Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v6

Max2006
post Mar 6 2018, 01:09 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 6 2018, 12:51 PM)
I'm not even remotely intrigued on what's there to offer, so no chiong bixby points

sam rewards arent enticing for me. is a personal preference thing
S Pay is a good tool. But for my case, I don't even bother with it because I know I have no patience on this. If I like the gadget, I buy it with no sweat. Just like my Gear S3. Hahaha.devil.gif

I know some people may say it's my loss lah, I missed a lot of good stuff lah, I did not utilize the phone lah, blah blah blah. Well let them be. It's my phone, I can do whatever I want with it, as long as I am happy, then it's enough. I won't mind how other people use their phones and how to gain their points. If they are happy, then it's good for them. At the same time, I also hope that other people don't come and judge on me on how should I utilize my phone and points. End of story. devil.gif

Everyone have their own definition and preference on how should one use their phone to reach certain goals. There's no right and wrong in here. Just remember, it's your own phone. Do what you like. No need to care about how the other owners do on their phones. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 6 2018, 01:12 PM
Max2006
post Mar 6 2018, 01:54 PM

4,099 posts

Just got this official security update list from Samsung.

Looks like our Note 8 will get monthly security update, guaranteed.

So this month we sure will get a new update, the million dollar question is, will it be "the one" we have been waiting for? LOL

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 6 2018, 02:01 PM

Max2006
post Mar 9 2018, 10:51 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 9 2018, 10:01 AM)
When is Oreo, possible before end of the month?
According to latest news, turkey will get Oreo at 30 March. So give and take, the whole world may get it either in March or April.
Max2006
post Mar 9 2018, 06:36 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 9 2018, 02:48 PM)
Haiyah just buy S9+ today

Oreo ready confirmed day 1😄 laugh.gif
Haha. I remember you bro. Been asking which Samsung phone to buy since note 5. So finally get yourself a new phone la. Show off la. 😂
Max2006
post Mar 10 2018, 12:54 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Mar 10 2018, 12:02 PM)
it is not just happening now.. since i own it last year, personally i think battery life is not so good, but looking at the spec i was not expecting much too.. normally i put it charging a bit time by time during the day so it never went dead in office. but just recently i ignored topping up juice during the day, my phone went dead around 4pm so it really gets me.. so i want to really check if this is abnormal.. later see the battery drain record
No problem bro. Waiting for your report. Also, please provide those details as well.

Your mobile signal strength, screen brigtness level, QHD+ or WQHD+, how much of data and how much of wifi usage, bluetooth and GPS on or off, auto sync or no sync, dual sim or single sim.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 10 2018, 12:57 PM
Max2006
post Mar 15 2018, 07:11 PM

4,099 posts

I molested S9/S9+ today in Plaza Lowyat.

First impression: Too damn similar to the S8/S8 plus. The side black border is huge compared to last generation. I guess the rumor is right. Samsung sacrificed the edge beauty by increasing the glass thickness on S9/S9+ in order to improve the screen damage resistant.

Playing with it for few mins. The camera is indeed better than Note 8, but only in small margin. AR Emoji, nice to watch, but when you play on it, meh. The quality is kind of poor, the lips don't follow quite well to my lips movement. And the app itself slow down the phone, which I think it's not mature. Probably need a few updates to enchance its usability. The dual speaker is nice, but definitely not a selling point if you are not a audiophile. The speed and smoothness might feel a little bit better than Note 8, if not, the same. I am pretty sure we will get the same smoothness once we get Oreo soon.

Verdict:

For people who are new to Samsung phones, it's a good buy. thumbsup.gif

For people who already own Samsung phones such as S7/S7 edge and generations before it, yes. Worth to upgrade. nod.gif

For people who are using Note 8 & S8/S8 plus, a big NO. shakehead.gif

Urge to upgrade from Note 8: 0% tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 15 2018, 07:11 PM
Max2006
post Mar 15 2018, 08:10 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 15 2018, 08:05 PM)
s-pen bro

s-pen
I purposely ignored the existence of S-Pen when I "reviewed" S9/S9+ because I knew it would be unfair if I included this Note's exclusive feature into the comparison. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 15 2018, 08:12 PM
Max2006
post Mar 18 2018, 03:49 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Mar 18 2018, 02:41 PM)
Uncle Benny, have you tried flashing the newly released Oreo firmware? I am quite keen but awaiting feedback from anyone here who has taken the first bold step to flash. Hope it works miraculously without any major issues.
eh bro? Wasn't you the one who always tell us to wait patiently for the update? Now you cannot wait anymore ah? laugh.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 18 2018, 02:37 PM)
What u guys store need until so big capacity? My phone 64gb also hardly full le , i buy micro sd for store like travel photo , i think photo itself hardly reach 64gb too
Apa lagi? Whatsapp pics/videos and music files, and some FHD movies/series lah. devil.gif

Me also hardly reach 64GB because I don't watch videos (except youtube) on my phone.

