Fake engine oil from lazada/shopee

abubin
post Nov 11 2020, 06:54 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Nov 11 2020, 05:52 PM)
I used it before. Quite crappy compared to other equivalent fully syn. There is a clear difference in lifespan also e.g. compared to Castrol e.g.

Motul was still like new when i had to change it out. So you do get what you pay for somewhat.
Thanks for the feedback bro. Less one oil for me to test.
abubin
post Dec 24 2020, 03:17 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Dec 23 2020, 11:47 PM)
Tq. Just recently learn about car maintenance and engine oil especially. I've found that how any kind of engine oil can be sold with lack of specification is disturbing. Users only have marketing words to rely on to make decisions.

And today I just learned that most workshop don't give a hoot about the kind of engine oil they pour inside your car.

There are workshops that boldly say they selling this and that expensive oil. I mean, it is really expensive oils like Liqui Moly or Mobil. You think it is just their marketing gimmick or they really care? I do agree lots of pomen don't care as long as no complain from owners. After all, when there are problems, they will go back to them.
abubin
post Aug 2 2021, 02:48 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(edisoner90 @ Aug 1 2021, 01:08 PM)
Anyone can tell if 88 Auto garage engine oil at Lazada is legit?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/shell-he...21c2sl6suD&mp=1
I have bought other oil from them and they seem legit. Not sure about the shell oil though.
abubin
post Aug 3 2021, 02:51 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 2 2021, 09:44 PM)
Only bought the 0w20 Honda brand engine oil due to recommended viscosity on my car, price and genuine. Last time tried & bought at Vanli Lazada, mobil 1 5w30, the fc poorer and then retain back to my viscosity until now. If u want that certification etc, buy Mobil 1. Last time they dont sell 0w20 mobile 1, now can get at Vanli
Hmm..strange to know that Vanli sell Honda EO. The last I check with them, they don't sell any Honda parts.
abubin
post Aug 4 2021, 02:47 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 3 2021, 02:54 PM)
No I mean in the previous reply, bought Honda EO at Hingan Pudu, KL. Few times also tried the Mobil 1 bought from Vanli. Just now Vanli also sell the Mobil 1 0w20 where last time they don't bring it here, only 5w30 and 5w40
Cause 0w20 in demand now. More and more car using low viscosity oil. Hybrids, new engines, and start-stop engine. Some even using 0w16.
abubin
post Aug 5 2021, 10:58 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 4 2021, 07:37 PM)
Bro, mind sharing what are the car brand/models recommending  0W16 by local assemblers/OEMs that you're aware of ?
https://www.tirereview.com/0w16-oil-different-0w20/

As engine design improves, we will see lower viscosity oil being recommended. Just like how 0w20 is being recommended for more cars in Malaysia. 0w16 will soon be normal recommendation assuming EV don't start to take over the ICE too soon.
abubin
post Sep 10 2021, 03:56 PM

10,429 posts

Personally, I won't bother with brands that have lots of fakes. Like direct honda, perodua, toyota brands.

I am going with brands that don't have fakes...like mizu, kaito, exnII, aisin and so on.

You can try Aisin EO. Don't think there are fakes. Quality also is trustable since it's from Aisin.

BTW, dynolube is low quality EO. Don't use it.

This post has been edited by abubin: Sep 10 2021, 03:57 PM
abubin
post Oct 11 2021, 01:53 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Oct 11 2021, 08:54 AM)
Oil filter ori the valve is thicker steel.

The original oil i know how to identify after some teaching by the mechanic and i compare with Honda ori.

And google got teach too. I'm too stupid and learn my lesson. His information is legit

Lapsapda and Choppee full of crap. Now even have people sell microsoft OS in DVD and Thumdrive.

You know this is illegal....
Please do teach how to identify fake engine oil. This is some next level kung fu.
abubin
post Oct 11 2021, 04:45 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Oct 11 2021, 03:22 PM)
Honda words should be closer to green earth engine, bottle cap color and finishing, vietnam back printing, viscosity of the lube, bottle finishing and etc.

Once you change an original oil, your engine will feel lighter cuz the old oil with dirty substances are gone.

So are the feeling of using original filter cuz it really did the jobs what an oil filter must do
I thought got some special skill to detect fake EO. Rupa2nya, just the same method where most people use. Compare the bottles with ori.

Thing is, I need to compare Toyota, Honda, Proton, Perodua, I have to standby all the ori bottles to compare. First, I have to spend money to buy the ORI ORI oil and then compare to some shops claiming to be ori. Been there done that. Not 100% effective. Waste of time and money too.

Also for the viscosity tester, I don't think there are anything cheaper than few k to build a tester. Most of the proper testers are lab equipment that if your pomen know how to use, he no need to open workshop. Open science lab make more money. Please share if there are cheaper method to test oil viscosity. Don't tell me go freeze the fake oil and genuine oil then compare the flow rate. And no, you cannot tell viscosity by looking at the lube or rubbing with your finger.

You also mentioned, knowing only after putting the oil into the engine. Isn't that too late already? Plus, fake oil and genuine oil sometimes are hard to tell even by driving the car. I am very sure if I give you do a blind test of fake vs genuine oil, you won't be able to tell them apart 10 out of 10. Maybe 5 out of 10 which is still not accurate.

Sigh..the way you say I thought it's some new kung fu for me to learn to tell apart engine oils. If got, please share. I am always eager to learn new things.

