NEW MACBOOK!

xaw5126
post May 16 2007, 11:42 AM

3,488 posts

as an Apple reseller, I'll say the pricing for Apple products is fixed by Apple Malaysia.

as a user, yes, the MacBook is not a 3D performance machine, but then again, this is Apple's budget laptop, and looking at the iBook, its never had a current model graphics chip throughout its lifetime smile.gif
baby26
post May 16 2007, 01:09 PM

256 posts

There is no duties for any computers imported into Malaysia but there is sales tax of course.

Was about to buy the MB so the wait was worthwhile I guess, hooray.
carpathia
post May 16 2007, 01:40 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(baby26 @ May 16 2007, 01:09 PM)
There is no duties for any computers imported into Malaysia  but there is sales tax of course.

Was about to buy the MB so the wait was worthwhile I guess, hooray.
good for you. now you have to deal with the waiting game until the new models arrive laugh.gif
allvin
post May 16 2007, 03:20 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ May 16 2007, 12:42 PM)
as an Apple reseller, I'll say the pricing for Apple products is fixed by Apple Malaysia.

as a user, yes, the MacBook is not a 3D performance machine, but then again, this is Apple's budget laptop, and looking at the iBook, its never had a current model graphics chip throughout its lifetime smile.gif
Since you using ibook, right? (saw at your rig). Do you know that your ibook ATI Mobility Radeon 9550 is waaaaaaaaayyyyyyy better than intel GMA950? GMA950 don't have T&L(Transforming and Lighting, it's important for 3D games), which is under Directx6 and below family. It's 1999 technology. sweat.gif sweat.gif Directx7 (hardware version) and above, it will have T&L. Even it's mainly for directx, but still openGL has as well.

This post has been edited by allvin: May 16 2007, 03:22 PM
wei
post May 16 2007, 04:03 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

It wasn't intended for gaming to begin with.

This post has been edited by wei: May 25 2007, 10:01 PM
xaw5126
post May 16 2007, 05:08 PM

3,488 posts

exactly... this laptop model lineup ... has not exactly had the latest and greatest in performance. getting the Core2, when quite a lot of the competitors models are using Centrino chips...

anyway, we're quite off-topic... lets stop here ?
allvin
post May 16 2007, 05:23 PM

4,506 posts

well i just pointed it out.

From 1.83GHz bump to 2Ghz.. and the 4MB cache. Basically, you feel ntg.. biggrin.gif And the previous model is already Core2Duo. So it's ntg big deal. sweat.gif doh.gif

Like last time, macbook is only CoreDuo and bump to Core2Duo. That's quite big deal. wink.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: May 16 2007, 05:26 PM
vandetta
post May 16 2007, 06:11 PM

658 posts

Personally I am really disappointed with the upgrades. Only minor upgrades. HDD and CPU. I'm hoping for Santa Rosa. Maybe Apple save it for MBP only. Mean that there will be another upgrade for MB, Santa Rosa w/ Intel X3000 display.
MacDaNife
post May 16 2007, 09:49 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 16 2007, 04:03 PM)
It wasn't inteded for gaming to begin with.
This argument can only come from the true Mac zealot.

Do you imply that we are only supposed to use computers for an "intended" use only? That if the machine lacks a feature (as basic as the ability to play a recent game for example) it is in fact the USER's fault for trying to make it do something it was never "intended" to do?

Come on...

The iBook and later the MacBook is supposed to be the entry-level mac: true. The target market however falls squarely in the young-adult category.The powers-that-be at Apple obviously can't figure out that this target demographic might actually ENJOY firing up the occasional FPS. That would certainly explain why the gaming community has never had much support from Apple.

It's a pity though. With the move to Intel, OS X could have finally been an excellent gaming platform. I'm hoping that the next MacBook update includes a decent graphics card. In the scheme of things, I doubt it raises the cost of the machine excessively.
lokgotz
post May 16 2007, 10:21 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

wah...first time see MacDaNife and wei is not on the same boat.....

however, i do agree to wei that the macbook is not intended for gaming....light gaming yes, but not heavy gaming with graphics.....

