Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

ayamxxx
post Jun 26 2025, 08:34 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 26 2025, 12:42 PM)
Uhhh I think I am experiencing the Mazda gear box issue now.
Yesterday while driving it sounded like my engine is stuck in low gear, my speed is not matching up to my rpm (speedometer hardly moves while tachometer increases)
Went to a auto repair shop and after checking he said could be gear box issue, usually need to overhaul the whole box which could cost 4-5k?
What he suggested trying to do is changing the gear box oil and oil treatment which cost a few hundred to see if it fixes the issue instead.

Anyone had similar experience?
Have u change the atf all these time? If no, then u are not alone for gb issues. Saw many who haven't change atf suffer GB issues when hit mileage above 100k km, the one case i remember was at 120+k km. Those who change the atf did have any issues.

Iiwu, will find workshop that can do ATF GB flushing via machine for few hundred then see from there if that can solve the issues
ayamxxx
post Jun 27 2025, 08:54 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 27 2025, 08:26 PM)
2018 model and only 70k km 😢
Don’t think I did any ATF change. So far all my 6 months servicing was done through Mazda 4S, don’t think they did any
If follow Mazda service requirements, no ATF change at all
ayamxxx
post Jun 28 2025, 04:07 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 28 2025, 03:30 PM)
Man... it's only 70k mileage, not even near 100k. Is there any definite way to know whether is really gear box need to overhaul? Or just changing ATF is a fix for the issue?
Best to get advice from gb shop. Eventhough it is relatively low mileage, but 2018. Considering no ATF done b4

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jun 28 2025, 04:08 PM
ayamxxx
post Jun 29 2025, 12:49 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 29 2025, 11:15 AM)
Don't need to overhaul the gb.

During your said shifting, the transmission control valve (metallic and male) was momentarily getting stucked within the valve body (metallic part and is a female) due to impurities.

The impurities or dirts/contaminants was from a 'used and burnt' ATF, at 70K km mileage in your case.

It is not caused by ATF leaks at polymer oil seals which hardened over say, 300-500K km usage. Oil seal hardening in a 70K km AT operating in low temperature regime is, imo academic.

Hence there is no need for ATF treatment (as recommended above, with due respect).

The only thing to do is:
replace new ATF. Period.

For mineral ATF type, replace new every 40K km or below.

For fully synthetic type ATF, replace new every 100K km or below.

*Lifetime fluids classification is a Mazda (and other  car manufacturers) marketing terminology,  It's not a technical or lubricant terminology.

*Mazda meant lifetime as manufacturer warranty period of typically 100K km.

Note: Don't ever do ATF flushing (with due respect) in a Control Valve System that always comes with super duper tight clearance at say, 1-5 microns.

1 micron = 1000 nano.

Just my 2 sen.
Any reason why can't do the ATF flushing? In my idea, once done the flushing, it will replace the 100% of old ATF instead of says 60% of old ATF via normal ATF change method
ayamxxx
post Jul 11 2025, 11:51 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 11 2025, 11:23 AM)
ID / exterior design wise I think nothing wrong at all with the new CX-5.
Here at my nitpicks.
1. Longer - I'm not sure it solves much for existing, I felt its already long enough. I would dearly like it to be wider. It is NARROWEST in the class. Just 1inch will help a lot, not sure why they went for 4 inch longer instead.

Here is the biggest problem.
What the nature is happening with NO AC buttons and dials. I've seen Protons and BYDs owners literally cursing when going through the air cond settings via touch screen. Come on, in Malaysia we are baking in the sun.

In USA for example in winter, you DO NOT want to take off the gloves in -20C to access the heater controls. (Which may not work at such cold temps anyway). With gloves a touch screen doesnt even work.

So this car works well in moderate climate when you don't even need AC, ok.

Whatever happen to "touch screens are dangerous" - to quote Mazda themselves. Weird.

This is coming from a guy who went to great lengths to hack the current infotainment to enable touch screen. Somethings are better with knobs and dials and buttons man. Just 2 knobs, 1 for temperature and 1 for fan speed is that too much.
Unfortunately the all screen are kinda nowadays trend for car interior design. Its all started from Mercedes back in 2017 when they just slot in speedometer and HU in one long screen, then update to now a big ipad sizes screen to control all inside the car.

All other brand copy and follow
ayamxxx
post Sep 23 2025, 09:30 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 23 2025, 08:48 AM)
Ya, think so
https://toyotires.eu/tire/pattern/proxes-r46

only saw this tyre as OEM for Mazda. Doubt it sells at the outside tyre shop.
ayamxxx
post Oct 4 2025, 02:03 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 4 2025, 12:49 PM)
Given how the latest CX5 looks like.. Discount 10k also macam x laku
See the HU can turn off already. Sorry Bermaz need to stop being peak UMW
ayamxxx
post Oct 9 2025, 11:43 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 8 2025, 10:15 PM)
Guys,

Would like to ask for advice for CX5 2.5T. Milage now is 120k km after 5 years.

1. I changed my transmission fluid at 60k km. Now at 120k km, should I just change the fluid & filter? Or should flush the transmission fluid?
SC advisor said better to flush. But I read that there are risk associated with flushing..

2. SC quoted to change these items. Body, Fuel Filter & Filter Fuel Pump. Parts cost alone RM635.00
Or should change them outside and will cost less in view that the car is after warranty.

3. Seems odd that SC didn't mention need to replace the timing belt....  :confused:

4. Air cleaner. Should I replace with Mazda air filter or get the after market type?
Thanks in advance.
No 1 - u already done atf change at 60k km, so next 120k km mileage, atf + atf filter will do fine.

No 2 - body filter mean aircond filter inside dashboard? If yes, can DIY, buy from shopee. Fuel filter can ask outside workshop for quotation and compare it with Mazda SC. But I bet Mazda SC price are much premium vs other brand.

No 3 - timing chain

No 4 - aftermarket will do just fine.
ayamxxx
post Oct 20 2025, 12:22 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 20 2025, 10:45 AM)
I recently saw this also. It says sodium.. Something new?
Yes new. B4 this got one brand offered with Lithium Iron Phosphate battery that in theory will last much longer, less weigh but x2 or x3 of price vs normal MF battery. So this new battery that offer the same features and with 3 years warranty and best is not so ridiculously expansive.
ayamxxx
post Nov 4 2025, 09:21 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(lownet @ Nov 3 2025, 06:52 PM)
Not sure about the 2.0 but these apply to the 2.5T. This is the tint Bermaz uses: https://ice-u.com.my/activ-e/
The Bermaz dashcam has both front and rear cameras and mine currently has a 256GB microSD no issues although it's a pain to search for recordings when it fills up and the official Bermaz dashcam software is not as good as 70mai's. There is a 3rd party app that can detect the Bermaz dashcam but you've gotta pay to use their advanced features.
the main drawback of this stock tint is the windscreen tint, which offers at Infrared Rejection 55% mainly and Total Solar Energy Rejection 34%. While rest windows and rear at 97% IRR. Best to just change the windscreen tint only at outside and dont remove all tint cz Mazda buyer already paid for these mandatory accessories (tint & carpet)

19 Pages « < 17 18 19Top

0.2323sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:42 AM