Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

ClarenceT
post Apr 4 2018, 06:48 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Apr 4 2018, 12:34 PM)
Yes, I think many users would want internet only package. But I think HSBB was marketed with multi-play / triple-play. I think this is why others using TM HSBB infra also cannot provide internet only. For example, Maxis has to include voice as well. At least 2 out of the triple-play and cannot be only internet data.

Its unfortunate that the HSBB infra was not formed by a consortium of telcos / celcos / govt which would deploy and maintain the nationwide infra. And each player would then access it to provide whatever packages they wanted to provide to users. I think consumers would have benefited much more that way. Instead of one player having control over it. This would have allowed for many small players to even focus on providing good service in smaller areas, not necessarly have to provide nationwide coverage. The industry would have also benefited that way.

I think there are 3 ways that Unifi internet only would be possible.
1. Competition from a existing player such as Time if it can increase its nationwide coverage especially to residential houses.
2. Competition from a new player such as Broadnet if it can deplay a nationwide infra and offer better rates.
3. TM itself makes changes to its policy or keep offering high discounts on packages which effectively means you are getting the extras for free.
Building another HSBB is not cheap and cost effective. We may learn from UK and Australia, TM shall be spilt into TM NBN/Openreach (manage infra) and TM ISP (Unifi), which may merge with Axiata's Edotco and Celcom respectively.

ClarenceT
post May 24 2018, 09:27 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ May 23 2018, 05:02 PM)
Unifi services using Magic Box for non-FTTH/VDSL customers.
It was hinted a few month ago the Unifi Magic Box service would be launched in mid-2018.
Unifi Magic Box services may be cheaper than Unifi Lite!
ClarenceT
post May 25 2018, 12:23 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ May 25 2018, 02:30 AM)
Rename streamyx to Unifi with a new package and called it Unifi Magic box with 1mbps download?  cry.gif
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...technology-mix/

It has over 1.8 million ready ports (last-mile access points) in major cities and towns for high-speed broadband (HSBB) that can be used to serve over two million customers. By July this year, it will launch a “magic box” to reach out to a wider population to offer its triple play proposition of Internet-voice-entertainment.

It will ride on its existing networks – HSBB, streamyx, mobile and even copper – and cater to the different market segments, including young parents, students and youths, thereby addressing affordability and behavioural demands in its quest to wire up the nation.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: May 25 2018, 12:26 PM
ClarenceT
post May 25 2018, 12:57 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ May 25 2018, 12:38 PM)
1Mbps also they can call triple play, play 144p video hyptv + call using skype +browsing kopitiam text with no picture in it(low bandwith). its nothing new lol, we have seen this since streamyx era. problem is who want to watch 144p nowadays?. their so called triple play is a very loose term. if they say HD(720p) entertainment hyptv, Internet, voice(ip phone), then it will be good for nationwide.
Fixed wireless (Fibre at the station but last few kilometers is wireless), and LTE, then a magic box (receiver).
>10Mbps.
So cover non-FTTH areas, FTTH port-full areas.
TM save money on last-mile infra so cheaper Unifi package.

ClarenceT
post May 30 2018, 10:40 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ May 29 2018, 02:16 PM)
previously all inclusive 6% services tax.... after gst implemented become exclusive....
Broadband Internet was exempted from Service Tax (5%-6%) pre-GST, ie NO service tax on Streamyx/Unifi before 1/4/2015.
But I don't think Broadband Internet and HyppTV add-ons will be exempted from SST now.
ClarenceT
post May 30 2018, 02:18 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ May 30 2018, 02:05 PM)
Cannot wait what TM got to offer in June. Either same price double the speed. Or same speed half price.

I would choose half price. Im happy enough with 50mbps.
It will not happen in the next 3 months.
The new minister will (yet to) meet the Telcos and work out a solution in the first 100 days in office.

ClarenceT
post May 30 2018, 02:51 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ May 30 2018, 02:46 PM)
so i guess this TM BAWANG has nothing to do with current plans?
It is Wireless + Magic Box, a new method to deliver Unifi service, currently only Fibre and Copper VDSL.
For those who are not in Unifi coverage.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: May 30 2018, 02:54 PM
ClarenceT
post May 30 2018, 03:02 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ May 30 2018, 02:53 PM)
i believe tm won't bring down price as it hurt their business. Q1 already loss profit. maybe they can offer double speed.
TM can afford to bring down the tariffs (may be not 50%) in 2019, already proposed by Najib in Budget 2017 and to be reviewed by the new minister.
But TM need money for massive expansion in 2017-2018 due to HSBB2, SUBB and LTE (Unifi Mobile).
Once the infra works are ready, they will spend less on capital expenditure.
ClarenceT
post May 30 2018, 03:15 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ May 30 2018, 03:06 PM)
good info. so far it didn't happen to streamyx users. so i didn't see it will happen soon to unifi users. anyway.. stay positive hopefully will get good news with new minister.
So I guess TM will launch "Magic Box" next week for Streamyx users (no Fibre/VDSL coverage).
Now we can buy Unifi Mobile (10Mbps) unlimited 7 days for RM20, so we may see a new and cheaper Unifi package on 8/6.

