Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

hazim96
post Feb 28 2021, 02:05 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Feb 28 2021, 12:51 PM)
Hai. Astro akan menghentikan saluran SD secara berperingkat mulai 1 Mac 2021. Kami sentiasa mengkaji kandungan program kami dan ingin memberikan pengalaman tontonan terbaik sama ada dalam HD atau 4K UHD untuk pelanggan kami.

Semua pelanggan yang menggunakan dekoder jenis Byond akan dapat terus menikmati saluran mereka dalam HD seperti biasa.

Saluran SD yang akan dihentikan melalui 1/3/2021 adalah:

​• CH 431 HBO
• CH 432 Cinemax
• CH 433 FOX Movies
• CH 531 CNN
• CH 532 BBC World News
• CH 533 Al Jazeera
• CH 570 Nat Geo Wild
• CH 571 Nat Geo
• CH 572 Discovery
• CH 574 Discovery Science
• CH 575 History
• CH 576 Animal Planet

^Linda
Hai. Yang terkini, saluran CNBC Asia HD (CH516) ya, akan bermula 1 March 2021, 12.01am.

^heny
joshhd
post Feb 28 2021, 02:46 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(John42 @ Feb 26 2021, 01:55 AM)
Hey guys may I ask how many of you have complain to Astro regarding their low bitrate picture quality? Has anyone report to MCMC before? I do notice that recently the picture quality has improved a bit these past few days. I am not sure is it only me because I did some settings in the TV for the low picture quality issue on the unifi plus box.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 26 2021, 01:31 PM)
PQ got improvement huh?
didn't see any differences....
maybe my eye something wrong  laugh.gif  devil.gif
QUOTE(John42 @ Feb 27 2021, 02:55 PM)
At last good news for everyone. I really hope the existing HD channels does not ended up getting pixels due to this upgrade. Still you guys need to complain to Astro broadcasting team regarding this pixelation issue on HD channels. I did complained to them back on 26th of December and follow up with them till 9th of Jan 2021. I hope all of you at here do the same 😊
QUOTE(John42 @ Feb 28 2021, 02:07 AM)
The last call I spoke to the broadcasting team was on 4th of Feb. They told me that they are working on this issue and further improvement on the quality depends on the approval from the management team. But since for the last few days there is improvement in the HD channels without visible pixelation I can assume that they are doing something about this which is better than doing nothing.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 28 2021, 10:33 AM)
Mind asking which HD channel have improvement?
Maybe I can check it out too... To see the improvement you said....
🧐🤔

Bitrate stuff to the Astro's broadcasting team
Follow up on my previous long long boring posts regarding Astro's bitrate/video/audio quality stuff here:
28 Aug 2020 - Conclusion & Suggestions: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97975683
27 Aug 2020 - Bitrate - Part 1: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97970881
27 Aug 2020 - Bitrate - Part 2: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97975113 | https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97975099
27 Aug 2020 - Audio: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97971821
26 Sep 2020 - So-called "pixel ghosting": https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=98313118
11 Jan 2021: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99570883
7 Feb 2021: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99912070
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As you guys have known, Astro is going to cease some of its simulcast SD channels starting 1 March 2021 (tomorrow). https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100132648
So let's see what are the changes they have made before tomorrow.

See the comparison below (Left is 6 Feb 2021, Right one is 28 Feb 2021):
For example, this Measat 3b transponder 10772MHz, they finally removed the wasting-space "?" 384-448kbps audio tracks on those HD channels. Nice thumbsup.gif

So, video quality has been improved?
However, with the "?" tracks being removed and now it has some free transponder bandwidth space, it appears that they have not increase the video bitrate on all channels to utilise entire 72Mbps bandwidth per transponder (8PSK 5/6).

Bandwidth have been freed up a bit, but video quality remain unchanged, for now?
As you can see on the screenshot above (bottom right corner), it is approx. 66Mbps instead of around 72Mbps max.
I guess is, they have not completed the "optimising works" yet? Hmm, we'll just have to give some time for them to complete the remaining works...

How about other transponders?
I have been always analyses their every single transponders, from 10732MHz all the way to 12436MHz.
There are some other transponders where the "?" tracks is still there. Like I said, it appears to me that they have not complete the job.
Probably because they don't find it urgent to finish it quick, so they're just taking their time.

