canon defective CCD problem, new cam model added

TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 09:19 AM, updated 19y ago

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

This Service Notice will update Canon U.S.A., Inc.'s previous CCD Image Sensor Advisory, dated October 6, 2005.

It has come to our attention that the vendor-supplied CCD image sensor used in certain Canon digital cameras and digital video camcorders may cause the following malfunction: When the product is used in recording or playback mode, the LCD screen and/or electronic viewfinder may exhibit either a distorted image or no image at all. While reports of this malfunction have been rare in the United States, we have determined that it may occur if the product is exposed to hot and humid environments.

Notice of Additional Affected Products:
As a result of our continuing investigation of this malfunction, we have determined that the 11 models listed below, in addition to the 16 models listed in our Service Notice concerning this malfunction, dated October 6, 2005, may be affected.

Affected products:

- Camcorders: ZR60, ZR65 MC, ZR70 MC, ZR80, ZR85, ZR90, ELURA 40 MC, ELURA 50
- Digital Cameras A60, A70, A75, A300, A310, S230, SD100, SD110, A40(*), A80(*), A85(*), A95(*), S1 IS(*), S60(*), S200(*), S330(*), S400(*), S410(*), S500(*)

*Models added as of Oct.31, 2006

Malfunction:
It has been confirmed that the connecting parts of the internal wiring of the CCD used in affected products may become disconnected, especially if the affected products are stored or used in high-temperature and high-humidity environments. If this occurs, the signal is not output from the CCD normally in Shooting Mode, which may cause a distorted image or the absence of an image. This malfunction can be confirmed on the LCD monitor screen during shooting. The same malfunction also appears on the recorded image.

Canon's Response:
Effective immediately, and regardless of warranty status, Canon will repair, free of charge, the products listed above exhibiting the above-mentioned malfunction if Canon determines that the malfunction is caused by the CCD image sensor. Canon will also cover the cost of shipping and handling in connection with this repair.

p/s: mine A95 already start showing this problem~...is ur powershot A series also have this problem?...my bro in law got this A70....canon repair the ccd for him FOC but..then after use 6-7 months...problem appear again.. sad.gif

source taken from HERE

This post has been edited by dokidoki: May 23 2007, 09:22 AM
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

This is VERY OLD news. There was a thread previously on this liao.

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. smile.gif
inoitu
post May 23 2007, 09:42 AM

1,526 posts

Wet set cannot wor! Repair fee is very high it seems for those not warranteed.
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(inoitu @ May 23 2007, 09:42 AM)
Wet set cannot wor!  Repair fee is very high it seems for those not warranteed.
It doesn't matter if ur warranty expired. This defect problem they'll still fix FOC wan.

Rule of thumb. DO NOT OVERHEAT UR CAMERA!!!

I believe mine having problem after i forgot and left it to cook in the car under the sun....

The problem is actually attributed to a SONY made CCD. You can find similar info at SONY's website and elsewhere.

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 23 2007, 09:45 AM
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 09:45 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:42 AM)

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. smile.gif
i know it's old news...but still got new cam model added..last time only got a70, a80...now even a 85..a95 oso kena...i tot mine dun have warranty cannot claim la....turn out now....i can also go warranty...
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:48 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 23 2007, 09:45 AM)
i know it's old news...but still got new cam model added..last time only got a70, a80...now even a 85..a95 oso kena...i tot mine dun have warranty cannot claim la....turn out now....i can also go warranty...
Since it's spoilt 2nd time, maybe u can also take back to them..maybe they cahnge new camera for ya....somebody got a free new camera previously if i remember correctly...smile.gif

btw, did u leave it in a very hot environment?? Better take care not to leave it in ur car.
kelvinyam
post May 23 2007, 09:50 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

I got mine repaired FOC, not S3 lah, it's the one before.
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 10:21 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:48 AM)
Since it's spoilt 2nd time, maybe u can also take back to them..maybe they cahnge new camera for ya....somebody got a free new camera previously if i remember correctly...smile.gif

btw, did u leave it in a very hot environment?? Better take care not to leave it in ur car.
erm....didnt leave it in car...but my room is hot...old housing area....wat to do.. sad.gif
vex
post May 23 2007, 10:10 PM

1,984 posts

S410 on the list ???
dunno i can get free repair or not ~

SUSitanium
post May 23 2007, 10:13 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

send in S1 and you will get a S3 instead, Canon Malaysia do not repair the S1 ccd any longer.
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 10:18 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 23 2007, 10:13 PM)
send in S1 and you will get a S3 instead, Canon Malaysia do not repair the S1 ccd any longer.
wow.....so my a95 can get another new model? tongue.gif

vex: if you happen to have purple screen or black screen when u shoot pic....mean it's ccd defect and u shd can do rma as well...
SUSitanium
post May 23 2007, 10:58 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

i know someone got a new ixus 65 from an older ixus smile.gif
vex
post May 24 2007, 12:31 AM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 23 2007, 10:58 PM)
i know someone got a new ixus 65 from an older ixus smile.gif
wow ... sure boh...
then i have to fast fast send my camera for repair liao.
too bad i delete alot the picture that the camera cause, it only will gila when the camera is getting hot. if in cold evenviroment, no problem 1.
the picture will come out like got purple, green line (very big line).
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 08:21 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 12:31 AM)
wow ... sure boh...
then i have to fast fast send my camera for repair liao.
too bad i delete alot the picture that the camera cause, it only will gila when the camera is getting hot. if in cold evenviroment, no problem 1.
the picture will come out like got purple, green line (very big line).
yup yup...my oso same...then will become more and more worst...now i on saja...then oledi purple color liao~
sotong168
post May 24 2007, 08:26 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

mine is already 10K shots, wonder how long could the ccd last...
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 09:04 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 24 2007, 08:26 AM)
mine is already 10K shots, wonder how long could the ccd last...
wat model?
vex
post May 24 2007, 02:30 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:48 AM)

