Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi
stormaker
Jul 25 2018, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 25 2018, 11:15 AM) Now I got another call from tm 0379331600. I wonder why they call me again? Because tm cs said it's not an offer/marketing call  My friend received the call from TM too, but he got bad news, TM told him his "Turbo upgrade" has been cancelled. This post has been edited by stormaker: Jul 25 2018, 11:21 AM
stormaker
Jul 25 2018, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 25 2018, 11:25 AM) Why does tm say so?  According to my friend, TM didn't say why, just say tarik balik. Hope he is wrong though or it's only him. This post has been edited by stormaker: Jul 25 2018, 11:31 AM
stormaker
Jul 25 2018, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jul 25 2018, 11:33 AM) Your friend is on FTTH or VDSL? If i'm not mistaken, FTTH.
stormaker
Jul 26 2018, 12:18 PM
The cheapest price we can now for 50Mbps is RM199 ? Whats the promo price last time for this package ?
stormaker
Jul 26 2018, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 26 2018, 12:21 PM) Is it? TM changed again? but you can using another IC, right? like dad, wife, mum, bro, sis... if OKU/Student more cheaper~ Isn't RM139 30Mbps and upgraded RM10 for 50Mbps is cheapest 50Mbps? (RM149?) Still can get 50Mbps at RM149 now ? Got call from TM just now, n was told that Unifi in my area will be available in 1 or 2 months time, n it's RM199 for 50Mbps.
stormaker
Jul 26 2018, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 26 2018, 01:59 PM) Yes, but need existing 30Mbps and some lucks call from TM... Example 30Mbps used for few months, and let TMpoint know you're interested with 50/100Mbps. Then wait RM10 upgrades calls if still any.... and it's took months... I'm out of luck then, currently using 8MB Streamyx.
stormaker
Jul 26 2018, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(mylinear @ Jul 26 2018, 03:12 PM) Maybe you should wait till 15 Aug to see if you get any free upgrade. Since Unifi coming to your area soon, you may be entitled with a bit of delay. I think the agents are calling Streamyx customers now to get them to subscribe to Unifi packages even before the users know whether they are eligible for any free upgrade. RM199 50M is not the only package anyway. You have lower 30M and 10M ones too. I thought there was still a RM139 30M promo going on, but not quite sure. My friend staying not far from me, in Unifi area are not entitle for Streamyx to Unifi upgrade, so I'm not hoping i'm entitle too. Both of us checked on the Unifi website before it was taken down, and both not eligible. He went a step further by going to TMpoint and got the same answer. I'm looking forward for 50M because i'm been looking forward to subscribe Netflix for 4K movie streaming since year 2015 I know only 25M is needed for 4K movie streaming but I need to take into account that there're other devices consuming the bandwidth too.
stormaker
Jul 27 2018, 05:13 PM
Mine is NON-SUBB, but TM/agent called me to inform me Unifi in my area will be available next month or Sept.
So mean the AddressType is just the current status right ?
This post has been edited by stormaker: Jul 27 2018, 05:13 PM
stormaker
Aug 4 2018, 07:23 PM
I already can see the fibre cable hanging there on the pole not far from my house today, but no TM white box yet. Anybody can estimate when the Unifi service will be up ?
stormaker
Aug 4 2018, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Aug 4 2018, 09:29 PM) hard to say, normally take months depend when TM got the remaining parts... even installed White box, still need wait technicians to testing many time, then wait TM for launching after everythings was ready. For me, just need 2-3 months because I knew my friends, so I able get before Pre-launching... Thanks bro, at least now i know what to expect, which is dont expect to be so soon .. hahaha
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(ShadowFiendZXC @ Aug 4 2018, 11:21 PM) white box outside my house 1 month liao, another guy said he waited for 7 months It gave me hope that the tm agent said was right (coming next month) when i saw the cable, now i better dont put my hope high.
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 5 2018, 03:26 PM) 100Mbps for your stuff. WAN and LAN ports are 10/100Mbps only. About your Wifi, since wifi is* half-duplex + almost half of the wireless frames are overheads......so....expect around 40 - 90 Mbps for your so called 300Mbps wifi. Which Asus router support 800Mbps Unifi on Wifi connection that u recommend ?
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 5 2018, 03:37 PM) -.-....Impossible. It not as if your smartphone has 4 antennas...... In theory, to reach 800Mbps effective bandwidth on WAN to Wifi, one would need 4x4:4 for both router and client device. What is meant by Asus when they stated their Asus RT-AC86U router capable of transmitting 1734Mpbs on ac wifi? This post has been edited by stormaker: Aug 5 2018, 03:43 PM
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 5 2018, 03:43 PM) RT-AC86U is not so bad.....  Do u know the different between rt-ac86u n rt-88u beside the 4 & 8 gigabit lan port? I saw the cheaper 86u have double the flash rom. Have to do homework now so that i will know which to get when time come
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 5 2018, 03:54 PM) Go google "transmit, receive and stream notation" Then google "PHY data rate and MAC throughput" Thanks ... Will read more on this.
stormaker
Aug 5 2018, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 5 2018, 03:57 PM) RT-AC86U is 2900 (750+2167 Mbps) , antenna x 3, 2.4 GHz 3 x 3 RT-AC88U is 3100 (1000+2167 Mbps), antenna x 4, 2.4 GHz 4 x 4 Edit: RT-AC86U 1.8 GHz dual-core processor, 256 MB Flash,512 MB RAM RT-AC88U 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, 128 MB Flash,512 MB RAM ASUS RT-AC86U ReviewLooks to me rt-ac86u better except the abit slower wifi.
stormaker
Aug 14 2018, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(nikrizal @ Aug 14 2018, 08:08 PM) It’s oredi in the system even for those in the east coast  Are u able to check estimate my area when will get Unifi ? The fibre cable hanging on the pole already.