Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 12:13 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Feb 16 2022, 11:34 AM)
blink.gif  the mileage before gasket failure is 'quite' accurate. Mine is 84k km. SC to claim warranty on my 2.2D engine.

I feel like to sell it maybe 50k more usage. It is headache if that keep coming back. around 80k.
Who knows. Month ago, it happened to be one 2.2D blown for the 1st time at around 200k mileage in Taiwan.

So it depends on your luck.

So just enjoy if u drive a brand new 2.2D. Its really a good car. But avoid 2nd hand like a plague. There was a johor guy who bought a 2.2D CX-5 AWD, used, went install paddle shift, then drive for less then a week. Then kaboom. SC said it is used car, so need to pay urself for new engine, true story, not made up.

skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 01:31 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Feb 16 2022, 11:48 AM)
Hi any outcome of the purchase ?  Which one do you pick ?

My brother in similar hesitation.  He has a budget of 120-150k, I advised him to take Subaru XV but he likes either CX-30 or CX-5 2.0 high. 
Subaru XV GT eyesight 2022:
------------------------------------
About same size as CX-30, at RM139k OTR after discount.
+ AWD
+ Eyesight
+ 360 cam
+ Double A rear suspension
+ cheapest among the 3
+ safest among the 3
- smallest boot
- no rear a/c vent
- only 3 years free service, not 5 years
- higher FC due to AWD
- CVT
Mazda CX-30 mid or CX-5 high
------------------------
About 148k to 154k OTR, a bit over-stretched on his budget
+ 6 speed auto
+ Not as cold as Subaru brand
+ Better FC
+ More premium interior
- only 2WD
- no MRCC
- no knee airbag for CX-5
- no 360cam for CX-30
- torsion beam for CX-30
- rear seat more upright for CX-30

He is single, doesn't need bigger space nor larger boot, and probably rear A/C is not so important to him too.  I keep asking him to take XV  tongue.gif
I owned 2018 Cx5 2.0 n already drove more then 100k mileage.

If I’m single back then, i will definitely go for XV for its AWD n boxer engine.

However, torsion beam shouldn’t be a - if i usually drive alone. Theoretically, by comparing to other configuration the torsion beam give better handling with sacrificing some rear seats comfort. But who cares when I’m alone all the time?
skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 01:52 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 16 2022, 01:41 PM)
the symptom is more to a design error I suggest? either the gasket is not able to last long or etc, they need to relook at it back. not just retune and hopeful that it won't happen again in the future. Again, the 100k km capped is quite play-safe by the manufacturer.
Btw got few owners were able to claim a new 2.2d engine even he hit >100k km after a few emails to Mazda Japan, based on cx5 fb group. In one of the cases, his mileage is at 110k km.
Yes. In malaysia, without modifications or anything movement that can void the warranty, u r fine even after 100k gap.

However, u know la, if let say change engine can solve your problem forever, but it is usually not.

Also, some of the owner i know, after they change engine, more problems appears. Got 1 johor austin area 1, his car now 3 months already still inside SC due to countless small hiccups. He changed engine for almost 6 months already if I’m not mistaken.
skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 01:53 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 16 2022, 01:48 PM)
Guys, I got question..

When we flick up the headlight stick, what does it do?

I just know when we flick down the headlight stick, it is high beam.
Its high beam too. But when u loose your grip, its automatically drop back to original position.

While the flick down is “lock” high beam.

Thats how u high beam others rapidly.
skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 02:09 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 16 2022, 02:05 PM)
Oh i see, recently i ask a member to turn on the auto high beam for me.

But i forgot what he taught me on turning on auto high beam. When i tried to turn and lock high beam like flick up. it doesnt show any indicator.
Yeah. Flick up has nothing to do with HBC. Only flick down. If u has LCD meter, it will show High Beam Sign with an A when u flick down.
skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 04:59 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(CX-5 @ Feb 16 2022, 03:42 PM)
Just grab a coffee and wait for them to happen. It's more fun happening after warranty rather than within warranty.  rclxm9.gif
Its pretty sad actually. Nothing to cheering about. Its a pretty fun engine, but too bad.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 16 2022, 03:48 PM)
Any big issues with petrol variant? sweat.gif
Engine n geadbox is very durable n fun. Even for modifications like remap, exhaust upgrade, n etc. not much potential, but its durable.

