20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

> SST CREDIT CARD, incoming???

deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 23 2018, 10:10 AM

774 posts

Service fee for credit card is a joke. It was born out of Najib's crazy idea back then.

Similarly like if touch n go imposed a service fee on each card.

Convenience offered by banks, why government god damn kecoh.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 10:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 23 2018, 10:10 AM)
Service fee for credit card is a joke. It was born out of Najib's crazy idea back then.

Similarly like if touch n go imposed a service fee on each card.

Convenience offered by banks, why government god damn kecoh.
Same thing. Merchants provide service, but govt collect service tax. Collect the profit tax is not la. If the merchant collect service fee, then calculate under revenue.
smallbug
post Jul 23 2018, 10:21 AM

874 posts

Time to cancel...sigh.....
TSxuexueli
post Jul 24 2018, 08:02 AM

1,051 posts

gov encourage cashless transaction... but now they imposing tax on cc..
kuci_mayong
post Jul 26 2018, 01:47 AM

808 posts

Why must charge rm25? Why can't it work the same way GST on credit card works? You only charge SST on the finance charges instead!!!
bluemeanie85
post Jul 26 2018, 02:26 PM

38 posts

if this is true, would we need to cancel the card before the service tax is charged? or after charge can call up CS to waive/cancel the card?
kuci_mayong
post Jul 26 2018, 09:31 PM

808 posts

I'm quite surprise that this is not getting as much coverage as it should. Right now I am paying zero GST, why would I want to pay rm25 SST per card?
LamboSama
post Jul 26 2018, 09:53 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Jul 23 2018, 08:51 AM)
bank should push more on debit card instead of credit card...but bank too greed because they feeding of interest and late payment.....going to maintain only 1 card for now
You forgot about the card renewal in 2016?
Debit not user friendly enough.
QUOTE(xuexueli @ Jul 24 2018, 08:02 AM)
Different government laugh.gif
sjz
post Aug 5 2018, 07:44 PM

3,877 posts

QUOTE(xuexueli @ Jul 24 2018, 08:02 AM)
if they start implement RM25 for SST.
this raise a question of whether they are serious in implementing their plans.
eg. moving towards cashless transactions while on the other hand implementing a new tax of RM25 per card.

not just on cashless but all their other plans.

we had seen numerous issues being raised lately including the UEC issue.

JuneResources
post Aug 9 2018, 09:12 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,174 posts

Is this SST credit card "CONFIRM" to implement?
If confirm, it's soon on Sept onwards all call center will experience high volume call due to cancellation of card.

Be ready.. Stupid why impose this thing..
I rather gov impose SST if they late payment or any other penalty charges of credit card.
ben3003
post Aug 9 2018, 09:15 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Jul 19 2018, 06:42 PM)
just ask the bank to replace new card so can have longer expire date  biggrin.gif
Annual renewal, don be sohai
thesoothsayer
post Aug 9 2018, 09:16 AM

954 posts

Well, if true, we should bombard Facebook and Twitter about this and compare to his statement in 2009 condemning Najib imposing a service tax on credit cards. Ridiculous.
unknown_2
post Aug 9 2018, 09:31 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Jul 19 2018, 06:01 PM)
Any answer yet?

Coz i have around 8-10 credit cards, mostly unused and ready to cancel if kena SST
cancel je la.
those that u use often, some bank will even absorb the charges for u if u ask nicely.
limeuu
post Aug 9 2018, 09:51 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 5 2018, 07:44 PM)
if they start implement RM25 for SST.
this raise a question of whether they are serious in implementing their plans.
eg. moving towards cashless transactions while on the other hand implementing a new tax of RM25 per card.
not just on cashless but all their other plans.

we had seen numerous issues being raised lately including the UEC issue.
Cashless as based on debit cards and payment systems like alipay etc....no tax on these...

Those who feels it's not worth paying RM25 for a cc....just use debit card lah.... why so triggered?
happyking4ever
post Aug 9 2018, 10:07 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2018, 09:51 AM)
Cashless as based on debit cards and payment systems like alipay etc....no tax on these...

Those who feels it's not worth paying RM25 for a cc....just use debit card lah.... why so triggered?
bcos debit card also cost RM8 per year tongue.gif

last time cc is free. people is mostly triggered bcos during the free fee period already accumulated too many credit cards. now have to cancel. for me only have 1 main cc card, i just pay the fee only. but if i have many cc that seldom use, i also will cancel most of them since there is no point to really keep them.

meanwhile, when ppl not keeping backup cc anymore, cashless sometimes fail when a single banking system has issue. and then people will still use cash. that's why people are questioning if really want to encourage cashless, so that BNM can save on cheque processing cost, and save on money printing cost, then why those savings cannot be used to justify all cc no need additional government tax?

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: Aug 9 2018, 10:09 AM
limeuu
post Aug 9 2018, 10:13 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Aug 9 2018, 10:07 AM)
bcos debit card also cost RM8 per year tongue.gif

last time cc is free. people is mostly triggered bcos during the free fee period already accumulated too many credit cards. now have to cancel. for me only have 1 main cc card, i just pay the fee only. but if i have many cc that seldom use, i also will cancel most of them since there is no point to really keep them.

meanwhile, when ppl not keeping backup cc anymore, cashless sometimes fail when a single banking system has issue. and then people will still use cash. that's why people are questioning if really want to encourage cashless, so that BNM can save on cheque processing cost, and save on money printing cost, then why those savings cannot be used to justify all cc no need additional government tax?
Basic savings account debit card free....and many banks waive the fee anyway....

If charges is the issue, there are always free alternatives....just need to look a bit....
happyking4ever
post Aug 9 2018, 11:29 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2018, 10:13 AM)
Basic savings account debit card free....and many banks waive the fee anyway....

If charges is the issue, there are always free alternatives....just need to look a bit....
got this sort of thing ah? man all the banks i went to just tell me the atm card needs RM8 per year. greedy bastards. vmad.gif
RichardN
post Aug 9 2018, 11:50 AM

26 posts

LOL No wonder now so many gift for new credit card application lah...

Haha September onwards, those cc agent will throw more gifts and begging for sign up then...

Because, ppl no longer want to sign up too many cc as it became a burden. Just keep 2 different cards is sufficient enough
sjz
post Aug 9 2018, 07:00 PM

3,877 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2018, 09:51 AM)

Either you did not own a credit card, rich and don't giv a damn about money at all or u r a loyal supporter of some political party.

LGE in particular isn't suppose to re-introduce this tax.

1st because he himself oppose it in 2009. WHAT GROUND does he have to re-introduce this credit card tax instead?

2ND this tax is INTRODUCED by JIBBY in 2009 when it has been abolished for 10 YEARS!!
So this is as good as a JIBBY TAX!!

So if you hate jibby so much and oppose the tax back then in 2009.
WHY on earth did you re-introduce this same fxxking tax when u become the minister? mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
Sumofwhich
post Aug 9 2018, 07:56 PM

1,274 posts

You can't trust a politician.
Anyway is this official? https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...subject-to-sst/

My bad, it's still a proposal

This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Aug 9 2018, 10:04 PM

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 

0.0160sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:11 AM