7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

> Why Hong Kong ppl so rude?

CoffeeDude
post Apr 9 2018, 12:26 PM

1,609 posts

They live in a fast paced and cramped environment.

But I love their food. Very nice drool.gif
smon80
post Apr 9 2018, 12:28 PM

100 posts

i try to speake cantonese v police officer but he reply in english in hesitated tone.
in char chang teng.they are used to fast peace esp peak hour. try avoid that time. nothing special in hk as far as i see. food wise, they hav diff taste frm us. we are more heavy but they are more light taste.
psyduck89
post Apr 9 2018, 12:28 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

speak some malay word,
then
shout at them..

alllaaaawwooooaaaaa......................

mydurian
post Apr 9 2018, 12:31 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Apr 8 2018, 07:31 PM)
Why Hong Kong ppl so rude?

In restaurant everyone shout at the top of their voice

Order food ask to hurry up when I inquire about the dish

Then throw the dish on table

Their life is fast paced but in Japan also fast paced yet polite

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Worst is they are rude coz i don't speak Cantonese
Speak mandrin they think I'm PRC so then I speak in English but they don't understand?

They think I'm PRC??? How
Really ? Uncle went there so happy. PPl are friendly and always smiling. And very talkative too.

wait........Uncle spoke Cantonese. tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 9 2018, 12:32 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 8 2018, 07:39 PM)
Well. Its their culture. Hongkies are always rushing. No, they can definitely tell you're not PRC. Our Msian Mandarin slang is very different from PRC.
Even when i can speak fluent cantonese, they also laansi me as a tourist. So its not discrimating u as a PRC.
Yes.

They memang rude.

Its part of the culture.

Cannot accept dont go. I went, they were rude (only those volume game restaurant la), proper places they were much nicer.
DValentine
post Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:26 PM)
Msian Cantonese can't be used outside Malaysia. There are lots of Malay and some hokkien words in Msian Cantonese that you don't realise.

'lui', 'semua', 'senang' are all Malay words.
'ching cai', 'kaki' are Hokkien words.

Learn pure Cantonese before using abroad.
but those vulgar still same

DLLMCHHKCPKDLLM laugh.gif laugh.gif
ozak
post Apr 9 2018, 01:30 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM)
It's not  a matter of speaking English or Mandarin, it's a matter of speed.

They have zero patience.
Than don't try to promote HK as a holiday place.

COOLPINK
post Apr 9 2018, 01:31 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM)
It's not  a matter of speaking English or Mandarin, it's a matter of speed.

They have zero patience.
dun forget zero tolerance also.
welcome to HK. shakehead.gif
Afterburner1.0
post Apr 9 2018, 01:43 PM

772 posts

In restaurant everyone shout at the top of their voice

Order food ask to hurry up when I inquire about the dish

Then throw the dish on table

Their life is fast paced but in Japan also fast paced yet polite

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Worst is they are rude coz i don't speak Cantonese
Speak mandrin they think I'm PRC so then I speak in English but they don't understand?

Tats why i nvr gonna go back to HK, the food is really not that nice either, over hyped esp the wan tan mee.... been there once and thats it....
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 01:45 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Like you say, they have 0 patience. Can't even ask for directions without getting a told off sometimes. However I've also met nice people who are polite, soft spoken and nice.

If you can at least speak Cantonese, some of them still layan. I have heard unkers in coffee shops badmouthing and laughing at the PRCs in Cantonese right in front of them. Epitome of rudeness, noise and smokers, that's why I don't think I'll be making another trip to HK any time within the next few years.

No doubt there's also good things about the country. The government acts fast in times of disaster. The typhoon that happened so terribly - the street was swept clean within a couple of days and things went back to business.

Japanese on the other hand is more soft spoken. They do things quickly (eg. walk fast) due to the fast pace. They have been educated since young to be tolerant and considerate of others, thus no eating and drinking in the train/ subway and along the street. By not complying, this will result in rubbish in the train/ street and any spillage from the drink or food will cause inconvenience to others (someone may step on it or fall down as a result).

So at the end of it, everything boils down to the constitutions' including family's education. Thus Malaysians' mannerism isn't all that bad compared to HK laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Apr 9 2018, 01:48 PM
ozak
post Apr 9 2018, 01:47 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:40 PM)
Msian Chinese go to HK because they watch too many TVB dramas and also the fantastic food ie. Dim Sum and wantan min.

I don't think they need to promote HK. It's overcrowded now because 1.4 billion PRC want to go to a tiny island the same size as Singapore.
HK is in my last list. Probably never think about it.

Once this HKer have to understand what tourist mean.

People go for holiday because have time and called it leisure and relax.

If they no patient to serve the tourist and rushing them, better don't promote the farking place.
toda_erika_II
post Apr 9 2018, 01:58 PM

rawr~~
540 posts

KL cantonese better? Look at KL cantonese hawkers.
mushigen
post Apr 9 2018, 02:09 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:26 PM)
Msian Cantonese can't be used outside Malaysia. There are lots of Malay and some hokkien words in Msian Cantonese that you don't realise.

'lui', 'semua', 'senang' are all Malay words.
'ching cai', 'kaki' are Hokkien words.

Learn pure Cantonese by watching Hong Kong TVB before going abroad.

