External Drive unable to delete files
TSkyLL
Feb 10 2018, 07:25 PM, updated 8y ago
Hi guys, Have an odd issue here. External hard drive ive been using for about a year already now, im suddenly unable to delete any files in the drive.  That error message appears when i try to delete it. I can delete the files when its plugged into a windows machine. Any help? I've run disk utilities first aid and still the same issue pops up. Drive is a Seagate 1Tb External. Mac is a 13" 2013 RMBP running on OS10.12.6 Thanks.
Shinobi-X
Feb 10 2018, 07:27 PM

format issue
TSkyLL
Feb 10 2018, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(Shinobi-X @ Feb 10 2018, 07:27 PM) Format? care to elaborate?
Shinobi-X
Feb 10 2018, 07:31 PM

check file system on ext hdd NTFS, Fat32 or exFAT
TSkyLL
Feb 10 2018, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(Shinobi-X @ Feb 10 2018, 07:31 PM) check file system on ext hdd NTFS, Fat32 or exFAT That's not the issue. Been using it for over a year already. Read write no issue. Suddenly now I have this error.
wei
Feb 11 2018, 08:59 PM
Try different cable. Try different port. Check the folder or file is locked. Check the permission of the folder & file. And your user account have the right permission. You might want to try “ignore permission and ownership” for the external drive. Or Google how to to use SUDO rm command in terminal to get rid of the files / folder.
If still can’t there might be issue with the structure of the drive. Or physical damages.
TSkyLL
Feb 12 2018, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Feb 11 2018, 08:59 PM) Try different cable. Try different port. Check the folder or file is locked. Check the permission of the folder & file. And your user account have the right permission. You might want to try “ignore permission and ownership” for the external drive. Or Google how to to use SUDO rm command in terminal to get rid of the files / folder. If still can’t there might be issue with the structure of the drive. Or physical damages. tried everything except the SUDO rm command.. weird thing is that on windows theres no issue. only on osx.
wei
Feb 12 2018, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(kyLL @ Feb 12 2018, 02:03 PM) tried everything except the SUDO rm command.. weird thing is that on windows theres no issue. only on osx. Only one particular file or folder or the entire drive you can't write/ edit in MacOS?
TSkyLL
Feb 12 2018, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Feb 12 2018, 02:09 PM) Only one particular file or folder or the entire drive you can't write/ edit in MacOS? whole drive. /: [edit] Oh can write. cant delete only. i can change file names, access all items. just deleting stuff i get the error. [/edit] super weird. This post has been edited by kyLL: Feb 12 2018, 02:19 PM
wei
Feb 12 2018, 04:10 PM
I suggest you check if your drive are NTFS (windows format), and you rely on some driver/ app in MacOS to enable the read and write.
Sometime MacOS update/ upgrade will break those driver/ app, you might want to update those app to newer version.
This post has been edited by wei: Feb 13 2018, 12:28 PM
TSkyLL
Feb 13 2018, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Feb 12 2018, 04:10 PM) I suggest you check if your drive are NTFS (windows format), and you rely on some driver/ app in MacOS to enable the read and write. Sometime MacOS update/ upgrade will break those driver/ app, you might want to update those app to newer version. hm. yes. it is an NTFS system thats using an application to copy the files over.
vc0r3
Feb 13 2018, 08:43 PM
try this : Launch the Terminal (found in /Applications/Utilities/ or with Spotlight - command + spacebar) At the command prompt, type: CODE dot_clean /Volumes/ROSHAM_WHAT_EVER_YOUR_DRIVENAME/ or CODE cd /Volumes/ROSHAM_WHAT_EVER_YOUR_DRIVENAME/ find . -name ".DS_Store" -depth -exec rm {} \; Try delete your file inside external drive again. This post has been edited by vc0r3: Feb 13 2018, 08:44 PM
TSkyLL
Mar 1 2018, 06:36 AM
Hi guys, sorted the issue. it was the drivers. redownloaded the drivers and its all good now.
thanks for the help!