Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jan 28 2021, 09:58 PM

7,799 posts

The following refers to Kristal Astro (Brunei), not Astro Malaysia
Kristal Astro is the Brunei version of Astro. Do note that its offerings are totally different compared to Malaysia's version of Astro, so don't get confused ya.

Dear Valued Kristal Astro Subscribers,
We're delighted to inform you that Kristal Astro is introducing the newly revamped Santai HD packages with rates starting as low as B$14.99 with the Santai Family HD packages.
Existing HD and SD subscribers can change or upgrade their package plans by reading the Eligibility Conditions and proceed to fill in the online Package Change request form here (**Please read the terms and conditions before filling in the form).
New registrations for Santai Legacy SD packages and HD Family, Ruby, Sapphire & Jade packages will cease from 1st April.
If you have any questions or require further information, please send us an enquiry using Online Feedback form or via Whatsapp to 8816888.
Kristal Astro's new Santai HD packages:
user posted image user posted image
*click/tap images above to view in full resolution

Terms and Conditions:
More info: https://www.kristalastro.com/
----
News article from Borneo Bulletin (https://borneobulletin.com.bn/revamped-hd-packages-on-offer/):

joshhd
post Jan 28 2021, 10:23 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 28 2021, 09:54 PM)
Ooh..
Based on info posted by @hazim96
Astro would cease broadcast SD channels by April month....
Finally.... All in HD...
GG legacy box 😁

Just hope not "fake" HD like we see now...
"Kristal Astro, receiving satellite feed directly from MBNS Astro Malaysia, will phase out the SD channels starting March 1 and cease SD content by early April 2021 as they will also be ceasing SD channels in Malaysia."
Source: https://borneobulletin.com.bn/revamped-hd-packages-on-offer/

Finally, Astro legacy box is approaching to its graveyard. For those who forgot how legacy Astro boxes look like, here are some pictures:
user posted image user posted image user posted image

Jump to 0:48
QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 28 2021, 09:58 PM)
Terms and Conditions:

Interestingly, according to the T&C, it appears that both Astro Malaysia and Kristal Astro (Brunei) is facing stock shortages in its HD set-top-boxes?
"10. Due to the limited stock availability of HD set-top box, change/upgrade plan will be on first come-first serve basis."
"13. In the event of out of stock, your application will not be processed. You can rest assure that we will notify you as soon as set-top box become available."

Limited stocks of HD boxes, refurbished PVR boxes....
So this seems to suggest that Astro is going "full out" and mainly focus only Ultra Box to customers in near future? hmm.gif
Or this is just a common signs that Astro is cutting costs in manufacturing its set-top-boxes by putting primary focus on Ultra Box only?
joshhd
post Jan 28 2021, 11:18 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 28 2021, 10:14 PM)
shakehead.gif

SD still alive & kicking strong

Even after April 2021, there will still be a few handful of SD channels on Astro...

The ones that will still be in SD because channel provider offers only in SD quality, and Astro can't do much about it:
1. ART Variety
2. Makkal TV
3. Chutti TV
4. Adithya TV
5. Celestial Classic Movies
6. ABC Australia

Astro in-house channels that is still in SD only, and of course they have the choice of upgrading them into HD if they want to:
7. Astro Vellithirai
8. Astro Awani
9. Astro Tutor TV UPSR
10. Astro Tutor TV PT3
11. Astro Tutor TV SPM
12. Astro TVIQ
13. iNjoi (For Njoi viewers only)

Astro AOD catch up channels is unlikely to upgrade to HD, since you can catch up the episodes in HD quality via On Demand and Astro Go:
14. Astro AOD 352
15. Astro AOD 353
16. Astro AOD 354
17. Astro AOD 355

National FTA TV stations shall continue to be in SD on Astro if both Astro and the respective TV station (e.g. RTM, Media Prima) still don't make the first move to offer broadcast its channels in HD.
18. TV1
19. TV2
20. TV3
21. NTV7
22. 8TV
23. TV9
24. TV Al Hijrah
25. RTM TV Okey
26. Bernama

The only one channel that Astro isn't seems interested to offer in HD is:
27. CNBC Asia 🤣

Total: 27 SD channels.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 29 2021, 01:49 PM
joshhd
post Jan 28 2021, 11:45 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 28 2021, 11:24 PM)
Anyone having this issue?

Nope.. Not me.
What Astro box model are you using? HD Zapper box? PVR box? Ultra Box?

Have you tried reboot your Astro box (power off electric supply, then power on again)?
If issue persists, try Restore Factory Settings.
joshhd
post Jan 28 2021, 11:53 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 28 2021, 11:38 PM)
Huh?.
So many SD still???
Maybe those duplicates channels? Like AXN, Ria, Arena, AEC etc. Now only in HD... Not both SD&HD???

