NEW MACBOOK!
MacDaNife
May 15 2007, 10:38 PM
There is NO tax levied on the MacBooks (unlike iPods) as computers are tax free in Malaysia.
It's the expected "minor upgrade". I wouldn't be too bummed if you'd bought a MacBook in the last PC fair. You've only lost out on a slightly faster processor and slightly larger hard drive and of course WiFi-n enabled as default. The new models still use the embarassing Intel GMA 950 processor and have none of the benefits of the SantaRosa platform.
Now the MacBookPro upgrade on the other hand....
MacDaNife
May 16 2007, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(wei @ May 16 2007, 04:03 PM) It wasn't inteded for gaming to begin with. This argument can only come from the true Mac zealot. Do you imply that we are only supposed to use computers for an "intended" use only? That if the machine lacks a feature (as basic as the ability to play a recent game for example) it is in fact the USER's fault for trying to make it do something it was never "intended" to do? Come on... The iBook and later the MacBook is supposed to be the entry-level mac: true. The target market however falls squarely in the young-adult category.The powers-that-be at Apple obviously can't figure out that this target demographic might actually ENJOY firing up the occasional FPS. That would certainly explain why the gaming community has never had much support from Apple. It's a pity though. With the move to Intel, OS X could have finally been an excellent gaming platform. I'm hoping that the next MacBook update includes a decent graphics card. In the scheme of things, I doubt it raises the cost of the machine excessively.
MacDaNife
May 16 2007, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ May 16 2007, 10:21 PM) wah...first time see MacDaNife and wei is not on the same boat..... however, i do agree to wei that the macbook is not intended for gaming....light gaming yes, but not heavy gaming with graphics..... Hey, even the best of friends can agree to disagree... I don't contest the fact that the Macbook is not suited for gaming. I am just trying to make the point that it SHOULD. That in spite of all the hits that Apple has on its plate right now; occasionally they fumble the ball. They should fix it while they can.