QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 4 2021, 09:57 AM)
r9 290 was cheap even for custom cards and performance was just around 10-20% slower than the flagship cardsNVIDIA GeForce Community V19, RTX 5000 unveiled
NVIDIA GeForce Community V19, RTX 5000 unveiled
Mar 4 2021, 10:44 AM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Mar 4 2021, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2021, 10:50 AM) Besides that one, given that RTX 3060 Ti is already RM 3,000 and above. Haha I laughed at my cousin because I asked him if he wanted the rtx3060ti for ~rm2100 on sale at the time but he declined lolIt's not possible to see RX 6700 XT being at that price point or lower if it beats the RTX 3070. |
Mar 5 2021, 08:45 PM
hmm somebody bought inno3d rtx3060 for rm2489 at ewt kota kinabalu, looked like no bundle. one more guy bought igame rtx3060 for rm2599
another bought white trinity rtx3080 for rm4889 without bundle This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 5 2021, 08:46 PM |
Mar 6 2021, 07:48 AM
but i also saw ppl buying up rtx3060 for 3k+ without bundle, crazy
this made the $1200 2080ti a steal when it just launched |
Mar 9 2021, 05:59 PM
last time saw the rm8.4k gigabyte 3090 master = sooo expensive
now if that's available I want to buy LOL such a different world in just few months |
Mar 9 2021, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Mar 9 2021, 05:54 PM) it's actually Nov & Dec. when stocks are easier to find and close to msrp. unless those hesitant cos they are waiting for their bonuses or pay checks to arrive. at that time there was the crash scandal too, so people been skeptical about getting one that early haha |
Mar 13 2021, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 12 2021, 02:28 PM) Back then the most affected cards were AMD Polaris and Vega, as they mined much better than Nvidia cards at competing MSRPs with Ethereum. Nvidia cards were mostly used for zcash mining, but even then that wasn't as profitable as Ethereum mining on AMD cards. I think the 1060 is only higher due to lack of Polaris competing cards due to miners buying those instead. The 1080 was unaffected by mining demand since it was actually less profitable than a 1070 - Zcash mining doesn't work too well with GDDR5X, if I remember correctly. And the previous crypto bubble burst in early 2018 too. hmm zcash mining with GDDR5X has no issues, 1080ti are very profitable with zcash. the problem is GDDR5X timing table isn't that good for ethereum mining, but some developer released a new timing modifiying tool that boosted the 1080 and 1080ti's to the proper speed for ethereum.Right now, you have all these factors, roughly in terms of importance on why the cards are so scarce and scalped, none which applied to the previous bubble in 2017: - Shortage of many materials required for semiconductor manufacturing - Covid lockdowns over the end of last year led to many people needing/wanting new PCs - People holding out from 20 series poor price/performance all buying in - Ampere has ridiculously good mining performance compared to previous Nvidia cards 1060 3GB was the models alot of miners bought too, can be had for less than RM1000 even after polaris cards got snapped up by miners. but before polaris, HD7870, HD7950, HD7970, 280X and R9 290 series were great for mining too. |
Mar 14 2021, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 14 2021, 09:13 AM) Ah, so that was fixed ten. Wen I last read up on mining in 2017 the hashrates of 1080 was noticeably worse than 1070. For 1060 3GB it is shorter lifespan but it could cover most of the period on the last crypto boom, easy to sell too because no bios modification, it ran at cool ~60C around 70+watts. For less than rm1000 it can be sold for around rm650-750 after that. I sold one super cheap to my cousin and the card still works fine now, maybe the age is like 4 years.1060 3GB had a short lifespan for Eth mining too due to the lack of VRAM. But in general, the Polaris and Vega cards were more profitable than the GeForce cards at the same price tiers. Though the gpu shortage at that time is not even half as serious as right now, at least at those times most gpus are in stock (except polaris cards) This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 14 2021, 10:13 AM |