The 28 SD channels shown above, is how it looks like AFTER they completely cease legacy Astro box, as well as removing all SD versions of the simulcast SD & HD channels.

If you're using Ultra Box, you will only have access to the HD version of the simulcast SD/HD channels.
Example, you can only watch AXN HD (CH 701), and AXN SD (CH 721) will not appear on the channel list of your Ultra Box at all, as if the channel doesn't exist.
It's been some time already though... sweat.gif
joshhd
post Jan 29 2021, 12:47 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Jan 29 2021, 12:43 AM)
Now I see Malay channel only mentioned the HD channel number only during program promo. Before this both HD and SD channel number are mention.

All Astro in house channels are already like that for quite some time already.
Nowadays they emphasise more on "Astro Go and On Demand" during programme promos.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 29 2021, 12:47 AM
joshhd
post Jan 29 2021, 01:46 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 29 2021, 07:49 AM)
NJOI user need to pay $ to use their service now since their free channels were all in SD?

What you mean?
The only thing that NJOI customers need to pay money, is subscribing to their prepaid channels. The rest are free to view.

Or unless Njoi customers being upselled to become Astro subscriber.

---
Btw correction. The more accurate answer is 27 SD channels, not 28. Cuz Astro AOD HD CH 311 and CH 351 SD are actually simulcast. Missed out that... 😅😅

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 29 2021, 01:48 PM
joshhd
post Jan 29 2021, 01:51 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(schoe @ Jan 29 2021, 09:58 AM)
any sales agent number ? i want to contact astro.. but the contact i have is not in service ..

You can simply search any Astro sales agents on Facebook. It's all over the place.

QUOTE(fandom96 @ Jan 29 2021, 01:02 PM)
And look.... the new Kristal-Astro logo!

[attachmentid=10772288]

Nice 👍👍👍
joshhd
post Jan 29 2021, 06:08 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 29 2021, 03:05 PM)
I mean their free to view channels, some channel like Astro AEC for example is only available in SD for free(HD version need to pay)

No...
Astro AEC HD is not even an option for Njoi customers, and not even a choice for Njoi prepaid.

If you want to watch AEC HD on a Njoi account, the only way is to upgrade to Astro subscription. Same goes to some other channels like Vaanavil HD, Prima HD and so on.

Certain prepaid channels (not all) such as Astro Ria all those... Even if you subscribe to that prepaid channel, you only get the SD version of the channels, HD not even a choice for you.

However, Njoi prepaid sports channels like ASSP 1 until 4, is offered in HD though...
joshhd
post Jan 29 2021, 11:59 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Jan 29 2021, 10:27 PM)
I think what he meant is that Njoi viewers may need to pay to access channels like AEC HD once all SD simulcast channels ceased on Astro. 😅

Ohh... Technically, if the corresponding SD version of the channel is ceased and no longer in transmission, then Njoi viewers shall get access to the HD version of that channel, for free. That is just theory la...
But who knows, plot twist, Astro may continue to transmit channels like Astro AEC in both SD and HD quality (just like Astro Vaanavil).
Perhaps the SD version of the channel is in MPEG-4 H.264 video codec, and HD-enabled boxes can access to the channel. sweat.gif
Only time will tell sweat.gif
joshhd
post Jan 31 2021, 12:26 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(fandom96 @ Jan 30 2021, 12:11 PM)
I just realize that NJOI users need to pay for Astro TVIQ. The one SD blurry-quality channel with content from the age when Japanese attack Malaya with no new programmes, is a premium paid channel on NJOI???
[attachmentid=10773450]

This is called "another source of income" biggrin.gif
QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jan 30 2021, 08:56 PM)
This is what happened when the Ministry of Education ditched TV Pendidikan in favour of Astro TVIQ and TUTOR TV. Now MOE need to borrow slots from NTV7 and TV9 for TV Pendidikan shows.

Because from business perspective, they know that having UPSR/PT3/SPM or home based learning channels like TV Pendidikan is not gonna earn much money, and advertisers ain't so convinced with the viewership.
Right now because schools can't be open as usual, they got no choice but to implement it back in the form of like Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).

Slotting in airtimes in existing NTV7 and TV9 slots is still cheaper than creating a whole new channel, which would costs even more money and time.
Media Prima gets another source of income from government (since they sell their airtimes to government instead of Wow Shop), and they gets to enhance its reputation/public image.
And NTV7 and TV9 is already a channel that are familiar with Malaysians, and it is available across digital TV and pay TV platforms now, so it also means easy access to everyone.
Looks like win-win to me. thumbsup.gif
joshhd
post Feb 3 2021, 11:42 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 3 2021, 07:11 PM)
Applied online on 29/12/2020 and installation was done on 2/1/2021. But was told not eligible coz promo is from 1/1/2020 and my application before 1/1 consider not in the promo period.

Apa lgi terus complain to SKMM. They called and offered the discount.

