FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

aspartame
post Dec 10 2019, 06:33 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Dec 10 2019, 03:31 PM)
I think it's riskier to not plan to live longer past 75, what if you don't have a direct next of kin that somewhat promises your basic survival?
Actually, if your expected return on your portfolio is 6% and you withdraw 2%, and inflation is 4% and you set retirement at say, 50... then theoretically you can retire indefinitely ....

What I meant earlier was... if your plan is based on living to 100 and you plan to retire at 70, then you might just die before reaching 70...

You should plan to retire earlier and yet your funds can last beyond 75 or 100 or indefinitely...

This conservative approach is not easy to achieve of course... but safer... if your contingency plan involve depending on next of kin handouts... then you are not ready to retire early ...

This 2% withdrawal rate is not set in stone.. what I mean is in the earlier years of retirement, you can withdraw 3% or 4% which will mean a smaller portfolio when you are older which is ok as one is expected to spend less when one is older... u tweak the numbers according to the situation ...
wongmunkeong
post Dec 10 2019, 06:45 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Dec 10 2019, 03:31 PM)
I think it's riskier to not plan to live longer past 75, what if you don't have a direct next of kin that somewhat promises your basic survival?
i'm with U on the "till 100 or death" planning but more for "not creating a sandwich" situation for my kids & "leaving something behind". I find it challenging being in a "sandwich generation" - ie. taking care of parents & kids - thus i dont wish such for my kids, let them focus on building their life since my generation has access to info & markets to build our own stash for retirement.

just my 2 cents + er. for the fellow forumer @ 50 years young, i'm somewhere there too - younger in physical years but older in wrinkles/worries laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 10 2019, 06:46 PM
Boomwick
post Dec 10 2019, 06:54 PM

985 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 10 2019, 06:45 PM)
i'm with U on the "till 100 or death" planning but more for "not creating a sandwich" situation for my kids & "leaving something behind". I find it challenging being in a "sandwich generation" - ie. taking care of parents & kids - thus i dont wish such for my kids, let them focus on building their life since my generation has access to info & markets to build our own stash for retirement.

just my 2 cents + er. for the fellow forumer @ 50 years young, i'm somewhere there too - younger in physical years but older in wrinkles/worries laugh.gif
Side news.

Are u the wong mun keong from rohas tecnic bhd ? Director ?
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 10 2019, 07:02 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 5 2019, 10:45 PM)
I think the economics terminology is “marginal utility”. What is the extra satisfaction we get per extra unit of money we spent. To give an example: take a person with income of 10k and he spends 3k only with saving rate of 70%. If he increases his expenses to 6k. The extra 3k will provide a lot of utility/satisfaction because he can now enjoy air cond, high speed Internet, once a while outings with friends for drink or cafes . In such a case, the savings of 3k over the long run is in my opinion not wise. If his income later increases to 20k, then a case can be made for him to maintain his expenses at 6k because, once the most basic needs/wants are covered, additional spending provides lesser and lesser utility . So, ya, it’s a constant evaluation of “how much more happy am I going to be by spending this money” . If you are driving a Myvi, probably spending more on a Vios does not provide much added utility.. but going from taking bus to driving Axia is a huge increase in utility .

We are on the same line there.

My thinking is, if we can build the discipline to look at our expenses and eliminate where we don't think it makes sense for us, over the long run, as our earning grows, we will not inherit the mindset of 'keeping up with the joneses' ...

However, it should not come at the expense of one's enjoyment of life as how they see fit. That's to me is basically what frugality vs miserly means.
cynthusc
post Dec 12 2019, 05:13 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 9 2019, 10:42 PM)
I have a rather morbid outlook on that, if you don’t mind me sharing:

My retirement chest of about $30,000,000 at present (almost equally proportioned into liquid asset classes - 55% in a mix of bonds, blue chips, index-tracked investments, cash and 45% in properties) should, in theory, outlast my wife and my life times (we are knocking on 50 years of age). This assuming we use $250,000 per year (and that’s an extraordinarily extravagant assumption, as even a detailed analysis at present pegs our everyday “running costs” at no more than $15,000 per month - including a more than generous $6,000 allowance for travels and holidays per month). Realistically, we can live on far less. This retirement sum does NOT include whatever I have in my superannuation in Australia or my CPF in Singapore. The latter will be used to pay for my medical insurance coverage.

We’re already 100% covered for major illnesses and hospitalisations - at least until 80 years of age.

So, if the amount lasts our lifetimes, good on me. I planned and executed it to perfection. I can take care of myself (and my wife).

If it doesn’t, and I’m flipping flat broke before I’m dead, no worries mate, the government will take care of me - because I’ll be retired in Australia.

