Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v6

Max2006
post Apr 5 2018, 11:21 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 5 2018, 07:55 AM)
yes this is stupid man.. i don like 3rd party launcher because i wan the phone to remain stock. make me more fedup with samsung again.. give android chance but they do such stupid move.
It's not that I am standing on Samsung side. But FYI you are blaming the wrong person. This one is Google Android's fault, there's nothing Samsung could do about it.

QUOTE(gjoey @ Apr 5 2018, 09:49 AM)
But problem when open WhatsApp app, the badge notification will reset back even without you read the messages, is still there. Once new message comes in, then the counter will count back unread messages.
Ya. That's the main issue the people talking about in these few days. And sadly to say there's no way to fix this as it's one of the features from Oreo.

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Apr 5 2018, 08:58 AM)
That bad huh Bro. Looks like time for battery calibration. Btw, do you think Samsung will release Oreo 8.1 for us, the Note 8 users? Seems like they did quite a few bug fixes and other changes in 8.1.
It won't. Samsung will only go for the latest Android version on the time when they release latest phone. For example, S8 came with 7.0, Note 8 came with 7.1.1, S9 came with 8.0, Note 9 will come with 8.1.

8.1 for Note 8? The chance is very slim. Most likely we will be jumping straight to 9.0 when they release the Android P next year. In other words, if you want to use Samsung phone with 8.1 version, you need to buy Note 9.

That's how Samsung works in their Android release system.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Apr 5 2018, 11:33 AM
Max2006
post Apr 5 2018, 01:42 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 5 2018, 01:34 PM)
Got another problem on oreo.

Got ghost notifications

WhatsApp new messages just vibrate when it comes despite not on silent or vibrate mode

After restart phone then ok sweat.gif

The app i also put it in Unmonitored apps so whatsapp is always active

Anyone encountered this on oreo?

Mine is a fresh install
Mine one sometimes got notification sound sometimes no. This bug already existed since Nougat, so already get used to this. LOL.
Max2006
post Apr 7 2018, 08:49 PM

4,099 posts

For you guys who encountered some werid bugs or errors, seriously, do consider to factory reset the phone and start from scratch. I know the procedure may be troublesome for certain group of people. But this is the ultimate solution to eliminate all the possible glitches and errors after big update. I always practise this since the first day I use Android phones, and none of them giving me issues after the reset.

My sincerely 2 cents.
Max2006
post Apr 7 2018, 08:53 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 7 2018, 04:49 PM)
Could be due to your charging style ??
Don't think you can do anything with it
My 2 months old unit shows 3370 mAH (102%). Phone is charged daily , at times twice a day. Overnight charging ( through power bank)  is common too

[attachmentid=9715104]
Honestly, I don't trust this analysis data. I got my Note 8 since launching day. Checked the battery capacity, it showed 2991 mAh. Kind of shocking. But after six months now, the capacity is still the same. Not to mention that my battery life is kind of solid and always give me 7-8 hours SOT.

So my verdict, the result of that analysis is not true.
Max2006
post Apr 8 2018, 09:28 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(TehWateva @ Apr 8 2018, 08:06 PM)
Just updated my phone to Oreo, after every thing is updated I get the message saying my Samsung account session is expired.

So I try relog in and it said my account is blocked. Called the help line and first they asked me to boot into safe mode and try again.

Didn't work. Then called the hotline again and now he asked me to bring into Service center to have it looked at and fixed
Samsung account would get expired? Wow. first time hearing this. Anyway, if the helpline couldn't help you online and they did suggest you to go to SC, then most likely it means they will reinstall the OS. Suggest you to back up your phone before proceed.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2018, 08:15 PM)
My battery also feel abit unstable, sometime can tahan sometime drop like waterfall haha ,
Could be the new OS still not yet stabilized. The system could be still learning your usage. Give it few more days to settle.
Max2006
post Apr 14 2018, 11:10 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Apr 14 2018, 10:22 AM)
This morning I went out for breakfast without s pen. Forgot to put it back in, but there was no alarm or warning. Haha.
Most likely you forgot to switch on the alarm la.
Max2006
post Apr 17 2018, 11:29 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Apr 17 2018, 10:53 AM)
hi guys, i have a funny question.

That day went to a random samsung shop and tried their s8, s8+ and note 8.

Their brightness and sharpness of the screen is so good and sharp.

When holding my note 8 and the shop note 8 side by side, their screen is much more sharper and color is much crisp than my note 8.

I check their settings, they are using adpative display and FHD screen resolution.

Which is this happening?

my screen seem inferior compared to theirs although it is the same phone.
It's amoled screen characteristic. FYI, every piece of amoled screen do not have the same color tone. Some are brighter, some are dimmer, some are cooler, some are warmer. It's not inferior or defect. In short, it's depend on luck whether you could get the better amoled screen.

My advice, don't compare your phone with the others especially those demo units in store.
Max2006
post Apr 24 2018, 11:26 PM

4,099 posts

Well, sorry to rain on your parade guys. But let's be realistic, we won't get 8.1 anytime soon. Samsung will only give 8.1 to note 9 since its the next big thing they are focusing right now. The best we can hope for is to ask Samsung to release the patch to fix the bugs. But again the chance is slim. Can't help with it. That's the way of how samsung treat their older devices. Already get used to this since I used Samsung phones few years ago.
Max2006
post May 4 2018, 11:08 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(leewh23 @ May 4 2018, 09:53 AM)
i have the same issue before, did you try to enable the special access?
Setting-> APPS -> 3Dot Menu-> Special Access -> Notification Access -> Turn on for Samsung Experience Home if it is disable
This is it. Samsung experience home is the crucial part for the notification process. Users should not stop or disable it.. Also, must turn on the notification access.

