15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

e-Wallet Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1, Officially launched!

TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 20 2018, 10:03 PM, updated 5y ago

K
3,964 posts

~--- Welcome to Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1 ---~

user posted image user posted image

This is the discussion thread for one of the anticipated e-wallets in Malaysia, Wechat Pay (MY)!

Note: This is the discussion thread made specifically for Malaysia Wallet, not China Wallet. Both are totally different wallets. The information showed below is only for Malaysia Wallet.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[GET TO KNOW]

[TUTORIAL]

How To Add A Bank Card?

1. Open Wechat, go to "Me" section, tap "Wallet"
2. Once you're in the main menu of your Wallet, tap "Bank Cards"
3. In the Bank Cards menu, tap "Add a Bank Card"
4. Enter your card info and email, after that, tap "Next"
5. Setup your payment PIN, confirm your PIN and then tap "Done"
6. Once you're in the bank authentication page, enter the OTP that your bank sent to you and tap "Ok"
7. Your bank card is now linked with your Wallet!

NOTE: To enable the 'Withdrawal' feature, you have to verify your personal identity by going to settings (three dots), select "Payment Management", and then tap "Identity Verification", enter your payment PIN, and then fill in the details as required and after that request for verification code using your phone number and Wechat will notify you when your identity is verified.

How To Enable Quick Pay?

1. Tap "Quick Pay"
2. Tap "Enable Now"
3. Enter your payment PIN
4. You can either tick "Agree to Quick Pay without PIN verification" (read the instruction carefully if you wish to) or leave it unticked and straight tap "Ok"

How To Make Payments?

1. Tap "Quick Pay"
2. Let the cashier scan your code
3. Enter your payment PIN
4. Payment is done!

How To Send Money Packets?

1. Go to a person's chatroom (the person that you wanna send it to)
2. Tap the '+' icon
3. Tap 'Money Packet'
4. Enter the amount of money and tap 'Send money packet'
5. Tap 'Pay now'
6. Money packet is sent!

What if the Wallet doesn't appear?

You need to try force activating it by doing the method below...

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 2 2019, 10:37 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 20 2018, 10:04 PM

K
3,964 posts

(SUPPORTED BANKS FOR WECHAT PAY (MY))

As long it's a bank that's available here, it should be supported.

(MERCHANTS)

KK Mart

Switch

Hari Hari

Mydin

IT Comp

Tealive

Llao Llao

Gindaco

Starbucks Coffee

Hotpot Kitchen

Petron

Senheng

Solar Time

Oldtown White Coffee

Cerutti 1881

EzCab

BananaBro

(PROMOTIONS)
-

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jul 17 2019, 11:47 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 20 2018, 10:04 PM

K
3,964 posts

(OFFICIAL ACCOUNTS FOR CONTACT/UPDATES)

Wechat ID: WeChatPayMY
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WeChatPayMY.official/

(WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW)

1. Wechat Pay (MY) can only be linked with local issued debit cards
2. Wechat Pay Malaysia Wallet and China Wallet operate separately, so they're both totally different wallets
3. This thread is about Malaysia Wallet, not China Wallet.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 2 2019, 10:38 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 21 2018, 11:05 AM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Mar 21 2018, 08:51 AM)
So I assume you got insider news it's WeChat pay is going to enable RM wallet soon?
I don't know any insider lol, but at least that's what the some news source claimed it to be. Actually, Wechat Wallet is already available for our region, but it's still in testing stage. Fingers crossed for the local launch.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-tencent-...a-idUSKBN19W0RN

If approved, users in Malaysia will be able to link their local bank accounts to WeChat Pay and pay for goods and services in ringgit.

TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 21 2018, 11:24 AM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 21 2018, 11:16 AM)
Does this mean it will support more local banks like cimb?
Or do I just need to sign up for Hong Leong bank?
Most likely more banks will support the service soon, and HLB only got it's approval for the service, but the service itself is still not officially launched yet.

So you shouldn't do anything yet until it officially launches here.
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 21 2018, 11:40 AM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 21 2018, 11:29 AM)
I see, can we also link our local bank to alipay as well once this service is officially lunched?
Alipay and Wechat Pay are totally different services, and from different companies.

Alipay is already available here but only catering to Chinese tourists, the local version will be a collaboration with Touch N Go which also will be launching soon. Don't even bother to try linking to their app, I tried last year and it didn't work.

https://www.soyacincau.com/2017/11/15/touch...rm-with-alipay/
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 21 2018, 12:13 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Mar 21 2018, 12:03 PM)
Yes, that's what we heard... There's no MY wallet at the moment... I thought you have some insider news and that's the reason you're opening a thread about WeChat Pay MY.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4111867/+160

@wkc56 got MY wallet activated
The topic is gonna be opened sooner or later anyways, so might as well do it now first, and currently there's no discussion threads about mobile wallets here as well as we already have plenty of them that's established by local firms.

The MY wallet option was only available for certain period of time, that's how you join the testing stage which is already unavailable to join now.
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 23 2018, 09:46 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Mar 23 2018, 09:08 PM)
im so waiting for this, how soon this gonna be. thinking about verify my wechat trough seagm but still not sure mana tau later can verify myself really soon.
Would hold on until it launches here if I were you, no point of wasting money for verification and then waste again for topup using rate conversion.