Looks like "miscommunication" to me.
joshhd
post Feb 4 2021, 01:44 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 4 2021, 07:46 AM)
Well, the help desk  service guy even “challenged” me to lodge a complaint because his side it’s clear I’m not eligible.  So yea I took up the challenge.

My advice is if you feel that the deal is unfair, just lodge a complain to skmm or consumer tribunal. Works wonders.

Probably because the help desk guy is just following orders and instructions.

When the complaint goes up to MCMC or tribunal, the higher management people in the company shall know. Then they'll usually find ways to avoid further dispute from the customer by granting this and that. You know, find ways to quickly keep your mouth shut and close the case.

Normal lah...
And yes, if you feel that it is really necessary, feel free to lodge a complaint to MCMC and whatsoever.
joshhd
post Feb 5 2021, 01:49 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(mizi353 @ Feb 5 2021, 04:19 AM)
A few years ago, had join engineering team for setup production. Import engineer from India for support satellite & wiring setup. He says 1 big satellite dish should enough for support 1 flat house. Just make splitting wiring & splitter. 😂

Errr what'd you mean "join engineering team for setup production."?
Can elaborate further?

By any chance, are you SMATV installer or what?
joshhd
post Feb 5 2021, 01:50 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 5 2021, 11:53 AM)

Ok..

Oh ok. No comment. 😶😶
joshhd
post Feb 6 2021, 05:09 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Feb 5 2021, 05:01 PM)
That PDF file seems to show the older 2018 Multiroom promo instead?

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2021, 06:19 PM)
No free previews ahh  brows.gif  laugh.gif

like the previous years

Aiyooo... Astro have opened up their Kids pack channels and News pack for quite some time already though...
This pandemic and MCO has been hurting everyone financially, and Astro is not an exception to that...

At least there's free Kids pack and news channels to watch from them... Good enough lo biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 6 2021, 09:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 6 2021, 05:41 PM)
Yours truly want movie pack to open up too...
Me like watching astro censored english movies broadcast 😂🤣

Errr.... It depends sweat.gif
Because if it is opened for too long, more and more people will start to make noise to Astro, by saying Astro's movie channels keep repeating the same movies over and over again sweat.gif

Open also make noise. No open also make noise. Can't satisfy everyone lah. whistling.gif
joshhd
post Feb 6 2021, 10:36 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jackytan.tt @ Feb 6 2021, 10:23 PM)
https://www.foxplus.com/

Also, FOX+ is no longer available.
So FOX+ won’t be available (has never been) for unifi TV subscribers.

Looks like this is a definite sign that STAR+ will replace FOX+, and that they’re really changing all their brands carrying the FOX name to Star, either so that we won’t get confused, or to further separate from FOX Corp.

Maybe when Disney+ is launched in Singapore, or when Disney+Hotstar is set to launch in Malaysia, the rebranding might happen?

Not sure how it might impact us...

Hah, imagine Fox Movies channel rebrands into Star Movies... It's like it goes back to the good old days tongue.gif

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Feb 6 2021, 10:30 PM)
seems like chinese channels also follow the suit starting cny promo.

In simple words, all Astro in-house channels now indicates only the HD channel numbers on programme promos.
joshhd
post Feb 6 2021, 11:14 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jackytan.tt @ Feb 6 2021, 10:59 PM)
Attached the file just in case Astro decides to take it down.
https://dj7fdt04hl8tv.cloudfront.net/acm/me...ide-english.pdf

Looks like Astro has a new remote for Ultra Box?  hmm.gif

From the looks of it, finally, there are time-shift/PVR controls on the remote (play/pause, rewind, forward, stop, mute). So now it’s easier to control the UI.  thumbup.gif

Maybe they introduced this new remote because many customers were complaining about lack of PVR controls... but, customers now have something else to complain about: why didn’t they introduce this remote when they first released the box?

Also, the voice control feature is still not available up to this point, so hopefully they can introduce it in the future, or at least integrate it with some TV brands, like they did with Samsung via Bixby (can change channels, control volume).

Yes. It is a wise decision to attach the file here, also for archive purposes too (cuz Astro can modify or take down the PDF file from their website anytime they want).

And yeah, it appears that "newer batch" of Ultra Box units would include the revised version of Astro Ultra Remote control, with re-introduced buttons like rewind, forward, pause, and a few more.

I hope we can easily purchase this newer version of Astro Ultra remote control through Go Shop, easier for everyone to get accessories item from Astro also. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 6 2021, 11:17 PM
joshhd
post Feb 7 2021, 01:33 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 7 2021, 12:06 AM)
hmm.gif can complain to Astro said that their ultra remote cannot pair to LG TV and get new one for free ah ? 😂

Can’t seem to pair the ultra box remote to the LG TV

You try lo tongue.gif

224 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0450sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:19 PM