Dilemma: PS4 or V12

TSclj
post Apr 5 2018, 02:56 PM, updated 8y ago

102 posts

Im in dilemma to go for PS4 or V12.
Price is RM460 and RM340 respectively in my area
V12 might be more value for money but am not sure how much better is PS4 compare to V12....
not a spiritual driver and priority is safety
Would like to have advises from sifus
kevinlim001
post Apr 5 2018, 03:10 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

it will be great if u can share your tyre size and your car model.
For V12
Fuel Efficiency :C/E
Wet Grip: A
External Rolling Noise: 70 db/ 71 db/ 72 db

For PS4
External Rolling Noise: 71 db

have you check on the euro rating? is it the same? I pull out all the rating on the model but different size will have different rating so i am not sure about your size.

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Apr 5 2018, 03:12 PM
6UE5T
post Apr 5 2018, 08:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(clj @ Apr 5 2018, 02:56 PM)
Im in dilemma to go for PS4 or V12.
Price is RM460 and RM340 respectively in my area
V12 might be more value for money but am not sure how much better is PS4 compare to V12....
not a spiritual driver and priority is safety
Would like to have advises from sifus
It's quite a simple decision actually. Just answer this question: do you have the budget for PS4? If you do then no need to think much, by all means just go ahead with PS4 coz it's well proven on average as the best tire in the market now. If the answer is no, then go with the V12E2 coz that's the best value for money available now in Malaysia (unless later we can find the new Falken FK510). I'm using the V12E2 now on my wife's car and I'm very happy with them, excellent dry performance, good wet performance, and low noise level too which is quite a rare trait for this type of tires (UHP). I'm yet to try PS4 but compared to PS3 which I'm also using now, I can really say the V12E2 is every bit as good if not better on the dry and lower noise! PS3 is probably only better than the V12E2 on aquaplaning resistance. So I don't think you would go wrong with choosing the V12E2 either. FYI, in the latest test by Car & Driver magazine the V12E2 even managed to beat the highly regarded Goodyear F1A3!

In summary your decision lies on how much budget do you have?
TSclj
post Apr 7 2018, 08:53 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Apr 5 2018, 03:10 PM)
For V12

For PS4

have you check on the euro rating? is it the same? I pull out all the rating on the model but different size will have different rating so i am not sure about your size.
Hi
My size is 205/45/17
Seems like about the same rating for both
TSclj
post Apr 7 2018, 09:00 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 5 2018, 08:02 PM)
It's quite a simple decision actually. Just answer this question: do you have the budget for PS4? If you do then no need to think much, by all means just go ahead with PS4 coz it's well proven on average as the best tire in the market now. If the answer is no, then go with the V12E2 coz that's the best value for money available now in Malaysia (unless later we can find the new Falken FK510). I'm using the V12E2 now on my wife's car and I'm very happy with them, excellent dry performance, good wet performance, and low noise level too which is quite a rare trait for this type of tires (UHP). I'm yet to try PS4 but compared to PS3 which I'm also using now, I can really say the V12E2 is every bit as good if not better on the dry and lower noise! PS3 is probably only better than the V12E2 on aquaplaning resistance. So I don't think you would go wrong with choosing the V12E2 either. FYI, in the latest test by Car & Driver magazine the V12E2 even managed to beat the highly regarded Goodyear F1A3!

In summary your decision lies on how much budget do you have?
I’m ready to pay for the PS4.
Bro, after read ur review on V12, I feel more difficult to choose haha
I was using V12 evo1 before and I would say itz a best value for money just that very noisy due to the thread.
amscouzach57
post Apr 7 2018, 09:38 AM

531 posts

Do you know where can I get a good price for hankook V12E2 in Shah Alam area?
TSclj
post Apr 7 2018, 10:16 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 7 2018, 09:38 AM)
Sorry bro I’m not from KL
regnox
post Apr 7 2018, 10:41 AM

Usj
leehernandez
post Apr 7 2018, 11:26 AM

which size
nikkokl
post Apr 7 2018, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Apr 5 2018, 03:10 PM)
For V12

For PS4

Any sifus here know the difference in rolling resistance between these 2 excellent tyres? Read somewhere v12 is highish.