ClarenceT
post Jun 1 2018, 01:30 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Jun 1 2018, 12:21 PM)
Does anyone knows what is the status with TM new plan offering in June?
It was not an official announcement by TM but leaked I think a few months ago.
The new plan is not using fibre optic and using "box" which you can use in any house.
This is not unifi wireless broadband because it was mentioned wired broadband.

Edit:
Here is the article.
https://amanz.my/2018160432/
https://www.lowyat.net/2018/156423/tm-magic...-10mbps-july18/
Is this got to do with the Bawang ads?
Wireless at "last mile" for light and Streamyx users.
Bawang - "Radio wave"

I am guessing.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jun 1 2018, 01:33 PM

ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 10:37 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 21 2018, 10:22 AM)
To be fair --> The budget had been allocated by previous government and given to TM for the purpose of reducing the price and double the speed.

Next thing we know, there is no half price double speed, but only 25% discount?  blink.gif

So what is the purpose of the allocated budget again? It had been invested to the fiber infrastructure  rclxub.gif  By right, new government should follow through the previous government promise on this matter.....unless there is element of songlap in TM?

Takkan lah pakatan nak telan duit rakyat? After all, more revenue by TM =  more corporate tax paid.....might this be the reason why it is only 25% discount? ranting.gif
PUTRAJAYA: Fixed broadband prices are expected to drop by at least 25% by year end in a move by the Pakatan Harapan government to fulfil its election manifesto pledge.

This anticipated reduction is due to the Mandatory Standard on Access Pricing (MSAP) which came into force on June 8.

Reduce by AT LEAST 25% due to MSAP. So could be more than 25% due to other factors, but maybe not by July/Aug 2018.
Read Najib's manifesto launched in April, he had postponed "half price and double speed" from "2 years from 2017" to "within 5 years if BN wins GE14".
PH's manifesto didn't specify the time frame but it should be a 5-year job scope.
ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 10:42 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 21 2018, 10:37 AM)
The news is that new govt is left with an unexpected deeper hole.
Let new minister verify the MCMC funds still exist first before he can commit.

Meanwhile, on a separate issue, Gobind also said the ministry will conduct an independent audit on two funds under the supervision of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC).

The two funds are the MCMC fund and the Universal Service Provision (USP) fund.

ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 10:49 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 21 2018, 10:12 AM)
Then, I'm not sure because you are the first to mention about this. Please call CS to check further.
Copper line VDSL users.
Follow Streamyx bill formats, different from Unifi FTTH's format.
ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 11:12 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jun 21 2018, 11:03 AM)
no point having 100-300Mbps then u implement the quota... rclxub.gif
Pay premium for heavy users.
Choice to pay minimal (or even subsidised by Govt) for basic Internet service (10-20Mbps) with quotas.

Normal users do not require >25Mbps.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jun 21 2018, 11:13 AM
ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 11:28 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 21 2018, 11:22 AM)
One of main purpose of quota = they wanna discourage line sharing of unlimited broadband.  dry.gif

Youtube 4K 60fps requires at least 68Mbps...
For 2K 60fps, it is 24Mbps....

Normal users do require >25Mbps  sad.gif
Normal users watch 720p-1080p.
4K is a luxury for normal users.
ClarenceT
post Jun 21 2018, 11:44 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 21 2018, 11:32 AM)
Might be, but I am still not satisfied with the pricing.

Other Southeast Asian countries has cheaper broadband compared to Malaysia if we exclude singapore.  sad.gif
Agreed. Majority of Unifi and Streamyx customers are choosing the cheapest package (10Mbps/1Mbps).
Our ex-Govt spent (and still spending till 2019 for HSBB2) too much on building fibre networks especially FTTP (Too many FTTP ports). Too ambitious but it should be due to other reasons.
Should spend less to build FTTC and on "FTTH-on-demand" (FTTH users paying for infra).
It will take some time to digest the FTTP investments.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jun 21 2018, 11:46 AM
ClarenceT
post Jun 22 2018, 07:15 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jun 21 2018, 11:35 PM)
i still remember last time during dial-up internet era (year 199x),  the bill for tmnet 1515 can reach RM100+, but the highest theoretical speed is 56kbps only and this is pay as u use lol. laugh.gif
Also Streamyx 10 hours for RM20 package is PAYU.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jun 22 2018, 07:21 AM
ClarenceT
post Jul 3 2018, 01:00 PM

14,909 posts

To compete Unifi Kosong 10Mbps RM20/week.
ClarenceT
post Jul 3 2018, 02:28 PM

14,909 posts

So Unifi 30Mbps for B40 may come with quota for less than RM100!
Fair they don't qualify to get relief for lifestyle tax.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jul 3 2018, 02:30 PM
ClarenceT
post Jul 3 2018, 02:32 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 3 2018, 02:30 PM)
Hmm. Go by income group now? Then, I won't be eligible for below RM 100.

I want 500Mbps. tongue.gif
Still can get max 28% back from lifestyle tax.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1553sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:23 AM