Mar 17 2021, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(FluffyTheThird @ Mar 17 2021, 02:09 PM) Yep the stock fan curve pushed the temp to 80c.. ( fan 80%) I changed it to 100% speed and now max 78c. The mesh mod is kinda interesting to try. For the radiator fan I use manual control to always make it 100% speed already haha. Noise does not bother me much anyway. did you already tried undervolting the 3080 using afterburner's voltage custom curve?Not sure if because of resolution or refresh rate, but before this I use 1920x1080 75hz monitor and max I got around 74-75c. Fan speed 80% Alright will check those out. Thankss |
Mar 21 2021, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 21 2021, 12:43 PM) Seasonic continues to use 18awg cables even for the PCI-E. Not crappy but also not nice considering everyone including their customers like Corsair has already moved to 16awg. yeah my ax860 has thicker cables compared to my seasonic x-850 last time, even though both are almost the same km3 design. The corsair cable has built in capacitor too on the cable. |
Mar 22 2021, 01:21 PM
Mar 26 2021, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(gacktleong @ Mar 25 2021, 03:56 PM) https://www.asus.com/my/Laptops/For-Gaming/...S-TUF-Dash-F15/ yupp, i did seriously consider selling my 3070 if can sell at nice price and switch to laptop and sell my desktop CPU lolasus laptop 3060 starting 4699 only, still a better buy then 3060 gpu alone |
Mar 26 2021, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 26 2021, 05:07 PM) Meanwhile a friend's friend who is employed by a mining syndicate in china.. just shared a picture of a pallet full of tuf 3080 directly from asus for the mining farm lol dam so much hash power yet the profits from mining is still highA pallet is about 200-300 units iinm |
Mar 29 2021, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 29 2021, 04:05 PM) cannot upgrade lah well me personally saw a laptop with rtx3070 8GB for rm6999, hmm i forgot i think it was asus?need to sell old wan b4 can get new wan.. how about below spec ? -2 Years Parts Warranty (Carry In) -Intel® Core™ i7-10870H Processor (8 Cores) **Preorder eta end April - Mid May** -NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 3060 6GB GDDR6 -15.6 Inch 144HZ FHD Premium AHVA / IPS Type Wide Color Display (1920x1080) -16GB (8GB X 2) DDR4 3200MHZ (Operates at 2933mhz with Intel Notebooks) -Premium Enthusiast Grade Thermal Compound -RGB tactile hybrid silent keyboard with 15 Color Options (Single Zone) -512GB KLEVV C710 NVME SSD (R 2050 | W 1650) -INTEL AX201 + Bluetooth (Wi-Fi 6) -Color Calibration Service (Ongoing-Service Avaliable at AS service center) -Windows 10 Home 64bit -None (Standard Pixel Policy) SGD 2000 meanwhile i saw gigabyte laptop with i5 6 core 10th gen and rtx3060 6GB, 240hz full hd display at rm4899 iinm This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 29 2021, 04:57 PM |
Mar 31 2021, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 31 2021, 12:07 PM) Ampere is fabricated at samsung's fab and not TSMC right? |
Apr 1 2021, 10:12 AM
ohh ended up gonna sell my 3070 for some nice price, I'll just survive with integrated for now.
Apr 2 2021, 11:00 PM
edit: awww
This post has been edited by terradrive: Apr 2 2021, 11:56 PM |
Apr 2 2021, 11:56 PM
Apr 5 2021, 12:01 PM
is the hdmi port on gt1030 cards loke the asus gt1030 silent model truly support hdmi 2.0? I wonder if it can run at least 1440p at 120hz cos 60hz sucks for me now on windows
Apr 6 2021, 08:33 AM
lol, the fella that bought whole pc at pc image sabah with rtx3090, i asked the shop assistant how much it was, he said below 10k. Then last night I saw the fella put it in mudah for 14k lel
| Change to: | 0.0434sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:20 AM |