7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung LED TV Thread V2, Continue from V1

Convael
post May 13 2019, 03:19 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(imyschong @ May 13 2019, 03:01 AM)
i plan to cancel my purchase as I found q6f is better than q60r

https://www.rtings.com/tv/tools/compare/sam...ng-q60r/623/780

its my fault to make decision in hurry..
2019 model downgraded?
Q60R is probably overpriced but so is Q6FN . If you are shooting for the Q6 series ( Q6FN or Q60R ) just grab a NU8000 and save yourself some money .
Hard to justify spending more for the Q6 series.

If you have extra budgets , the Q70R ( probably still too expensive now because it is a new release ) & Q7FN are much more of a dramatic upgrade .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 13 2019, 03:34 AM
Convael
post May 13 2019, 04:40 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(imyschong @ May 13 2019, 03:27 PM)
LG oled better than samsung qled?
A 65 " OLED will cost you more than 10k unless you are downgrading to the 55 " .

Which would be quite a downgrade , maybe if you are planning to use it as a smaller room TV ...

This post has been edited by Convael: May 13 2019, 04:59 PM
Convael
post May 13 2019, 09:28 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 13 2019, 07:13 PM)
Obviously.

I think u take LG OLED model from 2 years also win the latest QLED
That is an inaccurate interpretation on the matter.

How do you define " better " ? Can you really say Oranges are obviously better than Apples ?

Sure the OLED TV is doing a few things better than the QLED but there are also things they are not good at .

Primarily the Burn Ins . No matter how rare the chance is , it is still much easier to get an uneven aging on the OLEDs than QLEDs.

There is also the long list of problems plaguing the near black performance where I can type 100 pages about it.
Last but not least , OLEDs also suffered from brightness and Color Volume .
Do you even know how much you are missing out on the HDR on wRGB OLED TV? Get one of those newer Samsung Galaxy Flagships (which is full RGB OLED) , run a couple of HDR clips on both TVs and tell me you don't see the difference .

I don't like Samsung Marketing Campaign depicting QLEDs as the new found miracle of 21st century .
But you have to be really ignorant to turn a blind eye on all the advantages of QLEDs by saying OLEDs are obviously better. And this is coming from someone who has 4 freaking OLED TVs in possession.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 13 2019, 09:47 PM
Convael
post May 14 2019, 04:46 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 13 2019, 10:27 PM)
TVs are sold for money, price exists.

When a C8 55" can be had for RM7k, it makes absolutely zero fucking sense to buy a Q7R 55" at RM7k then. You'd have to then compare a Q9FN which only comes in 65" to a C8 65", still then the C8 is cheaper and good luck finding a Q9FN for than a C8 for NEW.

It's unarguable that dollar to dollar, in this country at least - Samsung products are poorly priced.
He is getting a deal of 65 " Q7FN for roughly 8k although he didn't specify on the price tag here . And the 55" Q7 was on stock clear below 5k. There is still a gap to be filled between the two .

Samsung just don't have competition in the LCD market anymore .
If you want a bright room premium LCD TV , it has to be Samsung . No one else in MY is selling competent premium LCD thesedays.

Sony has been skipping out in their X900 series , which was their best selling model last year .
Panasonic , on the other hand is destroying its legacy by only ever bringing IPS into the MY Market recently .

Meanwhile I am surprised at how affordable OLEDs have become in MY , with both 55" of A8F and Panasonic FZ950 can be found below 7k .

Which is a shame because these overpriced QLEDs are really such a nice display in a bright room .
Look at these anti reflective coating from the Q9FN / Q900 / Q90R / Q8DN ( on the right side )

This post has been edited by Convael: May 14 2019, 05:27 AM
Convael
post May 14 2019, 04:48 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 13 2019, 10:09 PM)
There's not need to be so defensive lol. Just as you own 4 freaking OLED TV, I also own a Samsung KS7000

Like it or not, Samsung become greedy in 2017 and start to price its QLED TV at a higher price level. With that pricing, I rather add a bit more and get an OLED.
I am not being defensive , not like Samsung pay me for each of those QLEDs they sold . But I really think those of us who owned premium TV need to pick our words more carefully .

The newer QLEDs have undergone quite a drastic improvement compare to the KS series back from 2016 .
The original KS series felt like it was only been made to score high in the brightness war . Turn on the TV and saw glimpse of a flash and the picture quickly fall flat after that.
It's actual brightness ratings are more or less on the same level as the C6 .

Newer QLEDs can hold and maintain the same level of brightness for a long time , which is quite a big improvement when it comes to HDR .

In 2019 they are to utilize F.A.L.D from Q7 onward , MSRP is $7999 but expect the TV to drop below 6k by the end of the year .
Below 6k for a F.A.L.D Quantum Dots Display ? that's a great deal .

It is starting to sound like I am a QLED Cultist but if you look at my previous posts you know I am one of the biggest supporters of OLEDs .
However there are still sizeable market for the LCD and certainly , circumstances where we can use a QLED and an OLED.