This post has been edited by abubin: Oct 11 2021, 04:46 PM
abubin
post Oct 13 2021, 02:52 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 13 2021, 07:24 AM)
I've already decided to use the Shell HX8 5w30 for my next oil change.. Reason being, the oil dye colour of this engine oil is quite translucent and looks quite clear.

I know I will be able to identify that it is genuine oil just by looking at how clear the oil colour is... If it's recycled oil, it should be in gold brownish colour.

How did I know of this.. beginning of the year, I bought the HX8 and replace the engine oil on a MYVI. I had trouble checking the dipstick level because they oil colour is too light and translucent. I need to really be under the sunlight and flip the dipstick around to see the oil liquid level.

If it's recycled oil, I bet they can't achieve these sort of colour.
psst...minyak masak pun very clear.... whistling.gif

moreover, it has been debated before in other threads, clear oil doesn't means it's good oil. Also, recycled oil doesn't means it's bad oil.

This post has been edited by abubin: Oct 13 2021, 02:52 PM
abubin
post Oct 13 2021, 06:20 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 13 2021, 03:36 PM)
At least it lower the chances of getting used recycled oil lor. Minyak masak is gold colour ma... Not transparent.

Our Malaysia black market recycled oil are inferior as compared to EU.

EU madate all engine oil manufacturers to use recycled oil but woth newly added additives to ensure quality.
Keyword is lower the chances of getting fake oil. Really man...we need government to work with agencies to fight against this fake oil and fake fluids issues. It is really getting out of hand. Cause the problem is, it's hard to detect which oil is genuine or fake.

Hope that our little thread here can continue to educate people on fake oils.
abubin
post Oct 14 2021, 04:21 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 13 2021, 07:48 PM)
Where are you getting your engine oil now bro?
I am getting mine from Shopee/Lazada. I go for brands that don't have fakes or confirm trusted sellers.

So far I have tested and some in queue: Toyota (from trusted seller), Mizu, Kaito, Kroner, Aisin, Rektol, Bold, Autolube

My favourite right now is Aisin. Seems good quality but their official store have increased their price.
abubin
post Nov 11 2021, 03:31 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Oct 16 2021, 08:55 PM)
Aisin is a very big auto brand... basically parts of toyota group
Im using their brake pad which sold under advics brand.

Didnt know they sell oil here, will def give it a try.

nowadays very difficult to buy ori petronas oil at reasonable price. Online easily got mixup with fakes
I know about Aisin being a big brand before I took the dive to try their oil. The reason is because even though they are big brand, they are not known for their engine oils. So their brakes might be good but that doesn't means their oil is good. However, big brands have big money to invest into R&D and even have bigger reason to take care of their branding. Therefore, it is highly unlikely they will product substandard quality product. At worst, it might be something average which is still better than using fakes. For example, someone did say Bosch engine oil quality is not good. Big brand also but again, oil is not their strong suit. So anyway, Aisin oil turns out to be good but I suspect their price will increase very soon. They sold at competitive price to try capture local market. Once they have done that, their price will go back to normal.
abubin
post Nov 12 2021, 03:08 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 12 2021, 09:24 AM)
Bro which and where is aisin official online store?

edit: i found in shopee now. thanks. price still looks reasonable for an engine oil in general. whats was the price like previously?
i may give it a try next.
Price has gone back down. Previously 0w-20 Greentech was like RM179. It's now back to RM128. I am going to get a few bottle to keep.
abubin
post Nov 15 2021, 10:54 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Nov 12 2021, 11:45 PM)
How to identified genuine oil?

I knew fake oil is existing because every workshop keep the old oil for someone to collect it to recycle !!!!
The oil can be recycled for usage on other industries. No only to be processed again back as engine oil.
abubin
post Mar 30 2022, 04:01 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 30 2022, 07:20 AM)
Only as a topup oil la  biggrin.gif
Why need to use cheap oil for topup? You should be using the same type/brand oil for topup also.
abubin
post Mar 30 2022, 06:40 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 30 2022, 04:17 PM)
Usually I topup 200ml-500ml

That and ayam is cheap, current engine is 300k km ady and don't think I'll be driving the car much longer.
Too much age related issues.
That's why searching for a prius c  icon_idea.gif
Get Mizu which is affordable and decent quality. Don't cheap out too much as the car you still driving. Not like ask you to get Castrol or Petronas. Even want to sell already doesn't mean you let it rot. Imagine if you are buying a used car, the previous owner think like you. Do you want to get a bad condition car cause the owner don't want to take care of it already cause selling?
abubin
post May 31 2022, 03:31 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ May 30 2022, 09:17 PM)

Hi guys. Wanna check. Is this store legit? Wanna buy parts and oil for major service. Got shoppee authentic tag. But still uncertain.
Tulen Sakti seller can be trusted. No problem buying from them.

abubin
post Jun 10 2022, 03:41 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 8 2022, 10:34 PM)
Noted. I put example cz Bosch is under shopee mall seller, hence original product. Preferred seller, i doubt it.
If you want genuine oil, try Aisin. They make OEM products and also have EO. I have used them and feel the quality is there.

They have official store in Shopee. They also have discounts from time to time. For eg, original 5w30 cost 160 but during promo, it's maybe 100. Confirm ori and good brand.

0.0515sec    1.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:42 AM