If don't believe, you can try turn it off. Then the badge number sure won't come out, no matter you already swipe or no swipe the message.
Max2006
post May 29 2018, 06:19 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 29 2018, 04:13 PM)
I just press power button first and follow by volume up button when the screen is showing "No command" then recovery menu option list will appear.

If still cannot then not sure why already.
Ah....you missed one button. The bixby button. Need to press Volume up+Bixby+Power at the same time then you can go to the recovery mode.
Max2006
post May 29 2018, 07:32 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 29 2018, 06:59 PM)
No problem, glad it helped.
We are discussing the key combo after you got into the "No command" screen (after power + bixby + volume up combo), Oreo changed the default recovery behavior, it will show the "No command" screen by default instead of the command list and we want to get the list to show up, that's all.
I see. Understood.
Max2006
post Jun 12 2018, 10:52 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(AmigoAmigo @ Jun 11 2018, 05:46 PM)
Anyone facing their note 8 restarting itself? Automatically restarted twice today
Have you updated your phone to the latest one?

Taiwan users been complaining the same problem after the latest update since last week. The phone would restart itself without any sign and warning. Some already reset the phone, some even changed the motherboard, but the problem still occurred. Malaysian users should have encountered the same issue since we are also using the same variant. But so far no one reported except you. Perhaps our variant version code is slightly different with Taiwan. Or may be your set is Taiwan variant?

Anyway, you can try to reset and see if it solves the issue. If not, you probably need to downgrade to previous software version.
Max2006
post Jun 12 2018, 10:56 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jun 11 2018, 10:28 PM)
Bixby button. Anyone know how to disable the Bixby button WITHOUT FIRST having to set it up in the first place?
Download third party apps to disable it. Alternatively, you can just spend a little time to set it up and then turn it off from the setting after you finished. The whole procedure won't take you more than 5 minutes though. I did that and I prefer this method since it doesn't involve any third party apps which may cause some unnecessary issues.
Max2006
post Jul 23 2018, 05:59 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 23 2018, 04:31 PM)
Rumors note9 will be last note ?? Will be a sad case

The Galaxy Note 9 might be the last Samsung Galaxy Note http://pocketnow.com/2018/07/23/note-9-last-galaxy-note
It does make sense. Lately, the borderline between S & Note series is becoming more and more vague. Big screen and big battery is used to be exclusive to Note series. But now S series also have large screen and bigger battery (taking S9+ as example). I wouldn't be surprise if Samsung merge these 2 series into one. It's much more cost effective in terms of manufacturing and marketing. After 2 becomes 1, what will be replacing Note series? Yes. The answer is the Samsung X series, that foldable phone.
Max2006
post Jul 31 2018, 12:53 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 31 2018, 12:31 AM)
Price good.. Not as ridiculously expensive as the iphone x.. But this could also mean soon this note 9 could be the second tier flagship. I disbelieve samsung will not try to match iphone price on its flagship device, the only reason could be they are now reserving for the major revamped model coming next year
The most shocking thing is not the price, is that pre-order gift! A freaking Smart TV! How I wish the same thing could happen in here....but we all know...it wont! LOL.
Max2006
post Aug 1 2018, 07:24 PM

4,099 posts

https://www.techradar.com/news/samsung-conf...rice-for-note-9

Well, at least they admit it. Now the question is how reasonable it is. As usual, we can't have high hope on our SME. Most likely, if they are generous enough, the price for base spec could be RM3999 as well, same as Note 8 last year.

I know some of you may say it's impossible. But look. The competition is getting very aggressive now, especially those Chinese phones (Huawei already replaced Apple's position and becomes No.2 top seller). If Samsung sells Note 9 with premium price tag (more than $1000), the result will hit them hard. This is not a speculation. You guys can go and look at those comments in SME facebook. More than half of them are saying they will skip Note 9 and wait for S10. It's not that hard to imagine that Note 9 sales will be very tough. Lower the price is the only way to go. The worst, give more valuable gifts as compensation.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Aug 1 2018, 07:35 PM
Max2006
post Aug 1 2018, 08:02 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Aug 1 2018, 07:44 PM)
Hi guys. I may have a problem with my note 8.

Anyone experiencing disconnection of data (4G) suddenly, even though the 4G icon is on?

Happened to me a few times on my phone. Especially while using whatsapp. Messages cant go out but I can see i have 4G connection. Strange. Just curious if you guys have encountered it before or not. sad.gif
Data connection usually is not stable compared to wifi. Sometimes it's either your telco problem or the 4G signal is not strong. Very common.
Max2006
post Aug 10 2018, 12:27 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(bsvanan @ Aug 10 2018, 11:23 AM)
Any trade-in plans from Note8 to Note9?
Coming soon. Usually will be announced right before the roadshow.

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Aug 10 2018, 11:43 AM)
I doubt there would be one.
Doubt what? Trade-in programme is Samsung annual events (once for S, once for Note). They sure will provide one. The only cons is their price may not be justified compared to 2nd hand market price.

QUOTE(beta9x @ Aug 10 2018, 11:46 AM)
May be available.  Read Samsung - Step 4 in Terms and Conditions Note 9 pre order
Confirm got. Anyone went through that option during the pre-order procedure? A bit curious about what's the "official" 2nd hand price of Note 8 according to Samsung.
Max2006
post Aug 28 2018, 10:16 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(machoguy @ Aug 28 2018, 10:12 AM)
Yes correct bro trade in my note 8 for note 9, thanks anyway

Only the charger and earphone is worth, is it... thumbup.gif
IMO, it's not worth to sell the accesories especially when the the phone is "missing". tongue.gif

Why not just keep it as spare? It's always good to have emergency back up if your new accesories fail to work in the future.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.2008sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:24 PM