Msian English also can't be used outside Malaysia. Too many Malay rojak words too.
Pure Cantonese, I LOL.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:16 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:54 PM)
Msian Chinese is only slighly better than HK.

I've been ordered not to eat inside shop because I didn't order drink by owners.
Everything is also very fast in Msia, they don't have time to answer your questions too and also very rude. If you order very little, the Msian Chinese owner will scold you too.

They hire Indon waiters who can't speak English nor Chinese to take your orders. do you think these Indon or Myanmar waiters know how to be polite? laugh.gif

Go to Taiwan or Thailand, they are much more polite there.
But I must say, friend nor I have been 'maltreated' by the kopitiam staffs. Probably because I did tons of research before going and usually know what I want to order so it was fast. When you're not sure/ need to think, tell the employee to give you time and they'll gladly go off. Of course the challenge then is to get someone's attention to place order when you're ready.

I've not experienced problems in Chinese hawker places, whether i get a drink or not. As long as I eat or drink there, no one ever said anything. Service are average and it gets complicated when you want to 'customize' your drinks etc or when it's a new guy. Other than that it has been fine.

No doubt some other countries like Taiwan or Thailand is better. As tourist, it's also good service in places like Cambodia, Philippines etc. Even PRCs are nice when you talk to them. I've had better experience in Shanghai (in terms of asking for directions) compared to HK.

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Apr 9 2018, 01:58 PM)
KL cantonese better? Look at KL cantonese hawkers.
Not targeting specific hawker or their ethnicity.
My guess is you've not been to HK. Get there, try their kopitiam service and you'll understand the statement wink.gif
esdome
post Apr 9 2018, 02:34 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Apr 9 2018, 01:43 PM)
Tats why i nvr gonna go back to HK, the food is really not that nice either, over hyped esp the wan tan mee.... been there once and thats it....
Me too. I still remember they pour the oyster sauce to the BBQ pork with wantan mee. The taste is awful and it is expensive as hell.

The only food I can accept is the fast food, BBQ duck and the milk tea.
SUSKLboy92
post Apr 9 2018, 02:36 PM

189 posts

I find HK a lot like Singapore. probably even Singapore plus.

oh and obviously TS went to cheapo places only to eat. in other places their service is way better.

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Apr 9 2018, 02:37 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Apr 9 2018, 02:40 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 02:23 PM)
If that Chinese coffee shop is crowded everyday, then you get rude treatment just like HK.
I got that treatment in a shop when I didn't order drink and different waiters asked me several rounds whether I want any drink.

There are other incidents at other Chinese shops when I order just one plate of mee but got scolded. This happened in the Loke Yew wantan mee shop where the female waiter is one  bitch.

In other shops where it's not that crowded, of course you get average treatment but not polite treatment. But if it's crowded, you get same treatment like in HK.

Msian Chinese are also rude but not as rude as HK.
^ face problem kot rolleyes.gif
il0ve51
post Apr 9 2018, 02:42 PM

1,054 posts

hong kong is a fast pace society, so yea, if you laid back type sure cannot keep up.
on another word, they stuff (except property) is way cheaper if compare to malaysia. assume you work there and earn hkd, food there is way cheaper. even the KFC also very cheap. if earn their local salary, everyday KFC also no empty inside wallet. compare in malaysia, your wallet hole is bigger if you every consume KFC

This post has been edited by il0ve51: Apr 9 2018, 02:45 PM
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:46 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 02:23 PM)
If that Chinese coffee shop is crowded everyday, then you get rude treatment just like HK.
I got that treatment in a shop when I didn't order drink and different waiters asked me several rounds whether I want any drink.

There are other incidents at other Chinese shops when I order just one plate of mee but got scolded. This happened in the Loke Yew wantan mee shop where the female waiter is one  bitch.

In other shops where it's not that crowded, of course you get average treatment but not polite treatment. But if it's crowded, you get same treatment like in HK.

Msian Chinese are also rude but not as rude as HK.
My guess is that since it's common for people to order a drink (most common being at least Chinese tea), the waiters did not know and could thought that they have either missed your order or have not taken your order.

When the shop is crowded, it's common for patrons to be fast and allow turnover for the table. It is no good when inconsiderate diners hog the table even when they have finished eating, as I have seen many such cases. They will sit around and continue to read newspaper or merely do nothing, or refused to finish that last sip of drink in order to hog the table.

Busy coffee shops are for people to eat and leave. This is the same in Japan where some restaurants have as much as only 7-8 seats only while having the need to serve a long queue. Diners are expected to eat and then leave. You can chat and have coffee in Cafes or restaurants with plenty of empty tables.

Yes so my point is that Malaysian restaurants are still somewhat better than the ones in HK in terms of service.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:47 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Apr 9 2018, 02:42 PM)
hong kong is a fast pace society, so yea, if you laid back type sure cannot keep up.
on another word, they stuff (except property) is way cheaper if compare to malaysia. assume you work there and earn hkd, food there is way cheaper. even the KFC also very cheap. if earn their local salary, everyday KFC also no empty inside wallet. compare in malaysia, your wallet hole is bigger if you every consume KFC
I agree. In fact, their food portion is a lot bigger as well so whatever amount you paid, you feel that it's at least worthy in value.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >

0.0190sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:10 AM