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. 
I get my minolta 7Hi repair for free from SONY service center for previous thread, now I wan repair my S410 for free in this thread ~~ really thanks for the information!!! notworthy.gif
Hopefully they give me a new ixus ~ kakakaka ~

This post has been edited by vex: May 24 2007, 02:31 PM
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 02:39 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 02:30 PM)
I get my minolta 7Hi repair for free from SONY service center for previous thread, now I wan repair my S410 for free in this thread ~~ really thanks for the information!!!  notworthy.gif
Hopefully they give me a new ixus ~ kakakaka ~
dream la dream la~.....me oso dreaming..

tonite goin to do rma~...need to get home early.... sad.gif
SUSitanium
post May 24 2007, 02:52 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

If you switch on and the display goes purple....thats the ccd problem = free repair or free replacement at Canon's discretion smile.gif
xxx2299
post May 24 2007, 04:08 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 24 2007, 02:52 PM)
If you switch on and the display goes purple....thats the ccd problem = free repair or free replacement at Canon's discretion smile.gif
my A70 had this problem and I insisted canon to change to A95 (because I was told A95 use different CCD).

Now this problem will hit A95 sooner or later. So should I just sell it off? doh.gif
or wait for it to kaput, then insist to change to a new cam again rclxms.gif
vex
post May 24 2007, 04:09 PM

1,984 posts

mine is ELPH S410, is not buy from malaysia, still can send for repair too, right ???
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 05:15 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 04:09 PM)
mine is ELPH S410, is not buy from malaysia, still can send for repair too, right ???
call them before u send it over...
SUSitanium
post May 24 2007, 05:28 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 24 2007, 04:08 PM)
my A70 had this problem and I insisted canon to change to A95 (because I was told A95 use different CCD).

Now this problem will hit A95 sooner or later.  So should I just sell it off?  doh.gif 
or wait for it to kaput, then insist to change to a new cam again rclxms.gif
Sorry my fren, the moment they replace a new camera for you THAT camera do not have warranty. If not forever we dont need buy camera la.
xxx2299
post May 24 2007, 07:24 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 24 2007, 05:28 PM)
Sorry my fren, the moment they replace a new camera for you THAT camera do not have warranty. If not forever we dont need buy camera la.
but this ccd problem is design problem, and even after warranty expire also they must fix foc , right ? even for a replacement unit that happen to have the same ccd design problem, right ?
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 08:00 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 24 2007, 07:24 PM)
but this ccd problem is design problem, and even after warranty expire also they must fix foc , right  ?  even for a replacement unit that happen to have the same ccd design problem, right ?
yup..i think so...but it best to call canon to verify it la..

Added on May 24, 2007, 8:53 pmsent mine for rma edi just now.....not much customer there~

the gal tell me approximately repair time is 2 weeks sad.gif think they gonna repair instead of change new unit~

This post has been edited by dokidoki: May 24 2007, 08:53 PM
vex
post May 24 2007, 09:42 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 24 2007, 08:00 PM)
yup..i think so...but it best to call canon to verify it la..

Added on May 24, 2007, 8:53 pmsent mine for rma edi just now.....not much customer there~

the gal tell me approximately repair time is 2 weeks sad.gif think they gonna repair instead of change new unit~
wat model u sending ???
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 09:58 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 09:42 PM)
wat model u sending ???
A95 .
xxx2299
post May 25 2007, 07:48 AM

169 posts

sotong168
post May 25 2007, 09:10 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 24 2007, 09:04 AM)
wat model?
canon A620, very impressed with its pic quality but hope the ccd will last longer as it already reached 10K shots sweat.gif
TSdokidoki
post May 25 2007, 09:48 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 25 2007, 09:10 AM)
canon A620, very impressed with its pic quality but hope the ccd will last longer as it already reached 10K shots sweat.gif
if still under warranty nevermind la....but if over edi..then ur model is not on the defective list... i think it's better u get a new digicam tongue.gif
sotong168
post May 25 2007, 10:11 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 25 2007, 09:48 AM)
if still under warranty nevermind la....but if over edi..then ur model is not on the defective list... i think it's better u get a new digicam tongue.gif
already 1.5yr old so no more warranty, no plan to get one at the moment as it's still alive & kicking (touch wood tongue.gif )
canon18
post May 25 2007, 05:15 PM

162 posts

How did u guys send your camera to Canon? I have a A95, working fine. Not sure Canon will change the CCD.
TSdokidoki
post May 25 2007, 05:20 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(canon18 @ May 25 2007, 05:15 PM)
How did u guys send your camera to Canon? I have a A95, working fine. Not sure Canon will change the CCD.
they only repair for u when there is ccd problem...if not i think they wouldnt simply change the ccd...