Fingers crossed, it’ll be the former scenario.
Wow that is a lot...Is that in USD? I would find it difficult to spend RM150,000.00 per year for my retirement let alone RM250,000.00. Australia is definitely more expensive. Eating out is pretty expensive there. At the moment when running my business I easily spend RM400K per year but that includes 70% on my business expenditure. Based on my calculation I will only need RM3 million cash by the time I am fully retired which I think will be around 60. I am 44 now but will reach my RM3 million cash target in 3 years. My cash includes a mix of RM, USD and SGD. Recently AUD dropped so I did buy quite a bit. If I leave my RM3 million without any further contributions, it should grow to RM6.5 million by the time I am 60 (based on 5% return per annum). Obviously this far exceeds my goal of 3 to 4 million by 60 but I guess more is better than less.

As for assets that are not cash, I have 3 properties, 2 fully paid and one still charged to the bank. Once I reach my RM3 million cash target I plan to pay off the last bank loan I have...So I anticipate in 5 to 5.5 years I should be debt free and not have to worry about money.

I plan to work part time until the day I pass but with lots of 1-2 month sabbaticals in between. During those sabbaticals I would like to live abroad: a small village in Italy or Ecuador. Nothing too lavish just rent a nice cottage and enjoy the local lifestyle.
hksgmy
post Dec 12 2019, 05:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Dec 12 2019, 05:13 PM)
Wow that is a lot...Is that in USD? I would find it difficult to spend RM150,000.00 per year for my retirement let alone RM250,000.00. Australia is definitely more expensive. Eating out is pretty expensive there. At the moment when running my business I easily spend RM400K per year but that includes 70% on my business expenditure. Based on my calculation I will only need RM3 million cash by the time I am fully retired which I think will be around 60. I am 44 now but will reach my RM3 million cash target in 3 years. My cash includes a mix of RM, USD and SGD. Recently AUD dropped so I did buy quite a bit. If I leave my RM3 million without any further contributions, it should grow to RM6.5 million by the time I am 60 (based on 5% return per annum). Obviously this far exceeds my goal of 3 to 4 million by 60 but I guess more is better than less.

As for assets that are not cash, I have 3 properties, 2 fully paid and one still charged to the bank. Once I reach my RM3 million cash target I plan to pay off the last bank loan I have...So I anticipate in 5 to 5.5 years I should be debt free and not have to worry about money.

I plan to work part time until the day I pass but with lots of 1-2 month sabbaticals in between. During those sabbaticals I would like to live abroad: a small village in Italy or Ecuador. Nothing too lavish just rent a nice cottage and enjoy the local lifestyle.
That sounds like a lovely plan. At present, the $30,000,000 is the total “capital” of which I have split approx 55% in cash (SGD & AUD - like you, I bought tonnes of AUD on the cheap) and properties in Singapore and Australia. This does not include my annuity policies, insurances and CPF/Superannuation fund.
kobejash P
post Dec 12 2019, 11:04 PM

Probation

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 3 2018, 01:29 PM)
All, there are active communities in oversea that working on FI/RE by hard saving, investing and living below our means.
For sure there are also FI or already RE people in here.

Appreciate to share your experience; Pre-FI/RE and Post-FI/RE life.

#I’m working towards FI/RE and currently saving/invest 50-60% of my monthly salary. (On top of this around 20-25% spent for commitment like ASB loans and properties).
I like to hear sharing from all who working towards FI/RE so we can learn in term of planning, lifestyle, achievement, obstacles and etc.

-Update-

FI/FF is the priority that we need to work on - planning, executions, monitoring and improvement

RE - Decision is yours once achieved FI/FF

______
I am 30 years old and I am working towards FIRE. I have learned a lot about personal finance and have put it to test. But my main priority at this juncture is to save $100k by the end of next year. I should get there on time if things go as planned. In the meantime, I found this article which I found very helpful!

https://www.growthrapidly.com/how-to-save-100k/
limmmkb P
post Dec 13 2019, 09:50 AM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 10 2019, 01:59 PM)
Are u at 50? What makes u think we are much older oh?

If 50.. are u still working? If still working, then any reasonable combo of FD, EPF, properties and stocks is mostly ok..

If not working, just make sure the assets generate enough rental/interest/ dividend to cover expenses ... maintain some liquid assets just in case...
Im almost 30, so im thinking about my 40s... If u guys are in your 40s maybe your thinking abt 50s.. who knows..

As part of the RE, i would assume to stop working by 50 and live off investments..

Actually just wanna see people's opinion if realistically RM2m in today's terms in enough or not..
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 10:06 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(limmmkb @ Dec 13 2019, 09:50 AM)
Im almost 30, so im thinking about my 40s... If u guys are in your 40s maybe your thinking abt 50s.. who knows..

