Accuracy of Mechanical / Automatic Watch

TSchristcwl9
post May 12 2018, 07:42 PM, updated 8y ago

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey guys, let’s share if your mechanical/automatic watch is giving you accurate time day by day ??

For me: it seems like my watch has been slowed by 10 seconds every day (I never experienced it being fast before)

I compared it to my iPhone watch time (min and second hand in my iPhone)
CKKwan
post May 12 2018, 07:45 PM

886 posts

Mine 1~2 sec everyday.

But long time never wear anymore. Use cellphone better.
TSchristcwl9
post May 12 2018, 07:50 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ May 12 2018, 07:45 PM)
Mine 1~2 sec everyday.

But long time never wear anymore. Use cellphone better.
Wow that’s really good! May you share what model is it?? Is it COSC certified?
CKKwan
post May 12 2018, 07:53 PM

886 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 12 2018, 07:50 PM)
Wow that’s really good! May you share what model is it?? Is it COSC certified?
Tag Heuer. or something like that. Don't know which model.

But it many years ago when I got my first official salary.
evtansk
post May 12 2018, 08:09 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 12 2018, 07:42 PM)
Hey guys, let’s share if your mechanical/automatic watch is giving you accurate time day by day ??

For me: it seems like my watch has been slowed by 10 seconds every day (I never experienced it being fast before)

I compared it to my iPhone watch time  (min and second hand in my iPhone)
What/which watches of yours that you're referring to?

Guess all my auto watches got accuracy 'problem' be it swiss or japs. Faster/slower around 4 - 8 sec a day sweat.gif

Unlike any of my Quartz line up, all stays pretty good. In fact the JDMs are doing way better than the ETA sweat.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

How about your fav watch of all time? mind to share? smile.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 12 2018, 08:13 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(evtansk @ May 12 2018, 08:09 PM)
What/which watches of yours that you're referring to?

Guess all my auto watches got accuracy 'problem' be it swiss or japs. Faster/slower around 4 - 8 sec a day sweat.gif

Unlike any of my Quartz line up, all stays pretty good. In fact the JDMs are doing way better than the ETA  sweat.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

How about your fav watch of all time? mind to share? smile.gif
I just bought the Tissot Le Locle powermatic 80 smile.gif I just owned it for several days and I realised from yesterday to now, it has slowed for 10seconds sad.gif not sure will it be fast again if not it will be slowing down 10seconds per day and eventually the watch becomes slower and slower sad.gif
evtansk
post May 12 2018, 11:46 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 12 2018, 08:13 PM)
I just bought the Tissot Le Locle powermatic 80 smile.gif I just owned it for several days and I realised from yesterday to now, it has slowed for 10seconds sad.gif not sure will it be fast again if not it will be slowing down 10seconds per day and eventually the watch becomes slower and slower sad.gif
Le Cocle is one hell of a very very well known serie/model. hhmmmm not sure about Powermatic movement but i think u should send it in to adjust the accuracy d else like u said it will become slower and slower.
TSchristcwl9
post May 13 2018, 12:38 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(evtansk @ May 12 2018, 11:46 PM)
Le Cocle is one hell of a very very well known serie/model. hhmmmm not sure about Powermatic movement but i think u should send it in to adjust the accuracy d else like u said it will become slower and slower.
Sorry I’m new to this, but is it just send it back to Tissot service Centre or just the authorised distributor I got my watch from ??

How long does it take for the whole process ??

One more thing, could it be the low power reserve which cause the watch to be going slower and slower ??
evtansk
post May 13 2018, 02:08 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 13 2018, 12:38 AM)
Sorry I’m new to this, but is it just send it back to Tissot service Centre or just the authorised distributor I got my watch from ??

How long does it take for the whole process ??

One more thing, could it be the low power reserve which cause the watch to be going slower and slower ??
Hey there, a few things you can try is try to wind the movement about 20 winds and then let see how it goes from there. if let say still same thing persist, then u can send it in to Tissot's official / authorised service centre and tell that fella what's going on. They'll know what to do. This is pretty common in all automatic movements be it low tier to even higher tier.

power reserve will decrease gradually when u did not wear the watch oftenly, that's for sure. but like your case, i think it's slowing down by 10sec per day, that's a little bit a lot d for such class punya movement.

So, again, before u send in for recalibrate your movement, u try the above 1st. Watch is a very special kind of hobby and it's very luxury in its own way, observe and 'dive' into it before you proceed to next step wink.gif thumbup.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 13 2018, 09:05 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(evtansk @ May 13 2018, 02:08 AM)
Hey there, a few things you can try is try to wind the movement about 20 winds and then let see how it goes from there. if let say still same thing persist, then u can send it in to Tissot's official / authorised service centre and tell that fella what's going on. They'll know what to do. This is pretty common in all automatic movements be it low tier to even higher tier.

power reserve will decrease gradually when u did not wear the watch oftenly, that's for sure. but like your case, i think it's slowing down by 10sec per day, that's a little bit a lot d for such class punya movement.

