TSquovadis123
post Sep 8 2019, 08:33 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Sep 7 2019, 12:10 AM)
GRexer quovadis123

b and n keys not working, cherry mx brown filco tkl
Just buy the cherry brown, since you want replace it. I got extra brown switch.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 11 2019, 07:18 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 11 2019, 11:38 AM)
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/review-logi...res-specs-price

hahahahahahaha
through out the whole thing.. dude kept saying g915... even when he inserteda pic of logi software showing g913

he even mentioned g815
kailh choki choki switch.. This price, this look, macam ok.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 21 2019, 05:31 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Sep 20 2019, 11:05 PM)
Hello MKB Gurus...

This is my first post on lowyat.net. I've only just registered, out of desperation, because I badly need advice on getting a new MKB (or not to). Please be kind to me.

My current MKB, also the first I ever bought, is a Razer Blackwidow Stealth. Of course, I didn't really know what I was doing, what I did was simply go to a shop in Digital Mall Section 14, tried several KBs and bought one I liked the feel of.

What I wanted, above all else, was durability. That was the sole reason for getting an MKB.

So I was sorely disappointed when barely 2 years later my MKB started acting up, when people say it should last a decade. Several of my keys sometimes would not register, or register multiple times. My 'J' key in particular hardly ever registers while my '.' key repeats itself extremely frequently compared to others.

Perhaps I made a poor choice when buying, or perhaps I just didn't take good care of my MKB (last cleaned a year ago). Or maybe I bashed my keys very hard (folks tell me when I poke them lightly with my finger to get attention they can feel it to their bones).

I tried removing the keycaps and cleaning it again, but no dice. Do I have to open up the whole thing? I'm not a very technical person, so I'm not too confident about it. If I could send it somewhere to get it fixed cheaply, I'd rather do that.

But, if I want to buy a new MKB, one that would last a really, really, really long time...what would you guys recommend?

I use my keyboard mainly for typing (part-time work as a localizer). It's been ages since I've played any kind of games seriously, and I don't plan on ever going back to that. As for the feel, my current MKB uses Razer's orange switches. I have no idea what that means, supposedly it's tactile and silent. All I know is I like how it feels, though I don't think it's really as silent as it claims to be. Noise is not an issue for me anyway.

Other considerations: has to be full size, preferably no lighting (or can be disabled). Budget...this is where I might be asking for the impossible, but I would like to keep it under RM300. If I can be convinced that it will last me a lifetime and save me money in the long run then I wouldn't mind shelling out more pitis. I can't remember how much I spent for my Razer, I lost the receipt, but I certainly don't want to spend a lot only to have it fail in just a couple of years again.
I would be very grateful for any advice I can get.
;;altuser
Replace the dead switch of your '.' and 'J' then will be fine.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 21 2019, 02:50 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Sep 21 2019, 12:37 PM)
That's the thing, I can't seem to pinpoint the problem. Yesterday, while typing up my first post, I went through a lot of hassle correcting the various mistakes like "reeepeating keystrokes or missing etters" in my post.

Then, this morning I spent half an hour testing each key to find which ones tend to repeat more or fail to register, but couldn't get a conclusive result. Even my 'j' key suddenly was working fine again, which led me to suspect the fault is with the user (me) rather than the keyboard.

But after testing it again just now I'm definitely sure 'j' is buggered, in that test ~80% of the time it doesn't register at all, even when I deliberately press it hard between long intervals. However I'm still not sure about the other keys, which ones I would need to replace, etc. I'm not sure if I can send it to someone for repairs if I can't even explain the problem properly. I know this is vague, and people hate it when the problem isn't clear. Is it okay if I just leave it to them to find out where the faults are?

I'll just list my observations anyway on what seems problematic...
Definite: 'J' (often not registering even when deliberately pressed)
Very likely: 'E', '.' (tendency to repeat, even when typing carefully)
Probable: 'S', 'I', 'L', 'K' (sometimes repeat, sometimes does not register while typing normally)
Dubious: 'P', 'C', 'R' (seems to not register when typing normally, but when testing seems to always works properly)

Of course, there may be other keys that I haven't noticed.
repeating keys is chattering, normally have dust or the connection in the switch is bad. You can try use compressed air to blow it, hope to fix. Else, just replace the switch for peace of mind.

Your 'j" is intermittent, sometime due to the bad solder. Sometime works sometime don't.