QUOTE(loongzai2 @ Mar 18 2018, 03:30 PM)
I read at s8 thread said that Oreo battery life not going that well.
IMO, most of them haven't reset their phones after the big update.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 18 2018, 03:55 PM
Max2006
post Mar 18 2018, 04:24 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Mar 18 2018, 04:06 PM)
Sorry Bro. My bad for getting all hyped up. I should calm down and listen to my own advice. Thank you for reminding me. ✌
haha. Don't worry bro. It's around the corner. You are not alone. Me and bro mafioso also waiting together. Have faith! thumbup.gif
Max2006
post Mar 23 2018, 12:17 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Mar 23 2018, 11:59 AM)
Anyone here having sudden battery surge once it reach 15%. Mine just goes flat in few minutes once the 15% alarm pops up. Very frustrated.
Could be a sign that your battery is getting weak. Either try to calibrate your battery (which is still a myth) or go to SC for battery health check.
Max2006
post Mar 27 2018, 10:30 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(h4fizul2018 @ Mar 27 2018, 10:18 PM)
for price can ask with samsung staff use cha on their websitet.. i ask them battery change around 80 to 90..
Are you sure? Battery replacement only RM 80? That's impossible. Even old model like note 5 also need to pay around RM250 to change the battery.
Max2006
post Mar 28 2018, 01:52 PM

4,099 posts

OK guys! Taiwan variant already received Oreo just now! Most likely we will receive it as well these few days. Ready for action!
Max2006
post Mar 28 2018, 06:55 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 28 2018, 05:26 PM)
Haha hangong round your neck is the safest way ever 2 not dropping off your hands and pocket😄😄👌👌
What!? Hanging around the neck would be absurd! Not to mention that Note 8 is considered quite heavy, your neck will break if it hangs too long. devil.gif
Max2006
post Mar 29 2018, 02:24 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ Mar 29 2018, 02:19 PM)
Rumour has it that oneplus 6 going to put notch on their flagships too, which sound so wrong, and I believe more will follow.
It's not a rumor anymore. Carl Pei, the co-founder himself already confirmed this last night.

Max2006
post Mar 29 2018, 06:48 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Mar 29 2018, 06:26 PM)
I thought apple might do away with notch in their next phone(s)? This is only the interim phase. If they really ditch the notch, the followers will look mighty stupid. I hope samsung knows that they are good in their own way without copying apple. I really don't want any notch near my device. Haha.
According to latest leaked info, this year apple will still keep the notch, but smaller compared to last year. Next year they will ditch the notch completely.

Imo, soon or later the notch design sure will be gone, it's just a matter of time. By then, those who already bought the notch phones will follow the suit and ditch the phones as well. The cycle of phone life.

That's why I decided to step back and wait. As long as the notch trend still go on, I will skip and wait for the next. Until the trend is over, then I will only change my current phone.
Max2006
post Mar 30 2018, 05:42 PM

4,099 posts

http://bgr.com/2018/03/29/galaxy-note-9-re...te-july-august/

https://www.cnet.com/news/galaxy-note-9-ear...nch-july-rumor/

Dejavu anyone?

I really couldn't understand why Samsung is being so rush on this. I rather they keep it steady, strengthen the QC and reduce the defect rate to the minimum level before releasing next new product.

The reason why previous Note failed is because they were too rush on the production. Now they planned to do the same thing all over again on Note 9? Why oh why Samsung?

This post has been edited by Max2006: Mar 30 2018, 05:49 PM
Max2006
post Apr 2 2018, 08:05 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy007 @ Apr 2 2018, 06:09 PM)
No intelligent scan ported,no animoji ported
QUOTE(zero721 @ Apr 2 2018, 07:22 PM)
Nothing from S9 feature getting? That's shit!!!
huh!? Is this your first time using Samsung phone? S9 only been released for only half a month, and you guys already thought Samsung will port their new features into Note 8 now? Seriously? I am not sure you guys are joking or trolling..... doh.gif

Have some common sense my friends. Samsung sure won't do things this way. If they do, S9 sales boleh tapao liao lo. Samsung sure will port the new features into Note 8, but definitely not that soon. Probably before end of this year, or after Android P upgrade.

QUOTE(h4fizul2018 @ Apr 2 2018, 07:08 PM)
Good news for nougat user and congrats..
Happy oreo day.

Anyone here know the working code to check if the phone is brand new factory or refurbished?
Go to Playstore and download Phone Info Samsung.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...guyen.phoneinfo

This post has been edited by Max2006: Apr 2 2018, 08:13 PM
Max2006
post Apr 3 2018, 06:44 PM

4,099 posts

Why suddenly so many complaints? The number badge issue? Didn't even see those S9 users complained the same thing when they got their phone in Oreo out of the box. tongue.gif

Anyway, guys. I know you all frustrated when your favourite feature was taken away after the update. But mind you, it's not Samsung's fault. It's "Oreo's fault". This is the way of how Oreo works. So even if you ditch your Samsung phone because of this, you will still get the same thing with another brand which is using Oreo. You have no choice but to accept it.

If you really really cannot tahan, then only one way to go. Downgrade to Nougat.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Apr 3 2018, 06:46 PM
Max2006
post Apr 3 2018, 07:43 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 3 2018, 07:35 PM)
Did u all turn this off?
No. And I suggest you don't turn this off. Android system is the core of Android phone. The system may get collapse if you turn its background activity off..

This post has been edited by Max2006: Apr 3 2018, 07:43 PM
Max2006
post Apr 3 2018, 07:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Apr 3 2018, 07:48 PM)
Poor chongkiatz. He must be tearing his hair going nuts over the Oreo notification style.
Well, what to do.

Been using Android for few years, and I realized one thing, which is, everytime you get new version upgrade, you gain some, you lose some. If you love Android, you must accept this reality and move on. As consumers and users, there's nothing much we can do about it.

Fortunately, you still have plenty of 3rd party apps to overcome this. The worst, you still have an option to downgrade your Android version. It could be troublesome to do all those backups and reinstall all over again. But it's still better than suffering for the latest software that giving you so much inconvenience.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Apr 3 2018, 08:00 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.6340sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:26 PM