6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Which bank account u are using ? ( the best), Most convenience, best FD rate etc

Eurobeater
post Dec 28 2019, 10:51 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

Maybank hands down

I used to have a HSBC and HLB account. But after I started using Tiger Bank, i never looked back.

HSBC was so troublesome to use coz of the security dongle and lack of a mobile app.

Hong Leong was alright in convenience, but crap in their products and rates. Esp FD rates, which are some of the lowest in the market if you don't include their promotional rates
cklimm
post Dec 28 2019, 01:08 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Dec 28 2019, 10:30 AM)
Not sure which thread to use so tumpang here..

A while ago (2-3 months back) I noticed that I'm being charged RM8 for my maybank debit card. After some googling and reading this thread its because I didn't opt for basic savings account during account opening. Honestly I don't even remember if I was given an option.

Having said, I visited Maybank @ Taipan Subang Jaya yesterday and asked to convert mine into basic savings account because I never withdraw more than 2 times a month - sometimes only withdraw once every 3~4 months. But the person in charge say this is no longer valid and all Maybank savings account that comes with debit card will need to be charged RM8 regardless.

Is it true or was I being conned? sweat.gif
Not that you are conned, just that the staff was too lazy to do the paperwork for you.
97fangkhai97
post Dec 29 2019, 10:02 PM

64 posts

Dear people,

I currently have Maybank Savings Account and I saw their interest rate is 1.85% p.a. However, I check my history in these 3 months, no interest rate is paid. Is it they pay yearly ? isnt it supposed to be RM XXX x 1.85% /12 = ?

hft
post Dec 29 2019, 10:04 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jul 18 2018, 11:44 AM)
Which bank account u are using ?

Why u use this account? Convenient? Best FD rate?

Mind,share which bank.Account u think offer the best package?

Best? Depends, need to manage small or big
money?
dean.ab25
post Dec 29 2019, 10:12 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(baldi91 @ Jul 18 2018, 03:06 PM)
Nobody using BSN? Haha...
Cimb bank also not famous ...
But yeah maybank is the most practical nowadays.
gov servant ke?
alex_00787
post Dec 30 2019, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(97fangkhai97 @ Dec 29 2019, 10:02 PM)
Dear people,

I currently have Maybank Savings Account and I saw their interest rate is 1.85% p.a. However,  I check my history in these 3 months, no interest rate is paid. Is it they pay yearly ? isnt it supposed to be RM XXX x 1.85% /12 = ?
Your SA is Maybank2u Savers and balance less than 2k?
97fangkhai97
post Dec 30 2019, 03:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(alex_00787 @ Dec 30 2019, 09:59 AM)
Your SA is Maybank2u Savers and balance less than 2k?
more than 2k and yes it is maybank 2u savers

Pebbie
post Dec 30 2019, 04:00 PM

521 posts

Standard chartered hand down for daily usage. Their meps and house atm fee waiver means can use any ATM. Good online interface as well. Unlimited withdrawal with no yearly fee

This post has been edited by Pebbie: Dec 30 2019, 04:01 PM
Jamespcr19
post Dec 30 2019, 06:24 PM

38 posts

Maybank! I have been using CIMB for 6 years but after switching to Maybank this year, I noticed the difference. Maybank is way more convenient and the ATM coverage is way better as compared to other banks!
wyh
post Dec 30 2019, 11:22 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Dec 30 2019, 04:00 PM)
Standard chartered hand down for daily usage. Their meps and house atm fee waiver means can use any ATM. Good online interface as well. Unlimited withdrawal with no yearly fee
may i know what account is that ?
cucikaki
post Dec 31 2019, 01:00 AM

2,722 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Dec 30 2019, 11:22 PM)
may i know what account is that ?
Privilege Savers. But i think the saving account also comes with free withdrawal at any meps (cimb rhb maybank bank islam etc) - they charge but reverse at month end.

The requirement is need to deposit 1.5k or 3k per month, cant remember. So just change ur salary to this acc, then should be no problem. In order to get free atm withdrawal
wyh
post Dec 31 2019, 01:08 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Dec 31 2019, 01:00 AM)
Privilege Savers. But i think the saving account also comes with free withdrawal at any meps (cimb rhb maybank bank islam etc) - they charge but reverse at month end.