You may see, at least 10 switches may need to replace or so based on your observation.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 21 2019, 07:08 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 21 2019, 06:59 PM)
just curious but how much is repair?  hmm.gif  e.g. faulty usb, possible electrical component issue.
Cost repair:
Switch Cost x Quantity + Resoldering service. Providing the razer switch is expensive, i think roughly, RM 30 for at least 10 switches replacement. If the switches provided, then RM 10+.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 24 2019, 03:21 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 24 2019, 03:10 PM)
The Corsair K63 Wireless Mechanical Keyboard

https://www.anandtech.com/show/14828/the-co...keyboard-review
I saw the official SRP is USD 79.99.
Good, now Corsair selling cheap single colored LED in RGB era. thumbup.gif
Well, still better than doing nothing wait die.
TSquovadis123
post Sep 24 2019, 03:38 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(yssia @ Sep 24 2019, 03:34 PM)
Where in Malaysia can i buy cherry mx black switch?
I got bunch of lubed Cherry MX Black (Harvested) switches.
How many do you need?
TSquovadis123
post Oct 2 2019, 05:13 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(franstormer @ Oct 1 2019, 08:47 PM)
Yeah, the art is stunning and I almost impulse buy it on the spot (luckily myr - sgd rate stopped me from doing that)
My current Leopold FC500R is almost 8 years old so I'm thinking of getting a new keyboard and pass my current one to my dad.
Looking at something between RM500-700 do you have anything in mind that I can check them out?
can either get custom kit to build, or push your leopold to become custom with new switch.
Either way, still can spend all the budget you have.
TSquovadis123
post Nov 20 2019, 05:15 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 20 2019, 04:34 PM)
Bought a Leopold FC750R out of impulse during 11.11 sales, was pretty cheap. But unfortunately, half the red keys came with the infamous "pinging" sound that Cherry is known for - meaning they weren't lubed properly.

Darn. Damn lazy to open every switch to lube.
Desolder all and redo all the lubing.
But, this pinging is related to their steel plate and spring, you can put some foam to reduce ping.
TSquovadis123
post Nov 20 2019, 05:22 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 20 2019, 05:18 PM)
You sure? The pinging is from the spring within the switches that resonates with the shaft no? There's already foam (not dense enough though) on the underside of all Leopold boards.
Leopold don't have good foam to begin with, there is none in between the pcb and plate.
You can view the photo i taken.. This 1 is leopold tkl, same kind of foam that you board.

TSquovadis123
post Nov 23 2019, 07:27 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Nov 23 2019, 01:27 AM)
for me, personally i feel like there's 3 states. After the "steady state" that you mentioned, the lubed effect will keep wearing off because the lubes were pushed to the sides. The stem will keep rubbing on the rails and push the lube to the top or bottom. Not to say it is totally gone, it will still be smoother than 0 lube, but it is definitely slowly wearing off, even after the weeks or months.

It was particularly obvious on my stabs. it just keeps getting louder and not as smooth.

Yes, Krytox ix supposed to be high grade lubricant meant for extreme conditions but i believed it was meant for closed condition and not open condition as how switches and stabs are .

Just my opinion based on my experience on 2 different boards, a gateron linear and a topre.
Yeah, it's really your opinion only. laugh.gif

Even cheaper lube like permatex, super lube have grace period 3 years in exposed condition before dissolved.
Anyone with lubing experience will tell you your lubing method or choice is wrong from the few points you mentioned and you twisted the facts that Krytox wearing off.
"lubed effect will keep wearing off because the lubes were pushed to the sides" - This showed you put excess grease into your switch / stab.
The foundation why we use grease is to fill gaps, while we use oil is for pure lubrication.
Grease is made of oil + thickeners, so, if the rails have small gaps, just use slight grease, or just use oil will do. The oil will stick on the wall act as permanent lube; it won't wearing off.

Anyway, early morning, lazy diu you, since you mentioned is your opinion and observation.
TSquovadis123
post Dec 19 2019, 01:32 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(KnightFox @ Dec 19 2019, 11:14 AM)
Hail All Sifus,

I seeking an quest on the possibilities on the existence of a Mech Keyboard TKL version that uses Cherry MX Green switch with Side Printed Keycaps. Been searching for such keyboard but it seems more like a myth and fiction rather than a reality.
Does any of the Sifus here encountered such product with available stock and does burst the wallet bubbles?

