Widescreen Thread V2.0, All widescreen discussions here

dattebayo
post Jul 3 2007, 12:25 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 2 2007, 11:39 PM)
laugh.gif U havent tried gaming n working on a 30" ya? Wait till u try it, u will NEVER ever go back to small LCDs again.
oh... but even if I can afford 30" ACD, I would rather use the money to buy bigger LCD TV tongue.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 3 2007, 01:31 AM

5,366 posts

do the font look very small when use native resolution on a 20" wide?
I very like the 20" wide, but too bad all of them are using 1680x1050 which make fonts really small w/o dpi adjustment

but 22" is just too big for me sweat.gif

btw is that the quality of picture will still be good if I down the resolution to 1440x900 on a 20" ?
dattebayo
post Jul 3 2007, 10:13 AM

5,366 posts

dattebayo
post Jul 6 2007, 03:33 PM

5,366 posts

dattebayo
post Jul 7 2007, 12:12 AM

5,366 posts

on a true h264 HD video, even a c2d will choked if it was clocked at lower freqs. Of course a builtin HD video decoding GC like 8500/2600xt would help a lot for those having lower end proc.

most of the downloaded series are downsampled of HDTV, they may have 720 vertical resolution, but they mostly are encoded using xvid/divx/mp4.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 7 2007, 12:12 AM
dattebayo
post Jul 7 2007, 12:24 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(bryan @ Jul 7 2007, 12:13 AM)
What defines true HD?`
something which has total bit rate of over 5mbps, up to 10mbps (2 times the regular dvd)
u can download some demos at nzone.com

their resolution is true 720 or 1080 vertical
dattebayo
post Jul 7 2007, 12:43 AM

5,366 posts

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_hdcontent_home.html
dattebayo
post Jul 9 2007, 09:21 AM

5,366 posts

does all the mainstream TN monitors accept analog signals from DVI only?
All of the monitors I seen from their specs are:
LG L245WP
Video Signal Type : RGB Analog
even a 24" also use DVI-Analog?
dattebayo
post Jul 9 2007, 05:36 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 9 2007, 05:27 PM)
From what i learn here, having different panel might influence in different thing. For example, some panels allow a higher and wider viewing angle, thus, allowing wider range. Besides, some panels also offer better color out of the box etc..Correct me if i am wrong..

Yes, you are right. Dell have a policy of only exchanging your LCD if you have more than 7 dead pixels. However, you can of course, tell them you have alot of dead pixel (even though you only have one) and they will exchange a brand new one for you..
Dell is always been changing panels in their entry level of LCDs. Sometimes they use Samsung, LG or even Taiwanese brands. The viewing angle is actually according to TN spec which is 160deg plus/minus. Some reputable panels such as Samsung/LG-Phillips do produce closest possible to the best TN specs, and brilliant contrast and better color reproduction. But for the average eyes, its hard to see how bad is one panel compare to others just by looking at it, at least its for me, partially color blind dumb. tongue.gif

and does Dell that stupid just take in the 1 dead pixel LCD than without inspections straightaway give you a new one? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 9 2007, 05:38 PM
dattebayo
post Jul 10 2007, 10:20 AM

5,366 posts

226BW, got the samsung LCD tv looks, u can have illusion that u re facing a small samsung LCD tv each time u use the pc cool2.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 10 2007, 11:12 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jul 10 2007, 10:46 PM)
any1 here uses benq fp202w?
its quite cheap now...rm660 only...

does 20" wide consider small?
screen itself is not small. same height with 17" normal
but font and image size is a bit small when on the native resolution, u can change windows dpi setting or enlarge the fonts btw
dattebayo
post Jul 11 2007, 11:48 AM

5,366 posts

I am eying for ViewSonic VG2030wm 20.1" WS. Is it a good LCD in general? Any problem with that model?

btw, from what I see in viewsonic web, they have 4 lines of LCD, VA,VG,VX and VP
I want to know is there any difference between VX and VG aside ftrom design?
nowadays is hard to find 20"widescreen sweat.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 11 2007, 08:31 PM

5,366 posts

haih... is it wasted if I buy 22" wide just for normal surfing, gaming, and movies? I am no multitasker and I don't do spreadsheet, photoshopp and programming at the moment.

I ve simulate the 1600x1024 resolution, when I open LYN homepage, yahoo.com, microsoft.com and many other major pages, both horizontal sides has been wasted (sometimes the content of the page is left intended, why most are center oriented)

this makes me think over and over again, will it be waste of money if i buy 22" ? hmm.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 11 2007, 08:42 PM

5,366 posts

but its unpleasant to see something like this laugh.gif
22" resolution
mental barrier lol

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 11 2007, 08:43 PM
dattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 02:45 AM

5,366 posts

damn doh.gif
Dell is having another ridiculous offer, grab it while you can icon_idea.gif
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/p...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

its rm849 this time...........they used to be rm999 I think. Wonder why this time is not in extended delivery mode.

Really hope they can extend the offer, and hope ViewNet could update their price on this drool.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 12 2007, 02:50 AM
dattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 10:01 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 12 2007, 08:50 AM)
AFAIK u won't get 22" for RM799 & u cant find any dell monitor in PC Fair either... bcoz LCD price has gone up...
any sauce?
dattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 06:42 PM

5,366 posts

eh.. we really can cheat to Dell by exaggerating the no of dead pixels to claim RMA? sweat.gif

Added on July 12, 2007, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(weikai_ng @ Jul 12 2007, 06:40 PM)
Got rumuor saying that the type of panel for samung LCD monitor is no longer printed at the tag of the monitor. Can anyone verify this?
If it is true,how is the quality of the unknown panel of LCD monitor?I am going to get a 206BW soon, i just afraid i get the bad panel... pls help icon_question.gif  thanks in advance
mostly they are using taiwan chimei panel now
u ll not see any difference without take in 2 different models and compare side by side.
anyway, all TN panels have almost the same specs, its good enough for normal use.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 12 2007, 06:46 PM
dattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 07:01 PM

5,366 posts

panel lottery has been a trends for major LCD makers, because most panel makers will only mass produce on a particular size of panels. Samsung has to minimize cost by buying TN panels from others, while they can focus on making more expensive S-PVA in bigger sizes.

Dell do not make panel themselves, thus they have even more flexibilities to choose from wide range of panels. And they never state that which panel is used in which model, nor do they guarantee buyers will get which panel. Which makes many LCD makers can freely choose any panels and we all can't sue them.
dattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 11:49 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jul 12 2007, 10:26 PM)
guys...i done hunting for 226BW, Viewnet offered RM1199, but they dont have stocks, and they also have no idea when is the new stock will arrive..
and i dun think the price for 226BW will drop below RM1100 during a PC Fair..
so any advice? since Dell got a tempting promotion, should i go for Dell instead?
try thundermatch, they said its rm1150
dattebayo
post Jul 13 2007, 01:01 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jul 13 2007, 12:02 AM)
really? thats a good price indeed  smile.gif
i cant find the latest pricelist since they havent upload it yet at hardwarezone.. sad.gif
so they got stock?  smile.gif
I called them some days before.
U can call them again to verify, I scare different people quote different price

QUOTE(mdzaboy @ Jul 13 2007, 12:09 AM)
i heard samsung gonna released new model for 226..i think 226CW..

which is better..? 226BW or 226CW?
CW is better. But dont think they will release that soon

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 13 2007, 12:46 AM)
Anyone used BenQ 20" LCD? Any comment? Bad experience maybe? The price gap under RM100 already between 19" part.
their entry level design is just as sucks as acer one doh.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:04 AM