So, again, before u send in for recalibrate your movement, u try the above 1st. Watch is a very special kind of hobby and it's very luxury in its own way, observe and 'dive' into it before you proceed to next step wink.gif  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the advise bro smile.gif

Just on a side note, will your watch actually be faster sometime ?? I just checked my watch again and it seems like it has slowed 2 seconds (after 8 hours). I know this watch is not COSC certified, but is it normal for it to constantly 10 seconds every day (-10) despite it is rated for (+ or - 10) per day ? hmm.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 13 2018, 12:04 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

On a side note, I think I have manually wind it too “hard” last night and now wonder will my act cause permanent harm to my watch sad.gif

To all watch Sifu out there, if let’s say one of the teeth of the winding gear break, will the watch still be running or be able to wind? Or will the broken piece stop the whole watch from running instantly by stucking in other parts of the watch ??
evtansk
post May 13 2018, 06:12 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 13 2018, 09:05 AM)
Thanks for the advise bro smile.gif

Just on a side note, will your watch actually be faster sometime ?? I just checked my watch again and it seems like it has slowed 2 seconds (after 8 hours). I know this watch is not COSC certified, but is it normal for it to constantly 10 seconds every day (-10) despite it is rated for (+ or - 10) per day ? hmm.gif
2 secs after 8 hours of running? That mean it's about 6 secs for 24hours. Which is not bad. This is a very common behaviour of an automatic watches. Unlike battery. They are more "consistent" in a way even the cheapest Miyota mvmt.

And since u just got your timepiece quite recently, give it a period of time running on your wrist and let's see from there.

Cheers mate wink.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 14 2018, 09:54 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(evtansk @ May 13 2018, 06:12 PM)
2 secs after 8 hours of running? That mean it's about 6 secs for 24hours. Which is not bad. This is a very common behaviour of an automatic watches. Unlike battery. They are more "consistent" in a way even the cheapest Miyota mvmt.

And since u just got your timepiece quite recently, give it a period of time running on your wrist and let's see from there.

Cheers mate wink.gif
Thanks for the reply and input notworthy.gif

Just to update, i have been collecting data of it since 12th May 2018 (I know it is still too early to conclude), and it seems like it is slowing at a quite steady rate of 3 seconds per day.

My prediction for it is that it will continue to slow 3 seconds every day and with that, it will have slowed for 90 seconds in 1 month time.

Is this ok for an automatic watch which is not COSC certified?? I thought Automatic watch should have gained time in some days but so far i only experienced it losing time instead? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
nairud
post May 14 2018, 12:05 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 14 2018, 09:54 AM)
Thanks for the reply and input  notworthy.gif

Just to update, i have been collecting data of it since 12th May 2018 (I know it is still too early to conclude), and it seems like it is slowing at a quite steady rate of 3 seconds per day.

My prediction for it is that it will continue to slow 3 seconds every day and with that, it will have slowed for 90 seconds in 1 month time.

Is this ok for an automatic watch which is not COSC certified?? I thought Automatic watch should have gained time in some days but so far i only experienced it losing time instead? hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Your tissot is not Chronometer certified which runs on an accuracy : Max. -4 or +6 second per day.

Yours is well within the specs and for sure, i think they wont entertain you. I have a watch running -1 to -3 secs a day and sometimes it becomes +3 secs a day. Not a problem for me coz it gained 1.5 mins after more than a month use.

This post has been edited by nairud: May 14 2018, 12:06 PM
TSchristcwl9
post May 14 2018, 12:50 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ May 14 2018, 12:05 PM)
Your tissot is not Chronometer certified which runs on an accuracy : Max. -4 or +6 second per day.

Yours is well within the specs and for sure, i think they wont entertain you. I have a watch running -1 to -3 secs a day and sometimes it becomes +3 secs a day. Not a problem for me coz it gained 1.5 mins after more than a month use.
Thanks for the input sifu notworthy.gif So do you normally reset the time after perhaps several months of usage just to re-correct the deviation?

Just out of curiosity, how is the real life performance of a chronometer watch?? Like those high end Tag Heuer, IWC, Longines, Rolex or etc.

Is it possible for them to achieve an accuracy of +- 10 seconds per month (in other words very less deviation per day) ?
Zot
post May 14 2018, 12:55 PM

7,938 posts

Need to back and check my watch. In the drawer for years laugh.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 14 2018, 12:57 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 14 2018, 12:55 PM)
Need to back and check my watch. In the drawer for years  laugh.gif
Better have it serviced after long time of not being used, and start wearing again. rclxs0.gif
chiahau
post May 14 2018, 01:02 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 14 2018, 12:50 PM)
Thanks for the input sifu  notworthy.gif So do you normally reset the time after perhaps several months of usage just to re-correct the deviation?

Just out of curiosity, how is the real life performance of a chronometer watch?? Like those high end Tag Heuer, IWC, Longines, Rolex or etc.

Is it possible for them to achieve an accuracy of +- 10 seconds per month (in other words very less deviation per day) ?
My old trusty Tudor Pelagos once managed to maintain close to +1 / -1 variation for few days.

But it fluctuate depending on a lot of factors.

Basically, it's never went more than the COSC's specs and I expected it to run that way.
Zot
post May 14 2018, 01:03 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 14 2018, 12:57 PM)
Better have it serviced after long time of not being used, and start wearing again.  rclxs0.gif
It is not mechanical. I have to go to Menara Goodhill for battery replacement laugh.gif The battery last probably no less than 4 years I guess.
nairud
post May 14 2018, 01:59 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 14 2018, 12:50 PM)
Thanks for the input sifu  notworthy.gif So do you normally reset the time after perhaps several months of usage just to re-correct the deviation?

I change it when i feel like i cant stand the time deviation anymore. there's no set criteria for myself when i want to match the time again with world clock. the couple of time i change it is when it gained almost 2 mins

as for your 2nd question, i dont own any chronometer watch.. imma small time watch guy only

i guess it's possible to achieve 10 secs a month? there's few factors no? when i rest my watch flat for 12 hours and measure the accuracy and when i wear it for more than 12 hours... it became - when i dont wear it and when i wore it, it becomes +.

That also, as Everdying said in another discussion, accuracy also depends on how much power reserve are left in the watch

This post has been edited by nairud: May 14 2018, 02:01 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:54 AM