Regard,

Knight
I think OEM hardly have MX Green already. The last board that i know maybe have greens, is iKBC.
You should just go ahead with the custom, which you can choose your own parts and build.
TSquovadis123
post Dec 30 2019, 09:18 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Dec 30 2019, 01:23 AM)
summoning both heroes!
repair keyboard or keycaps?
TSquovadis123
post Dec 31 2019, 07:12 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Dec 30 2019, 10:49 PM)
Indeed, i also thought the same hopefully can find a caps that can replace it. here i attached an image of it hopefully only need the caps replacement.
Hi bos GRexer, this the image of the missing cap keyboard. its a gigabyte force k7 keyboard.

this keyboard key is harder to buy and very hard to find replacement. It's not mechanical keyboard, but it's scissors switch laptop keyboard.
TSquovadis123
post Feb 9 2020, 04:27 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 8 2020, 03:49 PM)
Wuhan outbreak is breaking the whole retail operation in cn so everything is expected to be delayed currently.

hopefully things are getting better over there. i really wanna try out the new enjoypbt double-shot abs cap sets asap hehe
China gov asked people stay at home. Shipping company stopped working now.
Port closed until end of Feb until new notice.
TSquovadis123
post Feb 21 2020, 07:34 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nders @ Feb 20 2020, 05:07 PM)
Anyone here tried/using/used Holy Pandas before? seems to be one of the endgame switches, wonder how it compares to bog-standard Cherry MX switches?
No end game. It's illusion that certain switch is bestest. It's just buying for new experience.

For Holy Panda (Invyr), and Yok panda (Halo switch + Yok Black mod) also tested before. The POM housing sound is crunchy when bottoming, sounds very nice. But, really up to preference.
If you like it, you like it.
If compare with Cherry MX switches like silent red, black, vintage black, then it's totally different experience. Cherry 1 is more silent, and muffled.
P.S: Both Cherry and Panda are lubed when i tested it.

Still regarding end game, you can end game with any board, any price, even sub RM 150, as long as you want to end game.
TSquovadis123
post Mar 29 2020, 10:56 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Emmanuel250 @ Mar 28 2020, 09:49 PM)

Have you guys heard of Rakk Lam-Ang Pro from Philippines?
Do you guys know how to obtain that board through parcel forwarding service? For now, you could only purchase through their website or Lazada PH, both which do not offer international shipping.

I also do know that it's a generic OEM board that could be found from Alibaba. I have also seen a Taobao seller that sells the same board under a different brand but it's more expensive than Rakk Lam-Ang Pro.

Can anyone help me?
Last time, we quoted before in the facebook group.
We will need it ship via PHPost to Malaysia, which is quite expensive. Only direct ship from PH.

Can you share the taobao seller link for the similar board but more expensive?
TSquovadis123
post Apr 8 2020, 08:18 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(ShadowFiendZXC @ Apr 8 2020, 07:15 AM)
im a big fan of 96 layout mkb, but not many choices. Those custom build models by China manufacturer are so much more expensive than ready build ones.
hi, do you know what is the closest gateron switches to cherry mx brown?

Using brother's cherry blue now, so heavy.
Gateron Brown. Gateron common switches are like Gateron White, Red, Yellow, Black, Brown, Blue and Green.

Gateron brown is similar like Cherry MX brown, but with a little lighter compared to Cherry Brown, but smoother.
TSquovadis123
post Apr 19 2020, 11:01 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Apr 19 2020, 08:46 PM)
Hi guys, is there any chance we can get Keychron keyboard locally ?

I am looking for a full sized keyboard, wireless, mechanical

Sent my Logitech G613 to RMA before MCO and not sure when it will be coming back  sad.gif
This board need to buy from their official website. Maybe sometime drop website have it.
Locally, no such distributor, because niche market.
If have, price will expensive.
Expensive than google exchange rate, local people don't want.
But, if sell cheap, people want it cheaper. laugh.gif

I last time sell keyboard in local, but margin too low and hard to sell, don't bother sell it.
RM 359 board (RM 339 cost, haven't include shipping from distri), customer want it cheaper because some seller sell it cheaper, but other seller no stocks. Very tough.

Anyway, good luck in your board hunting. biggrin.gif
TSquovadis123
post May 15 2020, 06:03 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ May 15 2020, 03:09 PM)
is there anyone here is willing to check/flash my ymdk96 pcb?
i bought hot swab pcb from aliexpress.
upon arrival, i`ve tested the key, it was okay but the left ctrl was mapped to CAPS LOck.

so decided to configure it using guide from YMDK

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1J3eNsGGvX5...QwSVgKu3MA/view

unfortunately, after flashing, all the keys is not registered. The RGB lighting is working btw.
i`ve done multiple reset but still the key still not functioning.. cry.gif
This pcb i flash before last year, so, just flash using ymd96. It's ideal case teaching to flash this board.
If not working, you can send to me to check.
Just that, we said "can" but you tried "can't", it's either we or you think it too simple. Maybe sometime have components or layout rosak, or even controller pins lift off.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1205sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:11 AM