u can go to www.canon.com.my to check for their rma center address.....it's near the saujana resort....
vex
post May 25 2007, 07:04 PM

1,984 posts

who know the canon service in penang ???
dunno the menara maa punya canon accept digicam 1 or not.
SUSitanium
post May 25 2007, 10:40 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

but this ccd problem is design problem, and even after warranty expire also they must fix foc , right  ?  even for a replacement unit that happen to have the same ccd design problem, right ?
if yours is a current model then they will replace the ccd for you, if its an outdated model Ie S1 IS they will replace with a current model which happens to be the S3 IS and which happen to not have any ccd problems.
TSdokidoki
post May 25 2007, 10:59 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 25 2007, 10:40 PM)
if yours is a current model then they will replace the ccd for you, if its an outdated model Ie S1 IS they will replace with a current model which happens to be the S3 IS and which happen to not have any ccd problems.
my a95 can replace with which model le.. sad.gif still thinking..
sotong168
post May 25 2007, 11:15 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 25 2007, 10:40 PM)
wah so nice, a brand new ccd for free, any t&c applied?
xxx2299
post May 25 2007, 11:33 PM

169 posts

I received a call from canon this 2day, in relation to the email i sent yesterday.

i was assured that if the A95 CCD did kaput, FYI my A95 was an exchange unit for a previously kaput A70, then canon will repair it FOC, even if the cam is sold to someone else.
TSdokidoki
post May 27 2007, 09:32 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

any1 else affected?
vex
post May 28 2007, 03:38 PM

1,984 posts

anyone get new camera for replacement ??? biggrin.gif
TSdokidoki
post May 28 2007, 04:37 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 28 2007, 03:38 PM)
anyone get new camera for replacement ??? biggrin.gif
mine no news yet sad.gif..
vex
post May 28 2007, 04:53 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 28 2007, 04:37 PM)
mine no news yet sad.gif..
too bad ~ hopefully u get a new A-series replacement ~ biggrin.gif
me no time send my camera yet, service center usually open during office hours nia. I have to take leave to send my camera leh, aisk.
sotong168
post May 29 2007, 07:59 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 25 2007, 11:33 PM)
I received a call from canon this 2day, in relation to the email i sent yesterday.

i was assured that if the A95 CCD did kaput, FYI my A95 was an exchange unit for a previously kaput A70, then canon will repair it FOC, even if the cam is sold to someone else.
omg, so nice compensation frm them, A70 -> A95 -> A640? thumbup.gif
TSdokidoki
post May 29 2007, 08:18 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

xxx2299...actually how u manage to ask them from A70 change to A95?....mind to share some tips with us??
xxx2299
post May 29 2007, 08:23 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 29 2007, 07:59 AM)
omg, so nice compensation frm them, A70 -> A95 -> A640? thumbup.gif
it is actually "canon will REPAIR it FOC", not REPLACE.

my case was:
A70 -> (+RM299) A95
lawsh
post May 29 2007, 08:30 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 29 2007, 08:23 AM)
it is actually "canon will REPAIR it FOC", not REPLACE.

my case was:
A70 -> (+RM299) A95
that was the package offered to me and i took it
BUT an even worse problem happened to my new A95 right outside of warranty doh.gif
the damn camera can't on and it was my first day in Bali vmad.gif
but somehow or rather i got the camera to on but i can't view anything on the LCD display and had to take pics via viewfinder, so damn paiseh coz its a digicam but can only view through viewfinder. made me look like n00b, using high tech camera but low tech way of taking pics mad.gif
because it was outside of warranty and therefore i had to pay for the repair which cost about 200+ mad.gif
if anything happens to it again, im switching to pana cams mad.gif

This post has been edited by lawsh: May 29 2007, 08:32 AM
TSdokidoki
post May 29 2007, 08:38 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ May 29 2007, 08:30 AM)
BUT an even worse problem happened to my new A95 right outside of warranty doh.gif
but somehow or rather i got the camera to on but i can't view anything on the LCD display and had to take pics via viewfinder, so damn paiseh coz its a digicam but can only view through viewfinder. made me look like n00b, using high tech camera but low tech way of taking pics mad.gif
because it was outside of warranty and therefore i had to pay for the repair which cost about 200+ mad.gif
eeee......like that susah a bit sad.gif then i better dun ask for replacement ....
xxx2299
post May 29 2007, 08:47 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 29 2007, 08:18 AM)
xxx2299...actually how u manage to ask them from A70 change to A95?....mind to share  some tips with us??
Glad to share:
(btw, Canon did once offer A95 replacement for A70 because they ran out of CCD units, so cannot repair. once CCD stock arrive, they stop the A95 replacement program. By the time my A70 kaput, the A95 replacement program was terminated)

my first letter to canon:
(at this moment of time, canon refuse to admit it was CCD design problem)
[quote]
...While waiting for Canon technician to evaluate the cause of problem, I took the trouble to search through Internet for similar problem. To my surprise, I found many owners of Canon PowerShot A70 (made in Malaysia) posted messages describing same problem; mostly due to faulty CCD unit while some due to loose internal parts. Below is one of the many links I found with messages written by owners:
"http://www.xxxxxxx.com/canon-powershot-a70-reviews.html"

