4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 02:03 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 10 2019, 01:06 PM)
what about TCL 65 65P65US?
a friend recommended this model
seems like it's been getting good reviews
plus can get it slightly below RM3k
Check this link.

Bro convael posted some good info about TCL.

Apparently the TCL here is not the same as TCL US.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4759561

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 10 2019, 02:04 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 04:37 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 10 2019, 04:15 PM)
sweat.gif
And I thought the ones being sold at lazada are the same as the ones in the US

Thanks for the info  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbsup.gif
Thank bro convael. Ayam just the messenger. LOL.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 11 2019, 09:14 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 11 2019, 01:44 AM)
Thanks for the info brother..

Wanted to play some movies from online movie app..
Default app in tv NETFLIX DAILYMOTION IFLIX and others need registration.
I dont know whether can install any movie app direct to tv or not..
So i wanted to play movie from app installed in my phone and screen mirror to tv..

I tested nu8000 screen mirroring.. my phone is galaxy note4.
First few hours phone never detect nu8000 wifi signal..
So planned to screen mirror my phone via MHL to TV cable which i used to connect in my LG before. Its worked perfect in my LG but in NU8000 Never detect the source.
No idea compatibility issue or what..

Later after some time my phone detected tvs wifi signal.
Connected and able to mirror phone screen to tv.
And started to play movie app in my phone but very disappointing the wifi signal was weak even when i placed phone near tv.
Time to time screen jerks where in phone movie streaming fine so obviously its happening due to wifi issue and screen mirroring keep disconnected.

No idea why its happening.. compatibility issue ?
High spec TV struggle to capture signal from low spec phone ?
Or low spec phone struggle to capture signal from high spec TV ?
I have tested Chromecasting a few days back on my Sharp LC50UA6800X.

Seems like there is a lagging issues as well. I am using Samsung Galaxy S8+. It is not that bad, but i get lots of input lags, which makes it "boh song liao". I guess we just can't expect a near real time mirroring with current technology? I was using Wifi AC to do this. But my phone didn't disconnect. I don't remember testing video, only tested showing some photos. Somehow, i feels the image is not as good as it should when chromecasting, thus lost interest in it.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 15 2019, 03:27 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Apr 14 2019, 10:19 AM)
Morning guys,

I wanted to buy a 4k uhd tv, after reading some pages back, still cant make any choice which brand and series to go, honestly my budget only below 3k, this is my 1st time to try 4k so i really cant tell which is good for me,

But im gaming on my TV also, so better response is needed..any recommended 4k smart tv for me? Thanks in advance
Depends on what you need. In general i can think of 2. These will narrow down the options a bit.

1. Size?
2. Android TV required?

Not sure what other criteria you have.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 16 2019, 02:03 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Apr 15 2019, 09:33 PM)
1. Budget only RM3000 and below
2. Size 55" above with 4k
3. Never use Android TV, so i dont know whats good in it.
4. I dont have astro, i only watch Netflix, Iflix, and i also will connect my 2nd pc with intel g4560 + gtx1070 8gb to the TV (so 60-120hz tv with fast response needed right?)
5. I have older smart tv LG 3d 55" so far its still usefull but i want to feel 4k tv bcoz its 2019 and alot of 4k content on youtube already.
6. I also have my hometheater set Samsung Blu-ray 3d with 7.1 speakers using optical cable to my old tv, will connect to my 4k TV as well.
3. If you want to install all those free apps to watch free Asian, Korean, China, HK, TW drams etc.
4. You don't really need PC with built in Android or other OS to watch Netflix. Iflix, Android got. Other OS i dunno, which is why i recommend Android. Unless your PC has some other purpose. I have retired my HTPC after bought my Android TV.
6. Yes, your new TV should be able to connect via optical. Please be reminded you will only get Dolby Digital and/or DTS at most this way. No DD plus, No DD Atmos.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 16 2019, 02:04 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 19 2019, 04:05 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(najib1312 @ Apr 18 2019, 02:11 AM)
Been using this for the past 2 months. Bought it for RM1.4K

Pros:
1) Price! This is the cheapest 4K Smart TV I could find
2) The TV comes with magic remote, which is a revelation
3) It is a proper Android TV, so can install play store (most other budget smart TVs runs proprietary OS or the Web OS)
4) Decent picture and audio quality
5) Haier provides 2 years on-site warranty, and their customer service is always very responsive

Cons:
1) TV frame comes only in gold color, it may not suit everyone
2) Picture quality lacks contrast. Sony TV's picture quality is way better. But you can tweak in the settings
3) It does not detect 5GHz WiFi (not sure about other smart TVs)
4) Runs on outdated Android 4.4.4. So most of the apps are not refined, especially YouTube, IFlix and Netflix. It still works but the UI is terribly outdated. I have bought a TV box and I normally watch YouTube in this one. Netflix is fine though.
5) Accessing media files on external HDD is very slow compared to my old Sony TV
6) Cannot set auto Aspect ratio for movies on my HDD. The default aspect ratio is 16:9 but some movies look stretched. So everytime I play a movie I have to manually set the aspect ratio to auto

Overall though, I'm pretty satisfied with the purchase. But if you can stretch your budget, I would advise to buy smart TV with latest OS. At least Android 7.0.
Can you watch NETFLIX 4K HDR and Youtube 4K HDR on it?

0.0671sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:16 AM