I bought when visiting sg, can buy on sg best second hand site: carousell
Aztech FG7008GR(AC) AC2400 MU-MIMO WiFi Router, Awesome router but for the firmware...
Aug 6 2018, 04:18 PM
1,418 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
I bought when visiting sg, can buy on sg best second hand site: carousell
Aug 6 2018, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Aug 5 2018, 11:15 PM) This thread like so quiet only.. Recently, I bought the Singtel version of this router for dirt cheap while down in Singapore to play around and hopefully replace the stock TP-Link AC1200 router.. and see how hard it is to use with UniFI. First thing I realized is dem, this router is way heavier than the TP-Link! Also got 2 USB 3.0 ports and a lot more lights. Do u have the 7002 fw working for unifi? I hv spare unit but stuck to singtel fw..So this version is the FG7009GR(AC), one number up from the Aztech one (FG7008GR(AC)), and the differences are only: - Casing has no trace of Aztech, all brands replaced by Singtel - Firmware changes (USB port disabled, SSID set to Singtel one, additional routes) - ‘Advanced’ mode by going to http://192.168.1.254/singtel, and login with CODE Username: admin Password: H3ll0t3ch In this advanced mode you have access to more advanced settings compared to the normal settings page. Probably only for Singtel staff to configure the router. Btw, the current Singtel firmware version on mine is 339.6.2-011. I have tried using UniFi with the stock firmware doesn’t seem to work, but might have missed something out. So now, how do we get UniFi compatible firmware on this router? Quite simple, but we have to flash two different versions of firmware, first one is to allow us to flash any version of the Aztech firmware replacing the Singtel one and second, the UniFi compatible one. In order, the first firmware can be either Version 322.6s.2-009 or Version 322.6s.2-011, but second firmware will be the last one working for UniFi, Version 322.6s.3-003. If you choose to follow this guide, please note you’re doing this at your own risk, will void any warranty on the device, and I’m not accountable if your router becomes bricked or turns into a killer robot that has laser beams. 1) Connect computer to router via ethernet cable, do not use WiFi. Go to 192.168.1.254, login and under Device administration, select Firmware Upgrade 2) Select the first firmware to flash, Version 322.6s.2-009 or Version 322.6s.2-011, and press upload. Do not power down the router, laptop, or disconnect the ethernet cable until loading bar shows 100% 3) Flash second firmware, Version 322.6s.3-003 4) Enter in your PPPoE username and password, set 802.1P Priority to 0 5) Set 802.1Q VLAN ID to 500 6) Enable IGMP Multicast Proxy under Advanced>Advanced Setup>WAN>(for current interface)Edit> IGMP Multicast Proxy Also attached some images if you need reference. For Internet setup: [attachmentid=9955445] For enabling IGMP Multicast Proxy [attachmentid=9955446] [attachmentid=9955448] And you should be done! For some reason, I couldn’t find the strange routing problem that @soonwai encountered, but I created a static route to 1.0.0.0/8 just in case. Will still play around with this router and see if I discover anything new. So far, IPTV is untested yet but there is option for it, might have to create a new interface and everything. IPv6 needs more testing too. As for my own setup, I repurposed my stock TP-Link router as a wired AP for my second floor. It works well enough to extend the range and cover the house in WiFi, ready for speed upgrade. Seller also gave me another older Singtel router DSL7002GRV(S) seems like this is only AC750 but still gigabit, might turn this into spare AP or switch. I'll try to get pics of both soon. Helpful Links : https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/next-gen...-5275458-2.html |
Aug 6 2018, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(System Error Message @ Aug 6 2018, 10:23 PM) People seem to be complaining about firmware in another thread, good test though but the CPU is actually outdated, and by that i mean its ability to do hardware NAT for gigabit speeds is questionable, for example you can see with the asus AC68U and AC88U, broadcom's accelerated NAT solution wasnt very good but i suppose as an AP it might work . For 300Mb/s the CPU will work fine. Hardware nat should be at 900+mbps (disable qos) as it was provided for singtel 1gbps plan.Your iperf test shows that it does up to 800Mb/s, try a full bidirectional test, as for 300Mb/s you actually need 600Mb/s of forwarding capacity assuming the new packages are fully symmetrical. I hope they will be. |
Aug 6 2018, 10:36 PM