And interestingly enough, most of the owners experienced the problem after 1 to 2 years of ownership; after warranty is over just like my case.
I also found a second major problem, that the Canon PowerShot A70 (and similar models) digital camera also have an "E18" zoom lens mechanism problem, that my unit has not experienced, yet.
From what my intuition tells me (I was an electronic device design engineer), these two problems are major camera design flaws.
... I am very unhappy with the way Canon xxxx Sdn Bhd is handling this issue. For your information, a reputable competitor's brand new 5MP 3xOptical Zoom digital camera is only selling for as low as RM7xx with one-year warranty. Do you seriously think that I will be happy to repair my RM1300 camera for RM2xx, that may need second CCD replacement within a year?
With these, I like to propose that my camera to be repaired free of charge on good will from Canon that will back their quality products; this issue is a design flaw that will occur to any PSA70 through no fault of the owner even if well taken care for. I would not like to think that Canon is exploiting this issue to earn money (RM299 is more than 20% of new camera price at RM1300). Canon must be dare enough to acknowledge product design weaknesses and take necessary action to rectify the problems.
[un-quote]

few days later, canon offered me free repair, but that was not the end of the story...

when I get back the repaired A70, the CCD STILL KAPUT!!!!
so, a second letter to canon: (cc to canon CEO)
[quote]
I wish to inform you that I received a phone call to collect my PSA70 after repair today. I immediately checked the camera function before I leave the service center, in front of Canon personal. To my surprise, my camera is still giving me the same blank image problem, verified by Canon personal, Ms XXX, after calling yourself on the phone.
...This can only mean 2 possibilities, either the camera was returned WITHOUT repair or the camera failed to operate even after replacement of new CCD. I think chances for the camera to be returned without repair is very slim, thus this makes me believe that the CCD is extremely unreliable. Remember the issue of repeated CCD failure in my previous letter?
"If you search through the Internet messages, you will be surprised to find that some owners experienced repeated faulty CCD units within short period of time after repair works, until they finally gave up and bought a new camera"
...I understand that some owners of PowerShot A70 in Malaysia experienced the exact same problem with CCD sometime back in April~May 2005. They were given the option to replace the A70 camera with a new A95 by paying RM299. I did not ask for this option initially because I still have good faith in Canon and A70, but now, I am beginning to belief that A70 has indeed a major design flaw.
...I am truly disappointed. Thus, I insist that my faulty A70 to be replaced by a new unit of A95 with a payment of RM299, just like other owners of PowerShot A70 that had the same CCD problem.
[un-quote]

Apart from cc to CEO in second letter, I also write a letter direct to CEO:
[quote]
... Unfortunately, when I insisted on checking the repaired A70 at Canon service center Kuantan, the camera failed to operate once again. The problem was identical to the initial problem I sent the camera for service in the first place. It was as if the camera was returned to me WITHOUT repair. I was shocked and extremely disappointed. Please take note that I did highlight the possibility of repeated CCD failure after repair in my first letter to Camera Service Division, dated 2 Sept 2005, that was experienced by some other A70 owners. It is just that I never imagine it would fail even before I can sign the service job sheet.
[un-quote]

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by xxx2299: May 29 2007, 09:00 AM
xxx2299
post May 29 2007, 09:00 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ May 29 2007, 08:30 AM)
I am already a pana cam user, starting with FX01 now added FZ20. thumbup.gif

going to sell off my A95 soon... whistling.gif

Added on May 29, 2007, 9:04 amand lawsh, I truly understand your feeling during your bali trip.

my A70 failed when I landed in Bangkok with my wife; FIRST TIME WE TRAVEL OVERSEAS TOGETHER!!!!!

I was like "beep beep beep ...." all the way

This post has been edited by xxx2299: May 29 2007, 09:04 AM
vex
post May 29 2007, 09:25 AM

1,984 posts

huh .......have to paid to upgrade 1 hor ... i tot is free upgrade...
sigh, made me happy nia ~
TSdokidoki
post May 29 2007, 10:01 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

xxx2299 really geng~!!erm....wondering if i write letter to complaint...will i get model upgrade replacement...

xxx2299...how u get so many high ranking staff email?... tongue.gif
xxx2299
post May 29 2007, 11:12 AM

169 posts

I called canon, and ask for the names of the people.

just say politely, "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you please put me to the CEO's secretary please".

then when I talk to the sec., "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you give me your CEO's name please, can you also give me the name of the manager for camera service division please. thank you"

being polite is the key to opening many doors.....

btw, last I know, canon has different service manager for different line of product.
TSdokidoki
post May 29 2007, 11:58 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 29 2007, 11:12 AM)
I called canon, and ask for the names of the people.

just say politely, "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you please put me to the CEO's secretary please".

then when I talk to the sec., "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you give me your CEO's name please, can you also give me the name of the manager for camera service division please. thank you"

being polite is the key to opening many doors.....

