Samsung Samsung Galaxy S9/S9+ Discussion Thread V1

audiocool
post Mar 2 2018, 05:07 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Mar 2 2018, 04:57 PM)
wow, official Samsung preorder already got some out of stock. the demand is slowly picking up but surely slower than what S7E and S8 had achieved last time. with no discount means no scalper this time which is good and reflects the true picture of the local market.

Yea, I still remember during S7Edge pre-order time, it sold out within 30 minutes. Then it come with another 2nd round of pre-order with less discount and lower capacity of memory card.
pluginbaby
post Mar 2 2018, 05:07 PM

2,661 posts

wow, official Samsung preorder already got some out of stock. the demand is slowly picking up but surely slower than what S7E and S8 had achieved last time. with no discount means no scalper this time which is good and reflects the true picture of the local market.
last time got scalper eh? they hoard the free gifts? I think a lot of ppl jumped on board of the S8 and Note8 bandwagon leaving not much ppl left in desperate needs to upgrade this time. Maybe even samsung didnt forecast much initial local units given by global response upon S9's announcement. S8 and Note8 was just too powderful and still relevant for today's standard.
advgamer
post Mar 2 2018, 05:09 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Mar 2 2018, 05:03 PM)
I don't know you guys. But I always choose accroding to the following.

i) 4 GB RAM must be with 64 GB UFS.
ii) 6 GB RAM must be with 128 GB UFS.
iii) 8 GB RAM must be with 256 GB UFS.

more storage means store more apps and data means more multitasking more RAM needed. also, most importantly, the internal storage is much faster than any SD card on the market right now.

It is like buying a ultrabook or surface tablet. as normally they come in the following package.

i) 4 GB RAM 128 GB SSD
ii) 8 GB RAM 256 GB SSD
ii) 16 GB RAM 512 GB SSD

my current 32GB N3 with 32GB memory card still have 50% storage available.
so i think 64G internal is enough for me la. some more not yet add memory card.
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 2 2018, 05:10 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Mar 2 2018, 05:05 PM)
That is what I thought too. Nowadays, most of us stream videos from the internet instead of storing it in the phone to watch.

Plus you get flexibility with SD cards. Can use it for the next phone.
Exactly , in case your phone spoiled eject your sd card data are saved .

My internal consume most space is due to WhatsApp due to photos and videos

This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Mar 2 2018, 05:14 PM
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 2 2018, 05:13 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Mar 2 2018, 05:03 PM)
I don't know you guys. But I always choose accroding to the following.

i) 4 GB RAM must be with 64 GB UFS.
ii) 6 GB RAM must be with 128 GB UFS.
iii) 8 GB RAM must be with 256 GB UFS.

more storage means store more apps and data means more multitasking more RAM needed. also, most importantly, the internal storage is much faster than any SD card on the market right now.

It is like buying a ultrabook or surface tablet. as normally they come in the following package.

i) 4 GB RAM 128 GB SSD
ii) 8 GB RAM 256 GB SSD
ii) 16 GB RAM 512 GB SSD

Then isn't it 6gb ram = 64gb better higher ram than storage.
mafioso
post Mar 2 2018, 05:18 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 2 2018, 05:10 PM)
Exactly , in case your phone  spoiled eject your sd card data are saved .

My internal consume most space is due to WhatsApp due to photos and videos
Nice tool there

Is it a 3rd party software?
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 2 2018, 05:18 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 2 2018, 05:18 PM)
Nice tool there

Is it a 3rd party software?
Find at play store sdmaid
attw
post Mar 2 2018, 05:29 PM

32,468 posts

No discounts but additional stuffs with Citibank Visa via SenQ /Senheng

T&C:
1. Offer valid from 1st – 4th March 2018 with payment using Citibank Visa card issued in Malaysia only.
2. All pre-orders to be made in-stores or online from participating merchants’ websites (Senheng or SenQ only), will be entitled to reward gifts – Harman Kardon Onyx Mini worth RM699, 1 year extended warranty and Samsung 32GB MicroSD card.
3. Eligible Citibank cardmember required to sign up for Senheng Plus One loyalty program to get 1 year extended warranty.
4.Pre-order units are capped at 499 units, available on a first come, first-served basis.
5. Reward gifts are only given to customers upon full payment of the device during collection period at Senheng or SenQ stores. Device collection period will be as advised by the merchant.
6. Offer is not valid with any other ongoing promotions (unless stated otherwise).
7. Citibank is only an issuer of credit cards and not an agent of the participating merchants, Senheng Sdn Bhd and their subsidiaries or affiliates. To the fullest extend permitted by law, Citibank expressly excludes and disclaim any representation, warranties or endorsements including but not limited to, quality, merchantability or fitness for any purposes or correctness of any description or specification in respect of any product featured in this material and Citibank shall not liable for any injury, loss, damages suffered from use of any products featured in this material. Products queries or issues shall be addressed directly with the merchant, supplier or manufacturer.
yeewensmc
post Mar 2 2018, 05:32 PM

135 posts

I've placed the pre-order for the phone, am I eligible for the trade in during the new device collection?

Cause just ended a live chat with Samsung expert on their website, they told me is either or. How come in the previous post some Samsung live chat say can, my Samsung expert says otherwise.

Did anyone get any confirmation?

This post has been edited by yeewensmc: Mar 2 2018, 05:52 PM
TOMEI-R
post Mar 2 2018, 05:53 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 2 2018, 04:57 PM)
Actually 64gb internal is more than enough. Even my s8 and note 8 haven't reach limit still got 20gb++ spare.

Better you spend rm200 on 128gb sd card.

