~^ Silky Terrier ^~

ck_spaceboy
post Oct 5 2008, 10:03 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

Anyone going to the Malaysia Responsible Dog Ownership Day 2008 to be organized by PUPPY.com.my held on this October 19, 2008 at Central Park, Bandar Utama?? The event's starting at 8.30am till 2pm.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Here's the link:

Puppy.Com MRDO Day 2008

Why dun we all go together and make that place packed with Silkies !!! Haha biggrin.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 5 2008, 10:47 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

ya it is..just front of OneU...very nice park with lakes..
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 7 2008, 11:08 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 6 2008, 10:45 PM)
Any of you know any shih tzu or MS breeder or not? Planning to get either one. Is for my younger brother.  laugh.gif

Please help to spread the vibe news, thanks. lulz!

- Shih Tzu female, tri colour or white + brown.

- Miniature Schaunzer female, salt & pepper.

zeist,

I'll try to ask around my friends..either shih tzu or schnauzer rite?
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 9 2008, 09:41 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 7 2008, 02:29 PM)
Yea. If possible, let me know the price for with and without MKA. I'm looking for newly born pup (8 weeks old), Thanks.
zeist,

i just spoke to one of my breeder fren..he got a male & female shih tzu left with MKA cert..champion line de. Selling rm1200.. sweat.gif Not sure if u'r interested..unless u wanna go competition..hehe blush.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 9 2008, 10:36 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 9 2008, 10:22 PM)
Too expensive. I found 2 different breeders, only RM800 each with MKA.

But now currently searching for MS, do you know any MS breeders? Prefer experienced with more than 20+ years, not some tom, d*** and harry breeder.
great to here tat..MS breeders ar..i try help to ask around ya nod.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 11 2008, 04:59 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(conangirl @ Oct 11 2008, 03:45 PM)
!!!Mika's 1st Birthday Party!!!
Date: 8th November 2008 (actual date 4th November 2008)
Venue: NZX, FLUFF PET STORE
Time: 1pm (just nice to lunch for the owner, hehe)

***RULES***
PICK YOUR OWN DOG POO and CLEAN YOUR OWN DOG PEE
KEEP CLEAN FOR THE PLACE
TAKE CARE OF YOUR OWN BELONGINGS AND YOUR DOGGY/IES TOO, IT'S PEOPLE'S SHOP, DON'T MESS UP THE PLACE...

Please PM me for attendance record. Need to prepare enough food for the doggy/ies owner...

Attendance's List:
Sharon and David (Mika & Kenji)
Birthday party??!! Yeah rclxms.gif I feel like coming too...can I? Then we packed the shop wit silkies..haha. Btw, I've heard of Fluff for quite some time, but NZX is reali far frm whr im staying..wad's so special bout tis pet shop? hmm.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 11 2008, 05:19 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

oh..ok..the Maltese King? haha..I'd reali love to join, but perhaps I can only confirm with you end of this month as I travel a lot and I cant really fix my schedule...

Does Fluff sell a lot of pet stuff as well? Whn Im free I reali like to check the shop out..
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 11 2008, 05:45 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

definitely! smile.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 12 2008, 09:49 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(conangirl @ Oct 12 2008, 09:24 PM)
then Mika's parent must be in silver color cause she fade very fast...when i first bought her home, her head already turn silver...like "ah po"...

then muchan i exclude you de la...
nt like ah poh la..more like a blondie..haha biggrin.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 13 2008, 10:23 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Oct 13 2008, 08:50 PM)
woohoo Germaine finally know how to roll over laugh.gif laugh.gif

happy sial rclxm9.gif
come share wit us how to u teach Germaine 2 roll over..video video !! tongue.gif
I wanna train my stubborn lil April too... vmad.gif sweat.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 14 2008, 12:21 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

ya..want to knw how long it takes ur Max to grow all the hair?
ck_spaceboy
post Oct 28 2008, 09:43 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 25 2008, 11:52 AM)
try mix wet food wif dry food, then slowly take away the wet food meal by meal.
If still cannot, then starve him, after 3-5 days, might work................
wahlao..dun starve the dog ler, pity... luckily my silky eat both wet and dry food..mayb can try to mix both 2gether?
ck_spaceboy
post Mar 31 2009, 10:20 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(cHiLizKy @ Mar 31 2009, 12:31 PM)
Hey there everybody!

I'm a newbie to this thread.

I own a pure breed australian silky terrier (claimed by the pet shop i bought from) and he will be turning 2 this coming july. However, as i was reading through this thread, I see alot of silkies have turned white! While mine has just partial gray and black hair. Are silkies supposed to turn white?

Well, I have alot "impatient" moments with him such as him peeing in the house (lifting his leg and spray on corners of the house and even in his cage) and jumps while scratching my legs along the way. I did send him for uhh...i think 5 session of obedience classes when he turned about 1 year old but that doesnt seem to be working.

My parents always put him in the crate because we didnt want him to pee in the house. He yelps and barks alot everytime he sees me or as I just came back from work. So I had to sacrifice my tv time just to hide from him (his crate is literally next to the tv) and i felt so bad when he gave me those pitiful eyes that expresses "get me out from this crate".

Whenever i let him out from the crate, he again will find spots to pee and i strictly told him NO but he will just ignore me and find another spot. yeah he is not house broken and i just dont know how to discipline him anymore. Please help?
hi there,
if you google for silky terriers, there's actually a variety of colour combination. Not all silkies turns white, and you can see that by going through pictures of the silkies that are posted in this thread. Whatever colour your dog is or whether they're pure breed or not, they should all be treated with equal love. blush.gif

from my experience, its quite hard to train your dog when he's 1 year old. Usually its a lot easier to start when they're 2~3 months of age, although i'm not saying its not possible, but needs a lot more patience and time. Maybe you should make sure you take him to the newspaper or outside whenever you see that he's sniffing around or showing signs of wanting to pee. If accident happens, show to him that you are very angry and disappointed, and never wipe his pee in front of him. This might take months before he understands that he shouldn't pee or poo in the house.

