Kahlamx
post Apr 6 2025, 01:08 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 6 2025, 11:42 AM)
the S95D has the same Matte screen.
the S90, on the other hand don't .
The S90 carried on with Samsung's dominance in the anti-glare category and it is very good at supressing glares at minimal cost of contrast ( but nowhere near any matte screen )  , the S95D on the other hand is the best at suppressing direct reflection at severe cost of perceived contrast , it sounds like you will want the later .

S90D :  fight glares and ambient lights , best in muting the luminance of reflection

S95D : completely scatter and blur out the directly reflected object , but because the lights are scattered evenly on the surface , perceived contrast is reduced.

Do kindly compare these shots , courtesy of rtings.

These are new as rting has recently revamped their review format because of this. I was just talking to a few other guys the other day , these new numbers provided by rtings confirmed our suspicion that colors on QD OLED are still far superior than LG OLEDs even under disturbance of ambient light and matte screen.  Someone has been paying reviewers , surprising because its not Samsung this time as they are usually the perpetrator.
I think using blue emission layer instead of white oled light layer is the best thing that ever happen to display tech.

Just looking at the wRGB vs QD-OLED spectral power distribution, the Green and Red hump is very separated to each other and "far" more precise. Unlike wRGB, green does not have a clear separation from Blue hump. This already indicate a clear purity on all 3 RGB for QD-OLED. Don't even need to start talking about "uniformity" yet.

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Apr 6 2025, 01:11 PM
Kahlamx
post Apr 8 2025, 09:46 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 8 2025, 09:07 AM)
That's why having competition is great for consumers.
Before the QD OLEDs, there was barely any upgrades on the annual OLED refreshes. Sure there are some minor features here and there but those are not exactly big differences.
I watch a lot of classics and shows. Many which are poorly mastered, which means the black levels are all over the places. On the wOLED because it gets chaotic quickly because of the dithering they used to conceal those artifacts.
It became a major distraction after awhile. I still couldn't believe how smooth things look on the QD OLED, that's what convinced me QD OLED is the definitive upgrade to the wOLEDs.

Given that a large number of sci-fi, horror shows have low APL, these QD OLED made a huge difference. Just play one of the game of thrones episodes, that should be enough to convince anyone.
That's why I am also quite pleased to hear Sony is continuining its QD-OLED line up and I can't see what they cooked up this year !
According to their press briefing , the Bravia 8 II is supposed to be more affordable than A95L. 

I already had a brief look at S95F last month from Samsung's AWE, quite a significant improvement over S95D.

I feel the exact same. Somehow old/new SDR movies look and feel so much more "polished and refined" on my S95B (even though "full screen SDR" brightness is not exceptionally great, but still...) than my LG, less grainy, less noise and artifacts on dark scenes.

There are times I was thinking "Wow, my TV remaster this old movie to become "fake HDR-like" (obviously not HDR) probably because less banding/more uniform to begin with + I always watch movies in the dark/close to dark...., so smooth and pleasant to look at the overall PQ. Recently I am on Quentin's movies streak, rewatching some old movies like reservoir dogs, pulp fiction etc

Yes I am excited too Sony is continuing the QD-OLED line. Finally... But then 65" Bravia 8 OLED already RM9999 on Sony store (maybe cheaper by 1-2k during sale?), how much more affordable can the Bravia 8 II be? sweat.gif

I read the review by Phil Hinton. One thing to note, S95F full screen measured 401 nits (for this value I think quite sufficient actually for SDR and HDR bright room viewing...) that's really a massive jump from 290 nits S95D....LG G5 with that tandem oled still can't seem to match the full screen brightness + color volume performance as indicated by Phil. Link

Given the advantages offered by QD-OLED, I really see no reason why new OLED buyer would choose WOLED over QD-OLED. Below is another example 2024 S95D vs G4. Don't talk about rec.2020 yet. G4 struggles on DCI-P3 when reaching L100.