btw, last I know, canon has different service manager for different line of product.
wow...geng...must salute u notworthy.gif
vexus
post Jun 2 2007, 09:10 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

hey my A80 warranty over ledi. Now my cam got no picture. How arh?
will they repair the ccd sensor for free?
kelvinyam
post Jun 3 2007, 09:06 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 2 2007, 09:10 PM)
The only way to find out is to approach them.
TSdokidoki
post Jun 4 2007, 07:52 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 2 2007, 09:10 PM)
is it the purple color screen..if yes...then just bring back to canon no matter wanrranty over or not over..mine oledi expired 2 yrs..and they oso replace the ccd for me f.o.c

just collect my camera from canon service center~....still get back the same old camera la...no offer for upgrade...they say they will provide 3 more months warranty...ask me do not keep my camera in cabinet or car or even in pouch woh..say the ccd very sensitive to humidity~...eee
sotong168
post Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off. i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm
TSdokidoki
post Jun 4 2007, 09:14 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM)
dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off.  i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm
come join the fuji f31fd family tongue.gif i oledi bought mine....at s'pore now still not yet reach my hand...this wednesday i shd can get it tongue.gif
vex
post Jun 5 2007, 08:16 AM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 4 2007, 07:52 PM)
is it the purple color screen..if yes...then just bring back to canon no matter wanrranty over or not over..mine oledi expired 2 yrs..and they oso replace the ccd for me f.o.c

just collect my camera from canon service center~....still get back the same old camera la...no offer for upgrade...they say they will provide 3 more months warranty...ask me do not keep my camera in cabinet or car or even in pouch woh..say the ccd very sensitive to humidity~...eee
huh ??? cannot keep in car, cabinet and pouch ??
then where should we put ??? wtf man ...
i going to send mine this friday, went to cameron last week, the photo i shoot all like shit !! the sky is purple color 1 ~
xxx2299
post Jun 5 2007, 08:58 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM)
dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off.  i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm
Sad to say, this is the design flaw of CCD produced by Sony.

some other major brand were affected too, such as fujifilm, konica minolta, nikon, olympus, ricoh and of course sony....

http://www.steves-digicams.com/pr/sony_100...cd-prob_pr.html

so far, panasonic was not affected, because they used their own ccd.
TSdokidoki
post Jun 5 2007, 10:38 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jun 5 2007, 08:16 AM)
huh ??? cannot keep in car, cabinet and pouch ??
then where should we put ??? wtf man ...
i going to send mine this friday, went to cameron last week, the photo i shoot all like shit !! the sky is purple color 1 ~
now i have to hang my camera infront of the fan~....lucky my f31fd will be here this wednesday...then that time would say bye bye to my a95...or maybe keep in the fridge..
sotong168
post Jun 5 2007, 08:29 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(xxx2299 @ Jun 5 2007, 08:58 AM)
Sad to say, this is the design flaw of CCD produced by Sony.

some other major brand were affected too, such as fujifilm, konica minolta, nikon, olympus, ricoh and of course sony....

http://www.steves-digicams.com/pr/sony_100...cd-prob_pr.html

so far, panasonic was not affected, because they used their own ccd.
wah lau, sony again ah, last time was notebook battery, this time ccd pulak doh.gif btw, kudos to panasonic icon_rolleyes.gif
vexus
post Jun 7 2007, 10:59 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

DUn buy Canon. No more canon product in my list.
vex
post Jun 13 2007, 12:30 AM

1,984 posts

my canon digicam belum back from repair, now my canon printer rosak blak ... baru 1.5 year !!! now i abit hate canon liao ...
TSdokidoki
post Jun 13 2007, 08:38 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

repusez
post Jun 13 2007, 10:56 AM

669 posts

my a70 was send to the canon service centre about 1.5 years ago, CCD problem, repair for free after warranty period.

but then when i want to use it again last month, the same problem occur, already send in to canon service centre two weeks , no news yet so far.

FYI, i kept my camera in a dry cabinet under low humidity and low temperature condition together with my SLR. even that also the stupid a70 ccd got problem, now i dunno what to say regarding their claim not to put the camera "exposed to hot and humid environments."

though the canon EOS SLR are good , their P&S are just not that reliable.
TSdokidoki
post Jun 13 2007, 11:21 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Jun 13 2007, 10:56 AM)
my a70 was send to the canon service centre about 1.5 years ago, CCD problem, repair for free after warranty period.

but then when i want to use it again last month, the same problem occur, already send in to canon service centre two weeks , no news yet so far.

FYI, i kept my camera in a dry cabinet under low humidity and low temperature condition together with my SLR. even that also the stupid a70 ccd got problem, now i dunno what to say regarding their claim not to put the camera "exposed to hot and humid environments."

though the canon EOS SLR are good , their P&S are just not that reliable.
after 1.5 yrs still can warranty?..mine they say only give another 3 months....now i put it in dry cabinet + thirsty hippo together~...cos i just get my new fujifilm f31fd..~
vex
post Jun 13 2007, 02:29 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 13 2007, 11:21 AM)
after 1.5 yrs still can warranty?..mine they say only give another 3 months....now i put it in dry cabinet + thirsty hippo together~...cos i just get my new fujifilm f31fd..~
is that mean if spoilt again, they wont repair free for u anymore ????
walao ... they are replacing same problem CCD module on it, problem may occur after sometime ~
TSdokidoki
post Jun 13 2007, 05:34 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jun 13 2007, 02:29 PM)
is that mean if spoilt again, they wont repair free for u anymore ????
walao ... they are replacing same problem CCD module on it, problem may occur after sometime ~
ya...no more free after 3 month spolt..
repusez
post Jun 13 2007, 11:02 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 13 2007, 11:21 AM)
oh, i wouldn't put my camera in a cabinet with thirsty hippo, might overdry the lubricant inside the camera or worse, humidity absorb by the thirsty hippo may be absorb back into the camera if you forget to replace the thirsty hippo. better get those electronic dry cabinet if you're serious about maintaining the humidity of your stuffs. like those by digicabi or etc.