Some of you guys pointed out there have "some improvements on picture quality" for HD channels?
I don't see improvement in picture quality also. The compression artifacts on all HD channels is still there as always. Not improve nor worsen. It still look the same to me.
Maybe you guys can specifically name out the HD channels that you find that it has been improved? Cuz based on the bitrate analyser, it appears no drastic changes to me yet.

So what's next?
I'll wait till end of April or May like that, where after they've ceased many of simulcast SD channels, then I shall see how it goes then.

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Feb 28 2021, 02:05 PM)
Hai. Yang terkini, saluran  CNBC Asia HD (CH516) ya, akan bermula 1 March 2021, 12.01am.

^heny

Lol, I knew it! I saw CNBC channel in HD is already "on standby" on 11682MHz transponder 🤣🤣🤣🤣
At the time of writing, CNBC HD is the one and only HD channel on 11682MHz. The rest of it, are just "spare" and "test" dummy HD MPEG-4 channels.
Previously, that 11682MHz transponder was used to transmit all SD MPEG-2 channels. Not until recently, it has being repurposed and left vacant, until now. sweat.gif

FEC rate for this Measat 3 satellite 11682MHz transponder is now FEC 3/4.
Astro uses this FEC rate when they plan to accommodate 10 HD channels for that transponder. If the FEC is 5/6, it will be 12 HD channels. That's Astro style.
If you ask me how they can significantly improve the video quality on HD channels, my answer is, reduce the number of HD channels on that transponder, so that each HD channel can have more Mbps bitrate. That is the most straightforward one.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 28 2021, 02:53 PM
joshhd
post Feb 28 2021, 02:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(michaelkkl @ Feb 28 2021, 10:32 AM)
Last day of February
Astro still not announcing about the phasing out of SD channels?

Astro's CS agent style is, "when someone asks us, then only we answer."
"Why make such public announcement where majority of the people just won't care anyway?"

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Feb 28 2021, 12:51 PM)
Hai. Astro akan menghentikan saluran SD secara berperingkat mulai 1 Mac 2021. Kami sentiasa mengkaji kandungan program kami dan ingin memberikan pengalaman tontonan terbaik sama ada dalam HD atau 4K UHD untuk pelanggan kami.

Semua pelanggan yang menggunakan dekoder jenis Byond akan dapat terus menikmati saluran mereka dalam HD seperti biasa.

Saluran SD yang akan dihentikan melalui 1/3/2021 adalah:

​• CH 431 HBO
• CH 432 Cinemax
• CH 433 FOX Movies
• CH 531 CNN
• CH 532 BBC World News
• CH 533 Al Jazeera
• CH 570 Nat Geo Wild
• CH 571 Nat Geo
• CH 572 Discovery
• CH 574 Discovery Science
• CH 575 History
• CH 576 Animal Planet

^Linda

Yeah. Same as what announced by Kristal Astro, for tomorrow's one.
With more to come, until end of April 2021. biggrin.gif
hazim96
post Feb 28 2021, 04:06 PM

306 posts

Hai. Pemansuhan saluran SD akan dilakukan secara berperingkat. Untuk saluran 211 dan 224 akan dimansuhkan pada 29/3/2021 ^syeera
TSnexona88
post Feb 28 2021, 04:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

seriously...
astro needed to officially announce.. which SD channel ceases...
like the big list from Astro Kristal... date & which channel...
not when customer ask, then only tell bangwall.gif
John42
post Feb 28 2021, 08:25 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 28 2021, 10:33 AM)
Mind asking which HD channel have improvement?
Maybe I can check it out too... To see the improvement you said....
🧐🤔
Came across Fox action movie CH415, Vinmeen 231 and Star Vijay 232. The Star Vijay channel has the worst PQ among the imported Indian HD channels. But today I watched a new movie where they premier on the channel. The picture now is much brighter and clearer. Previously this channel always dimmer and not that clear. Fox Action movie the channel always been visible with pixelation. Now it had improved a bit. The thing is I did some settings on the TV to make the Unifi Plus Box to looks clearer so I can't compared much now 😞. All I can say is the pixelation on some channels are not visible now and Fox Action movie the pixelation has reduced.
kcl2006ch
post Feb 28 2021, 08:45 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 27 2021, 09:53 PM)
"Dear SD channels, your time has come smile.gif "
Source: Kristal Astro

