Flextronics, Working Enviroment , Benefits ?

d.s.joshua
post Sep 20 2010, 03:07 PM

18 posts

Any way, all this while i thought a Chinaman controlled company is very bad.
But Flextronics(Shah Alam), it is controlled by Indians. 75% of the snr execs n managers and above are Indians. So is their Plant Manager, Their Vice Pres. So you figure out yourself when a company is runned by monkeys.

[/quote]

This statement is certainly a Racist remark. Comparing Chinese and Indian is fine, but calling them Monkeys is totally not acceptable. All over the world the Indians have penentrated and Lead technological advances. They are respected in every part of the globe including Singapore and Indonesia. Only Malaysia sucks (because of Samy, the estate group was not educated). Where as Chinese is also all over the globe... But as cooks mostly, even until today still migrating as cooks. Go figure!

In Flex is a good example that the rest is not able to take the pressure accept the Indians are leading the tough industry. FYI, I'm previously from Solectron, and many frens in Venture/Celestica/Flex/Jabil. All these places survived by Indians!
d.s.joshua
post Oct 1 2010, 09:25 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(happybee27 @ Sep 29 2010, 12:22 AM)
Just got an interview appointment from IT dept in bukit minyak, but was worry a little worry about the work environment as hilited much early. Can anyone share some inside information about the IT dept?
1)how big is the IT department? how many managers /director there? (as I also see manager's job posting)
2)Are all IT dept(bukit minyat, johor,penang )under same management?
3)are the work condition still as pressure as before?
4)Is it true that there is also another plant doing aerospace related work, is it in bukit minyak?

appreciate your help. rclxub.gif
The people are not bad people. Everybody is normal, but very fast paced. Once you move at same speed, you will have fun.. some answers to ur questions

1. Generally the size of HR dept, perhaps ~20ppl. Only one manager per plant and they are independent. Penang and JB are two different entities, operate alone. The MD also separate. The priciple company co-ordinates both the plants.
2. Different management
3. Yes, fast paced. As long as you know what you are doing, no problem. Dun have long lunch, go out smoke only once/twice during working hours, dun chit-chat, dun send wrong emails, dun blame others unnecessarily. But pls. defend yourself with facts (No feelings). U'll need a lot of defending, but dun Tai-Chi to other ppl. Be honest, accurate and fast.
4. Dun know

Flex and such places helps you to become better actually. I encourage you to go.

Added on October 1, 2010, 9:32 am
QUOTE(sythersly @ Sep 30 2010, 08:56 PM)
guys i got the offer already at Flex PTP as a mechanical procurement engineer. any1 work as procurement engineer in flex? mine sharing some info or experience?

currently im working at a Japs MNC and flex offer about 800 higher than my current salary.

the pay is good la, but i really scare to join. i applied that job to "test market" only..try demand & success...now seriously in dilemma la...

plsss...really need some advice,
Procurement job now becomes much easier with Internet use. Make sure you keep all the contacts so that you can respond fast to requests. Visit Expo and Conventions (also such event in China - 'China Sourcing Fair' held yearly) to gather Suppliers.

But from Jap MNC, you must gather a lot of speed fast. In Flex, speed is most important. Good news is that, JB is more forgiving than Penang. Once worked here, you appreciate all your future companies

This post has been edited by d.s.joshua: Oct 1 2010, 09:32 AM
d.s.joshua
post Oct 11 2010, 11:18 AM

18 posts

No I'm in JB. Had a lot of frens there... some maybe still there, have not contacted them some time already.

U need defending because if u blindly admit it's your fault, Top side may scold u in bad words and fellow colleagues will Tai-Chi other problems as linked to yours so that they can escape. So long u r sharp and know the details, others cannot play with u. After few years, they dare not blame u.

IT also will have. If your server down and they can't access database for some shipment, production will gladly put the blame on u for some few 100k missed shipment, though perhaps only 10k was really due to urs.

2nd time it happens they will label u as incapable of your job.
d.s.joshua
post Nov 29 2010, 10:23 AM

18 posts

As freshie you should have less problems. Put down your pride, be humble. Ask, learn, work hard for all the knowledge. Dun do silly things or waste your time in canteen, smokin, chatting.

After 4 or 5yrs there, you will be a very capable engineer and highly sought after. Within 7-10yrs you can be a manager somewhere if you do it rite.

Congrats and all the best. Do you know who's the HOD there now and who you report to?

0.0144sec    1.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:34 AM