http://www.digihub.com.sg/SubCategoryList....inCategoryID=18
otsieng
post Jun 15 2007, 05:17 PM

19 posts

hi, brothers , i facing this problem with my canon A80....i think mine camera coz of humidnity and now the screen is very blur, got image but blur, cannot see accurately...
i am staying in kajang, and i called the customer service center in Shah alam, i dont think i can reach there coz of transportation.
may i know where else can i leave my camera so that they can collect it? coz it is too far for me to send it to shah alam to repair it, i asked the service center, they asked me go KLCC and leave there, but would they charge me as an agent ? ie, delivery cost or etc.

where you all send it to? or directly to shah alam better?
any advise? i need it before August coz leaving malaysia soon.
and usually how long they to repair or change the CCD?
would the same problem happen if i fix it?

thks for reply...thks.

repusez
post Jun 15 2007, 10:58 PM

669 posts

i think you can send to their Canon Lifestyle Concept Store in midvalley or klcc. and they will help you to send the camera to their main HQ in
peremba square shah alam near the subang airport.

maybe you can try to search in this page also.

http://www.canon.com.my/canon_new/customer/service/index.php

Added on June 23, 2007, 10:13 amupdates, my 3 year old A70 has again been fix for free by canon for the 2nd time (one year after they fix it for free for the first time) . the problem they claim was loose connector or something like that.

kuddos, canon

This post has been edited by repusez: Jun 23 2007, 10:13 AM
stacko
post Jul 2 2007, 05:52 PM

628 posts

I bought A70 4 years ago, then 2 years ago the CCD got problem. Sent for repair and offered upgrade to A95 at RM299. Took it and now 2 years later my A95 LCD having problem - colour and image distortion. Sent for repair and Canon fixed it without charge. In the repair sheet stated as "replace connector". Just thinking is Canon only good for 2 years?

Actually I was hoping that Canon would offer me another upgrade option cos I quite like the new Ixus 900 Ti. Too bad, Canon failed me but still I'm a supporter.

repusez
post Jul 2 2007, 06:46 PM

669 posts

i think it's all due to canon fault in using sony's CCD for their A series, hehe
zakmoz
post Jul 5 2007, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(stacko @ Jul 2 2007, 05:52 PM)
I bought A70 4 years ago, then 2 years ago the CCD got problem. Sent for repair and offered upgrade to A95 at RM299. Took it and now 2 years later my A95 LCD having problem - colour and image distortion. Sent for repair and Canon fixed it without charge. In the repair sheet stated as "replace connector". Just thinking is Canon only good for 2 years?

Actually I was hoping that Canon would offer me another upgrade option cos I quite like the new Ixus 900 Ti. Too bad, Canon failed me but still I'm a supporter.
I also have the same situation like Stacko. Bought Canon PowerShot A70 (early 2004) and after one and half year, the LCD kaput. The LCD suddenly kaput when I was enjoying my holidays in KL (Cuti-cuti Malaysia) in the middle of 2005. Just imagine the frustration when I just about to take picture of the Petronas Twin Tower, the LCD just blank. Very frustrated at that time, cannot take any pictures at all. Spent money on airfare but no picture to keep for memory. Went to Canon Centre in Suria KLCC. The staff there told me to send my A70 to Kuching HQ instead, because I work in Kuching. Sent the camera to Canon HQ in Kuching for repair. After about three weeks, Canon called me that I can exchange my A70 with a new model A95 but with an additional cost of RM299. Paid Canon, and after 1 and half year the same problem occurred again to my A95. I cannot take any pictures of my youngest brother's weddings in June this year. I was really2 disappointed when that happened at that important moment in my life. I sent my A95 to the Canon HQ in Kuching again on June 21st, the staff told me that it will takes 2-3 weeks for repair because the camera will be sent to KL. Right now still waiting for my camera... 2 weeks have already passed. Still no news. If they still use the same CCD from SONY, what the use, because in 1 and half year, the same ting will definitely happened again. They should improve their products quality instead, so this problems will not happened again in the future. sad.gif
xxx2299
post Jul 5 2007, 06:52 PM

169 posts

Why does it ALWAYS happen on a very important occation? my A70 CCD failed to operate during my trip to Bangkok, and zakmoz when he was in KL and ...........

conspiracy..... ? vmad.gif

I WILL NEVER vmad.gif bring my canon A95 to any important function any more. (unless accompanied by my new luv Panasonic ... rclxms.gif )
scubamy
post Oct 14 2007, 03:48 PM

39 posts

I was really dissapointed with my canon a70..let me tell you my story.
after using my a70 for almost 2 years,the ccd seems giving me the problem and i send to BINTANG MAJU to repair my camera.they charge me for a repair fee(dun remember how much edi) before i know its a manufacturer defect and canon repair for FOC.shit!! feel being cheated!
fine..already paid wat to do?!after around 6 month the problem occur again...alrite this time sent back to canon hq and they repair for FOC..after around not more than 1 year the problem came back and now i was thinking do i really need to sent back to canon or get another NON CANON camera

really dissapointed with canon!!
cjtune
post Oct 14 2007, 04:50 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

Just curious.. if a Powershot's LCD kaput, still can take photos with the optical viewfinder as a last-resort?

