Complaints is this considered racism ?, how come ?

WaCKy-Angel
post May 16 2007, 12:46 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 16 2007, 12:42 AM)
You're very  doh.gif  ...... taken from Wikipedia, please refer below,

Black became the preferred term in English in the late 1960s, and this continues to the present day. In the United States this has been displaced to some extent by African American, at least in politically correct usage; this resembles the term Afro-American that was in vogue in the early 1970s. Nevertheless, black continues in widespread use as a racial designation in the United States and is rarely regarded as offensive.

Fahamkah?  hmm.gif
It means.......

"Black" was officially the term for them...but it had become so racism (mostly 'white' americans made it tat way) so they had to change to a new term..

And the latest term now is "african-american" and this also is still bearing racism...

The racism meaning is that "white americans" only thinks they're the real americans whilst those "black americans" is not real americans...

That is the meaning of racism and no matter what term they use to describe "black americans", its still considered racism.....
malaysianPotato
post May 16 2007, 12:48 AM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(Bridgestone @ May 16 2007, 12:32 AM)
so how to call them ? african ? i have no idea .
Call them African Americans, Afro-Americans, Black Americans, or simply just Black individuals.

Think about what you post in your posts, alot of people get offended very easily and alot of people get a serious beat down for stupid choices in their words.
TSBridgestone
post May 16 2007, 12:48 AM

QUOTE(se7en @ May 16 2007, 12:43 AM)
Your suspension was due to the n* word and not the referral to black people. IMO, referring to them as black people isn't in any way derogatory, but in your context, you made an unusual attempt to refer to them twice in a statement that obviously was belittling a particular ethnic group.

"to me , black ppl , those nigger doesnt really have their own personality"
===================================================

sometimes typing with ur keyboard linking with what u are thiking will make some typing repeat .

just like what some ppl use to ... '.. that mamak , indian muslim can cook a very good indian curry...'
KilJim
post May 16 2007, 12:50 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Bridgestone @ May 16 2007, 12:37 AM)
undereducated ? wow ...

can tell me how many times u call them as african-american ?
You're undereducated cause you don't even know where the term african american comes from and u think there's no actual such thing (that's just a ridiculous thing to think)

Personally i don't have a problem with "blacks" just as no one gets upset when u say "whites"

This post has been edited by KilJim: May 16 2007, 12:52 AM
TSBridgestone
post May 16 2007, 12:53 AM

i know malaysian chinese or chiense malaysian .

it is not what i 'dont know' , what i mean is i don't know there are ppl calling Black ppl as 'african-american' ...

WaCKy-Angel
post May 16 2007, 12:58 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Bridgestone @ May 16 2007, 12:53 AM)
i know malaysian chinese or chiense malaysian .

it is not what i 'dont know' , what i mean is i don't know there are ppl calling Black ppl as 'african-american' ...
Tats wat KilJim said....

Anyway se7en said thats not the reason u get a warning...
Btw i dont understand wat se7en means actually......

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: May 16 2007, 12:59 AM
se7en
post May 16 2007, 01:00 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(Bridgestone @ May 16 2007, 12:48 AM)
===================================================

sometimes typing with ur keyboard linking with what u are thiking will make some typing repeat .

just like what some ppl use to ... '.. that mamak , indian muslim can cook a very good indian curry...'
You are seriously underestimating the kind of insult that the n* word is associated with. The links to wikipedia are above, it would do you some good to read up on it.

As for your suspension, it is our believe that you did it without any intention to be racially discriminative. Your suspension will be removed within the hour and the warning revoked. In the future, please be a little more considerate with your choice of words especially those that involve reference to other races.
TSBridgestone
post May 16 2007, 01:03 AM

ok thanks for the removal ... and thanks for the link .

This post has been edited by Bridgestone: May 16 2007, 01:03 AM

0.0164sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:51 PM