The requirement is need to deposit 1.5k or 3k per month, cant remember. So just change ur salary to this acc, then should be no problem. In order to get free atm withdrawal
ok ok then i know is which one, the one rival to OCBC 360 acct. thanks for the input.
Pebbie
post Dec 31 2019, 10:49 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Dec 31 2019, 01:08 AM)
ok ok then i know is which one, the one rival to OCBC 360 acct. thanks for the input.
Not comparable to ocbc 360. Im using justone account, monthly deposit 1500 is the only condition, can transfer out right away.

Poor interest given but the only perk that im looking for is unlimited free atm withdrawal.
XweienX
post Dec 31 2019, 10:09 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Dec 28 2019, 10:30 AM)
Not sure which thread to use so tumpang here..

A while ago (2-3 months back) I noticed that I'm being charged RM8 for my maybank debit card. After some googling and reading this thread its because I didn't opt for basic savings account during account opening. Honestly I don't even remember if I was given an option.

Having said, I visited Maybank @ Taipan Subang Jaya yesterday and asked to convert mine into basic savings account because I never withdraw more than 2 times a month - sometimes only withdraw once every 3~4 months. But the person in charge say this is no longer valid and all Maybank savings account that comes with debit card will need to be charged RM8 regardless.

Is it true or was I being conned? sweat.gif
My sister opened an account 2 weeks ago, wasn't given any choices, they just told us straightaway there is a RM8 fee every year.

I opened my MBB account few years ago, wasn't given any choices too.
ckh6003
post Dec 31 2019, 11:25 PM

205 posts

Not only Maybank
Other banks wasn't given any choices too.

Few week ago, I visited to RHB branch (nearby my workplace) to request open Bonus Saver acc (which can earn up to 2.65% p.a.).

After the verification, the officer refused to open the account for me. The reason given is I ady have ordinary saving acc with them (which is I maintained low balance & not perform much transactions)

She asked me why you want to open new account and what company name I joined.
I answered her becoz of high interest compared to ordinary saving account.

At the end she still rejected my request.
She said we recommended you continue to use back the current acc mad.gif

p/s: At that moment she is playing candy crush. Maybe I interrupted her. So she not willing to open for me drool.gif

Another experience . Few years ago, I requested to change new mobile number in order to receive TAC (same branch- home branch)
officer claimed we cannot do that at the moment. due to our password is bust. we can't access to the system. Pls come next time. If u urgently to update ur mobile no., can try visit to other branch (she recommended). But we can't guarantee on u will them to assist u, due to ur home branch is not belong to them.

useless branch 😡

This post has been edited by ckh6003: Jan 1 2020, 11:15 AM
touristking
post Jan 1 2020, 01:17 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Dec 31 2019, 03:49 AM)
Not comparable to ocbc 360. Im using justone account, monthly deposit 1500 is the only condition, can transfer out right away.

Poor interest given but the only perk that im looking for is unlimited free atm withdrawal.
Privilege Saver interest rate can go as high as 6% if 3 conditions are met. So I wouldn't say the interest rate is poor.
TechnoG
post Jan 1 2020, 11:14 PM

9,338 posts

PBB for me.
Quantum CC is the best, 1 month eFD 2.95% with min placement RM1k, just dump multiple RM1k and don't have to be afraid of losing interest when doing pre-mature withdrawal
online banking sucks but hey it isn't wobbly unlike CIMB

MBB to complement PBB,
plenty of ATM, Maybank 2 cards is good, QRpay has plenty of promos

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Jan 1 2020, 11:15 PM
jeremykkt
post Jan 3 2020, 12:10 PM

68 posts

how about uob one account?

https://www.uob.com.my/personal/save/saving...ne-account.page

interest 2.8 p.a. by banking in 2k / online payment for 3 bills (min RM50 each) plus using uob card min RM50

if u have more than 50k then interest go up to 3.8%
langstrasse
post Jan 5 2020, 11:48 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,590 posts

Quick question on account closure for CIMB - can we do it at any branch or are we required to go to the branch where the account was originally opened ?
mmwe P
post Jan 17 2020, 11:18 PM

Probation

Maybank, I have tried ocbc, citibank, cimb, uob, standard chartered. The government seems to support
Maybank so a lot of the new benefits always go to it first. For loans I guess you have to shop around. For credit
card I would say maybank amex gives the most points.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0261sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:46 PM