e-Wallet Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1, Officially launched!
Xaser_3
Sep 1 2018, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(scarlion @ Sep 1 2018, 12:46 PM) CNY wallet ...where can find it? inside the wechat app? Yes, but you will need someone local in China to transfer money into your wallet as you are not able to link your Malaysian bank card to the CNY wallet.
Xaser_3
Sep 1 2018, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Sep 1 2018, 01:32 PM) heard from my friend who is a banker in Hong Leong that currently WeChat Pay MY only available in Melaka branch. Any Melaka fren to update on this? How is what even remotely possible that it is only available only in a state branch and not even in Klang Valley branches of HLB?
Xaser_3
Sep 1 2018, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Sep 1 2018, 01:57 PM) what is that suppose to mean? Exactly, got me boggled and confused by his statement.
Xaser_3
Sep 1 2018, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 1 2018, 02:00 PM) Wait, I don't get it. What is this? Wechat Pay MY CS in HLB? Yes, apparently HLB is the the local partner for Wechat Pay MY so I suppose the CS for it comes under their purview as well.
Xaser_3
Sep 1 2018, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 1 2018, 03:25 PM) Saw this outside 99 speedmart. As usual... Me: "Boleh pakai wicet tak?" C: "Sekarang tak boleh, sistem ada problem" Me: "Baru dapat ke?" C: "Dah seminggu dah, boleh cuba kat kedai lain lah" Me: "Okay" *poker face* [attachmentid=10001603] LOLz.....new tech implementation always scares the living daylight out of those cashiers. Is it really that terrifying of making a mistake and re-doing the transaction? What happened to practise makes perfection?
Xaser_3
Sep 2 2018, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 1 2018, 08:47 PM) I think it won't be a long wait for Boost to partner with 99, since they're pretty aggressive in expansion. This would be makes things even better and sweeter for the users if they do.
Xaser_3
Sep 2 2018, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(katowwe @ Sep 2 2018, 12:44 PM) From Nanyang Siang Pau then we know, if you want become a merchant, you still need to register a Wechat Official account and pay Rm300 per year. All transaction will be charge 1% if you are wechat pay merchant. How you all think about this? If you are retailer, will you register as wechat pay merchant? Boost has no any charge until 31 December 2018. That cost quite a lot for small merchant's, hence there won't be a very warming response from them. For the bigger retailers, shouldn't be an issue but they them to sign up and start implementing into their POS, so we can start using the service.
Xaser_3
Sep 2 2018, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 2 2018, 01:41 PM) It's normal to have charge for merchants, but this is too much for the small merchants. If they don't change their strategy, I doubt they can have a stable base here. +1 Exactly the same point I had in mind. It won't be popular if they don't have many merchants adopting their payment system.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 3 2018, 12:40 AM) Well, at least at the one I went to recently. But as usual, "system down". » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Why am I am surprised as it is typical of businesses in MY when implementing something new. Just gotta wait it out until their system becomes "stable" and good enough for daily usage.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 3 2018, 11:00 AM) I think we still have to rely on cash most of the times during the next few years, it's because of the typical Malaysian mindset that's preventing e wallets from going mainstream. I certainly hope not, at least not that many years before we can go cashless. I see the problem is the mindset of the retailers who emphasize a huge precedence on cold hard cash.What I'm pissed off about is when it's not ready yet, don't freaking stick the sticker outside showing that they accept the e wallet. This happened to me many times. I share the same feelings of frustration as you, Bro. Th3 excitement of trying and using something new, only to be doused by the unprepared retailers.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 12:14 PM) Yes we still need to bring cash most of the time but wish that we don’t need to bring cash as back up to go to the shops where e wallet is accepted The system is ready and staff must be trained to use it as well if not like the Samsung pay is ready but the staff don’t know how to use it and eventually cash is paid 😓 Quite a number of us Samsung Pay users have learnt how to work Samsung Pay when it comes to the checkout and payment process. We even take the effort to teach the staffs/cashiers patiently how to get it to work with the various merchant terminals such as NFC or MST ones. I myself am very persistent that I insist on paying with Samsung Pay where Pay Wave is available or end up walking away if they refuse.