Many ppl say they are expanding hence they need hire, but let you make your own judgement....VPT recently lost iphone business. So do you think they are expanding?
The truth is , turn over rate is higher than others company, so if you want to stay long in VPT, just hypnotize yourself "I am robot" and it is work actually, I try it before but still I quit VPT. Because i always wake up after I hypotize myself as a robot.
Well, as I was working in VPT before, in test engineer position. Maybe I can share some idea about TE in VPT althgouh your thread was early this year. Nevermind, also can share those who interested in this company and job.
As a Test Engineer, you not need worry your work complexity. You also not need worry the test program contain thousand or million of code lines. You also not need worry how to write test program, how to debug test program, tester. The job is very simple than eat kacang putih, don't believe?
So don't worry about interview question, they don't test you IQ, they don't test you how to draw a circuit, how diode work, how to draw EXOR gate bla bla bla. Their question is very simple, can you work or not? Your answer just can or cannot, not need to think right? Pretty easy? The duration of interview basically just shake hand and shake hand, if you got name card then good, just exchange with interviewer, got Ang Pow even better...haha
Ok, talking about job scope, your roles are, just helping PE wash the camera module using air brush. Some time, if you can't find the root cause, you need to know how to use the ESD X ray because FA Engineer also a robot, but they are super robot, you just a Super Test robot. But I think using air brush to wash Camera Module job is not than difficult am I right?
Secondly, if you found the tester is dirty, light lamp got problem, just clean the tester, or change the lamp bulk. Don't worry, you just use the illumination detector to check the lamp.
So clean work not so difficult right? Your house maid can do that, so you should not lose with your house maid.
GR&R, of course, is a must, you need to take 10 units, repeat and repeat so many time. If data not match the requirement, just redo it.
what else? Can't think any more becoz long time not work that. But basically, some time your PE too busy, you just need to help them to do a work, maybe you need to answer higher management answer although your not familiar with wire bonding , SMT process but some time you have to answer. If don't know, just let them wreak. You know they also human being, they also alway kena screwed by higher management.
When Test development send you a program, basically you need to install to the tester, then perform a check out and buy of the tester. Installation is very simple, you know how to install windows, Microsoft office right?
Also, if you found loaded material or tester hardware got problem. Just go to maintenance that to do some shouldering. The shouldering work not so difficult, I think you got experience in your PMR Kemahiran Hidup, some of you study in University also involve shouldering. So this might be not difficult to you, some time not even need shoulder, just use tape to connect the wire enough.
Yup, sometime you need to know hardware installation when production line is up or NPI coming. Basically, hardware installation is simple. If you know how to plug in your sound card, DDR Ram or Hard disk into your PC, should not a problem. it just like PC plug and play only, maybe need to understand a bit jumper only? But if you dunno how to set the jumper, just simply do it. Because in the end it still work, just speed different.
Make sure don't line down your tester, or test program jam. If this happen, make sure turn on your HP, and always stand by, do not go to bed to sleep. Production can call you immediately and you need to drive back company to fix production line down. VPT is just simple company, they not need VNC, hence you not need register RSA token or other security barcode in order to accept your comp intranet. Basically if you got car lesen that is enough, just drive back company and fix the tester or test program. If you dunno how to fix, you can choose either kena marah by your boss or you simply drum in the hardware or program. But again, don't worry, you just use windows recover feature and reinstall your program it still work, just need to do check out before buy off. Don't forget you got shift supervisor, they sure ask you check out program before buy off.
As a hardware part, worst case, if anything broken, you maybe need to prepare stay 24 hours to fix. Don't worry, there are always has technician help you but you are better than them. First, they never use PC before, so they dunno how to plug in hardware into PC. Second, they are from ruler area, never see PC before. Hence don't expect too much. The reason you need to stay 24 hours is not because ask you to fix the hardware since you already run out of idea but dunno how to fix already. It just because production don't want to see tester down all the time, or idling, so you have to stay with tester until morning and just do what ever you can. (Of course no facebook, chatting, no internet connection in testfloor one). Of course, you will get scolded by higher management. Sometime, even CEO also can join the meeting and ask you why tester down.
Of course you no need explain the reason, always remember, managment don't like to hear any excuse. They just want you shut up and let them wreak, won't surprise even CEO can scold you a bad word...
About whether Senior bully Junior. No, no such thing, never happen. Basically Senior are helpful enough, they just guide you a works, assign thousand of action item for you during meeting (although you only need complete one item, but don't forget manager is looking thousand of items, not one). During meeting, they just scold you upside down. Don't feel angry or blame them not defend you during meeting, they just "want" you to learn. And don't forget, any successful project, they always get merit and you get nothing. So anything aknowlegement please put their name infront, otherwise, please write resignation letter.
In term of benefits. Well, usually WD or Freescale offer a fresh as RM 2.7k minimum , an experice guys even higher. But not the case in VPT, a fresh basically only RM2.3k, but don't worry. There are OT and car allowance available, car allowance itself about RM180, so you need to stay around nearby only can fully enjoy RM180. Those stay far away, need to cross two toll per day plus if you drive Proton or old Korean Car even worst, make sure you are driving Toyota plus C to work. But in order to get Toyota plus C, how? Well, just OT 24hrour *7 days sure can get one, but before you get Toyota plus C, you maybe need to spend money for your medicine because you already admin to hospital...Hence, you will continue suffer driving a Proton or old Korean Car to work, even you want to buy Myvi to work also need to think twice...becoz you got no enough money for car allowance. So let 's say you need to work 7 days (weekend OT), the toll fee already take you RM56, plus your "horrible" fuel consumption, myvi or vios just save you a little bit petrol, you already wasted your RM180 car allowance, even more on that.
So don't dream too much on TE work at VPT, you won't draw very complex circuit, you not need write those C programming, Assembly language those firmware. You also not need worry some complex mathematics calculation like Calculas, statitical, 6 sigma or what ever, basically you know 1+1=2 is enough. And it is ok you forget every knowledge in University time. If you know how to do a house work, no problem to work as TE at VPT...cool?
Well, I admire myself can write so many things and job function about TE at VPT although I am not TE anymore at VPT. Yes, some of you may think not really make sense to you, but I would say:
1. If you successful join TE at VPT, congratulation! Welcome to the hell city. In hell city we will train you as "profession" TE, and indeep, we not need you qualify as Bachelor or Master degree. In fact, you just primary school graduate qualification, we are welcome too. As long as you able to work.
2.If you are working as TE in VPT, remember turn on your jobstreet resume in searchable form, or always updating your resume.
3. If you previously were TE at VPT like me, remember go to temple or church to thank to your god that you are already escaped from the hell.
4. If you are looking TE post in VPT, hmmm, try to ignore it. There are other TE post better than that. Don't waste your degree certificate.
my one is at johor,gelang patah.