amscouzach57
post Apr 7 2018, 03:26 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Apr 7 2018, 11:26 AM)
which size
195/50R15
leehernandez
post Apr 7 2018, 07:16 PM

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 7 2018, 03:26 PM)
195/50R15
find kok sport rim at section 25 rm 170
amscouzach57
post Apr 8 2018, 05:44 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Apr 7 2018, 07:16 PM)
find kok sport rim at section 25 rm 170
Thanks, will do
6UE5T
post Apr 9 2018, 11:05 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(clj @ Apr 7 2018, 09:00 AM)
I’m ready to pay for the PS4.
Bro, after read ur review on V12, I feel more difficult to choose haha
I was using V12 evo1 before and I would say itz a best value for money just that very noisy due to the thread.
Well to me the V12E2 is not noisy anymore and it's also tested by Car & Driver Magazine for only 66db noise level which is very low already (normally even comfort silent tires are tested around 67-69db). Anyway since you have budget for PS4 then just go ahead try that coz it's widely regarded as the best tire now. Note though that during that test by Car & Driver Magazine, the PS4S was more noisy than the V12E2! biggrin.gif
TSclj
post Apr 9 2018, 11:31 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 9 2018, 11:05 AM)
Well to me the V12E2 is not noisy anymore and it's also tested by Car & Driver Magazine for only 66db noise level which is very low already (normally even comfort silent tires are tested around 67-69db). Anyway since you have budget for PS4 then just go ahead try that coz it's widely regarded as the best tire now. Note though that during that test by Car & Driver Magazine, the PS4S was more noisy than the V12E2!  biggrin.gif
thanks bro!
i think i will go for PS4
6UE5T
post Apr 9 2018, 11:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(clj @ Apr 9 2018, 11:31 AM)
thanks bro!
i think i will go for PS4
Excellent choice, have fun! thumbsup.gif
sg999
post Apr 10 2018, 05:31 PM

1,027 posts

POOR Aquaplaning for V12
6UE5T
post Apr 13 2018, 02:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 10 2018, 05:31 PM)
POOR Aquaplaning for V12
Not based on my experience though. I'd not go as far as saying poor but still decent in that area. I know that you're comparing it to CPC2 which is a mid level tire with lots of water grooves in the tread hence quite understandable that the CPC2 would be better in aquaplaning resistance. In contrast the V12E2 has more bigger tread blocks which makes it good at ultimate dry grip which sacrifices a bit of the aquaplaning criteria. Note that aquaplaning is also just 1 criteria in wet performance, which is only evaluating it's behavior when going thru water puddles. There's also grip on wet surface when no water puddles which IMHO the V12E2 is still pretty good. Given the relatively cheap price of the V12E2 even compared to lower mid level tires like CPC2 and Primacy 3ST, I'd still say it's a very good buy for a UHP tire category.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Apr 13 2018, 02:57 PM
sg999
post Apr 15 2018, 10:52 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 13 2018, 03:55 PM)
Not based on my experience though. I'd not go as far as saying poor but still decent in that area. I know that you're comparing it to CPC2 which is a mid level tire with lots of water grooves in the tread hence quite understandable that the CPC2 would be better in aquaplaning resistance. In contrast the V12E2 has more bigger tread blocks which makes it good at ultimate dry grip which sacrifices a bit of the aquaplaning criteria. Note that aquaplaning is also just 1 criteria in wet performance, which is only evaluating it's behavior when going thru water puddles. There's also grip on wet surface when no water puddles which IMHO the V12E2 is still pretty good. Given the relatively cheap price of the V12E2 even compared to lower mid level tires like CPC2 and Primacy 3ST, I'd still say it's a very good buy for a UHP tire category.
and of course V12 is way more silent than CPC2 laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Apr 15 2018, 11:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 15 2018, 10:52 PM)
and of course V12 is way more silent than CPC2 laugh.gif
Yes, that too! So overall its still an excellent buy. I'm just waiting for the Falken FK510 to come to Malaysia and take over as the best value for money from the V12E2, otherwise the V12E2 is still the most recommended cheap and cheerful tire. biggrin.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:09 PM