MacDaNife
post May 16 2007, 11:43 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ May 16 2007, 10:21 PM)
wah...first time see MacDaNife and wei is not on the same boat.....

however, i do agree to wei that the macbook is not intended for gaming....light gaming yes, but not heavy gaming with graphics.....
Hey, even the best of friends can agree to disagree...

I don't contest the fact that the Macbook is not suited for gaming. I am just trying to make the point that it SHOULD. That in spite of all the hits that Apple has on its plate right now; occasionally they fumble the ball. They should fix it while they can.
SUSj3rry
post May 17 2007, 03:27 AM

..one man, one machine
841 posts

when will come to malaysia ? no ned to pay for ram upgrade to 1G .. rclxms.gif
ryan_chandl
post May 17 2007, 07:52 AM

59 posts

The spec of $1299 macbook is same as $1999 macbook pro, $700 (RM2520) more to get a bigger screen and better graphic performace,what the heck!

This post has been edited by ryan_chandl: May 17 2007, 07:54 AM
kwekeugene
post May 17 2007, 02:45 PM

1,479 posts

And a nice aluminum case...

wei
post May 17 2007, 03:51 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I think it's appropriate to keep a distance from the Pro series. As much as I hate the integrated GMA chips, I have to accept the fact that it won't happen anytime soon. Many are forced to buy the MBP because of the GMA chips. Blame it on the marketing ploy.

From what I looking at over here. Many seems to asking for a MacBook Pro at a MacBook price.

And by saying game, I'm contented by playing MacMAME alone. No hyper graphic card needed. laugh.gif
clayclws
post May 20 2007, 07:09 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ May 16 2007, 06:11 PM)
Personally I am really disappointed with the upgrades. Only minor upgrades. HDD and CPU. I'm hoping for Santa Rosa. Maybe Apple save it for MBP only. Mean that there will be another upgrade for MB, Santa Rosa w/ Intel X3000 display.
It's not an upgrade no matter what the news says. It's what the ladies would call "stock clearance sale". They got loads of macbooks to clear before unleashing santa rosa and leopard.
allvin
post May 20 2007, 07:55 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ May 20 2007, 08:09 PM)
It's not an upgrade no matter what the news says. It's what the ladies would call "stock clearance sale". They got loads of macbooks to clear before unleashing santa rosa and leopard.
Yep.. Second that. It's just another marketing tactics. I lol when i read one website article (sorry don't have the link cos' i get it from macrumors forumer post), it stated that Apple said that the previous macbook has "some" of the features in santa rosa platform. So Apple had no plan to use santa rosa in the this update. WTH!! Some Santa Rosa features in macbook? shakehead.gif shakehead.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
bauer
post May 21 2007, 02:03 AM

135 posts

Are they going to update the MBP anytime soon?
huattk
post May 21 2007, 02:29 AM

271 posts

Backing MacDaNife's comment 100%. Until the MacBook gets basic hardware T&L, it won't be showing up on my recommended list. Other people say this is Apple's way of shoving people in MacBook Pro's direction. Yeah sure, but only if you live and die by the Mac OS. These days there's Vista and WINE-obsessed Linux (with much improved gaming coverage) so the competition is going crazy. The Apple gang would have to act fast in dumping all of their Intel video chips. As for "light gaming"... Listen, have you even played a single game, ever? Half Life 2? Go ahead and try it, it won't bite. Maybe just sting a little. But at least give it a shot so you get a feel for the "full power" of the GMA950. On my end, flick on the torchlight and you dip into the 5FPS range. Haha, light gaming. How about no gaming. I'm not saying other notebooks with GMA950 are better, they're not. Rule of thumb, just say no to Intel video.
supazta
post May 25 2007, 01:04 AM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0201sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:48 PM