Aug 6 2018, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Aug 6 2018, 10:37 PM) Ya, Carousell is good place to start if you want to look for these. I'm surprised so many people know about this router now! I must also say thanks to Soonwai for documenting this router and it's capability well enough, else I wouldn't have bought it. I was looking for new AP, and was just checking Carousell when I come across these routers, did some research, and found this forum post. U delete the interface named 'INTERNET', and create another interface with exactly the same name. Note: you can only set dns on interface creation, which is annoying!Though, are you still on the Singtel firmware? If so, does the router work with UniFi? Else, my guide might be redundant.. Sadly no, still doing some research on this router, but seems like this model was custom made for Singtel themselves, so only Singapore firmware.. it has been documented on OpenWRT though. https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/aztech/aztech_...2grv_s#hardware Maybe I'll just try key in my PPPoE username and password, plug it in and see if it works on the stock firmware, or not just use as a AP or switch. For iptv, u may want to setup 'bridge type' interface and name it 'IPTV-ETH', then add the appropriate vlan. Then go to 'port binding' and bind that interface to lan4. Then play around abit with the igmp settings until it works. Note: aztech is quite particular about the names of interface, it is good to keep it exactly as I have suggested |
Aug 6 2018, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 6 2018, 10:43 PM) Yep, no routing or NAT here. Of course, no way for me to test routing speed yet. So have to wait for Turbo 10x to come in first. Haha but wifi speed will usually be slower than nat throughput I plan to use as an AP so I was more interested in its wifi performance. This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Aug 6 2018, 10:46 PM |
Aug 6 2018, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 6 2018, 11:04 PM) This is the config for UniFi. IIRC, it has vlans 400, 500, 600 all configured. Should be used with firmware v322.6s.3-003. Earlier also can I think. Lol it was clearly based on singtel config, some singtel specific settings such as iptv vlan priority 4 are still there haha[attachmentid=9956985] Anyway for those who want to do by manual, can follow https://www.tp-link.com/au/faq-346.html (Most of the oems dont actually bother to make their own ui, they all base on broadcom original ui, just change the layout and colour abit) |
Aug 8 2018, 03:11 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
This firmware really piece of shit. Esp the 5ghz menu. @soonwai may i know what channel u using and country? Tks
Aug 8 2018, 04:50 PM
Haha got it working. Link rate 866mbps only cos aztech no 1024qam, but have lots of spatial stream. Anyway with note 8 can get 500mbps download
Haha rm75... |
Aug 8 2018, 09:34 PM
Aug 9 2018, 10:12 AM
Im working on custom 5ghz config. The aztech is actually a router in a router. Broadcom on the outside, quantenna with its own processor on the inside. Can telnet into quantenna soc to hv a look.
telnet 192.168.1.254 48599 nc 1.1.1.2 23 Then backspace all the way, and type root then press enter cd /mnt/jffs2/ echo "mode=ap&bw=80&vht=1®ion=us&channel=153&bf=1&pwr=19&scs=0&vsp=0&staticip=1&" > wireless_conf.txt (edit this to yr liking) sync exit reboot This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Aug 9 2018, 10:13 AM |
Aug 9 2018, 04:18 PM
If yr connection is unstable, remember to reboot Then apply 1.0.0.0/8 static route
Aug 17 2018, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(heidarren @ Aug 17 2018, 05:52 AM) Thanks bro, my router finally works!! Bravo!!! Hi. I experience this 20mhz bug at times also. Solution is to reflash your router firmware (if u using as ap only i recommend 006) then perform broadcom 30-30-30 reset (google for info) and then again press restore to default in the webpage (stupid but to reload the webui files from firmware into jffs)However, there is one last thing to make my router perfect, which is my 5GHz turns into 20MHz channel instead of 80MHz, and I tried the method above, but I was stuck at the nc 1.1.1.2 23 step, since after telnet 192.168.1.254 48599, it asked for log in name and password, I tried admin admin and I got the connection but it shows error when I typed "nc 1.1.1.2 23", I'm wondering what is the step by step I should have done, and what method did you used to telnet? Windwos PowerShield or putty? Thanks ya! Telnet if password wrong error is for security. U can overcome by changing password for admin user in the web ui to anhthing else thrn can use new password to login telnet If nc 1.1.1.2 23 cannot connect, remember to remove 1.0.0.0/8 static route then try again. Alternatively u can call_qcsapi_sockrpc --host 1.1.1.2 xx yy zz Where xx yy zz is from https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/blo...t/call_qcsapi.c and https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/blo...stateless-slave for instant effect (should be able to override 20mhz bw to 80mhz) Try call_qcsapi_sockrpc --host 1.1.1.2 set_bw wifi0 80 (i cant rmb the exact command if not its wifi0 0 80) If u get random disconnect problem acting up for ap mode, i can post my config Edit: i got 160mbps on 20mhz 2.4ghz haha This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Aug 17 2018, 08:20 AM |