As part of the RE, i would assume to stop working by 50 and live off investments..

Actually just wanna see people's opinion if realistically RM2m in today's terms in enough or not..
RM2mil in today terms should be enough if you have no kids and lead a simple lifestyle ... not poor simple but ok ok simple even with some foreign travel... being single is easy .. if family, definitely not enough
hksgmy
post Dec 13 2019, 12:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Hi there,

In my humble (unlearned) opinion, the highlighted part is doable, depending on 3 primary factors:

1. What's your war chest (retirement nest)? Obviously, the bigger the chest, the better you'll be.
2. What's your risk appetite? Bigger risk taking behaviour means you'll need a smaller chest (from no. 1) to generate equivalent returns, compared to needing a bigger chest to do the same, if you're conservative
3. What are your projected expenses?
cynthusc
post Dec 13 2019, 04:17 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 13 2019, 10:06 AM)
RM2mil in today terms should be enough if you have no kids and lead a simple lifestyle ... not poor simple but ok ok simple even with some foreign travel... being single is easy .. if family, definitely not enough
If you have RM2 mil at 50 and take out RM8000 per month with a 2% increase every year to take into account inflation, you will have about RM466K left at the age of 80 if you get a 5% per annum return on your RM2 million.
But if you only take out RM5000 per month with the same 2% increment per year, you will still have RM3.6 million at 80
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 04:37 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Dec 13 2019, 04:17 PM)
If you have RM2 mil at 50 and take out RM8000 per month with a 2% increase every year to take into account inflation, you will have about RM466K left at the age of 80 if you get a 5% per annum return on your RM2 million.
But if you only take out RM5000 per month with the same 2% increment per year, you will still have RM3.6 million at 80
Interesting....if it were me, I will probably take out about 6k.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aspartame: Dec 13 2019, 04:37 PM
j.passing.by
post Dec 13 2019, 05:38 PM

1,639 posts

Here's a different thought to consider... are you ready to make it happen regardless whether you achieve the targeted figure or not.

Life style can be slightly adjusted to suit the financial means.

If solely focusing on a certain amount of money to reach, one might get cold feet to quit the working life especially if the income is good and the job is something you could perform with ease. Easy money, why closed the tap and stopped the flow?

hksgmy
post Dec 13 2019, 06:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Dec 13 2019, 04:17 PM)
2% returns on the RM2,000,000 is a very very conservative calculation. I like that. It's prudent to never count your chickens before they hatch.
hksgmy
post Dec 13 2019, 06:28 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Dec 13 2019, 05:38 PM)
Here's a different thought to consider... are you ready to make it happen regardless whether you achieve the targeted figure or not.

Life style can be slightly adjusted to suit the financial means.

If solely focusing on a certain amount of money to reach, one might get cold feet to quit the working life especially if the income is good and the job is something you could perform with ease. Easy money, why closed the tap and stopped the flow?
That's actually a very real assertion that many people in my profession/situation face. While ours isn't exactly "easy money" (it's actually hard, but rewarding, work) it's very good money - and it's intellectually seductive work, because we problem solve life & death cases (in a sense). This intellectual stimulation, coupled with more than adequate compensation, makes leaving our jobs an extremely difficult task for many of us.

In a blink of an eye, we've shot past 55 years, then 60 and before you know it, we're so far away from intending to retire "young", and we're just working and working and working... for everyone else but ourselves.
flowerbloomX
post Dec 16 2019, 02:20 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Dec 4 2019, 03:57 PM)
More than that, try to living below your means.

That means while you always to improve your source of income, be it active or passive, it is meaningless if you also increase your expenses.

Actively trying to reduce your expenses means you will be able to stretch every dollar you earn thus contributes significantly towards FI/RE.
That's really great advice, I never really thought about it that way!
Kinggnik87
post Dec 23 2019, 10:06 AM

191 posts

Just started focusing more on increasing my passive income few weeks ago. I'm in my early 30s and hope it is not too late. (pray)
neverfap
post Dec 23 2019, 10:21 AM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(Kinggnik87 @ Dec 23 2019, 10:06 AM)
Just started focusing more on increasing my passive income few weeks ago. I'm in my early 30s and hope it is not too late. (pray)
It's never too late to start
SUSBora Prisoner
post Dec 23 2019, 10:40 AM

532 posts

had 0 (zero) savings when I was 30. Now 42, about 4-5 years from retirement.

Win Win Inspiration
post Dec 23 2019, 10:55 AM

2,724 posts

It is never too late to start something, to best time is now.
Wishing you all the best in your journey toward FI/RE my friend! Together we work towards that.

99 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:15 PM