Kahlamx
post May 17 2025, 08:23 PM

369 posts

HDR10+ works via Google 4K streamer Netflix app on my S95B. No pun intended for the 2nd pic. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: May 17 2025, 08:53 PM
Kahlamx
post May 19 2025, 10:35 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 18 2025, 11:02 PM)

Decided to pull the trigger on this instead.
Good choice man. Enjoy that insane HDR.
Kahlamx
post Jun 13 2025, 03:24 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jun 1 2025, 09:59 AM)

Finally saw it in Harvey Norman. Looks amazing! Sales person came and chit chat with me when I’m checking out the unit, he asked me what TV I’m using now. I told him Sony.

He shake his head and say a lot of customer bought Sony came back and complain about the reliability. Ask me to try Samsung or LG instead because they hear way less complain from the Korean brand lately.
I went and checkout the S95F. Surprisingly the matte coating is so much more improved than the S95D. It has that contrasty black while diffusing most of the ambient light (directly). A lot of tests you can read online are directly shining the light on it and causing the black level to be hazy.

But then in real life I don't think a person would be shining a torch on it all day long. In fact if a person places the TV "especially" in a bright living room (when ambient light is coming from all direction instead of a targeted spot) you might not be able to notice the haziness (cause the brightness of the TV and the color pop is more than enough to counter it).

I recall looking at the S95D and I wasn't quite like it almost instantly cause the contrast is very much compromised.

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Jun 13 2025, 03:26 PM
Kahlamx
post Jul 11 2025, 11:54 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 9 2025, 08:47 PM)
QA65S90FAEXXM is the 65in panel and 55in is QA55S90FAKXXM.  The fourth last letter is K for QD OLED and E for WOLED. This changes throughout the stock period and one needs to check the actual stock product number to confirm.
Link click on "2008 and later"

Some more info about the model code. 4th last digit is actually the tuner type based on this article.

But then it looks like rtings has already mentioned that E being WOLED. On the Samsung MY website, all the S95F is K, all the S85F is E and only 55 S90F is K.

If you look at the Neo QLED series, most if not all also K... So I wonder if rtings info is correct. But then US 83" S95F WOLED coincidentally also is E.

Link 2

Link 3

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Jul 11 2025, 11:57 AM
Kahlamx
post Oct 29 2025, 11:46 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Oct 29 2025, 12:16 AM)
Anyone using Samsung QN85 series QLED TV? How's performance mainly on HDR?? I saw QN85F on Harvey Norman seems brighter and better viewing angles than LG QNED series. It's worth those asking price? I'm planning check on Christmas Year End sales for better price
What's your budget and what is the size you are looking for? If you are looking for the QN85F, chances are your budget is almost there already.
Kahlamx
post Oct 29 2025, 01:14 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Oct 29 2025, 12:45 PM)
Budget is around rm8000 but retailers say price might come down during year end sales
Rm8k? 65" S90D QD-OLED was going around for RM8k plus during 10.10 sale. Though it's last year model, it should perform way better than QN85F in terms of HDR.
Kahlamx
post Oct 30 2025, 10:15 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Oct 29 2025, 02:55 PM)
It’s OLED good when we watch local contents like Astro I’m bit worried on burn in pixels or statics pixel
These modern OLED TVs have burn in risk reduction features like the 1) pixel shift function, you will notice your image moves slightly every now and then. 2) adjust logo brightness, if you watch a lot of TV programs with static logo, I highly suggest that you set it to "high".

And use the correct presets, don't watch SDR contents with HDR peak brightness. Always alter your contents, don't let one show sit out or play a single game with HUD elements every day.

If you are curious about OLED burn ins, you can refer to rtings website. They do extensive accelerated degradation and longevity test. But bear in mind, their tests are very intensive. Those TVs are let out to blast full brightness for ridiculous number of hours in a short span..to simulate real world usages. 6000 hours in 10 months? That's quite a lot and abusive to be honest. sweat.gif

from rtings, need to zoom a little on the pic

I have the LG CX and now it's around 5000 hours+ and not a single burn in to be seen. Unlike the rtings test for CX at 3600 hours mark, CNN logo starts to burn in.

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Oct 30 2025, 10:21 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0199sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:40 PM