Note 8

[attachmentid=9629136]

S8+
[attachmentid=9629159]
I would think otherwise. With the Rm200, it would be wiser to get the 128Gb instead. Nowadays, you can install apps on your SD card it would be better to have a larger internal storage. Like mentioned, android developers and phone manufacturers are slowly doing away with sd cards.
mac94
post Mar 2 2018, 05:53 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 2 2018, 05:29 PM)

T&C:
1. Offer valid from 1st – 4th March 2018 with payment using  Citibank Visa card issued in Malaysia only.
2. All pre-orders to be made in-stores or online from participating merchants’ websites (Senheng or SenQ only), will be entitled to reward gifts – Harman Kardon Onyx Mini worth RM699, 1 year extended warranty and Samsung 32GB MicroSD card.
3. Eligible Citibank cardmember required to sign up for Senheng Plus One loyalty program to get 1 year extended warranty.
4.Pre-order units are capped at 499 units, available on a first come, first-served basis.
5. Reward gifts are only given to customers upon full payment of the device during collection period at Senheng or SenQ stores. Device collection period will be as advised by the merchant.
6. Offer is not valid with any other ongoing promotions (unless stated otherwise).
7. Citibank is only an issuer of credit cards and not an agent of the participating merchants, Senheng Sdn Bhd and their subsidiaries or affiliates. To the fullest extend permitted by law, Citibank expressly excludes and disclaim any representation, warranties or endorsements including but not limited to, quality, merchantability or fitness for any purposes or correctness of any description or specification in respect of any product featured in this material and Citibank shall not liable for any injury, loss, damages suffered from use of any products featured in this material. Products queries or issues shall be addressed directly with the merchant, supplier or manufacturer.
just extra micro sd .... meh
some more 4.Pre-order units are capped at 499 units, available on a first come, first-served basis. doh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 2 2018, 05:55 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 2 2018, 05:29 PM)

T&C:
1. Offer valid from 1st – 4th March 2018 with payment using  Citibank Visa card issued in Malaysia only.
Wow... good deal. But buying through Sen-Q and Seng Heng no discount leh. tongue.gif laugh.gif

#kiasushit
miyakochan89
post Mar 2 2018, 05:56 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(audiocool @ Mar 2 2018, 05:07 PM)
Yea, I still remember during S7Edge pre-order time, it sold out within 30 minutes. Then it come with another 2nd round of pre-order with less discount and lower capacity of memory card.
Cause there's nothing new in this S9, not much of an upgrade from S8 apart from some improvements. The design is still the almost similar. Until they come out with some groundbreaking designs and changes to the device, which I have a feeling they are saving it for the X, then perhaps we will start seeing not enough stocks problems by then. haha!
TOMEI-R
post Mar 2 2018, 05:58 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 2 2018, 05:56 PM)
Cause there's nothing new in this S9, not much of an upgrade from S8 apart from some improvements. The design is still the almost similar. Until they come out with some groundbreaking designs and changes to the device, which I have a feeling they are saving it for the X, then perhaps we will start seeing not enough stocks problems by then. haha!
To be fair, its hard to improve on an already great product. So improvements will trickle in, though slowly and marginally. If you are upgrading from older models such as the Note 3, S4, S5s like many of those here, then there would be huge improvements. I personally dont see a point of upgrading if you are already on the S8/S8+.
attw
post Mar 2 2018, 05:59 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 2 2018, 05:55 PM)
Wow... good deal. But buying through Sen-Q and Seng Heng no discount leh.  tongue.gif  laugh.gif

#kiasushit
QUOTE(mac94 @ Mar 2 2018, 05:53 PM)
just extra micro sd .... meh
some more 4.Pre-order units are capped at 499 units, available on a first come, first-served basis. doh.gif
Ok lah tu, one year additional warranty also ma... Can’t have it all smile.gif

That said, anyone keen to buy via Qoo10 today can PM me. Have a RM400 coupon to give away - first come, first serve. Cheerios! - Coupon successfully given away

This post has been edited by attw: Mar 2 2018, 06:55 PM
mac94
post Mar 2 2018, 06:01 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 2 2018, 05:59 PM)
Ok lah tu, one year additional warranty also ma... Can’t have it all smile.gif
without citibank card , senq's member still will get extra warranty from senq
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 2 2018, 06:01 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 2 2018, 05:53 PM)
I would think otherwise. With the Rm200, it would be wiser to get the 128Gb instead. Nowadays, you can install apps on your SD card it would be better to have a larger internal storage. Like mentioned, android developers and phone manufacturers are slowly doing away with sd cards.
not really. Frequent use apps you put in internal storage, hardly or seldom use you put at storage card. Expansion storage would never go away it would only get bigger. The sd card you can use on the next phone or to access via card reader if needed. From what i see nearly all android phones todate still have memory card expansion.

Just me i prefer bigger memory card than internal memory.

This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Mar 2 2018, 06:02 PM
SUSipohps3
post Mar 2 2018, 06:29 PM

1,974 posts

Surely but slowly. This time is the screen. Displaymate said S9 has the best screen
https://www.macrumors.com/2018/03/01/samsun...ne-display/amp/
eetony
post Mar 2 2018, 07:36 PM

445 posts

S9 is S8s as if iphone 5 to 5s, 6 - 6s, 7 - 8 ... is less than a year cycle too, wonder how huge diff, improvement & upgrade ppl r expecting from many android site comments. tho iphone fans would change every year
Radec
post Mar 2 2018, 07:55 PM

898 posts

Any demo units yet here in KL?

205 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0381sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:36 AM