The list above only shows channels where Kristal Astro offers.
Actual SD channels that being phased out may be even more than the list shown above for Astro Malaysia customers. 
From what I see, all existing free SD channels on Njoi, such as Astro AEC, Astro Xiao Tai Yang, Astro Vaanavil, Astro Arena will still continue to be in SD.
But Njoi prepaid channels like Astro Ria, Star Vijay, Astro Hua Hee Dai, Celestial Movies, KBS World, will now be available in HD quality once the simulcast SD channels is being ceased.
i already ask them via inbox, said that all NJOI customer also infected by this ceased exercise include free & premium channel
eg: astro prima ch 125 become ch105,aec ch346 become ch306 & etc

TSnexona88
post Feb 28 2021, 09:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(John42 @ Feb 28 2021, 08:25 PM)
Came across Fox action movie CH415, Vinmeen 231 and Star Vijay 232. The Star Vijay channel has the worst PQ among the imported Indian HD channels. But today I watched a new movie where they premier on the channel. The picture now is much brighter and clearer. Previously this channel always dimmer and not that clear. Fox Action movie the channel always been visible with pixelation. Now it had improved a bit. The thing is I did some settings on the TV to make the Unifi Plus Box to looks clearer so I can't compared much now 😞. All I can say is the pixelation on some channels are not visible now and Fox Action movie the pixelation has reduced.
Ooh.
Others channels still the same.. I guess...
At least something...
Let's see later if got improvement... Since astro would be ceasing alot of SD duplicate channels 💪👍
joshhd
post Feb 28 2021, 09:53 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(John42 @ Feb 28 2021, 08:25 PM)

If you've made picture adjustments on your TV, then of course lor.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
My TV's picture settings remains the same (https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4574137&view=findpost&p=99752834)

As of today, I do not see any improvements in picture quality on any HD channels. Video compression artifacts on all HD channels is still there.
But like I said, since simulcast SD channels is ceasing phase by phase starting tomorrow, I'll give some time and I'll continue to observe as usual.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 28 2021, 09:54 PM
Qash-M
post Feb 28 2021, 09:56 PM

#FreePalestine
6,105 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2021, 09:53 PM)
If you've made picture adjustments on your TV, then of course lor....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
My TV's picture settings remains the same (https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4574137&view=findpost&p=99752834)

As of today, I do not see any improvements in picture quality on any HD channels. Video compression artifacts on all HD channels is still there.
But like I said, since simulcast SD channels is ceasing phase by phase starting tomorrow, I'll give some time and I'll continue to observe as usual.
SD channels likes of RTM & Media Prima would still suffer because of VBR usage.
joshhd
post Feb 28 2021, 10:19 PM

7,799 posts

Some correction on my previous post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100060600

To identify the manufacturer of the Astro box, just refer to the first few letters of the serial number:

Ultra Box:
SFH is Samsung
PRM is Prime Electronics & Satellitics

Ulti Box:
KHZ is Kaonmedia
----
Yes. It appears that Samsung is not the only manufacturer for Astro Ultra Box now. If you're getting Ultra Box installed soon, you might get the batch where the serial number starts with "PRM" instead of "SFH". Example:

This is how it looks like when your Astro Ultra Box (or even future Astro box models?) is manufacture by a company called Prime Electronics & Satellitics by looking at the bottom view of your Astro Ultra Box.
I guess is PRM = PRIME Electronics & Satellitics hmm.gif

Tbh from a normal consumer point of view, I never hear that brand before. With some Googling, it appears to be a Taiwan company specialise in manufactures set-top-box and some other tech stuff.
Prime Electronics and Satellitics Inc. is one of the reputed manufacturers specialized in developing and manufacturing advanced digital satellite communication, home networking, digital set-top box, broadcasting headend system products.
Source: https://www.pesi.com.tw/