Aug 17 2018, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(heidarren @ Aug 17 2018, 02:32 PM) So I just open telnet and Oops i missed out a step.telnet 192.168.1.254 log-in:admin pwd:admin call_qcsapi_sockrpc --host 1.1.1.2 set_bw wifi0 80 reboot Is the steps above correct? Sorry coz I not really know telnet well, gonna ask step by step ^^ I'm using it as router so gonna stuck in 003 firmware, it just turns into 20MHz if I change the channel, but no problem in 007 firmware. I wanna use 5G wifi as region AU, channel 104 bw 80MHz, I found this is the best range and power for this model, even better than channel 153 bw 80MHz region AU/US. Its: Trying 192.168.1.254... Connected to 192.168.1.254. Escape character is '^]'. BCM963139 Broadband Router Login: admin Password: admin (or whatever u set) > sh (i missed out u have to type 'sh' then press enter...) BusyBox v1.17.2 (2016-04-05 16:23:38 SGT) built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. (This brings you into the main linux shell) # call_qcsapi_sockrpc --host 1.1.1.2 get_bw wifi0 (this retrieves your current bw. In your case it shd be '20') 80 # call_qcsapi_sockrpc --host 1.1.1.2 set_bw wifi0 80 (This sets yr bw to 80) |
Sep 17 2018, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 17 2018, 08:13 PM) can't get ip address, and even manually set it still cannot ping to router. for wifi, the password provided on the sticker cannot be use, even SSID is different. I always use advanced settings. Configuration steps are the same as innacomm cos they are almost the same since broadcom.UPDATE: it is working now after 30/30/30 reset, can access to Web UI and SSID and password on sticker works. But i find it very hard to setup this router added entries in Quick Setting Page but it gone after clicking save, after awhile when i load back my info is there, but may i know how to connect? the connect button is non clickable button..really don't understand this UI [attachmentid=10026475] And in advance mode, trying to modify setting but getting following message, even reboot [attachmentid=10026483] What i did: go to advanced setup, delete everything under WAN and ETH if possible, then under WAN create interface with vlan 500, priority 0 but name INTERNET (case sensitive and v impt be exact), choose pppoe and enter credentials + custom dns. Done. Repeat same thing for hypptv, create interface vlan 600 name IPTV, choose Bridging, done. Then go to advanced setup, interface grouping, assign lan port 4 to iptv interface. Lastly, delete every entry under the QoS settings page, disable ipv6 everywhere, enable upnp (optional) Once everything works and your wireless ssid + password + channel ok alr, pls DO NOT ever try to change the config again. Keep backup of the config file to be safe. This router firmware is the most shitty i have ever seen, worse than all of the tm router. This aztech is just a beefed up innacomm that support turbo and fast wireless lmao This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Sep 17 2018, 08:52 PM |
Sep 17 2018, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 17 2018, 09:37 PM) Done with some of the settings, but still not working. Correct leh... maybe reboot router (mine was liddat). If not it means u need to go with .003 firmware Anything i missed? [attachmentid=10026879] [attachmentid=10026882] [attachmentid=10026886] [attachmentid=10026889] This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Sep 17 2018, 09:58 PM |
Sep 17 2018, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 17 2018, 10:20 PM) So the newest firmware confirm cannot use? .007 is not newest, but still incompatible. Only .003 and below compatible for unifiIs it safe to flash the firmware? I'm afraid i will bricked the device, lol. how come they dare to sell something like this Now u know why this router so cheap... but if u know how to configure then worth it la lol This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Sep 17 2018, 11:33 PM |
Sep 18 2018, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:57 PM) The internet is UP after flashed to .003 but IPTV still not working, Iptv i think u try play with the igmp settings abit (eg on off snooping and multicast etc trial and error until it works)and having some issue with my wireless connection which 2.4ghz's signal is very weak and slow, even 5ghz can reach my room on first floor, but speed also slower than my innacom rg4332 what are the optimal settings for wireless? Wireless what channel and region are u on? Can use some sort of wireless analyser to screenshot the bandwidth and channel etc here tks Cos if u encounter certain bandwidth bugs, need to execute some commands in telnet (some old post above) This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Sep 18 2018, 08:54 AM |
Sep 18 2018, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(lol0919 @ Sep 18 2018, 03:19 PM) For wireless, i use Singapore and channel 11, any different by using different region? Ok, u have to disable 40mhz on the 2.4ghz band. Normally aztech 40mhz support poor because theres little space to test in sg.. wifi too congested[attachmentid=10029452] [attachmentid=10029453] [attachmentid=10029454] the 2.4ghz 's signal is very weak and unstable, even not far away from it, 5ghz seems works fine. Isn't 2.4ghz has better range coverage than 5ghz?? Living room, 2-3meter away from router [attachmentid=10029543] dining area 4-5m away from router, block by 1 wall+ [attachmentid=10029524] kitchen, 7-9m away from router, block by 2 wall+ [attachmentid=10029535] Anyway the upper/lower control sideband from the pic looks broken, so i think 40mhz is wonky.. So change to 20mhz should solve alr Also, WMM must be enabled or else will cap at 54mbps link rate (try this first it might be the real issue lol) This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Sep 18 2018, 04:38 PM |
Sep 18 2018, 07:17 PM
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:22 PM |