205 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy S9/S9+ Discussion Thread V1

leekaq
post Mar 6 2018, 01:20 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 6 2018, 09:38 AM)
which samsung store got the demo unit oledi?
i am in saigon anyway...many stores already have samples to play around...vietnam only has 64G version on pre order...16 days wait to get the phone....price is at least 10% more expensive here...GST 10%..

Max2006
post Mar 6 2018, 01:22 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Mar 6 2018, 01:10 PM)
Future updates to S9 might change this depending on user reception once the device is out in masses to consumer. Too early to conclude right now but Anandtech's initial test of S9+ exynos version did hinted that samsung did something to match performance of the exynos variant with the snapdragon one. He also stated that sammy representative said the units at MWC isnt optimized yet (production unit might be lower clocked or use a diff cpu/gpu scheduler?? maybe)
Hopefully that's the case. Actually I don't worry about the battery life on Samsung phones. As long as you know how to tinker with the settings, you could get a lot better on the battery juice. It's just that I feel a little bit disappointed because I always thought new proccssor chip = better efficiency = better battery life. Anyway, this test is still a good reference for the future owners especially those who upgraded from S8 series, so that they would know what's coming up for them when they receive the phone. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 6 2018, 01:23 PM
youngy
post Mar 6 2018, 01:32 PM

389 posts

Wonder if I should go for S9+?

Note 5 now having battery problem and cannot connect to GPS.

Will I miss the S pen function? rclxub.gif
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 6 2018, 01:34 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Mar 6 2018, 01:32 PM)
Wonder if I should go for S9+?

Note 5 now having battery problem and cannot connect to GPS.

Will I miss the S pen function?  rclxub.gif
I got my s8+ last year immediately regret no spen. That why I also bought my note 8 last year so I am skipping s9 wait the goodies go to note 9
youngy
post Mar 6 2018, 01:43 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 6 2018, 02:34 PM)
I got my s8+ last year immediately regret no spen. That why I also bought my note 8 last year so I am skipping s9 wait the goodies go to note 9
S pen is a great feature to have even though I don't often using it now because the clicking part has came off. LOL

Dropped my phone quite alot. tongue.gif
TOMEI-R
post Mar 6 2018, 01:44 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Mar 6 2018, 01:22 PM)
Hopefully that's the case. Actually I don't worry about the battery life on Samsung phones. As long as you know how to tinker with the settings, you could get a lot better on the battery juice. It's just that I feel a little bit disappointed because I always thought new proccssor chip = better efficiency = better battery life. Anyway, this test is still a good reference for the future owners especially those who upgraded from S8 series, so that they would know what's coming up for them when they receive the phone. biggrin.gif
Technically you are right. But the thing with Samsung phones is their TW fw, and how heavily laced it is with Samsung features...urm bloatware. Compared to previous TW, it doesn't lag anymore but battery drain is still as bad. If you want Samsung phones, that is the issue that you have to give and take on. But looking on the bright side, TW looks better and have more features to make you user experience better compared to stock vanilla android.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Mar 6 2018, 01:44 PM
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 6 2018, 01:46 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Mar 6 2018, 01:43 PM)
S pen is a great feature to have even though I don't often using it now because the clicking part has came off. LOL

Dropped my phone quite alot.  tongue.gif
Yes it's great when you wanna write Noted, sketch on photos and even right essay. Drop often screen no crack?
pluginbaby
post Mar 6 2018, 01:49 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Mar 6 2018, 01:22 PM)
Better efficiency is true but that doesn't directly translate to longer usage time or longer screen on time.

Example below:
Chip 1 (old architecture design) is running straight at constant 2Ghz = screen on time could translate to around 4hours
Chip 2 (new architecture and more optimized running at constant 2.5Ghz = screen on time could translate to around 4hours

Both devices using the above example mentioned have the same battery life (for SOT) but Chip 2 is more optimized. If Chip 1 need to run at 2.5Ghz to meet Chip2's processing ability, then it might get only 3.5hours of battery life.

Every new gen demands higher processing ability due to more features, more required computation (even for camera to do HDR or white balance or denoise) and better cpu/gpu processing which translate to smoother and faster UI transitions.

The way to increase battery life that you expect here is bumping battery capacity but that will diminish the premium solid looking device that is for 2018's standard here and weight as well.
Max2006
post Mar 6 2018, 01:57 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 6 2018, 01:44 PM)
Technically you are right. But the thing with Samsung phones is their TW fw, and how heavily laced it is with Samsung features...urm bloatware. Compared to previous TW, it doesn't lag anymore but battery drain is still as bad. If you want Samsung phones, that is the issue that you have to give and take on. But looking on the bright side, TW looks better and have more features to make you user experience better compared to stock vanilla android.
Agreed. nod.gif

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Mar 6 2018, 01:49 PM)
Better efficiency is true but that doesn't directly translate to longer usage time or longer screen on time.