P/S: and yes Samsung is a greedy b*tch , no argument on that .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 14 2019, 05:49 AM
Convael
post Jun 11 2019, 03:46 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Jun 11 2019, 03:24 PM)
Hi guys, anyone here using the NU8000 with Astro ? Hows the video quality for Non-HD channels? Does it look a little grainy?  Not sure whether it's due to the 4K up-scaling or bad HDMI cable.
Maybe you can show us some pictures ?

Astro's videos are of very low bitrate and poorly mastered , therefore the black levels are a mess.
The better TV you get , the more they will expose the flaws of lower quality videos.

Without actually seeing your TV , it is hard to tell if those effects are intended , or something is wrong with the display , or you are using the wrong input for TV.

Try changing to an alternate cable , change display mode to " movie " , turn on digital clean view. See if any of those helps . Also update to the latest firmware .
Play some high quality 4k footage , see if your screen is working properly .

Change Local Dimming to " low " when playing non-HDR video / content . Make sure the HDR+Mode is turned off.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 11 2019, 03:54 PM
Convael
post Jun 13 2019, 03:21 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(eviljonz @ Jun 13 2019, 10:01 AM)
Is there any diffrent in pricing or quality between NU8000 2018 vs 2019 version ?

the 2019 edition is called RU8000 , which is a downgrade from NU8000 due to the removal of the Local Dimming system .

RU8000 is now in the same category as many other entry lvl 4k TVs , also known as the " fake HDR " TVs .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 13 2019, 03:22 PM
Convael
post Jun 13 2019, 05:05 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Jun 13 2019, 04:35 PM)
In that case which Samsung 4K tv is recommended for Mid Level? Suggestion for 55inch. Max budget is 4~5K
NU8000 , I cannot recommend a RU8000 which is retailing for the same price but for even less features .

I expect the 55" of the newer Qled model , Q75R to fully replace the spot of NU8000 when they giving out massive discounts by the end of the year .
Right now the model is still too expensive despite of the vast improvement from local dimming .

Convael
post Jun 14 2019, 09:25 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(DawnOnYou @ Jun 14 2019, 05:34 PM)
NU8000 is also 'fake' in the sense that it uses edge lit local dimming, not the full array local dimming that has the LED backlight right behind the panel that would provide a much brighter image and more control over the brightness across the whole panel.
You don't have many options in MY , edge-lit based HDR TV can still produce a much wider Dynamic range , hence fulfilling the purposes of " High Dynamic Range " (HDR) which measure the peak brightness and deepest black a TV can produce .

The blooming and column brightening is very distracting in darker room yes , but it is more tolerable if you have some ambient lighting on which is why this TV is considered as good option for living room.

It is not the best HDR TV but it is still far better than TV that does not has any.

There are only 3 great F.A.L.D TV in Malaysia this year , all of them came from Samsung and SONY.
Q90R which has a price tag of RM18K , Q900R the 8K TV RM 50K , Sony's X950G RM 22K .

Most people will not be able to afford these TVs , so you will have to take what you can get .

QUOTE(doggmeister @ Jun 14 2019, 06:55 PM)
I bought mu6000 two years ago, is this also fake HDR??
Unfortunately , yes .

On a bright side , it was one of the most features complete basic 4K TV out of the bunch .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 14 2019, 09:35 PM
Convael
post Jun 15 2019, 12:54 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Jun 14 2019, 11:56 PM)
Hey there... Here are some pic samples...

Using HDMI 1 port, UGREEN 3 meter HDMI cable. Local dimming has been set to Low since day 1.  Digital clean view turned on.
There is some but it doesn't look too bad from your camera at least.

Does this happen to everything on the TV or only shows from Astro ?
Try playing some 4k HDR demo from youtube and see if it persist.

The NU8000 is much brighter than the traditional TV out of the box , any grainy effects are made more obvious than on your older TV.

For lower quality channels like Astro , turn down the backlights to the level where it isn't so noticeable.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 15 2019, 12:54 AM
Convael
post Jul 25 2019, 08:35 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(orga_laut @ Jul 25 2019, 10:43 AM)
hi samsung sifu.. i plan to replace my old tv with 4k tv.

last time i saw this model 50in NU7090 and the quality of image and motion really cun.. but i just know NU series is 2018 model, and RU will replace this model. but

is it just me that i feel RU series is downgrade version?

shud i just ignore the sales person and buy NU? or take the 2019 RU?
Are you comparing the RU7100 with NU7090 ?

Convael
post Jul 27 2019, 10:31 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(orga_laut @ Jul 26 2019, 01:14 PM)
sorry ..the shop arrangement is like this..

50 NU7090 (clearing stock)
55 NU7100
55 RU7100

all showing the same video demo, a gurl with dog in the park.. from my eyes, the 50 NU7090 looks better..

maybe its just me
They utilize the same screen and I really don't think one is much better than another . Perhaps they are running on different settings and modes.