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 28 2021, 10:23 PM
John42
post Mar 1 2021, 02:07 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2021, 09:53 PM)
If you've made picture adjustments on your TV, then of course lor....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Actually the settings I did on the TV is mainly for the sharpness. It has nothing to do with pixelation I can confirm that. But based on what I see on both of these two channels Star Vijay and Fox action movies, the pixelation is not visible now in Star Vijay but minor visibility can be seen on Fox Action movies. I will continue to monitor on other channels closely as well 😊. Hopefully this is just the beginning for Astro to improve the bitrate issue
John42
post Mar 1 2021, 02:10 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2021, 10:19 PM)
Some correction on my previous post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100060600

To identify the manufacturer of the Astro box, just refer to the first few letters of the serial number:

Ultra Box:
SFH is Samsung
PRM is Prime Electronics & Satellitics

Ulti Box:
KHZ is Kaonmedia
----
Yes. It appears that Samsung is not the only manufacturer for Astro Ultra Box now. If you're getting Ultra Box installed soon, you might get the batch where the serial number starts with "PRM" instead of "SFH". Example:

This is how it looks like when your Astro Ultra Box (or even future Astro box models?) is manufacture by a company called Prime Electronics & Satellitics by looking at the bottom view of your Astro Ultra Box.
I guess is PRM = PRIME Electronics & Satellitics  hmm.gif

Tbh from a normal consumer point of view, I never hear that brand before. With some Googling, it appears to be a Taiwan company specialise in manufactures set-top-box and some other tech stuff.
Source: https://www.pesi.com.tw/
Damn I thought only Samsung manufacturers Ultra Box 😕. If it is true that the PRM is some Taiwan company, get ready to deal with quality control issue. Why Astro want to cut cost on this? It's like they are doing the same thing like what they did with zapper box from caldero and technicolor.
joshhd
post Mar 1 2021, 07:51 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(John42 @ Mar 1 2021, 02:10 AM)
Damn I thought only Samsung manufacturers Ultra Box 😕. If it is true that the PRM is some Taiwan company, get ready to deal with quality control issue. Why Astro want to cut cost on this? It's like they are doing the same thing like what they did with zapper box from caldero and technicolor.

No matter what manufacturer it is, as long don't give headache to customers will do.
Since Astro gave confidence in choosing multiple manufacturers to make its products to customers (probably they don't wanna solely rely on the same manufacturer all the time for some reasons), then we'll just have to give some trust la.

After all, Astro boxes that we using in our homes are belongs to Astro property, and we do not literally own them anyway.
TSnexona88
post Mar 1 2021, 03:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Finally tongue.gif

Qash-M
post Mar 1 2021, 04:31 PM

#FreePalestine
6,105 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 1 2021, 03:44 PM)
Finally tongue.gif

Irony that HD news channels starts at #503... brows.gif
TSnexona88
post Mar 1 2021, 04:36 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 1 2021, 04:31 PM)
Irony that HD news channels starts at #503... brows.gif
maybe.. just maybe 501 would be upgraded to "fake HD" too brows.gif biggrin.gif
John42
post Mar 1 2021, 05:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 1 2021, 07:51 AM)
No matter what manufacturer it is, as long don't give headache to customers will do.
Since Astro gave confidence in choosing multiple manufacturers to make its products to customers (probably they don't wanna solely rely on the same manufacturer all the time for some reasons), then we'll just have to give some trust la.

After all, Astro boxes that we using in our homes are belongs to Astro property, and we do not literally own them anyway.
Their previous zapper box from Caldero and Technicolor have this issue as shown in the picture. They came to my house for four times to change the decoder and still the same issue. At last I got the ultra box and till now no issues. That's why I am saying they shouldn't cut cost on their decoders. At least Kaonmedia is reliable since I used their Byond HD box an it lasted for 7+ years.

TSnexona88
post Mar 1 2021, 06:20 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

just curious..

now which manufacturer / brand for Astro "normal" B.yond HD Box?
still from Samsung, Caldero & Technicolor? or already change to another company/brand?
joshhd
post Mar 1 2021, 10:29 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 1 2021, 03:44 PM)
Finally tongue.gif

Although the true "old Astro" days has gone, but the negative impression in our mind towards their brand is still there sweat.gif
...and also, as usual, Astro Malaysia (except Kristal Astro) never publicly inform its viewers about the cessation of SD channels until the viewers themselves realise it.

1082 Pages « < 383 384 385 386 387 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:08 AM