As of 2.5T, lol. Head a bit weak. Not advice to boost too much, later head crack. Makan engine oil, specially those always like to wait wife wait mom wait anak 1. Conlan9firm 7000-8000km warning light out low engine oil level.

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 16 2022, 04:40 PM)
can we mod other enjin into 2.2d. perhap not the same unreliable one
Yes u can. Get 1 with certs from chop shop and go puspakom do test yourself. Its not hard if u find a good agent.

Prepare 5-8k if u go for 2.0/2.5NA. Turbo not sure malaysian market price.

skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 08:19 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 16 2022, 06:04 PM)
Yep.. Every 30k km mileage for me
Everytime u change please do reset. But 30k should be alright.

If too long like 100k then u should do reset for TCM module.

Mazda TCM designed for lifetime usage, which means it will always read the viscosity and adjust the pressure of atf pump as the viscosity getting thicker over time.

Let say after 100k the atf bcome thick like milo dinosaur, n then u change new atf with very fluent viscosity, n then u pump without telling the TCM that u already change new atf, n then the pump still pump using the same power as the old thick milo dinosaur.

U r gonna hurt your gearbox real bad.
skeith
post Feb 16 2022, 11:09 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 16 2022, 10:52 PM)
In short go to reputable workshop who are competent on handling atf change, usually perform it by machine inclusive of flushing.
There was a manual circulated around the net ages ago about the proper way to change atf oil in Mazda way

For short, it should be,

1. Stop engine n leave it there for 2 hours or until oil temperature is below 50celcius
2. Change oil
3. Reset TCM

*TCM = Transmission Control Module

Edit:
Reset TCM by using comp usually done without starting engine. Just double press start button without pressing brake paddle.

This post has been edited by skeith: Feb 16 2022, 11:10 PM
skeith
post Feb 23 2022, 01:22 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Feb 23 2022, 01:01 PM)
Can change any shop ... but if you have i-stop, need to reset the i-stop ... there are steps to reset it yourself but I don't remember.
actually dont need the hassle to do the reset.

it will automatic reset after 1 night, or u purposely stop your car for 25 mins n more with your key placed far far away from your car.
skeith
post Mar 18 2022, 04:36 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 7 2022, 04:20 PM)
I remembered last 2 times when the system activated it actually saves my ass from banging into the car in front. Recently I almost got into an accident but the system didn't activate at all, no warning sound or anything which leads me to feel that something is wrong hmm.gif

This is how I test it. Let me share the video here.

Not tall enough. Mazda book did written something like “not effective to kid height”
skeith
post Mar 18 2022, 06:21 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 18 2022, 04:54 PM)
Is it? hahaha maybe need more box sweat.gif Need accelerating baru can work or just engage D already can?
Box is fine. U need reflector only for the older scbs. Current scbs use camera.

But u need wider n taller boxes.

And speed too. U dont need to step on paddle but u cant step on your brake, even lightly.
skeith
post Mar 18 2022, 06:40 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 18 2022, 06:26 PM)
2018 CX-5 is old or new SCBS? Hmm...hard to find wider and taller boxes, maybe use flag to try?  hmm.gif Cannot brake is okay but don't know speed fast enough or not cause I didn't step on the accelerator hmm.gif
older use lidar. Only available in 1.5gen

U need more box to make it wider n taller.
skeith
post Mar 18 2022, 08:30 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 18 2022, 08:16 PM)
I see. Thanks for the advice. I will try it out. Actually the reason I am testing the camera because my LAS and LWDS suddenly not working don't know why. It was working well all the while then suddenly one day I notice the steering wheel not fighting with me anymore sweat.gif So I was suspecting the front SCBS camera faulty but there was no error code or anything hmm.gif
Did u reset n relearn your fsc

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0402sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:47 PM