Added on October 14, 2007, 4:52 pmDamn. My own Powershot A510 died (cannot start up) just shortly after 1 year of ownership.

This post has been edited by cjtune: Oct 14 2007, 04:52 PM
LinctusForte
post Oct 28 2007, 10:17 PM

103 posts

my 16 months old S3IS is suffering the same problem stated here. took less than 5k shots.. the lcd display shows distorted images and sometimes is plain white. but viewfinder can use. S3IS affected too? or am i the only one?

This post has been edited by LinctusForte: Oct 28 2007, 10:37 PM
noobiedonkey
post Nov 11 2007, 07:52 PM

810 posts

scubamy, i know how u feel.
here's my story.

i have a fat ixus 500 or 50 i forgot (the fat one la). same like u ater 2years of ownership the ccd kaput! then repair thru fotokem costed 300 with a warranty of one month. not even a year the ccd kaput AGAIN. then now CANON quote me 400. 2nd hand valus of the functioning cam all not that much. haihz.

disaapointed
shinchan^^
post Nov 12 2007, 11:48 AM

K66
21,256 posts

maybe reach lifespan already after 1-2 years
time for new camera

Carlos_XP
post Nov 18 2007, 01:25 AM

98 posts

i owns one PS A75 as well.....last year it brokes down on me.....ccd problem as well,sent to canon,they do fix it all right,but later when i take picture,it's all blurred,it just didn't focus at all,guess i'll give up on this and get a new one instead.
Musafir_86
post Sep 23 2008, 03:05 PM

542 posts

-Just sent mine (Canon Digital IXUS S400) to Canon Shah Alam last Sunday through PosLaju. They sent an email yesterday informing me that it have been received & probably will be returned before raya. Actually, in an email reply I got before (early September) they advise me to send to Canon Penang, but I think it's better to send to Shah Alam instead (faster).

-FYI, I actually noticed this thread (and the Canon CCD Advisory) 2-3 months ago, but just now only take action. Anyway, will post the progress here later.

Regards.
Musafir_86
post Sep 27 2008, 02:32 PM

542 posts

-Received my camera (IXUS 400) back today. Just tested and working fine. But, actually I hoped that they would change this to a newer model! tongue.gif

Regards.
aladdin
post Sep 27 2008, 06:39 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

wah..have to check my A80 when im back.
kord
post Oct 9 2008, 01:21 PM

348 posts

oh no.. i just found out bout this thread.. doh.gif recently i bought a powershot a60 from another forumer.its in good working condition at the time i bought it. i then poslaju that camera to my parents and when they received and tested it, the problems as mentioned occured. so i act macgyver tongue.gif trying to pry open the camera to see whats wrong with it without knowing that canon actually announce users of the same model to get a foc repair for that matter..
so, if i were to send the camera to claim that foc repair, do u guys think they'll accept it? since there has been some scracth marks at the camera due to my "macgyver-wannabe" acts...afraid if they say cannot bcos the camera has been "violated" by non-certified technician.. (ME) tongue.gif
Musafir_86
post Oct 9 2008, 02:35 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Oct 9 2008, 01:21 PM)
oh no.. i just found out bout this thread..  doh.gif  recently i bought a powershot a60 from another forumer.its in good working condition at the time i bought it. i then poslaju that camera to my parents and when they received and tested it, the problems as mentioned occured. so i act macgyver  tongue.gif  trying to pry open the camera to see whats wrong with it without knowing that canon actually announce users of the same model to get a foc repair for that matter..
so, if i were to send the camera to claim that foc repair, do u guys think they'll accept it? since there has been some scracth marks at the camera due to my "macgyver-wannabe" acts...afraid if they say cannot bcos the camera has been "violated" by non-certified technician.. (ME)  tongue.gif
-Hmm, did you just open & look only? Or you touched (meddled) with something inside? hmm.gif Anyway, just try your luck - send it to Canon Shah Alam immediately:

Canon Marketing (M) Sdn Bhd
CORPORATE HEAD OFFICE, SHOWROOM & SERVICE CENTRE
Block D, Peremba Square,
Saujana Resort, Section U2
40150 Shah Alam
Selangor
Tel: +603-78446000 , +603-78450055
Fax: +603-78450505
Email: helpdesk@cmm.canon.com.my

-Don't forget to mention that you just found out about this advisory (the original link here). But, before sending out, make sure you try your best to remove the scratch marks - or the spoiled screw(s)! thumbup.gif

Added on October 9, 2008, 2:37 pm-Oh, and try to call or email them first, and put the "Attention: Camera Service Department" remarks on your parcel.