If all fails, what one of my friend did is to take his dogs outside the house every 4 hours for them to pee and poo. This way is much easier, as you have fixed a schedule for them to ease themselves. Besides, all dogs will love to go outside the house.

One more thing, please try not to cage your dogs. It really feels cruel and unfair to them. If you really have to, fencing is a lot more better than caging. blush.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Apr 6 2009, 11:29 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(cHiLizKy @ Apr 6 2009, 11:00 AM)
well what happened was that when my silky was about 6 months old, the dog trainer told me that my silky is too young to be trained and they wont understand when you meant business. This is my first time having a pet and I really didnt know what to do  blush.gif

Well nobody would be at home thats why we had to cage him. I felt really sorry for him too.
wahlaoeh...what kind of a dog trainer is that? I start training my silky when I got her at 2 months old. The younger he/she is, the easier it is to train before the bad behaviours turn into habits.

so basically your silky is alone at home everyday, and you only accompany him at night? that must be really boring for him. Maybe you can consider getting another one to keep him company.. laugh.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Apr 6 2009, 11:55 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(cHiLizKy @ Apr 6 2009, 11:40 AM)
well yeah haha. the trainer was recommended to me by an un-close friend on mine who is a breeder and she gave me a contact (the trainer), telling me that he is really good and he train all her dogs. So i kinda became her follower but super blindly and my silky isnt really that obedient after the training. He told me rm300 including obedience training and house-breaking. My silky was house broken at all and is slightly obedient.

My silky likes to jump and that irritates me alot. Even after a stern NO, he still jumps and his paws are up in the air like wanna attack me! Yeah, I know he just wants to play and yeah he is dang bored. My parents are wouldnt want another pet in the house and they told me 1 is enough.

I wanna bring my silky to some places where I can get him to socialize and training for him. Help?
go to www.puppy.com.my. They offer very affordable and effective dog trainings and socialization sessions.
ck_spaceboy
post May 4 2009, 04:56 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 4 2009, 02:31 PM)
Belle is up for adoption again, please checkout the adoption thread.
Nice silky, but why are you charging RM400 if you wanted someone to ADOPT your dog? Correct me if i'm wrong, but it kinda show that you as her current owner, is not willing to spend the money on her, and now you wanted the new owner to compensate for your losses/investment on Belle.

No offense, but this is what I can see from your post.

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: May 4 2009, 04:57 PM
ck_spaceboy
post May 4 2009, 05:31 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 4 2009, 05:11 PM)
Yes u r right. I'm kinda feel that the new owner should at least bear part of the cost. It's a small amount of adoption fee compared to what I've paid. Don't forget, I'm giving a new cage as well, so is that too much to ask? I just feel that people will not appreciate much if what they get is free. So should I put dog for sell then?  hmm.gif
Well, if you're not willing to spend the money on her, then perhaps you should not have adopted her from the previous owner in the first place. Whether they are bought, or found, or adopted, dogs are meant to be companions for life.

For example, if you're selling off a car, you won't charge the new owner all the expenses that you have invested, rite? (eg. car washes, change tires, change oil etc.) I believe this is not the right attitude.

I feel that money should not be your main concern here, instead you should be putting priority into ensuring that Belle's future owner is a responsible and dog-caring person. You should ensure that he/she will not adopt Belle for the fun or the trend of it, then send her off to another home when they're bored with it, or found out they don't have the time for them (which is one of the most common excuses used).
ck_spaceboy
post May 5 2009, 01:42 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 4 2009, 08:43 PM)
I think is normal for people to ask for part of the medical expenses as to show the sincerity of the adoption. Even if u go to SPCA or PAWS, they will ask u for the adoption & spaying fees. So does that mean that they are money minded too? Make it clear, we are not selling Belle, if we are she can fetch a much higher price in the market, judging by her lineage. 

I have adopted Belle when the real owner decided not to keep her. The owner decided not to screen the future owners but to just dispose the dog to whoever want her, even to puppy millers. We have a period of time for Belle and us to get along with each other. I think we have did our part at least to buy her some time so that Belle can get a better owner . Furthermore we decided to spay her with the consent of the owner. When Belle first arrived, she was in bad condition and we did our best to upkeep her to good condition as of now. The real owner mentioned that he will get the dog back if we cannot get along. But the thing is, we have tried our best to adapt ourself with her. We have called the real owner but he wouldnt want to take up the responsibility anymore. So we felt that in this case, what we can do is that to find her a good home with a person who can fully 100% concentrate on her.

By the way, why are we explaining to you? Why are we debating the issue when there is not? If u feel that u r unhappy about it I think u can keep it to urself. If u think u r so generous, why don't u help us screen some good people to adopt her? Rather than keep on bashing us with ur generous thoughts and making the chance for her to get a better home slimmer? Let us stop debating and help find a better home for her, I might change my mind about the adoption / medical fees.
I am purely speaking my thoughts, and I think everyone is free to sound their opinions since this is a forum. I do understand SPCA charges a certain amount for adoption, but that's because they are an Association and they need funding to continue their operations to protect animals. I think it is a totally different case.

I am glad to hear that you are taking good care of Belle, and judging by your photos, she does look happy and healthy. I really hoped Belle can stay under your care if possible. I just wanted to make it clear that I am just sounding my opinions, and by no means to offense you. If in any way you felt that I am stopping Belle from getting a better home, then I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding. Although, I still stand on my ground that the way you're charging a certain "adoption fee" is questionable. I just really felt that it is very inappropriate.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0406sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:46 PM