/hdd cloning.

This post has been edited by yhsiau: Oct 9 2018, 05:35 PM
Skidd Chung
post Oct 9 2018, 05:55 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(schneck @ Oct 9 2018, 04:31 PM)
So now good or still remain the same in terms of switching components?
As far as I know they haven't done the same 'bait and switch' anymore ever since they got called out for it.

So whatever they are selling now, should be as advertised.

But they are not a 'trusted' brand anymore.

Here is the article of what happen few years back.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/7763/an-upda...wer-micron-nand

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >

0.1036sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:04 PM