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 12:37 PM) Ya Samsung Pay is already common or familiar to alot people... Initially i just said pay wave and people wondered when i waved the mobile phone to the terminal... Wechat Pay will go thru it as well before it become common or familiar to people Hopefully with fingers crossed 🤞 Just need more merchants and retailers to adopt and use. QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 3 2018, 01:02 PM) If there's still issue when using others like Samsung Pay and Boost, don't expect Wechat Pay to be any different. Although Samsung Pay is a mobile payment service instead of e wallet, it's easier to use cuz it works on most card terminals. No BS unless there's really something wrong with the card terminal, or the merchant imposed a minimum amount to pay by card. I like the way you think, accept my payment method or you're not getting my money.  LOLz.....we had a brainstorming session some time ago, over at the Samsung Pay thread V1 and came to a conclusion, the best ways to go about making payments at merchants/retailers who are Pay Wave enabled but refuse to accept Samsung Pay. I suppose the efforts paid off eventually.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 3 2018, 02:02 PM) I still rmb that I'm earlier batches of VISA paywave EON Bank GSC, but GSC staffs was blur blur sotongs, end up only Supervisor helped me many times... From my experience, most of higher management, ie. Managers/Supervisors are quite well versed in operating the POS and willing to help complete the transaction process.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 3 2018, 02:35 PM) Samsung Pay has quite a large base of users, so I guess it's easier to make merchants notice that they're losing money if their staffs keep refusing to accept Samsung Pay, and I'm also intrigued by the the co-operation among users in the Samsung Pay community. Similar way should be done when using e wallets. But too bad, the e wallet community is filled with cheapskates that keep abusing the system to get as much benefits as possible. When there's no benefit, these cheapskates will just ditch the whole service. If you've been to the Boost thread in Kopitiam, you will know it, bunch of cheapskates getting proud of themselves. And the fact that it's in Kopitiam, makes it even worse so serious users couldn't really have a serious discussion when others are fooling around. Yes, you are absolutely right Bro. I visited the Boost thread and their cheapskate display of arrogance just sicken's me, and so I ran as though the Apocalypse is upon us and never looked back. Hopefully, the Wechat Pay users will be more civilized and have a better sense of the e-wallet.
Xaser_3
Sep 3 2018, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(emch3w @ Sep 3 2018, 08:34 PM) How do you top up or reload the ewallet in China?! Be friends and nice to local people there, and get them to help you top up your e-wallet.
Xaser_3
Sep 4 2018, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 4 2018, 04:21 AM) The Communist Party issued a statement last month that merchants refusing to accept cash can be slapped with a hefty fine. Wow! That is serious, orders coming from the CCP. No wonder everybody is scares and just comply. Btw, it is unfair to foreign tourist in China who do not have access to their local e-wallet.
Xaser_3
Sep 4 2018, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:19 AM) It's September and Switch Wallet Region still region. Do I have to wait till "wake me up when September ends'? Yes, so far no new update to indicate they have fixed the region change issue.
Xaser_3
Sep 4 2018, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Sep 4 2018, 10:32 AM) Cool, but I wonder how many are using Grabpay though... But I believe that the amount of users using Grabpay are more than Mcash, VCash, Kiplepay, Razer Pay etc. I believe the number of users are quite a lot. I occasionally use Grabpay myself as well.
Xaser_3
Sep 4 2018, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:40 AM) Users a lot but supported merchant isn't! Yes, unfortunately their merchants quite limited. Wish they would expand their merchant list asap.
Xaser_3
Sep 4 2018, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(skty @ Sep 4 2018, 01:15 PM) Grabpay can use Amex to top up. So that reason itself already make it outstanding from other e-wallet. The problem with Grabpay is they don't allow transfer out to bank. So ppl cannot play the game, mean less users. Use grabpay to pay for ride, for example, your house to KLIA/KLIA2, sometime get promo RM35 instead of RM65. So using grabpay to pay for ride is ALWAYS more benefit than straight charge to credit card. The special promotions for the ride fares and the acceptance of Amex card is really a plus point for Grabpay. 👍👍