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Mar 23 2018, 09:11 PM)
actually there is wallet features in your wechat, u just have to use the search bar and search "wallet", but cant do anything with it. cant topup, cant add most bank card except hsbc and hong leong iinm. cant transfer or received money in some cases.
You sure can link HLB with the wallet? I have HLB and I tried to link before, but it's not supported in the list of banks.

What I saw was UOB and HSBC.

QUOTE(magnesium @ Mar 23 2018, 09:14 PM)
i just want to topup in rm and use it in china

so no need to open china bank account
I can feel the pain lol, quite envious when I saw the locals there using Wechat Pay and Alipay to buy stuffs every time during my previous trip in Shanghai.

And to think of our TnG here just makes me wanna puke blood.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 23 2018, 09:48 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 23 2018, 11:03 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Mar 23 2018, 10:17 PM)
i was mistaken about hong leong i guess. but i too did saw HSBC.
Probably only available for people in China even if it's HSBC.
TSxperiaDROID
post Mar 23 2018, 11:05 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Mar 23 2018, 10:35 PM)
I have my wallet enabled for Chinese Yuan. Can't turn it to MY Wallet.
My cousin has the MY wallet, and linked to her Maybank account. When I asked her how she got that, she said she has no idea lol.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 24 2018, 12:44 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post May 30 2018, 12:28 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 14 2018, 10:02 PM)
Where to buy wechat pay credit?
Wechat pay credit is only available in China for now.

If you're using the China version and looking for topup, can do it from them...

There's a fellow LYN forummer here selling Wechat pay credit here
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3867702&hl=

Also found this in a Wechat pay thread here
https://www.seagm.com/wechat-topup/

TSxperiaDROID
post May 30 2018, 12:32 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ May 25 2018, 01:52 PM)
I also anticipate WeChat Pay in Ringgit a lot. Part of the reason is I prefer and use WeChat a lot in daily life hehe.

What I read is, when it is launched, we will have different wallet for different currency. So you get 1 CNY Wallet for CNY, 1 RM wallet for RM. Not sure if it will allow conversion though.

News saying that WeChat Pay in RM will be launched earlier this year. Originally everyone (well, OK, me especially, haha) was hoping that during CNY this year can use its Red Packet function, but until now still no news. Maybe will be launched this Raya? Hopefully..
It has been confirmed that it will be launched next month, hopefully before Raya.
https://technave.com/gadget/WeChat-to-imple...ians-12129.html

QUOTE(Lingohal @ May 30 2018, 12:09 PM)
Wechat ringgit wallet will be available in June. I wonder which local bank card can be used.
Thanks for the update! Some said that any local bank cards can be linked with Wechat Pay.
TSxperiaDROID
post May 30 2018, 01:36 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ May 30 2018, 01:28 PM)
finally here! long-anticipated! wondering what are the merchants they can use this function
It has been very long indeed, I'm ready to ditch Boost if this is supported by merchants nationwide which I believe it has the power to achieve that.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: May 30 2018, 01:36 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post May 30 2018, 02:23 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ May 30 2018, 02:03 PM)
i wonder if we link WeChat Pay with our cash rebate credit card, do we still get cash rebate?
Logically you still do get it right? Since it's still gonna be a transaction after all.
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 03:21 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Jun 5 2018, 02:10 PM)
Today Wechat activated MYR wallet, I just done my identity verification and link my debit card, you all can go to Wechat app and check it out.
You serious? The wallet option still haven't appear on mine yet.

What's your Wechat version btw? 6.6.7?

QUOTE(Edward_Ng @ Jun 5 2018, 02:22 PM)
is it? i can't find it in my wechat app though @@
Same here, probably they're rolling it out batch by batch, just like how phone brands roll out their Android updates.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jun 5 2018, 03:22 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 03:46 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jun 5 2018, 03:45 PM)
I have just tried. Can already. I am using Chinese interface WeChat.
How?
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 03:49 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jun 5 2018, 03:46 PM)
What I did was, I went to:

Me > Wallet > click on the four squares on the top right of your screen > Switch Wallet > Malaysia
I don't see any Wallet thing in my section though, even if I searched it, I'm still on the China wallet.

Did you activate the China wallet before by any chance?
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 04:07 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jun 5 2018, 04:01 PM)
I had my China wallet years ago. Was able to receive hongbao before this.
Ah, I understand now, basically those who have activated their China wallet before are now able to switch the region to Malaysia now.

Those who never activated it before will have to wait for it to appear.
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 04:22 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jun 5 2018, 04:13 PM)
what do you see now in your interface? Can you even access your China wallet?

If not, just ask somebody to wechat you 0.01 yuan Hongbao, then your Wallet function will be activated
I never activated it before, I can access to it by searching it within the app though, but to activate the China wallet, I gotta link a card issued in China and type in the ID which is also only available for people from China.

I heard that it was actually easy to activate the China wallet few years back, and they implemented a stricter rule which made it only available to register for the mainland Chinese people since dunno when.

I tried the hongbao think before, it didn't work, still required for mainland Chinese ID.
TSxperiaDROID
post Jun 5 2018, 04:26 PM

K
3,964 posts

QUOTE(trail_blazer @ Jun 5 2018, 04:19 PM)
hi, i facing same problem.
I activate by logging out and re-login. You will see the switch region menu on top right after u re-login.
It really appeared after I did a re-login, and now I'm on the Malaysia wallet.

Thank you so much man! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:43 PM