ipod nano in washing machine

TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 03:37 PM, updated 19y ago

96 posts

i accidentally forgot to take my ipod nano out of my pocket when i put my pants to wash.. now it doesnt work any longer sad.gif

when i pug it into the computer, it just keeps showing the apple boot screen then restarts like very 2 seconds.

can i get it fixed or do u think my ipod is useless already.

btw... can i claim warranty by saying that it broke by itself?? my nano is slightly less than a year old.

damn sad man cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by satish87: May 8 2007, 03:41 PM
lawsh
post May 8 2007, 03:40 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

wow i thought so keng ipod nano can become washing machine
but it is around the same price for one tongue.gif
TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 03:42 PM

96 posts

woops...typo...hehe
cpk
post May 8 2007, 03:48 PM

81 posts

I like your title "Ipod nano is washing machine" thumbup.gif

Anyway you should make sure you ipod is completely dry first before you power on, Now i think the board already short circuit. good luck
TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 03:49 PM

96 posts

oh...aiyo...i let it dry since 8am today...

haiz...what an expensive mistake...
wei
post May 8 2007, 03:50 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Goodluck, you can try sending it back, normally they will honor the warranty claim and you get a working replacement.
TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 04:08 PM

96 posts

lets hope they do so.

the warranty is for one year right??

they can tell when i bought my ipod from the serial number on the back right?? coz i cant find the receipt
wei
post May 8 2007, 04:27 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

yes, they will use the serial number to varified the warranty.

you can also check it out at www.apple.com/support
tinkerbel
post May 8 2007, 06:04 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@satish87,
shocking.gif Your iPod Nano so dirty you had to give it a wash, with bonus tumble and spin dry too? *kEKekekek*

There's no harm taking it back for warranty claims but before you do that, please make sure the inside's completely dry - otherwise you'll have to come up with an excuse on the spot. If you can't get it 100% dried, then the little parts which are damp, u probably can get away with excuses such as, I got caught in the rain while I was out jogging, etc etc - just don't tell them it went through an entire full wash! Or, if u decide to, tell them AFTER u walk out with a brand new replacement *g* biggrin.gif

Good Luck and be more cautious next time round ya? nod.gif
waynelyp90
post May 8 2007, 06:36 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

Sometimes having a small gadget can be a small problem... tongue.gif I am now more careful now reading another careless case like this... But still, I read somewhere else that you will get your warranty honoured if the iPod is dry and you can say don't know what happened to it.

Anyway, if you came across a success, tell us here and we'll appreciate it. Thanks! notworthy.gif
TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 07:15 PM

96 posts

sigh... i just checked... my ipod no longer under warranty... aiyo.. time fly so fast.. i thought hvnt reach one year..

will try it again tmr to see if it works... hopefully it does..

or else i really dono what to do...
kwekeugene
post May 8 2007, 07:22 PM

1,479 posts

If you Google up, some iPods do work after completely running dry.

Since that your iPod's warranty is over, i suggest you take it apart so that it dries easier. Good luck tongue.gif !
TSsatish87
post May 8 2007, 07:33 PM

96 posts

yea.. i checked also..

hopefully it works...

but i am not gona open it.. maybe cause more problems since i hvnt got a clue how to open it.

haiz... if only i hvnt been so careless...
tinkerbel
post May 8 2007, 10:49 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@satish87,
Try to google and learn how to open it - the faster u can dry the iPod, the better it is for u. Also, don't switch anything on until it's completely dry - perhaps try using a hairdryer or something? Check how many days you'll need cause 1 night is definitely NOT gonna be sufficient.

Good Luck!
cafuheva
post May 8 2007, 11:03 PM

1,188 posts

say good bye to your ipod, my friend also had same sad sotory as you, and his ipod now RIP
TSsatish87
post May 9 2007, 06:46 PM

96 posts

YAY!!

MY IPOD IS ALIVE!!!

WHAHAH... just tested it... it still works..

so happy!! but got one problem... it keeps turning itself on automatically a few min after i off it. other than that got no other problem.. so i guess hv 2 charge it everyday.

tried reformatting it but still the same sad.gif
EmperorMeng
post May 9 2007, 06:51 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

wait it dry more, then should ok
mryellow19
post May 9 2007, 07:00 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

lolz...if still got problem maybe u can bring to apple centre and see whether can have anyway to solve it a not...maybe they will charge u a bit but at least can get it repaired...juz my 2 cents..hehe...
TSsatish87
post May 9 2007, 07:38 PM

96 posts

yea was planning to send it over to let them have a look..

cant OFF the ipod sad.gif hope if fixes itself
kwekeugene
post May 9 2007, 09:05 PM

1,479 posts

Will you just leave it alone for say a week before turning it on again. Let it DRY completely 1st if you don't want to fry any components....

0.0172sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:37 PM