Example below:
Chip 1 (old architecture design) is running straight at constant 2Ghz = screen on time could translate to around 4hours
Chip 2 (new architecture and more optimized running at constant 2.5Ghz = screen on time could translate to around 4hours

Both devices using the above example mentioned have the same battery life (for SOT) but Chip 2 is more optimized. If Chip 1 need to run at 2.5Ghz to meet Chip2's processing ability, then it might get only 3.5hours of battery life.

Every new gen demands higher processing ability due to more features, more required computation (even for camera to do HDR or white balance or denoise) and better cpu/gpu processing which translate to smoother and faster UI transitions.

The way to increase battery life that you expect here is bumping battery capacity but that will diminish the premium solid looking device that is for 2018's standard here and weight as well.
This is a new knowledge for me. Thanks mate. I learned a new thing today. notworthy.gif

yujin86
post Mar 6 2018, 01:58 PM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Mar 6 2018, 01:49 PM)

Example below:

for me as long as last more longer than iphone then ok liao haha
youngy
post Mar 6 2018, 02:15 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 6 2018, 02:46 PM)
Yes it's great when you wanna write Noted, sketch on photos and even right essay. Drop often screen no crack?
Haha... don't worry... got military grade casing for my note 5. Just that the S pen area is a little expose. Hence, it broke the S pen.

My partner bought S7 Edge cuz at that time, Note 7 got battery overheating problem. Once Note 8 releases and got no problem with the battery, she terus changed back to Note 8. LOL

The power of S pen. I scare I'll do the same as well if I go for S9+. brows.gif
Gohan-kun
post Mar 6 2018, 02:26 PM

15 posts

Hi fellow S9/S9+ kaki ~

Any clue where can I find demo set now at Klang Valley ?
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 6 2018, 02:27 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Mar 6 2018, 02:15 PM)
Haha... don't worry... got military grade casing for my note 5. Just that the S pen area is a little expose. Hence, it broke the S pen.

My partner bought S7 Edge cuz at that time, Note 7 got battery overheating problem. Once Note 8 releases and got no problem with the battery, she terus changed back to Note 8. LOL

The power of S pen. I scare I'll do the same as well if I go for S9+.  brows.gif
But if you ask me from a note series fan. Wait for the next note. You will get the s9 goodies + note benefits.

This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Mar 6 2018, 02:30 PM
cskean
post Mar 6 2018, 02:29 PM

2,551 posts

Guys, any screen protector / tempered glass recommended for S9+?

Pls share the link to purchase as well, thanks ya~

youngy
post Mar 6 2018, 02:34 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 6 2018, 03:27 PM)
But if you ask me from a note series fan. Wait for the next note. You will get the s9 goodies + note benefits.
Guess I gotta tie my hand at my back and wait for Note 9. cry.gif
StarPrimo
post Mar 6 2018, 02:39 PM

1,845 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 6 2018, 02:27 PM)
QUOTE(youngy @ Mar 6 2018, 02:34 PM)
Guess I gotta tie my hand at my back and wait for Note 9. cry.gif
Wait for Note9 .

ejump82
post Mar 6 2018, 02:43 PM

684 posts

is it worth to buy samsung protection plus?
spoon2272
post Mar 6 2018, 03:01 PM

1,117 posts

Anyone interested with S9+ Midnight Black 64GB?I want to sell for RM3600 only together with Ringke Fusion case.My set is 2nd batch and will delivered 16th onwards.Reason for sale i want to buy Note 8 smile.gif
Theoutspokenguy
post Mar 6 2018, 03:01 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(spoon2272 @ Mar 6 2018, 03:01 PM)
Anyone interested with S9+ Midnight Black 64GB?I want to sell for RM3600 only together with Ringke Fusion case.My set is 2nd batch and will delivered 16th onwards.Reason for sale i want to buy Note 8  smile.gif
If I can find someone to buy my s8+, I am in for it.
blurjoey
post Mar 6 2018, 03:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 6 2018, 03:01 PM)
If I can find someone to buy my s8+, I am in for it.
If from Samsung can go trade in for rm1,700

http://www.samsung.com/my/offer/s9-mobile-tradeup/

205 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:06 PM