This post has been edited by Musafir_86: Oct 9 2008, 02:39 PM
kord
post Oct 10 2008, 08:16 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Oct 9 2008, 02:35 PM)
-Hmm, did you just open & look only? Or you touched (meddled) with something inside?  hmm.gif  Anyway, just try your luck - send it to Canon Shah Alam immediately:

Canon Marketing (M) Sdn Bhd
CORPORATE HEAD OFFICE, SHOWROOM & SERVICE CENTRE
Block D, Peremba Square,
Saujana Resort, Section U2
40150 Shah Alam
Selangor
Tel: +603-78446000 , +603-78450055
Fax: +603-78450505
Email: helpdesk@cmm.canon.com.my

-Don't forget to mention that you just found out about this advisory (the original link here). But, before sending out, make sure you try your best to remove the scratch marks - or the spoiled screw(s)!  thumbup.gif

Added on October 9, 2008, 2:37 pm-Oh, and try to call or email them first, and put the "Attention: Camera Service Department" remarks on your parcel.
Hi bro. thanks for the advise. notworthy.gif
yup, actually i might have lost 1-2 xtra screws when i'm putting it back together again.. haha.. but nvr touch anything tho..just open and look inside.
will do as advised. cross my fingers tho.. biggrin.gif Thanks very much. wink.gif
beatlesalbum
post Feb 6 2009, 10:54 PM

1,711 posts

Hi guise, is this the symptom of the malfuntioning ccd ?
Mines the same model as Musafir's IXUS 400.
I ve neve left it in any car or heat, and just recently I started snapping and all pictures taken were like the attacment above.
Please advice.
If so I will send it in.
Cheers.
noonian
post Feb 10 2009, 01:29 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_XP @ Nov 18 2007, 01:25 AM)
i owns one PS A75 as well.....last year it brokes down on me.....ccd problem as well,sent to canon,they do fix it all right,but later when i take picture,it's all blurred,it just didn't focus at all,guess i'll give up on this and get a new one instead.
I had the A70 and the CCD problem started appearing after 1 yr of using it. Managed to fix it 2 times as I had extended warranty. When that lapsed, I brought it to Canon when I read that it was a common problem, hoping Canon will fix it FOC for me. But unfortunately, Canon claims it's not CCD problem and would charge RM250 for repairs.

beatlesalbum
post Feb 10 2009, 02:09 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(noonian @ Feb 10 2009, 01:29 AM)
I had the A70 and the CCD problem started appearing after 1 yr of using it. Managed to fix it 2 times as I had extended warranty. When that lapsed, I brought it to Canon when I read that it was a common problem, hoping Canon will fix it FOC for me. But unfortunately, Canon claims it's not CCD problem and would charge RM250 for repairs.
were the shots similiar to the ones I posted above?
kord
post Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 6 2009, 10:54 PM)

Hi guise, is this the symptom of the malfuntioning ccd ?
Mines the same model as Musafir's IXUS 400.
I ve neve left it in any car or heat, and just recently I started snapping and all pictures taken were like the attacment above.
Please advice.
If so I will send it in.
Cheers.
Hi bro.. mine is EXACTLY like urs.. nod.gif
Just send it to canon service center (paremba square).
Give the a call/email and they will reply u asap. u dont have to go there. Just poslaju/courier to them and they will courier the dc back to u once finished repairing.
I've solve the problem wit my a60 in less than 2 weeks. good job canon! thumbup.gif

noonian
post Feb 10 2009, 09:00 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 10 2009, 02:09 AM)
were the shots similiar to the ones I posted above?
Similar but mine had purple lines instead of green.
Musafir_86
post Nov 5 2010, 10:51 PM

542 posts

-Not just randomly BUMP'ing an old thread, but rather a head-up for this issue: nod.gif

Discontinuing of Free Repair Services Concerning CCD Wire Bonding Issue for certain Models

Thank you for using Canon products.

We made an announcement in October 2005 about our free repair services to address a problem with the CCD image sensor used in certain Canon digital cameras and digital camcorders. As the service period for some of these models has now ended, kindly note that we will no longer provide such free repair services for the below affected models after the indicated date.

Accordingly, repair services for the Affected Products below that are received after the discontinuance date will be handled in accordance with Canon general repair standards and regulations.

Affected Products:

Digital Camera  Free Repair Discontinuation Date
PowerShot A60  After March 31, 2011
PowerShot A70  After February 28, 2011
Digital IXUS 400
PowerShot A300  After January 31, 2011
Digital IXUS II
Digital IXUS V3  After July 31, 2010
PowerShot A40  After March 31, 2010
Digital IXUS 330
Digital IXUS V2

Digital Camcorder  Free Repair Distinuance Date
MV 6i MC E  After April 30, 2011
IXY DV 3  After March 31, 2011
ELURA 50 A  After January 31, 2011
ZR 70MCA / 65MCA / 60A  After December 31, 2010
MV 650i / 630i / 600E / 600i E
MV 5i MC  After April 30, 2010
ELURA 40 MC  After March 31, 2010

This Service Notice will update the following notice on CCD Image Sensor Advisory, dated October, 2005.
http://support-my.canon-asia.com/index.jsp...italcameras-ccd

Oroginal advisory: http://support-my.canon-asia.com/index.jsp...italcameras-lcd

-It seems only ZR 70MCA/65MCA/60A camcorder models have some time left; so if your camcorder seems affected, return them for repair now! biggrin.gif

Regards.

0.0735sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:30 AM