By nature , even within the same TV models and same settings there are going to be some unit variance .
One may be a little bit more colorful than another . But the difference is not going to be huge .

The unit you will receive from the shop is going to look a little different as well unless they are sending the demonstrating unit to your home.

At this price range , just get whichever model you can find that is cheaper .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 27 2019, 10:39 PM
Convael
post Oct 24 2019, 07:53 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 24 2019, 06:27 PM)
guys,

any of you have the samsung q60r?

planning to get the 49" for desktop pc use with hdr movie watching. can you guys share some experiences especially picture quality for hdr movies?
It is a decent monitor (native 1440p support ) but you are not going to get good HDR experience from it .
Also the 43" and 49 " are restricted to only 60hz refresh rate and no VRR supports which is disappointing.

It simply can't get bright enough to deliver the HDR impact .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 24 2019, 07:54 PM
Convael
post Oct 24 2019, 10:48 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 24 2019, 09:38 PM)
ok thanks.

simply put it, entry and middle range tv's won't have true hdr impact since its low brightness?

it must be 600nits and more to get true hdr?
That is correct .

For the best results , LCD needs to have 1000 nits + and have Full Array type of Local Dimming System to showcase the "Wow" effects , 500-600 nits for OLED because they have infinite contrast .
LCD TV with 500-600 nits are still significantly brighter than traditional display , so the HDR effects may not be impressive but it is still very obvious.

There are a couple of outstanding mid-range TVs in MY like the good old NU8000 , Q6FN etc etc .
These are generally considered as "basic level HDR experience " , suppose to give you a taste of HDR without breaking your piggy bank .
They have the brightness but not the contrast .

Samsung's Q75R which was just released early this year is also a good HDR display with Full array dimming and Quantom Dots filter but it is still very expensive .

If you are just looking for HDR monitor , I would recommend you get the Philips Momentum model no 436M6VBPAB which has a brightness of 1000+- nits and is much cheaper than the other HDR monitors , it only available at 60hz refresh rate though and I wouldn't use it as TV because of the poor viewing angles .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 24 2019, 10:56 PM
Convael
post Oct 25 2019, 06:24 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 25 2019, 12:32 AM)
i've read some reviews about the philips and it seems most do not recommend using it for pc because of its pixel issue making texts blurry. great hdr performance though.

if i were to dial down my budget and just get something cheap and be done with it what would you recommend?

it is either ru7100 or ru7400, or can you help recommend other va panel tv that is <50"?
Probably RU7400 since they covers a wider color space than RU7100 . While the brightness are lacking , you should still at least get more saturated colors from HDR movies and games .

The native 1440p support is great too incase you need to switch to lower resolution .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 25 2019, 06:34 AM
Convael
post Oct 31 2019, 03:49 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Oct 31 2019, 03:08 PM)
Hi, is Samsung Q6FN / Q6F / Q6 no longer available in market? Did some research found that the latest Q60R not good as it predecessor.
Yea they removed the local dimming system .

Basically in terms of picture quality now , Q60R are on the same level as the much cheaper , entry lvl RU7400 .
The 55 " and 65 " comes with a 120hz panel and VRR support , still doesn't has a local dimming system like last year's Q6FN though .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 31 2019, 03:50 PM
Convael
post Nov 14 2019, 03:17 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(andreas @ Nov 10 2019, 12:02 PM)
helo, im using 2017 samsung suhd ks7000. if i get samsung soundbar q90r. can i exprnce dolby atmos when playing netflix via tv arc? im using latest firmware 1241.
Not via the TV no .
Convael
post Aug 3 2020, 11:48 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Aug 3 2020, 08:39 PM)
Anyone getting new Film Maker Mode on their Qled ? It supposedly come with firmware update. So far I check for Malaysia latest firmware is may for Q95t and I can’t see any film maker mode.
We usually follow the European country when it comes to TVs .

Since the update is still pending for Europe , it is the same for MY .
Convael
post Mar 16 2021, 08:39 PM

1,108 posts

Samsung 's 2021 Mini LED TVs are available for preorder now .

The 65 " version QN90A has already received a significant discount ( RM2500 +-) compare to last year , which is in line with the global price cut .

The new 8K flagship "Neo QLED " Q900A will also be made available in MY in 65 " .

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 24 2021, 07:22 AM
Convael
post Mar 26 2021, 01:57 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Mar 26 2021, 12:12 PM)
Samsung QN85A uses an IPS panel?? WTH was Samsung thinking??
Yes , I was told it is meant to be an outdoor / living room TV , therefore the ambient lights will probably help mask the less than ideal contrast .
Also explain how it is insanely bright , achieving 1200+ cd/m2 real time luminance .

Speaking of which I heard the QN95/90A will peak at 3000 nits pre-cab and 1800 real time , probably the brightest commercial LCD TV ever exist beside the Samsung Terrace .

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 26 2021, 02:03 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0556sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:48 AM